Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 539 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

539 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

539 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
387
4 stars
91
3 stars
14
2 stars
12
1 stars
35
1-20 of 512 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 512 total reviews
1-20 of 512 reviews
Great Suction!
2/8/2016

Customer review by ConsumerShopperJustLookn

4.0 stars 2/8/2016 by ConsumerShopperJustLookn
by ConsumerShopperJustLookn

Had to buy a new vacuum as my old one which was a hoover for pets took a tumble down our stairs :( So after reading the reviews decided on this one. Great suction - it was smaller and feels a little top heavy however very easy to move around and I like that it has a smaller bottom as I can get into places I couldn't before. Love the attachments especially the turbo brush for doing stairs and did I say great suction. I had just vacuumed before my old vacuum decided to commit suicide - bought this vacuum same day and re-vacuumed and boy it picked up a lot more!- I have a dogs and a cat and it picks up the dog/cat hair great - I also like the way it leaves the carpet looking plush! The only thing that would make this vacuum a 5 star would be if it had a retractable cord - my old vacuum had that and I loved it...also although you can turn off the brush part so you can use on bare floors I found it didn't get everything up and pushed the dirt around...Other than that I really like this vacuum ;)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ConsumerShopperJustLookn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best vacuum ever!
12/4/2014

Customer review by waggels

5.0 stars 12/4/2014 by waggels
by waggels

Have had a Dyson for several years and was thinking about getting another one so I didn't have to drag it up and down the stairs, however didn't really want to pay an outrageous price for it. Then came across this vacuum and checked out the reviews, thought I would go ahead and give it a try. I must say that my Dyson has been failing me! The amount of fine dust that the Shark pulled out of my carpet was astounding. I knew the Dyson was missing some stuff because when I would steam clean the carpets, the steam cleaner would pick up the fine sand left behind. This Shark definitely picked up that sand and my floors look like new. It fits under cabinet bases (unlike the Dyson) and cleans bare floors perfectly. I have 2 dogs that shed a lot and it picked the hair up with no problem. The only thing I don't care for is the ball and swivel part of the vacuum, makes it feel a little top heavy. I am thinking about getting another Shark and retiring the Dyson to the dark basement, poor Dyson.

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
waggels
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not great with a lot of pet hair!
1/1/2016

Customer review by JKVANNORSDEL

1.0 stars 1/1/2016 by JKVANNORSDEL
by JKVANNORSDEL

If you have a pet free home and have very few people through your house, this is a great vacuum! If you have pets - which equal lots of hair and dirt - not so much! We have 2 dogs, 3 cats and a guinea pig. Hair wraps around the brush so tight it's very hard to get off. I haven't found any way to get it off other than tip the whole machine upside down and pulling it off by hand. I have also never had a vacuum that jams so easily. 2 small pieces of hay from the guinea pig were on the floor and I made the mistake of trying to vacuum them up. It jammed up so bad I thought I would never get it cleared. Then came Christmas. I set up my artificial tree and some of the fake pine needles fell off. I vacuumed those up and had another major jam that took the better part of an hour to find!! Not the most easy machine to find those small jams in! A Kirby is expensive and heavy, but if you have a lot of pets, do yourself a favor and invest in one! Hair still gets wrapped around the brush, but it's very user friendly to take the entire brush out without having your entire vacuum tipped upside down!

