Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 487 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

487 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

487 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
350
4 stars
82
3 stars
12
2 stars
11
1 stars
32
1-20 of 460 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 460 total reviews
1-20 of 460 reviews
Great Vacuum!!
11/19/2012

Customer review by JoseiG

4.0 stars 11/19/2012 by JoseiG
by JoseiG

It has alot of power and suction compared to my over priced dyson animal that I bought 8 years ago. Don't get me wrong, the Dyson has a lot of great qualities, but even after routine maintenance it finally stopped working. The attachment and hose stopped sucking and then started getting louder and louder. The Rotator Professional is even quieter than my dyson when I first bought it and has many more options. The only thing that I would say about the Shark Rotator so far is the bin is much smaller and requires many more trips to the trash bin. I have three dogs and three cats. I will see if the Rotator will keep up and will keep you posted! The Shark also has a five year warranty!!

Was this review helpful? (252) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoseiG
Fountain CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't listen to these people.
4/27/2014

Customer review by stibb22

5.0 stars 4/27/2014 by stibb22
by stibb22

Ok, We all look at the reviews to get an idea of what kind of product we are looking at right? Well, I've read these reviews and went out and bought this vacuum yesterday. All of the reviews are complaining about how the hose doesn't extend, or that it is top heavy, or that the suction isn't great. Let me tell you, I have 2 cats and a lab. I bought this vacuum and this thing is amazing! The suction is beyond powerful! When you turn the brush tool on, you better hold on to the vacuum because it will pull right out of your hands if you aren't holding on tight. The lights are amazingly bright. As for the hose, yes it gets tight when you are trying to use it with full suction, but all you have to do is uncrinkle it. It is a flexible hose so you just have to pull at it a little and it will loosen up. The vacuum is a little heavy but I am completely satisfied with this product! I've always wanted a Shark or a Dyson but never had the money for one. I finally caved and bought this one when it was on sale and it is the best investment ever. If you don't believe me, I'll leave you with this....while I was vacuuming, my boyfriend stole it from me, and then vacuumed the ENTIRE house! That has never happened. He didn't want to stop. If that doesn't say something, I don't know what will.

Was this review helpful? (212) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stibb22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best on the market
10/14/2012

Customer review by skepticsam

5.0 stars 10/14/2012 by skepticsam
by skepticsam

This is the best on the market. I have had several brands and housekeepers with their own. Yep-I mean from $500 and down. They had some latch problems{see Amazon reviews}and roller brush issues but this one is fine so far. It converts to a carry type sort of like a dust buster. The wand could be longer but for suction it can`t be beat. It`s very colorful too!

Was this review helpful? (346) (68)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skepticsam
Yuma,Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 500 contributor
11/29/2012

Customer review by cz2007

4.0 stars 11/29/2012 by cz2007
by cz2007

The suction on this vacuum is so powerful that when you first turn it on it takes off, but then it is an effort to pull it back. If you have thick carpeting it takes more effort. So if you are like me and have a bad shoulder it can be painful. Other than that it seems like a good vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (48) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cz2007
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Heavy
11/9/2012

Customer review by cookiesnonna

4.0 stars 11/9/2012 by cookiesnonna
by cookiesnonna

I bought this today, it didn't take long to assemble it but once I turned it on to vacuum I realized how heavy this vacuum is. I'm not sure why the product description says it's lightweight. It looks nice, works well but I have a back condition and within 5 min. of vacuuming I had to stop because it gave me a backache pulling and pushing the heavy vacuum. I would recommend the product but keep in mind it is NOT lightweight, it's pretty heavy.

