Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 557 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

557 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

557 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
267
4 stars
130
3 stars
26
2 stars
22
1 stars
112
1-20 of 542 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 542 total reviews
1-20 of 542 reviews
tv IS loud enuff. just turn on the surround sound!
8/21/2013

Customer review by redtabby2

5.0 stars 8/21/2013 by redtabby2
by redtabby2

Shipping was super fast (and free). Arrived 1 day early. Picture quality is superb and sound is excellent. I must note that some reviewers were unhappy w/ the sound because the speakers are in the back of the set. This issue is easily fixed by going into the sound menu and switching it to "surround sound". THIS TURNS ON THE FRONT SPEAKERS! When you scroll down to the surround sound option, it even indicates something along the lines of "surround sound for front speakers use". But however, in my opinion, its plenty loud enough w/ out the front speakers on. I would highly recommend this set to anyone sick of wasting time and money on mediocre TV's that conveniently "turn off by themselves" right after the warranty expires. ...I would like to add that this TV is very attractive as well. W/ a thick/heavy tempered glass stand and sleek ultra-thin frame, its nice to look at even when turned off. The remote that comes w/ it is super sleek and modern looking as well. W/ chrome accents on the scroll button. Finally. A decent TV at a decent price. You will not be dissatisfied w/ this product.

Was this review helpful? (710) (83)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
redtabby2
Indy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor
Great Picture!
11/14/2013

Customer review by Jerry13

5.0 stars 11/14/2013 by Jerry13
by Jerry13

I've always been hesitant to buy a "low end" TV. I've had 3 Samsung's and have had great luck with them. I had a 32" Samsung in the bedroom and wanted something larger. I found this online and thought I'd give it a shot. Wow, am I glad I did! I got it for $279 last week. Granted, I've only had it a week but so far I'm quite impressed with the picture and sound. I've read other reviews about the sound being weak. I went into the settings and played around with the EQ and it made it a lot louder. The picture is very good. I haven't noticed any lag or motion blur. I have my PS3 hooked up to it and soon my PS4 will be and the games look amazing on it. If you're in the market for a 42" LED, don't pass this one up!

Was this review helpful? (321) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jerry13
Southeast, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great!
10/30/2013

Customer review by Staoza4573

5.0 stars 10/30/2013 by Staoza4573
by Staoza4573

After owning this television for a few months now all I can say is it is the nicest television I have ever owned. It has a beautiful picture and the smart features are excellent.

Was this review helpful? (215) (78)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Staoza4573
HINSDALE , MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great tv
11/4/2013

Customer review by Jamez93

5.0 stars 11/4/2013 by Jamez93
by Jamez93

I was really impressed with the tv especially for the low price.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jamez93
Chino , California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Loving my RCA 42" LED42C45RQ!
11/15/2013

Customer review by PattiB46

5.0 stars 11/15/2013 by PattiB46
by PattiB46

Very nice size, with great picture and sound! I still had one of the old BIg Box TV's in my bedroom, and have been looking to replace it for a while now. I saw this RCA 42", and it was such a good buy that I went ahead and got it! I was able to install the stand and was watching it with-in minutes! So far I have really enjoyed it's clear picture and sound!

Was this review helpful? (75) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PattiB46
Franklin, KY 42134
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic deal on a really good HDTV
11/16/2013

Customer review by BBinRaleigh

5.0 stars 11/16/2013 by BBinRaleigh
by BBinRaleigh

Ordered this TV via the Walmart website and picked it up at site-to-store. Free shipping. A 42" HDTV for only $329! A really great deal. The picture is very good. The default settings were OK, but after adjusting (mostly increasing the brightness), I think it looks great. The sound is much better than the TV it is replacing (a Dynex from Best Buy), but it is just a little tinny. It does not rattle at higher volumes, like the old TV, though, which makes it seem MUCH better than what I had. It is also much lighter than the old TV, and the LEDs will make it use much less energy. I hooked up U-Verse via one of the 2 HDMI ports. The DVR is hooked up via using component (RGB) cables and, at this point, looks terrible. I think I have bad cables. After buying new cables I am assuming this problem will be resolved. PC Magazine rated this TV "excellent" and said, "If you're looking for a capable, yet affordable small-screen set without all the perks that come with pricier sets, the RCA LED42C45RQ should be at the top of your list." I agree.

