Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.5out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 | 776 reviews
5 stars
551
4 stars
140
3 stars
22
2 stars
16
1 stars
47
Sort by: 
1-20 of 749 reviews
1-20 of 749 reviews
Shark lover
12/12/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I love the power this vacumme has. I vacummed my carpet with my old dirtdevil before I went to the store to pick this up. Came home and revacummed my carpet and couldn't believe how much more dust and dirt I got. My carpet didn't look flat, the brush does a great job brushing the carpet. I love the way it's flatter and thinner to get under things. The pull off attachment is easy to pull off and light to carry. I also love how easy it is to empty, just a push of a button and all the dirt and dust fall into the trash can. No more having to sweep up what used to fall out of the old one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (116)No (36)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Five Stars
12/31/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Worked Beautiful .highly recommend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (34)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best vacuum ever!
12/4/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Have had a Dyson for several years and was thinking about getting another one so I didn't have to drag it up and down the stairs, however didn't really want to pay an outrageous price for it. Then came across this vacuum and checked out the reviews, thought I would go ahead and give it a try. I must say that my Dyson has been failing me! The amount of fine dust that the Shark pulled out of my carpet was astounding. I knew the Dyson was missing some stuff because when I would steam clean the carpets, the steam cleaner would pick up the fine sand left behind. This Shark definitely picked up that sand and my floors look like new. It fits under cabinet bases (unlike the Dyson) and cleans bare floors perfectly. I have 2 dogs that shed a lot and it picked the hair up with no problem. The only thing I don't care for is the ball and swivel part of the vacuum, makes it feel a little top heavy. I am thinking about getting another Shark and retiring the Dyson to the dark basement, poor Dyson.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (186)No (35)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Suction!
2/8/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Had to buy a new vacuum as my old one which was a hoover for pets took a tumble down our stairs :( So after reading the reviews decided on this one. Great suction - it was smaller and feels a little top heavy however very easy to move around and I like that it has a smaller bottom as I can get into places I couldn't before. Love the attachments especially the turbo brush for doing stairs and did I say great suction. I had just vacuumed before my old vacuum decided to commit suicide - bought this vacuum same day and re-vacuumed and boy it picked up a lot more!- I have a dogs and a cat and it picks up the dog/cat hair great - I also like the way it leaves the carpet looking plush! The only thing that would make this vacuum a 5 star would be if it had a retractable cord - my old vacuum had that and I loved it...also although you can turn off the brush part so you can use on bare floors I found it didn't get everything up and pushed the dirt around...Other than that I really like this vacuum ;)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (134)No (37)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I look like I have new carpet!
2/24/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I must say, I was super impressed with the suction and 'pick up' power of this unit. I have multiple cats and was astounded how much hair it picked up the first go. Even when the canister was full and I hadn't realized it, it STILL picked up very well. This unit has great, easy attachments which I love and the hose is very easy to extend. My only complaint is that the upholstery attachment doesn't have anywhere to attach on the unit itself. Very small in comparison. After vacuuming, the knap on my carpet was actually lifted, looking like it'd been steam cleaned!! Very impressive ! Small, minor concerns, it seems to be a bit top heavy. While it has not fallen over, I can see the potential is there. And the cord hooks should be further distanced so that you are not wrapping the 30ft cord (which is great) forever. Overall, I'd HIGHLY recommend this unit, esp if you have pet hair and want to reach places easily with a hose.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (42)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Handy, compact and works well
9/22/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I just got this and only tried it once, but so far I am pleased. It seems to have good sucking power and features for the price. I like that there is storage for the attachments right on the vacuum - well most. The pet attachment and if you buy other optional attachments don't have a 'plug on' space. I stick it on the handle for temporary storage - I like to keep it all together - otherwise parts get lost and/ or not used. I like the multiple filters, and after vacuuming a dusty shag rug I did not have to sneeze- so that's a good sign. I also like that the dirt container is transparent - yucky but effective! You don't have to guess when the container is full and you can see it at work. The hose is fairly short, but easily expands. maybe a little longer would be good. The unit also came with a 'free' hand held which I love. Although it's not a wet- dry vac like previous ones I have owned - it is much more powerful. best one I have owned. Only drawback is that I wish it came with a wall storage attachment.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (72)No (22)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great quality product that works for a great price