Was this review helpful? (151) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cookiesnonna
Sunrise, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Design flaws
9/15/2013

Customer review by xpurplebubblegum

3.0 stars 9/15/2013 by xpurplebubblegum
by xpurplebubblegum

I really wanted to give this vacuum 5 stars, but it has some design flaws. The suction of this vacuum on both carpet and hard floors is amazing. I also like the "head lights" on the front to see in darker corners. The things that I do NOT like are: The hose. I cannot stand the hose on this vacuum. It does not extend easily.. If i want to vacuum the steps for example I have to carry the whole vacuum with because the hose is so tight that if I just take the hose, the vacuum will come flying down the stairs with it. It just makes it more difficult to do tasks that it should excel in. It does after all boast about the 12 ft hose extension. I'd say it extends about 4-5 ft without have to carry the vacuum around. I also do not like the little open and close air things (sorry, don't know what the technical term would be) on the top of the hose, as that is where I hold it and I also push them open, lowering the suction a bit. If it weren't for these 2 flaws (in my eyes, anyway) I would give this vacuum 5 stars. But those 2 things annoy me every time I use the vacuum, so I can't.

Was this review helpful? (112) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xpurplebubblegum
Palmyra, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No need to look any further
4/8/2014

Customer review by Weefdog

5.0 stars 4/8/2014 by Weefdog
by Weefdog

I must say I was a bit skeptical because of some of the negative reviews I had seen on the net. But when I received the box and assembled the vac I saw how well it was constructed. I Then vacuumed an 8 foot section of my hallway carpet. The carpet is a patterned Berber which has been a pain to vacuum since day one. I'm embarrassed to say I practically filled the canister in just the hallway. Mind you I have a long haired cat, but i have never seen my carpet this clean in it's life. One thing I like is not having to adjust the hight of the vacuum head for different heights of carpet. I could have spent a lot more on something like a Dyson but this vacuum has enough suction to pull anything out of tight woven Berber. The only drawback I can see is having to empty the canister so often. But it's a quick one button operation to pull it off, and one button to empty it into the garbage. Buy this Vac! you won't be disappointed! From what I hear this one has a lot more suction that the lift off model. Plus it came bundled with a hand held pet vac which is great for quick touchups.

Was this review helpful? (77) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Weefdog
Fridley MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not Too Shabby
1/16/2014

Customer review by Meg321123

4.0 stars 1/16/2014 by Meg321123
by Meg321123

I bought the Shark because I cannot afford a Dyson. While it may not be as good as the Dyson, (my mother has one and I have used hers) for a third of the cost it's darn close. It has powerful suction though I have noticed it works better on Berber than shag. It works surprisingly well on wood and tile. Another great thing is it doesn't fall over on you when your using the hose and attachments. A couple of negatives-- it's a bit heavy, the sweeper head is a bit small (which may be a positive if you have a lot things you need to sweep around), and the suction is not that powerful on the edges of the sweeper head. That being said I am still very happy with my purchase and I hope it holds up. I have two inside dogs and a six month old so I sweep A LOT. Oh and the filtration is great. I'm comfortable using the vacuum around my daughter without having to worry about the quality of the air in the room.

Was this review helpful? (52) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Meg321123
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BEST VACUUM I EVER OWNED! lOVE MINE!
10/22/2013

Customer review by 49anna

5.0 stars 10/22/2013 by 49anna
by 49anna

I gave away my bissell and my reliable hoover for this amazing shark. I loved my hoover no bag but suction was a nightmare. If you ran over the wrong carpet it would get stuck in the beater bar. Not with my shark! This has airflow control on the handle you can open it if there is too much suction for my gentle throw rugs it worked great. I have ivory, mauve , low pile, no pile and hard wood floors. I even use on my outside indoor/outdoor carpeting to vacuum pine needles off porch rug. Amazing suction. Swivel drive me nuts at times I bump into nice furniture but as a vacuum i can't believe i never got a shark. I assumed they were still real expensive.Love it i drag it all over. Love attachments fit and stay on vacuum and hose reaches my ceilings to get any dust bunnies on top of my curtains. Try it u will love it.

Was this review helpful? (77) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
49anna
VaBch,VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect for pets and kids
11/25/2012

Customer review by likebao81

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by likebao81
by likebao81

I vacuum once a day and sometimes twice a day in the summer. I have 4 children (ages 4-12), a medium hair cat, and golden retreiver. We put in hardwood floors a year ago and since then I've been looking for a vacuum that can handle rugs and bare floors. At first, I bought a dirt devil ($160# and a light weight, stick Shark vacuum. With my kids running in and out every day with my golden, and my husband hunting every fall....I couldn't catch up with the cleaning. It was too time consuming with two vacuums. I recently saw a commercial of the rotator and had to try it. I took it home and I love it. I vacuum once a day and its so easy to move around. It's not heavy compared to the dirt devil I had which was 21lbs. I also looked at other eureka and hoover vacs but they were all over 21lbs. My oldest son #12 years old) helps me vacuum and he loves it. He doesn't have any complaints about the weight. He's only about 70lbs and he can vacuum the entire house. His bedroom is downstairs and he can easily carry it down to his room. I have nothing bad to say about the rotator. I love it.

Was this review helpful? (233) (89)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
likebao81
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I love my new vacuum!! It's fun!!
12/15/2012

Customer review by Ambiebambie

5.0 stars 12/15/2012 by Ambiebambie
by Ambiebambie

I absolutely love this vacuum! Our old cheap vacuum started to not pick up so much so my husband and I have been looking for a better vacuum. We looked at rating and I liked the rating shark had compared to others like Hoover, Bissel. Alot compared or said it was better then dyson. Well I agree! I barrowed one of my friends vacuum and it turned out to be a dyson dc07 I think?, but it did a great job, of course it did better than my euricka vacuum. It picked up some old powder that was in the carpet. But I can't afford a dyson ad my husband said he would never pay $400 for a vacuum. So we chose the shark rotator out of all sharks since it fit us, it was reasonably priced, and even tho it's not a lift away I don't really need that feature since I live in an apartment. We just got it today finally and omg it sucked even more old carpet powder, even after vacuuming with a dyson. I had to empty it like 4 times and I live in an apartment which is not big. Yuk!! It really made my carpet Puffy again, the dyson did that too but i think the shark did better. It's a really good machine, it's fun also I love the swivel steering! I even vacuumed twice today. I really see no cons. It is a bit heavy so if you want something light I'd go with the lift away rotator. I wanted to write a review because I want those who are searching for a good vacuum to know this is a very great vacuum. I know finding a good one is a tough choice. I'm so glad i purchased this one.

Was this review helpful? (71) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ambiebambie
Boerne tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very versatile vacuum
12/14/2013

Customer review by FMNS

4.0 stars 12/14/2013 by FMNS
by FMNS

I own a Dyson DC 39 Animal canister that I had been using for my cleaning business, but the fragile wheels on the floor attachment have broke several times and I have had to have the part replaced. You would think a $500 vacuum would hold up better than that. I decided to give the Shark NV500 a try since I need a vacuum that can tackle pet hair. I like the fact that this vacuum can convert to a canister and has a special floor tool that is very gentle on wood floors, yet has the suction needed to pick up dirt in corners without having to take it remove it. It does very well on carpet and maneuvers easily around furniture/walls with the swivel head. Two things I do not like, the pet tool has already broke and am being sent a new part. Hopefully this was a fluke and will not happen with the new one. Also, the vacuum is very top heavy and will tip over if you are using the hose with one of the attachments. This can be very annoying. At 1/2 the price of the Dyson, I believe this is a good alternative as long as the pet tool holds up.

Was this review helpful? (40) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FMNS
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/4/2012

Customer review by myshark

5.0 stars 12/4/2012 by myshark
by myshark

So i'm waiting for my shark to be delivered any day now.I need to vacuum so i do with my dirt devil.Shark comes about 2 hours later,ok lets try this baby.Amazing,i cant believe what the other vacuum missed,i immediately had half a canister of dog hair,very powerful,easy to use attachments and very easy to put together,only took 5 minutes.I love it.My daughter has a dyson so i borrowed it,did not get all the dog hair the shark did,hurry and get one,i cant wait to vacuum again,lol

Was this review helpful? (43) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
myshark
bolingbrook,illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/18/2012

Customer review by karkee40

5.0 stars 11/18/2012 by karkee40
by karkee40

I have a TriStar vacuum that i paid a couple thousand dollares for. I saw the ads for the Shark Rotator and liked it, so i bought one. It cleans a hundred times better than the TriStar. I have two dogs and two cats and the vacuum is wonderful. Will never buy an expensive vacuum again. In fact my son has two dogs and needs a new vacuum so we bought him one for Christmas. karkee40

Was this review helpful? (79) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
karkee40
Bonaire, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent, even with "ground-in" cat hair.
10/24/2013

Customer review by LSCatLover

5.0 stars 10/24/2013 by LSCatLover
by LSCatLover

Wasn't intending to buy a vacuum at this time, but had to have some floor repairs done in the bedroom, and my regular Oreck was in the shop. The large bed was completely out of the way, for once, and I could see where my cats had been hiding under it, out of reach of the Oreck, for at least two years. A "brand-name" challenge was never this effective. That cat hair was thoroughly embedded, and I'm fairly sure it would simply have clogged the brush, then the vacuum tube itself in the Oreck. I went ahead and worked on that area. I was amazed, yet dismayed in a way, by how much the Shark picked up. I knew it was bad, but I didn't know it was That bad. The Shark grabbed so much cat hair that I had to empty the collector four times just from the area occupied by the bed! It also dealt readily with cat litter that had been tracked into the carpet as well, and I found out it had tracked much further than I had realized, but the Shark found it. I even tried torturing the roller attachment by trying it on the cats' beds, and it did amazingly well with those. I wasn't intending to clean the rest of the house, but I was so impressed that I spent the next several hours doing so. Gave it a thorough workout, and some very tough tests, using it as an upright, and trying the crevice tool and roller brush head. Love being able to see what is being picked up, and having on-board attachments was so much handier now (the upright Oreck can't use them, and I normally had to switch to the smaller hand-tool version that had a lot less suction). At this point, I've only had it a few hours, but I think I've already used it and abused it with far more brutal circumstances than I ever would with my Oreck. Used it on the vinyl floors in the cat box area, and it had no problem at all with the cat litter, not even with the dust line around the edges of their mats. After that, I did the living room, and moved nearly all the furniture out of the way too. Got the carpet the cleanest it has ever been since it was installed. When I finished, I even got down on my hands and knees, with my black pants that are the worst to grab cat hair, and I crawled around on the floor, deliberately looking for any remaining hair, and sure that my black pants would find it. But I couldn't see any, and there was none on my pants either! That has Definitely never happened before. Highly impressed with the vacuum, and totally disgusted that my floors had been that bad and I hadn't been aware of it. But now they're truly clean, and I'm happy, happy, happy. Thank you, Shark!

Was this review helpful? (43) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LSCatLover
Marion, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Outstanding
9/12/2013

Customer review by Unbeleaveable

5.0 stars 9/12/2013 by Unbeleaveable
by Unbeleaveable

I love this vacume. Everything right at your finger tips. No adjustments needed from floors to caepets to walls.What used to take an hour and 3 different cleaning products , now in this awesome vacume. I guess I only thought my home was clean, now I can tell the error of my ways. If anyone has allergies, this vacume really does that heavy duty dander cleaning. Not to mention it is just beautiful on top of all it's cleaning abilities. Oh and quiet, no air coming from any gaps. Easy to dump, and I snaped it all together myself...so that part was fun and I did not have to ask my husband for anything. So yes I am rating it an A+.

Was this review helpful? (33) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Unbeleaveable
South
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excelnt.
12/1/2013

Customer review by Mrsgriff05

5.0 stars 12/1/2013 by Mrsgriff05
by Mrsgriff05

Hi everybody, im going to be very quick, i have an american eskimo, and he sheds a bit to much, and i am very allergic to him, but i love my dog and so my kids and hubby, so i had a kirby, and vissel, and let me tell you, i was dying cause of the allergies, but i would never give my dog away, so i seen this amazing commercial, so i bought it, and let me tell you, i have been feeling better, also my clothes is not cover on white hairs, my kids arent walking with hairs on them either, is a light weight, i also suffer from back pain, so this makes it a whole lot easier for me to clean, i really recommend this to you, and to everybody, give it a try, i am happy, and i love laying on the ground with my kids again :).

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mrsgriff05
Puyallup wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Finally
10/17/2013

Customer review by KEAnderson88

5.0 stars 10/17/2013 by KEAnderson88
by KEAnderson88

I have waited a very long time to purchase a more expensive vacuum. I have owned nothing but cheap vacuums since my husband and I have lived together. I really did not want buy a $500/$600 vacuum. It may sound silly but I swear this vacuum has changed my life. I'm not stressed out about dog hair or dirty corners. I no longer have to move furniture to get in tight spots. It sucked the dust and dirt right out of my heat vents. It has such amazing suction and is easy to move around. I'm a small girl and I have no issues with lifting it up and down my stairs. I am in love. I have used it for two days straight and I am running out of dirt/doghair to suck up. lol

Was this review helpful? (31) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KEAnderson88
Groton CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Accessories are not same as claimed
1/8/2014

Customer review by LatteLisa

3.0 stars 1/8/2014 by LatteLisa
by LatteLisa

I just purchased this vacuum yesterday because of its great reviews. Unfortunately it DID NOT include an "extendable crevice tool" instead it was just a cheap plastic crevice tool that did not extend and did not have a rubber tip as claimed. Also the slide out upholstery brush that was supposed to be included was a far cry from the cheap tiny short bristled brush that came in the box. Obviously the accessories were switched out for cheaper alternatives. The swivel steering really isn't very exciting, it's just as easy to use a straight vacuum. And I wasn't very impressed with the length of the hose considering it's marketed as Extra Long reach. The crevice tool works ok for the floor, but doesn't quite reach the ceiling unless the main vacuum unit is bumped to the wall or me, which made it difficult to work with. I am thinking of returning this item, it's just not as good as advertised. This vacuum picks up dirt and old carpet fibers pretty well. Great for picking up long strands of hair from me and my daughter, but I had to cut from the beater bar.

Was this review helpful? (30) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LatteLisa
Shelton, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great vacuum for homes with shedding dogs!
4/3/2014

Customer review by JandTW

5.0 stars 4/3/2014 by JandTW
by JandTW

We were considering a Dyson to replace our 13 year old Oreck XL Gold vacuum, but then we read several reviews of the Shark Rotator, we have a 1 year old Lab mix and he is shedding like crazy, we were vacuuming 3 times a day with the Oreck and it was just too much for that vacuum, so, for almost half the price of the Dyson we tried the Shark, very impressive vacuum, we did a trial in our kitchen, we have wood floors with a rug underneath the kitchen table, we just vacuumed it with the Oreck, then we went over it again with our new Shark Rotator, what difference, this rug was 6'x5', after once complete pass over the rug, the entire lower section of the container was full of dog hair and dust, that sold us on the vacuum right there. The other nice feature is the on/off switch for the floor brush, this allows us to turn off the brush when doing the hardwood floors. Only down side, not the greatest suction along the edge of the vacuum, but the built in attachment makes corners and edges easy to take care of. We are thinking of buying another Shark just for the 2nd floor. You can't go wrong with the Shark Rotator, especially if you have shedding dogs or cats.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JandTW
Lebanon Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 460 total reviews
1-20 of 460 reviews