Was this review helpful? (131) (52)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BBinRaleigh
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Definitely worth the money
11/15/2013

Customer review by anonymous343

4.0 stars 11/15/2013 by anonymous343
by anonymous343

Unfortunately, before buying this TV, I went to the RCA site and downloaded 1 of the 2 user manuals for this product in order to find more detailed specs. The -2h pdf file is for this modified model. I grabbed the other one which showed more jacks in the top face of the rear cavity adjacent to the side jack panel. However, for my purposes, this model has enough jacks. Value is 5, can't beat it for the money. Expectations is 4 only because I expected those extra jacks - my bad. Picture quality is 5. Sound quality is 4 but better than I expected for the price. Turn on the surround sound for both the back and bottom speakers. Features I scored 4 - again, I expected the earlier model with the back panel jacks. Incidentally, I didn't have an extra USB cable, so I tried connecting a card reader with an inserted card into the USB port, selected media input and the directories and files came up on the screen for selection and the music played without the use of an Ipod type device. Additionally if you select "other" and "audio only" from the menu, you can play the music and save a little power. As to the cracked panel instances others have mentioned, it's a common practice by many manufacturers to pack these machines without any screen protection such as bubble wrap or plastic "peanuts". I had to return an Emerson prior to this purchase for that very reasons I'm referring to those erratic black lines that match the crack profiles and, also, the colored straight lines that show up when you first turn it on. Again, I'm very satisfied for the price. Remember the silk purse/ sow's ear thing. This is a very nice sows ear.

Was this review helpful? (69) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
anonymous343
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Happy!
11/11/2013

Customer review by Smith555

5.0 stars 11/11/2013 by Smith555
by Smith555

We could not be happier with our purchase of the RCA 42 LED TV. I had been watching pricing on TVs for some time and this RCA was the best I ever saw. The picture is excellent and we have had no problems with the sound. We did check to make sure we had the TV configured to surround sound as one reviewer said. Our TV defaulted to surround sound. Setup was easy. After unboxing it, my husband had it put together within 15 minutes. We have it down in my husband's Man Cave, but I will be looking to buying another one for our Family Room. So far our experience has been flawless.

Was this review helpful? (130) (56)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Smith555
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It worked
4/14/2014

Customer review by DeeOnly1

4.0 stars 4/14/2014 by DeeOnly1
by DeeOnly1

I returned a RCA earlier this year due to the screen not working properly so I was scared to purchase another one. When I went to pick up my order via "site to store" I asked if I could open and plug up the tv before taking it home. The little older lady said sure and helped me do so. I did not want to take the tv home if it had any visible issues. It did not. The tv works fine, looks great. Not sure if this is just all flatscreens or this one - when up close to the tv, the picture quality looks grainy and depending on the tv pic settings, sometimes looks faded/blurry. At a distance the picture quality is fine. One other thing, not sure if this is all RCA brands, but I could not 4 the life of me program 3 different remotes to the tv nor to the RCA sound bar that I have. All other devices programmed fine, which none others are RCA. So I guess I am stuck with using 2 remotes. vs having 1 to control everything. Also had my BF who is way more technology oriented try to program the tv and he could not either. He went online looking for other codes, instructions, etc. Nothing worked, We both gave up!

Was this review helpful? (40) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeeOnly1
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
Bad Panel - Dozens of vertical stripes & blotches
5/21/2013

Customer review by emanick789

1.0 stars 5/21/2013 by emanick789
by emanick789

Delivered on time and intact site-to-store. Easy to unbox and set up. Has the connections I need plus some. Tuner seemed to work fine. When first turned on, tuner found most available analog & digital stations. However, panel showed dozens of fixed stripes in random places independent of which signal was selected, and with no-signal input chosen. In addition to stripes, there were hundreds of "stuck" pixels all over screen, especially near top, a bit left of center. Obviously a bad panel -- wasted 4+ hours with transport, unbox, setup, 20 minute support call, teardown, rebox, re-transport, return. Disappointed that such poor quality panel was allowed to ship. Do not know if this bad panel is the rule or the exception. LCD haze/glow showed concentric circles with center near top, a bit right of center -- this might be 'normal' as many LCDs seem to have areas that glow.