Was this review helpful? (8) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JKVANNORSDEL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awkward vacuum
1/10/2016

Customer review by CarolG

4.0 stars 1/10/2016 by CarolG
by CarolG

Pros- 1. It really sucks up the dirt, but then, what new vacuum doesn't? I know the occasional lemon happens. 2. No filters to clean after each use. Just dump out the dirt. 3. Long extension wand. 4. Easy to put together. 5. Long cord. Cons-1. Top heavy. Wonder if it's gonna fall over when it's standing for storage. If you have wrist, arm issues, don't buy this one. 2. Small vacuuming head/floor nozzle. Only 11 inches wide. My old one was 15. 3. No edge suction whatsoever. But then you can use the wand and the crevice tool, if you want to bend over for each and every room. 4. Have to remember to open the vent when vacuuming small area rugs otherwise they will get chewed up by the brush. ---------------------- Even though I gave it a 4, because it does do it's job, I would not recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CarolG
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very versatile vacuum
12/14/2013

Customer review by FMNS

4.0 stars 12/14/2013 by FMNS
by FMNS
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I own a Dyson DC 39 Animal canister that I had been using for my cleaning business, but the fragile wheels on the floor attachment have broke several times and I have had to have the part replaced. You would think a $500 vacuum would hold up better than that. I decided to give the Shark NV500 a try since I need a vacuum that can tackle pet hair. I like the fact that this vacuum can convert to a canister and has a special floor tool that is very gentle on wood floors, yet has the suction needed to pick up dirt in corners without having to take it remove it. It does very well on carpet and maneuvers easily around furniture/walls with the swivel head. Two things I do not like, the pet tool has already broke and am being sent a new part. Hopefully this was a fluke and will not happen with the new one. Also, the vacuum is very top heavy and will tip over if you are using the hose with one of the attachments. This can be very annoying. At 1/2 the price of the Dyson, I believe this is a good alternative as long as the pet tool holds up.

Was this review helpful? (47) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FMNS
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Handy, compact and works well
9/22/2014

Customer review by SunMoonSea

5.0 stars 9/22/2014 by SunMoonSea
by SunMoonSea
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I just got this and only tried it once, but so far I am pleased. It seems to have good sucking power and features for the price. I like that there is storage for the attachments right on the vacuum - well most. The pet attachment and if you buy other optional attachments don't have a 'plug on' space. I stick it on the handle for temporary storage - I like to keep it all together - otherwise parts get lost and/ or not used. I like the multiple filters, and after vacuuming a dusty shag rug I did not have to sneeze- so that's a good sign. I also like that the dirt container is transparent - yucky but effective! You don't have to guess when the container is full and you can see it at work. The hose is fairly short, but easily expands. maybe a little longer would be good. The unit also came with a 'free' hand held which I love. Although it's not a wet- dry vac like previous ones I have owned - it is much more powerful. best one I have owned. Only drawback is that I wish it came with a wall storage attachment.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SunMoonSea
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not Too Shabby
1/16/2014

Customer review by Meg321123

4.0 stars 1/16/2014 by Meg321123
by Meg321123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought the Shark because I cannot afford a Dyson. While it may not be as good as the Dyson, (my mother has one and I have used hers) for a third of the cost it's darn close. It has powerful suction though I have noticed it works better on Berber than shag. It works surprisingly well on wood and tile. Another great thing is it doesn't fall over on you when your using the hose and attachments. A couple of negatives-- it's a bit heavy, the sweeper head is a bit small (which may be a positive if you have a lot things you need to sweep around), and the suction is not that powerful on the edges of the sweeper head. That being said I am still very happy with my purchase and I hope it holds up. I have two inside dogs and a six month old so I sweep A LOT. Oh and the filtration is great. I'm comfortable using the vacuum around my daughter without having to worry about the quality of the air in the room.

Was this review helpful? (71) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Meg321123
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not good for pet hair
1/27/2013

Customer review by blackdoggie

2.0 stars 1/27/2013 by blackdoggie
by blackdoggie

I purchased the NV400 rotator at Walmart for a Christmas present for my house. We have a black Labrador and my other vacuum was very old. The Rotator is easy to get around furniture and under things but it is not a good design for pet hair. The opening into the canister from the vacuum is very small and square and the hair balls up in the tube and does not go into the vacuum. You have to remove the dirt canister and remove the clog after each vacuum. The vacuum has suction but the design does not allow the hair to go into the cannister. We cleaned all the clogs out thinking it was a one time thing and tried again but it clogged up again. The hair was dry and only hair was in the clog. I am afraid this one will have to go back. I will clean it up and return it to Walmart. I have had other shark products and was very happy with them but this design simply clogs up with even a little dog hair. So sorry Shark- I am disappointed with this model.

