Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 105 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

105 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

105 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

62%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
53
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 stars
36
1-20 of 83 total reviews
62%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews
Works fine so far!
8/20/2012

Customer review by CactusJim

4.0 stars 8/20/2012 by CactusJim
by CactusJim

I just purchased this drive and connected it up to my Toshiba laptop running Win7 Pro. The computer recognized the drive instantly and it runs just fine. Unfortunately this computer doesn't have USB 3.0 but the drive still runs fine and the transfer rate is about 10MB/sec. On USB 3.0 I know it will transfer up to 500MB/sec. The backup software it comes with probably works well, but I wish it would let me pick my own files to backup rather than just all files of a certain type. No problem, I will just use software of my own choice. The drive runs very quietly and stays cool. I think this is an excellent value for the price. By the way, I've had Toshiba USB drives before (250MB and 500MB) and they both continue work well after several years of use.

Was this review helpful? (44) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CactusJim
Tucson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Did Not Work
9/23/2012

Customer review by Liv4hunting

1.0 stars 9/23/2012 by Liv4hunting
by Liv4hunting

I purchased a 1TB Toshiba HHD and intended it to be used on my new lap top running Windows 7 which according to the Toshiba would be a plug and play. After connecting the Hard Drive I got no response that it indicated it had loaded. I called the supplied tech support number and after four tries final talked to a tech support person and before the issue could be resolved I was disconnected. I returned the call and this occurred three times” being disconnected”. Final on the forth try I spoke with a tech support and they tried to format the Hard drive which removed all of the auto back up. When I tried to do a manual back up to the new hard drive the HHD was not recognized and I was unable to complete that task. I found this device not to work as advertised and the support to be very lacking and minimal at best I am returning this product today to Wal-Mart glad I kept the receipt I will never purchase another Toshiba product again.

Was this review helpful? (15) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Liv4hunting
Brighton IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great Price for a lot of storage
10/5/2012

Customer review by KRevMan

5.0 stars 10/5/2012 by KRevMan
by KRevMan

Pretty simple to use. Fast transfer of data with usb 3.0. I actually deleted the automatic backup because it was actually slower and recorded more than what I needed. If you want you can partition part of the drive and save backups there and use the other for the normal move over stuff...this works great in case your computer crashes and you can load straight for the partitioned drive.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KRevMan
Conway SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/2/2012

Customer review by BB2020

5.0 stars 9/2/2012 by BB2020
by BB2020

This model is made exclusively for Walmart and is the least expensive "brand name" 1TB portable drive I could find. I use it daily without any problems, but I don't use the NTI software on the drive. It is not necessary to load this software for the drive to operate. The drive doesn't take up much space, and appears to be plenty rugged enough.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BB2020
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works as harddrive or mas storage
10/5/2012

Customer review by treefan

5.0 stars 10/5/2012 by treefan
by treefan

this device works well for me. i had some questions that were answered when i plugged in the drive. when you plug in the device you may or may not get anything on the screen. not to worry - just go under "computer" and you will see it listed beside your "C" drive as a drive of its own. mine says "Toshiba (f:)". now questions may be, can you use it as a storage device, backup device, can you select what you back up? do you have to use the backup? answers are yes to all but the last question which is no. let me explain, when you first turn on your computer nothing happens. the drive is in the background as an obedient servant. if you want to use the drive go to "computer" and simply click on the "Toshiba" icon. an icon will appear which says "pocket data backup". once you click it you now have 4 icons to choose from which are "multimedia" (video, music, pictures), "office" (word, powerpoint, excell, etc.), "e-mail", "favorites". you can check or uncheck boxes to select what you do or do not want to backup. then you click "backup" (your other choice is "restore") and a file appears with all your stuff in it. Another question is can you use it as a simple storage device? yes, if you run across a simple photo you want to save just right click your mouse, select "send to" and a menu of choices will appear which will include your toshiba hd. can you load another os onto toshiba? you may be able to but i couldn't. windows will not allow routing an os download to a seperate hd, according to the web. i tried to download linux's ubuntu to the harddrive but it downloaded to my "c" drive. strangely, i could download "grudge" ubuntu's boot kernal but the major os went to windows. more sophisticated users than me may be able to direct you to ways of downloadings non windows os's to toshiba but i can't. but my point in bringing this up at all is that its windows software that will block you not the toshiba drive. in closing i would like to say that this is a superb little drive and for the price it is even more the bargin - it's the cost of a 500 gig drive.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
treefan
cabot, ar 72023
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great idea, but hit or miss operation
9/8/2012

Customer review by NorthernGuy

1.0 stars 9/8/2012 by NorthernGuy
by NorthernGuy

I bought this as a backup to my laptop after my wifes laptop got a virus (I did not want to lose my data!). I plugged it in and the computer recognized it quickly. I was able copy my files quickly (I did not use the auto backup feature. Later, I wanted to add some files from my computer and when I plugged it in, there was no response. no recognition from the computer, no vibration of the device (as I noticed when it worked earlier). I tried customer service and their answer was to simply return it to the place of purchase. So, this goes back to walmart as soon as I print out my order confirmation. Sadly, my files to copy over properly, but now I can not get to them. At least they are not sensitive files!