12/21/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We decided to spend the money to purchase a good quality vacuum because we were tired of purchasing POC for under a $100 that didn't work for any length of time or do the job they were created to do to any satisfaction. We now own four different vacuums, but only one, the Shark, cuts the mustard (the rest are just taking up space either not functioning or not functioning well enough for long enough-hubby loves working with his hands, so we have not thrown them to the curb just yet, but we may now). The shark is very manueverable around & under furniture, was easy to assemble & operate & comes with attachments for various uses that make cleaning a breeze. The shark's suction is more than adequate & it is easy to change from vacuum to cleaning tools. We found this item reduced on a Black Friday deal & even though we winced at the price a little, it appears to have been money well spent. We no longer have vacuum woes at our house.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (43)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very versatile vacuum
12/14/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I own a Dyson DC 39 Animal canister that I had been using for my cleaning business, but the fragile wheels on the floor attachment have broke several times and I have had to have the part replaced. You would think a $500 vacuum would hold up better than that. I decided to give the Shark NV500 a try since I need a vacuum that can tackle pet hair. I like the fact that this vacuum can convert to a canister and has a special floor tool that is very gentle on wood floors, yet has the suction needed to pick up dirt in corners without having to take it remove it. It does very well on carpet and maneuvers easily around furniture/walls with the swivel head. Two things I do not like, the pet tool has already broke and am being sent a new part. Hopefully this was a fluke and will not happen with the new one. Also, the vacuum is very top heavy and will tip over if you are using the hose with one of the attachments. This can be very annoying. At 1/2 the price of the Dyson, I believe this is a good alternative as long as the pet tool holds up.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (89)No (31)
Report
Was this review helpful?
not good for pet hair
1/27/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased the NV400 rotator at Walmart for a Christmas present for my house. We have a black Labrador and my other vacuum was very old. The Rotator is easy to get around furniture and under things but it is not a good design for pet hair. The opening into the canister from the vacuum is very small and square and the hair balls up in the tube and does not go into the vacuum. You have to remove the dirt canister and remove the clog after each vacuum. The vacuum has suction but the design does not allow the hair to go into the cannister. We cleaned all the clogs out thinking it was a one time thing and tried again but it clogged up again. The hair was dry and only hair was in the clog. I am afraid this one will have to go back. I will clean it up and return it to Walmart. I have had other shark products and was very happy with them but this design simply clogs up with even a little dog hair. So sorry Shark- I am disappointed with this model.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (86)No (32)
Report
Was this review helpful?
BEST BUY
1/24/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Ok so I purchased my vacume because it was on sale! I did my research and read reviews and I'm pleased to say that my Shark Professional Rotator exceeds my expectations! I purchased mine on sale for $129. I thought all vacumes had suction, that was the point right! I actually had two vacumes one was better at vacuuming, or so I thought and one had great attachments! Lol. I live in Louisiana and my vacumes flooded so I needed to replace them. I've had a variety of vacume brands and I've never been loyal to any brand. Frankly I didn't see the big deal! I've even owned a Rainbow vacume. But my Shark has the best suction ever! The reason I purchased this model Shark was because of the longer cord and hose. I can vacume without dust flying on my glass tables and I won't even go into details about what came out of my rug! It works great on pet hair.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Design flaws
9/15/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I really wanted to give this vacuum 5 stars, but it has some design flaws. The suction of this vacuum on both carpet and hard floors is amazing. I also like the "head lights" on the front to see in darker corners. The things that I do NOT like are: The hose. I cannot stand the hose on this vacuum. It does not extend easily.. If i want to vacuum the steps for example I have to carry the whole vacuum with because the hose is so tight that if I just take the hose, the vacuum will come flying down the stairs with it. It just makes it more difficult to do tasks that it should excel in. It does after all boast about the 12 ft hose extension. I'd say it extends about 4-5 ft without have to carry the vacuum around. I also do not like the little open and close air things (sorry, don't know what the technical term would be) on the top of the hose, as that is where I hold it and I also push them open, lowering the suction a bit. If it weren't for these 2 flaws (in my eyes, anyway) I would give this vacuum 5 stars. But those 2 things annoy me every time I use the vacuum, so I can't.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (217)No (49)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not Too Shabby
1/16/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought the Shark because I cannot afford a Dyson. While it may not be as good as the Dyson, (my mother has one and I have used hers) for a third of the cost it's darn close. It has powerful suction though I have noticed it works better on Berber than shag. It works surprisingly well on wood and tile. Another great thing is it doesn't fall over on you when your using the hose and attachments. A couple of negatives-- it's a bit heavy, the sweeper head is a bit small (which may be a positive if you have a lot things you need to sweep around), and the suction is not that powerful on the edges of the sweeper head. That being said I am still very happy with my purchase and I hope it holds up. I have two inside dogs and a six month old so I sweep A LOT. Oh and the filtration is great. I'm comfortable using the vacuum around my daughter without having to worry about the quality of the air in the room.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (106)No (20)
Report
Was this review helpful?
No need to look any further
4/8/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I must say I was a bit skeptical because of some of the negative reviews I had seen on the net. But when I received the box and assembled the vac I saw how well it was constructed. I Then vacuumed an 8 foot section of my hallway carpet. The carpet is a patterned Berber which has been a pain to vacuum since day one. I'm embarrassed to say I practically filled the canister in just the hallway. Mind you I have a long haired cat, but i have never seen my carpet this clean in it's life. One thing I like is not having to adjust the hight of the vacuum head for different heights of carpet. I could have spent a lot more on something like a Dyson but this vacuum has enough suction to pull anything out of tight woven Berber. The only drawback I can see is having to empty the canister so often. But it's a quick one button operation to pull it off, and one button to empty it into the garbage. Buy this Vac! you won't be disappointed! From what I hear this one has a lot more suction that the lift off model. Plus it came bundled with a hand held pet vac which is great for quick touchups.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (165)No (38)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Atrocious support**
6/2/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought the Shark Rotator Pro in December of 2015. It broke (the motor stopped working) in January 2016. Walmart exchanged it no problem. The new one broke (motor stopped working) in May 2016. Since it was more than 90 days, I had to contact Shark to get it serviced. I have tried at least 20 times to call their customer service number over the past two weeks. It is always busy. I connect by on-line chat. The agent told me the only way to get service was the same 800 number that is always busy. I have now emailed customer service 3 times. They never respond. As far as I'm concerned, you'd have to be nuts to buy this vacuum. Unless, of course, you don't mind wasting $150.00 plus. You might get lucky. But if it breaks (and I've had two break so far), you're going to be stuck with it and no help in the offing. The warranty is useless. They don't respond.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (132)No (21)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Accessories are not same as claimed
1/8/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I just purchased this vacuum yesterday because of its great reviews. Unfortunately it DID NOT include an "extendable crevice tool" instead it was just a cheap plastic crevice tool that did not extend and did not have a rubber tip as claimed. Also the slide out upholstery brush that was supposed to be included was a far cry from the cheap tiny short bristled brush that came in the box. Obviously the accessories were switched out for cheaper alternatives. The swivel steering really isn't very exciting, it's just as easy to use a straight vacuum. And I wasn't very impressed with the length of the hose considering it's marketed as Extra Long reach. The crevice tool works ok for the floor, but doesn't quite reach the ceiling unless the main vacuum unit is bumped to the wall or me, which made it difficult to work with. I am thinking of returning this item, it's just not as good as advertised. This vacuum picks up dirt and old carpet fibers pretty well. Great for picking up long strands of hair from me and my daughter, but I had to cut from the beater bar.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (45)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect for pets and kids
11/25/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I vacuum once a day and sometimes twice a day in the summer. I have 4 children (ages 4-12), a medium hair cat, and golden retreiver. We put in hardwood floors a year ago and since then I've been looking for a vacuum that can handle rugs and bare floors. At first, I bought a dirt devil ($160# and a light weight, stick Shark vacuum. With my kids running in and out every day with my golden, and my husband hunting every fall....I couldn't catch up with the cleaning. It was too time consuming with two vacuums. I recently saw a commercial of the rotator and had to try it. I took it home and I love it. I vacuum once a day and its so easy to move around. It's not heavy compared to the dirt devil I had which was 21lbs. I also looked at other eureka and hoover vacs but they were all over 21lbs. My oldest son #12 years old) helps me vacuum and he loves it. He doesn't have any complaints about the weight. He's only about 70lbs and he can vacuum the entire house. His bedroom is downstairs and he can easily carry it down to his room. I have nothing bad to say about the rotator. I love it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (259)No (93)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Decent vacuum for $200
12/2/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I agree with the other reviewer in that this does its job and does it well, love the headlights too but that hose!! Oh my that is the worst ever, not long enough! The cord drives me nuts too for its close to the bottom of the vacuum and you often step on it and its not as long as some other either. I use my vacuum EVERY day cause I have shedding dogs and have had it for at least a year now. The clip on the front empting canister doesn't close anymore and my beater bar just stopped working BUT I use this every day! My yellow Dyson before this lasted me almost 5 years before giving out. This vacuum seems very solid and sturdy, may not have lasted as long but with this warranty you cannot go wrong for $200. I have no idea what I'm in for on my journey to have this fixed but I can tell you I'm not impressed with the Dyson DC41 Animal I just got to replace it! Its flimsy in comparison and has very annoying features. I know you need to get used to it and I do recall saying the same thing at first about the Shark but I think I like my Shark better. I may return the Dyson after I get this back!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (38)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better than my Bissell!
8/8/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
with multiple pets in the home, vacuuming is a daily requirement and the Shark upholstery attachment is very good at extracting pet hair, unlike my former vacuum. It's quiet and effective, but I wish it had a bigger cup as I do have to empty it several times when I do a thorough vacuum of the main rooms. while the swivel head is good most of the time it is awkward on occasion. works well on carpets and bare floors. it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great vacuum for homes with shedding dogs!
4/3/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We were considering a Dyson to replace our 13 year old Oreck XL Gold vacuum, but then we read several reviews of the Shark Rotator, we have a 1 year old Lab mix and he is shedding like crazy, we were vacuuming 3 times a day with the Oreck and it was just too much for that vacuum, so, for almost half the price of the Dyson we tried the Shark, very impressive vacuum, we did a trial in our kitchen, we have wood floors with a rug underneath the kitchen table, we just vacuumed it with the Oreck, then we went over it again with our new Shark Rotator, what difference, this rug was 6'x5', after once complete pass over the rug, the entire lower section of the container was full of dog hair and dust, that sold us on the vacuum right there. The other nice feature is the on/off switch for the floor brush, this allows us to turn off the brush when doing the hardwood floors. Only down side, not the greatest suction along the edge of the vacuum, but the built in attachment makes corners and edges easy to take care of. We are thinking of buying another Shark just for the 2nd floor. You can't go wrong with the Shark Rotator, especially if you have shedding dogs or cats.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (39)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Shark Rotator
12/8/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I just received this vacuum cleaner yesterday (as an early Christmas present) and I've only used it once. assembly was very easy but the vacuum is not as light as they say it is. the swivel steering is nice but you really can't get under furniture because the dust canister is so large on the front. I had read a review before purchasing this item and this woman said that the vacuum cleaner deep cleaned so well so that her area rug looked brand new so of course I had to test this out first! I have a very large area rug in my kitchen and with a dog and cat, it stays pretty dirty. this vacuum cleaner literally made this rug look brand new and so clean. I'm delighted to say that this product was well worth $200, I cleaned half of my living room and had to stop 5 times to empty the canister, that's how deep it cleans the carpet. if you have pets, you could not get a better product. I cannot wait to finish the rest of my house because it is mostly carpet. I would definitely reccommened this product to anyone would wants a cheap, well-made, great product that will last for a while. (:
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640661, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-