Was this review helpful? (44) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blackdoggie
Dallas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Accessories are not same as claimed
1/8/2014

Customer review by LatteLisa

3.0 stars 1/8/2014 by LatteLisa
by LatteLisa

I just purchased this vacuum yesterday because of its great reviews. Unfortunately it DID NOT include an "extendable crevice tool" instead it was just a cheap plastic crevice tool that did not extend and did not have a rubber tip as claimed. Also the slide out upholstery brush that was supposed to be included was a far cry from the cheap tiny short bristled brush that came in the box. Obviously the accessories were switched out for cheaper alternatives. The swivel steering really isn't very exciting, it's just as easy to use a straight vacuum. And I wasn't very impressed with the length of the hose considering it's marketed as Extra Long reach. The crevice tool works ok for the floor, but doesn't quite reach the ceiling unless the main vacuum unit is bumped to the wall or me, which made it difficult to work with. I am thinking of returning this item, it's just not as good as advertised. This vacuum picks up dirt and old carpet fibers pretty well. Great for picking up long strands of hair from me and my daughter, but I had to cut from the beater bar.

Was this review helpful? (32) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LatteLisa
Shelton, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Design flaws
9/15/2013

Customer review by xpurplebubblegum

3.0 stars 9/15/2013 by xpurplebubblegum
by xpurplebubblegum

I really wanted to give this vacuum 5 stars, but it has some design flaws. The suction of this vacuum on both carpet and hard floors is amazing. I also like the "head lights" on the front to see in darker corners. The things that I do NOT like are: The hose. I cannot stand the hose on this vacuum. It does not extend easily.. If i want to vacuum the steps for example I have to carry the whole vacuum with because the hose is so tight that if I just take the hose, the vacuum will come flying down the stairs with it. It just makes it more difficult to do tasks that it should excel in. It does after all boast about the 12 ft hose extension. I'd say it extends about 4-5 ft without have to carry the vacuum around. I also do not like the little open and close air things (sorry, don't know what the technical term would be) on the top of the hose, as that is where I hold it and I also push them open, lowering the suction a bit. If it weren't for these 2 flaws (in my eyes, anyway) I would give this vacuum 5 stars. But those 2 things annoy me every time I use the vacuum, so I can't.

Was this review helpful? (163) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xpurplebubblegum
Palmyra, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No need to look any further
4/8/2014

Customer review by Weefdog

5.0 stars 4/8/2014 by Weefdog
by Weefdog
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I must say I was a bit skeptical because of some of the negative reviews I had seen on the net. But when I received the box and assembled the vac I saw how well it was constructed. I Then vacuumed an 8 foot section of my hallway carpet. The carpet is a patterned Berber which has been a pain to vacuum since day one. I'm embarrassed to say I practically filled the canister in just the hallway. Mind you I have a long haired cat, but i have never seen my carpet this clean in it's life. One thing I like is not having to adjust the hight of the vacuum head for different heights of carpet. I could have spent a lot more on something like a Dyson but this vacuum has enough suction to pull anything out of tight woven Berber. The only drawback I can see is having to empty the canister so often. But it's a quick one button operation to pull it off, and one button to empty it into the garbage. Buy this Vac! you won't be disappointed! From what I hear this one has a lot more suction that the lift off model. Plus it came bundled with a hand held pet vac which is great for quick touchups.

Was this review helpful? (135) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Weefdog
Fridley MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for pets and kids
11/25/2012

Customer review by likebao81

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by likebao81
by likebao81

I vacuum once a day and sometimes twice a day in the summer. I have 4 children (ages 4-12), a medium hair cat, and golden retreiver. We put in hardwood floors a year ago and since then I've been looking for a vacuum that can handle rugs and bare floors. At first, I bought a dirt devil ($160# and a light weight, stick Shark vacuum. With my kids running in and out every day with my golden, and my husband hunting every fall....I couldn't catch up with the cleaning. It was too time consuming with two vacuums. I recently saw a commercial of the rotator and had to try it. I took it home and I love it. I vacuum once a day and its so easy to move around. It's not heavy compared to the dirt devil I had which was 21lbs. I also looked at other eureka and hoover vacs but they were all over 21lbs. My oldest son #12 years old) helps me vacuum and he loves it. He doesn't have any complaints about the weight. He's only about 70lbs and he can vacuum the entire house. His bedroom is downstairs and he can easily carry it down to his room. I have nothing bad to say about the rotator. I love it.

Was this review helpful? (243) (92)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
likebao81
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Decent vacuum for $200
12/2/2013

Customer review by GoodBikeHunter

3.0 stars 12/2/2013 by GoodBikeHunter
by GoodBikeHunter

I agree with the other reviewer in that this does its job and does it well, love the headlights too but that hose!! Oh my that is the worst ever, not long enough! The cord drives me nuts too for its close to the bottom of the vacuum and you often step on it and its not as long as some other either. I use my vacuum EVERY day cause I have shedding dogs and have had it for at least a year now. The clip on the front empting canister doesn't close anymore and my beater bar just stopped working BUT I use this every day! My yellow Dyson before this lasted me almost 5 years before giving out. This vacuum seems very solid and sturdy, may not have lasted as long but with this warranty you cannot go wrong for $200. I have no idea what I'm in for on my journey to have this fixed but I can tell you I'm not impressed with the Dyson DC41 Animal I just got to replace it! Its flimsy in comparison and has very annoying features. I know you need to get used to it and I do recall saying the same thing at first about the Shark but I think I like my Shark better. I may return the Dyson after I get this back!

Was this review helpful? (33) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GoodBikeHunter
Sykesville, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Shark Rotator
12/8/2012

Customer review by missdanniibby

5.0 stars 12/8/2012 by missdanniibby
by missdanniibby

I just received this vacuum cleaner yesterday (as an early Christmas present) and I've only used it once. assembly was very easy but the vacuum is not as light as they say it is. the swivel steering is nice but you really can't get under furniture because the dust canister is so large on the front. I had read a review before purchasing this item and this woman said that the vacuum cleaner deep cleaned so well so that her area rug looked brand new so of course I had to test this out first! I have a very large area rug in my kitchen and with a dog and cat, it stays pretty dirty. this vacuum cleaner literally made this rug look brand new and so clean. I'm delighted to say that this product was well worth $200, I cleaned half of my living room and had to stop 5 times to empty the canister, that's how deep it cleans the carpet. if you have pets, you could not get a better product. I cannot wait to finish the rest of my house because it is mostly carpet. I would definitely reccommened this product to anyone would wants a cheap, well-made, great product that will last for a while. (:

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
missdanniibby
Pikeville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great vacuum for homes with shedding dogs!
4/3/2014

Customer review by JandTW

5.0 stars 4/3/2014 by JandTW
by JandTW
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We were considering a Dyson to replace our 13 year old Oreck XL Gold vacuum, but then we read several reviews of the Shark Rotator, we have a 1 year old Lab mix and he is shedding like crazy, we were vacuuming 3 times a day with the Oreck and it was just too much for that vacuum, so, for almost half the price of the Dyson we tried the Shark, very impressive vacuum, we did a trial in our kitchen, we have wood floors with a rug underneath the kitchen table, we just vacuumed it with the Oreck, then we went over it again with our new Shark Rotator, what difference, this rug was 6'x5', after once complete pass over the rug, the entire lower section of the container was full of dog hair and dust, that sold us on the vacuum right there. The other nice feature is the on/off switch for the floor brush, this allows us to turn off the brush when doing the hardwood floors. Only down side, not the greatest suction along the edge of the vacuum, but the built in attachment makes corners and edges easy to take care of. We are thinking of buying another Shark just for the 2nd floor. You can't go wrong with the Shark Rotator, especially if you have shedding dogs or cats.

Was this review helpful? (31) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JandTW
Lebanon Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Vacuum!!
11/19/2012

Customer review by JoseiG

4.0 stars 11/19/2012 by JoseiG
by JoseiG

It has alot of power and suction compared to my over priced dyson animal that I bought 8 years ago. Don't get me wrong, the Dyson has a lot of great qualities, but even after routine maintenance it finally stopped working. The attachment and hose stopped sucking and then started getting louder and louder. The Rotator Professional is even quieter than my dyson when I first bought it and has many more options. The only thing that I would say about the Shark Rotator so far is the bin is much smaller and requires many more trips to the trash bin. I have three dogs and three cats. I will see if the Rotator will keep up and will keep you posted! The Shark also has a five year warranty!!

Was this review helpful? (356) (42)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoseiG
Fountain CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great sweeper
2/6/2016

Customer review by Monique

4.0 stars 2/6/2016 by Monique
by Monique

Gets clogged often only bad thing. It's easy to clean. Very nice! I was use to buying Bissell's every 4 months cause that's how long they last. Hoping this Shark last a lot longer!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Monique
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Did NOT pick up pet hair, dust cup too small, etc
8/26/2014

Customer review by MyReviewHopeItsHelpful

1.0 stars 8/26/2014 by MyReviewHopeItsHelpful
by MyReviewHopeItsHelpful

Do NOT buy this vacuum. This vacuum did NOT pick up pet hair. After going over the carpet 2x there was still pet hair laying on top of the carpet. The dust cup is way too small and has to be emptied too frequently and the cleaning head is too narrow and requires more passes over the carpet. This combined with the tiny dust cup significantly extends the amount of time it takes to clean a room. This model is NOT a 3 in 1 unit. You can only use this unit as an upright. I promptly returned this Shark to the store and purchased a Eureka AirSpeed Pet Bagged Upright vacuum for only $99. I love this Eureka it has picked up the pet hair, all the dirt/dust/pet hair is contained in the bag for easy no mess disposal. The Power Turbo pet brush is awesome and really cleans off the pet hair from furniture and dog bed covers before tossing in the washer. It has great suction for use as an upright or with the tools. Avoid the Shark and get the Eureka AS1051A.

Was this review helpful? (10) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MyReviewHopeItsHelpful
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Shark Vac
2/7/2016

Customer review by sharkie

4.0 stars 2/7/2016 by sharkie
by sharkie

Very powerful & reasonably priced at Wal-Mart. Was priced approximately $70 higher at other stores

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sharkie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BEST VACUUM I EVER OWNED! lOVE MINE!
10/22/2013

Customer review by 49anna

5.0 stars 10/22/2013 by 49anna
by 49anna

I gave away my bissell and my reliable hoover for this amazing shark. I loved my hoover no bag but suction was a nightmare. If you ran over the wrong carpet it would get stuck in the beater bar. Not with my shark! This has airflow control on the handle you can open it if there is too much suction for my gentle throw rugs it worked great. I have ivory, mauve , low pile, no pile and hard wood floors. I even use on my outside indoor/outdoor carpeting to vacuum pine needles off porch rug. Amazing suction. Swivel drive me nuts at times I bump into nice furniture but as a vacuum i can't believe i never got a shark. I assumed they were still real expensive.Love it i drag it all over. Love attachments fit and stay on vacuum and hose reaches my ceilings to get any dust bunnies on top of my curtains. Try it u will love it.

Was this review helpful? (84) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
49anna
VaBch,VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 512 total reviews
1-20 of 512 reviews