Was this review helpful? (65) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
emanick789
Fort Collins, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/23/2013

Customer review by loveadkmoose

5.0 stars 6/23/2013 by loveadkmoose
by loveadkmoose

Love this RCA TV got it to replace an RCA TV set I won in a contest in 1988 that I loved. It's nice to have a TV from the 21st century. So far this set has been great wonderful picture and sound, great features and value. Would tell anyone to get this set. Hope this set lasts 20 plus year also.

Was this review helpful? (35) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
loveadkmoose
new york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great buy!
7/24/2013

Customer review by MsJRene

5.0 stars 7/24/2013 by MsJRene
by MsJRene

Bought this as a replacement to a Viz io brand. I like my RCA better! The RCA is an upgrade when compared. Had it shipped with no problems!

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsJRene
Corbin, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Highly Recommend
11/17/2013

Customer review by LoriUSN

5.0 stars 11/17/2013 by LoriUSN
by LoriUSN

Next to our Sony 3D TV, this is my favorite TV in the house. I bought it for my daughter for Christmas last year and am ready to trade out the LG in my home office for an RCA. I also prefer the picture for the Samsung which had originally planned to guy her. She has it hooked up to a Roku and so she watches streaming TV on it. The color and picture are amazing. The sound is not the loudest, as I see a review or two have complained, but that is standard for the flat panel, thin profile TV. One has to sacrifice speaker for picture and a thin profile. The sound is sufficient for a bedroom Recommend a sound bar for larger room, such as a living room, or a surround system. I have had none of the issues of stripes, etc. that some reviews suggested their sets had on arrival, or of it not working. It is not unexpected to occasionally receive a damaged or defective product, ergo, I did not find those reviews to be helpful since there was no mention of having received a replacement and what the experience was with the replacement. This TV is an awesome value in my opinion. If anything goes wrong or changes in the next year I will come back and update.

Was this review helpful? (30) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoriUSN
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GOOD VALUE-EXCELLENT PICTURE
6/19/2013

Customer review by codnobber

4.0 stars 6/19/2013 by codnobber
by codnobber

C NET rated this model a bargain which influenced my purchase. The sound quality is a little lower than I expected but the picture quality(most important to me) offsets the sound. Colors are crisp and true and the price for an LED 42" is a great bargain. Shipping to the store was free and delivery date was a day earlier than projected. There is nothing I have seen in this price range that is competitive. The LED gets a noticeable better picture than the LCD in the same size and refresh rate.I am happy with the entire transaction.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
codnobber
Eupora,Ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/22/2013

Customer review by haystacks

5.0 stars 8/22/2013 by haystacks
by haystacks

Really nice tv for the price. Ordered it through the website and received it in 2-3 days. Shipped very fast

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
haystacks
idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/19/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/19/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

LOVE MY NEW RCA 42 IN TV SERVICE WAS FAST GETTING HERE. THANK YOU WALMART

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/23/2013

Customer review by bluecruz12

4.0 stars 5/23/2013 by bluecruz12
by bluecruz12

The price for this television was a good buy. The picture was good, the only downfall was the sound it could be better with tone. Overall I would recommend this television to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bluecruz12
chicago, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great TV for price
7/10/2013

Customer review by DRhorton

5.0 stars 7/10/2013 by DRhorton
by DRhorton

Great TV has excellent picture. Some reviews gave sound bad review, Sound is excellent you can adjust sound with many options including built in EQ, picture has many settings also. Very happy great TV and great price.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DRhorton
Prescott,AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outstanding value!
9/1/2013

Customer review by BlueGhost79

5.0 stars 9/1/2013 by BlueGhost79
by BlueGhost79

This is a great TV. Not just for the price point but beyond that. The picture is fantastic. I am aware now that beyond pixel count (this tv is 1080, the current best you can do) there is refresh rate to consider. I don't know anyone with a 120 hz TV so visually I wouldn't know the difference but this TV is standard 60hz. However, I don't actually know the difference that makes. Given that, every time I watch a bluray I'm amazed. The picture is vibrant, sharp, and with vivid colours. Small details pop out. This is the largest tv I or my family have ever owned. So it's amazing to me how much more fun watching epic movies is with a large screen. I see things in movies I've watched 100 times now that I've never noticed before. But with an inadequate picture the size wouldn't matter. I use this tv in my bedroom so it's size isn't wasted from 10 feet away in my bed. I'm not sure the size would be as impressive in a larger room. But in a smaller living room in a apartment for example, it would probably be a adequately large 'large screen'. Again, the picture is sharp, vivid and luscious. It has fantastic picture setting options too, to appease people with different preferences. Onto the actual tv itself so to speak. By which I mean the the actual box and bits that I have sitting on a dresser in my room. The actual design quality, is, outstanding. Before I bought this tv I bought a LG tv and hated it. The picture quality was so so. But the design quality was horrendous. It looked cheap. It felt cheap. The RCA however looks top of the line expensive. It has such an ergonomic design, with bevels in certain places that make it reflect along the edges and shine. The bezels are slim around the frame which is appealing but smart too because it showcases the actual screen with just enough border to separate the image. I don't like these new Tv's with almost literally no frame. The cabinet is thin. I love walking into the room and seeing that from the side it isn't taking up very much room at all. The power and setting buttons are conveniently placed too. They're hidden from the front completely but easy to locate along the side. And my favorite technical, albeit completely auxiliary, feature is the glass base. Another thing I hated about the LG that looked very cheap was the shell-thin plastic base which actually wasn't small but obnoxiously oversized for its purpose, and that tv wiggled anyway. This RCA has a very thin flat glass base that fully supports the tv; it doesn't wiggle at all. On the bottom it is painted black so it looks black but the glass is actually tinted a aqua color. It's hardly visible when sitting and watching tv (and that's a pro). But as I'm indicating even when the tv is off I want it to look good, and from the structural design of this tv, to its' glass base which is designed in a classy way, this tv looks expensive and luxurious. The tv isn't a smart tv, so I intend to to eventually purchase either a smart blu ray player or a Apple TV to get things like Netflix, etc., on it. But what it comes down to for me is picture quality and a quality design at a affordable price. And this RCA delivers. Oh, and the sound is good. I've read other people say it isn't. But I think it is. For instance, I often keep the volume down as not to disturb my family in nearby rooms and even when turned down to 5 or 7(really low on this Tv's scale) I hear everything. When I turned it up though, wow! It was clear and bombastic. I really do recommend this tv. The picture is the most important thing to me and its excellent. The hard design is a close second, and it pleases me just as much. A truly awesome tv to have in the house.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlueGhost79
Chicago, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Much Better Than Expected
9/10/2013

Customer review by Len610

5.0 stars 9/10/2013 by Len610
by Len610

I was a bit hesitant about ordering this flat screen after reading some of the reviews. However, I just trashed my 8 year old plasma that I paid over $1800 for and was very unhappy about that. I made the decision that I was not going to spend anywhere near that amount on a new set. After reading many of the positive reviews about this set and looking around at others, I decided to take a chance on the RCA. I'm happy to report that I'm totally delighted with this product. Picture quality is as good as anything I've ever seen. Sound quality is typical of any flat screen but over all good. The biggest drawback I found was the lack of audio out jacks to plug my flat screen into my audio system that does not have the home theater inputs. I tried using an RCA adapter to the headphone sound out that did work but seemed to have a bit of an annoying hum to it that was not acceptable. The other option was to buy an adapter for the home theater output. My old plasma was not a digital set and I have en external Samsung digital tuner that I was using. That was the best solution to hooking this set back into my audio system. I'm simply using the RCA as a video monitor along side my Samsung tuner. The sound out of the Samsung does not have any hum and has RCA audio jacks for an output. Again, the ONLY drawback to this set is the lack of audio out jacks. Otherwise I find this set not only great on operation, but also very aesthetically pleasing as it has a very slim bezel and the actual set is very thin. It has a very nice tinted glass base which totally matches the glass top of my television stand. Also where the hook up jacks are in back is very conveniently located and easy to set up. Lastly the remote is very user friendly and easy to use and navigate through. Much unlike my last set which was more difficult. If you are looking for a great flat screen without having to shell out a ton of $$$, this is the one. I cannot say anything about the longevity of the unit as I've only had it a couple weeks. But so far so good. It is a delight to watch. Thumbs up RCA.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Len610
Freeport, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 542 total reviews
1-20 of 542 reviews