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NorthernGuy
Northern NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Doesn't play with iTunes, Frequent Crashes
9/10/2012

Customer review by ClassicMovieFan636

2.0 stars 9/10/2012 by ClassicMovieFan636
by ClassicMovieFan636

I bought this portable hard drive because I wanted to store and play my music files on it. I have a small music library and didn't think this would be a problem. I was able to store the files on the portable drive, but the playback was horribly slow in iTunes and Sony Media Gallery. Songs would stop and start again minutes later. There were frequent crashes and freezes. I also received numerous out of memory error messages (I'm using a 6GB laptop running Windows 7). One nice thing I can say about this portable hard drive is that it didn't lose any of my files. Since my original plan didn't work, I decided to backup my laptop instead. The first time I attempted to do this, the drive crashed in the middle of the backup. The second time, the backup went through successfully. I plan on using the drive, but I can't recommend it because of the crashes. I wouldn't purchase this brand again!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ClassicMovieFan636
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Hard drive for every day use
8/31/2012

Customer review by Hopsss

5.0 stars 8/31/2012 by Hopsss
by Hopsss

Great Hard drive for every day use. I did not use the backup functionality, but just used it as a normal drive. Works great on USB 2 and 3.

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hopsss
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Great Product
8/24/2012

Customer review by Patrick032986

5.0 stars 8/24/2012 by Patrick032986
by Patrick032986

Excellent Product it does what it's suppose amazingly fast for file transfers no problems at all installed fine file transfers take about 5 minutes or less I woul recommend this to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Patrick032986
Wenatche Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice Hard Drive
9/16/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 9/16/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The product is lightweight and function properly. The only complain is Walmart lower its price by $10 within 2 weeks.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So far so good
10/21/2012

Customer review by MistaRhee

5.0 stars 10/21/2012 by MistaRhee
by MistaRhee

I only just started using it, but so far everything is good. Don't have USB 3 , but works great on USB 2, and i use the USB3 when i upgrade my desktop. Speeds are similar to my other hard drives so no complaint there. Above all, it's one TERABYTE!!! Holds all my kovies no problem.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MistaRhee
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It's a great price for the memory size
8/24/2012

Customer review by AwesomeCasualGuy

5.0 stars 8/24/2012 by AwesomeCasualGuy
by AwesomeCasualGuy

I really love that you get 1TB for roughly $80.00 but something I've noticed is that I can't eject it safely from my computer which is running windows 7 home premium, I've gone into windows explorer and even on my desktop to eject it but it always says "this disk or drive is still in use". Also I've noticed that the orangish red part on the top is made of a silicone matierial which just turns out to be a dust magnet but for the price I really can't complain or I shouldn't complain! :)

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AwesomeCasualGuy
Brewster, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Excellent Product
11/11/2012

Customer review by TAGJOE4

5.0 stars 11/11/2012 by TAGJOE4
by TAGJOE4
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Perfect for my needs. very portable and efficient!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TAGJOE4
Wantagh, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/8/2013

Customer review by Portha

4.0 stars 1/8/2013 by Portha
by Portha

Just got this and first day using it. Nice look and seems like the perfect size for regular back up. Had a problem with the software which was frustrating and after a couple of hours of trying to get it recongnized went onto http://us.toshiba.com/computers/storage/portable/auto-hdd/ and found a link to the software. Downloaded and transfered the dowload to the Toshiba drive and it starting working fine. So check this out if you are having problems. I have windows seven 64 bit which may be the challenge. Although husband computer running Vista didn't recognize it either. Did back up everything after one false start-hoping it works for the long haul becuase it's a perfect size and easy to use. Although wish the software was more flexible-have to pick categories instead of specific folder or files. Going to play with it to see if it will drag and drop to so can make it more flexible. If can this will be a great tool.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Portha
Carlsbad, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Nice Packaging...Product falls short
9/10/2012

Customer review by DJDaddy62

1.0 stars 9/10/2012 by DJDaddy62
by DJDaddy62

I purchased this product 2 days ago. Now it doesn't work. I keep receiving error "device unknown" no drivers were found. The instructions indicated the install of drivers is not necessay as long as the computer/laptop being used has Win 7/XP platform. I am totally disappointed with this product and I can't wait to return it to Walmart. I tried to load on 2 different PC's to see if it made a difference.....IT DIDN'T.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DJDaddy62
Sauk Village, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Reliable and easy to use.
9/17/2012

Customer review by WhiiteMountainsShopper

4.0 stars 9/17/2012 by WhiiteMountainsShopper
by WhiiteMountainsShopper

A plug and play set up, easy and no real problems. Use it on my laptop that is getting low on hard drive space, now I just use the portable for storing photos.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WhiiteMountainsShopper
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
It's so small for 1TB.
9/25/2012

Customer review by Bo73

5.0 stars 9/25/2012 by Bo73
by Bo73

I don't use the automatic back up feature. I manually back up my date. It's very convenient to use.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bo73
PR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
9/14/2012

Customer review by potatoman2209

5.0 stars 9/14/2012 by potatoman2209
by potatoman2209

Excellent Product. Works just as advertised.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
potatoman2209
BOise, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Great portable drive.
9/6/2012

Customer review by SESM72

5.0 stars 9/6/2012 by SESM72
by SESM72

Small enough to take anywhere. Works great!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SESM72
Lake Jackson, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/2/2012

Customer review by Hello8656

1.0 stars 9/2/2012 by Hello8656
by Hello8656

The "Toshiba Automatic Backup Portable Hard Drive" will not function after connecting to my Windows 7 PC. Clicking on the "PocketDataBackup" desktop icon does nothing, and does not produce the "Main Screen" as detailed in the online "User's Manual". Clicking on the "PocketDataBackup" desktop icon is supposed to execute the PocketDataBackup.exe executable file, but fails to do this. Toshiba support's only advice was to return the product, since the software on the drive was not functioning. I was assured by support, that a replacement would not have this problem, although I fail to enjoy Toshiba's confidence with a replacement product.

Was this review helpful? (14) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hello8656
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews