Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 20 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

20 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

20 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
5
1-20 of 20 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Higher QUALITY than I expected!
10/29/2012

Customer review by cruceskeith

5.0 stars 10/29/2012 by cruceskeith
by cruceskeith

I am VERY impressed with this TOSHIBA portable HDD. I have both 3.5 & 2.5 Seagate external portable HDDs, both 1 & 2 TBs. This TOSHIBA 1.5 TB seems to be faster than the other portable HDDs I have. This little gem is sealed, nearly silent & runs cool all the time. I have nearly 600 movies stored on this (1.18 TB used) and still lots of room to spare. I would recommend this TOSHIBA 1.5 TB for your total computer back up. It's large enough to used for just about any kind of storage the average user might have in mind. Small enough & light enough to carry in your shirt pocket.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cruceskeith
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great little drive
9/30/2012

Customer review by MikeDW

5.0 stars 9/30/2012 by MikeDW
by MikeDW

I bought this to load movies and TV shows to use with my media player. This thing is awesome. Fast, quiet and roomy. I have 200 movies, and 25 complete TV series loaded and still have room for more. Small enough to toss in my laptop case and have entertainment to go. I liked it so much I bought another to use as my external HD.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MikeDW
Kabul
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works well, but User Guide is nearly worthless.
1/1/2013

Customer review by lawncutter5

4.0 stars 1/1/2013 by lawncutter5
by lawncutter5
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

In the "United States" section of the User Guide on page 2 there are no instructions for installing the Drive's backup software on your computer. The "Canadian" section on page 6, which of course is also written in English, also does not contain any installation instructions. Ditto the Australia/New Zealand section on page 8. To find the installation instructions in English, I had to go page by page through the guide until I finally noticed them in the "South and Southeast Asia" section on page 23! Now I may not be the brightest bulb on the tree, but this makes absolutely no sense to me whatsoever. Further, I found the Toshiba on-line website to be confusing when trying to find more information about this device, drivers, or installation instructions. It seems like no matter which options I chose, I ended up with them giving me product pricing and ordering information. Installation was quite easy once I found the instructions, and the Drive works very well. I believe that the amount of storage you get for the cost is a good value. I installed it on a tablet computer running Windows 8 and had no problems even though Windows 8 is not listed on the advertising or the packaging as being compatible with the Drives software. However, in a "Toshiba" response to a customer question on the Wal-Mart site, it was stated to be compatible with Windows 8.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lawncutter5
Charlotte County, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is one great hard-drive!
4/22/2013

Customer review by PHARAOHAMON

5.0 stars 4/22/2013 by PHARAOHAMON
by PHARAOHAMON

This is one great hard-drive! When I first got it I was constantly transferring and downloading video. There have been times where this thing has ran for days and even weeks non-stop because I use it allot on a daily bases. From my 700+ movies and 1,200 or so television shows, 600+ Music Videos, 800-900 songs and with me being a digital graphics major, 10's of thousands of pictures. Not to mention with room for backing all my files from my 500GB laptop with still 308GB remaining. This thing holds 'ALLOT'! Transfers files quickly and has never gotten hot. I don't travel much with it #Thank goodness for that, because I'm a butter fingers!# The few times I did take it I managed to drop it twice, about a height of 3 feet. #NOT RECOMMENDED ... LOL# But the Canvio took the licking and kept on ticking. Only problem I ever had with this unit #Even before dropping.# was / is that 'sometimes' - "Not often" the unit doesn't eject and turning the system off is the safest thing to do. This doesn't happen much and isn't a real bother because between work, entertainment, movies, television, music and everything else I use this drive for - for about 12-16 hours EVERY DAY - if I were ejecting it I would more likely be turning my laptop off anyways. From my review I know you have figured that I am very satisfied with this drive. I plan on buying another to back up this one. I've had mines for 7-8 months and it runs as good as day 1 I'm writing this review now because 'I forgot' and returned with my fiancé' who just purchased one. So stop wondering "Is this a good and dependable drive? Will it be enough memory? Is it Butter-finger proof? Will it last? "YOU GET YOUR MONIES WORTH AND THEN SOME" So add it to your cart and check-out and after you get your Canvio you can come back and say: "This is one great hard-drive!"

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PHARAOHAMON
Erie Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Ok Back Up Drive
2/17/2013

Customer review by Fez

3.0 stars 2/17/2013 by Fez
by Fez

If you use the pass code feature - you can not unlock the drive and just see what files are on the drive - it only gives you the option to back up you files or restore your files - this drive does not allow you just to look at whats on the drive if you use a pass code feature - other then that it does what it is made to do and that is back up your files or restore your files - it does not come with a users guide that tells you how to use the drive - and if you want to back up your files and see whats on the drive you have to do it without using a pass code feature and that is not secure - this device needs a little more thinking put into the design coming from a company that has leading innovation in its company name - bought this back up drive on 02162013

Fez
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Outstanding Product!
9/14/2013

Customer review by cruceskeith

5.0 stars 9/14/2013 by cruceskeith
by cruceskeith

One of the best, most dependable plug-n-play external storage devices I've ever owned. Already have 2, just bought a 3rd. An absolutely must have product. I use on for an external systems backup, one for movies & TV shows, and the new one will be used for all around general purposes. Works just like a flash drive, plug it into a USB port, then drag-n-drop your documents, movies or whatever into it. It's that simple! Those complaining it doesn't work, either don't understand the premise of an external hard drive or have low power output in their computers USB ports. USB ports generate a small amount of electrical current to power the external devices. Check your computers USB power output before trashing this outstanding product.

cruceskeith
Mesa, AZ.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Portable HD
11/12/2012

Customer review by TXbigbird

5.0 stars 11/12/2012 by TXbigbird
by TXbigbird

I bought this for a Laptop Backup Drive, the software is not so good, as it's documentation is very limited and doesn't seem to match the folders that you indicate to be backed up. Do yourself a favor and either buy other software or manually transfer your own data. On USB 3.0 connection I was able to maintain across 3 separate transfers on my I7 Laptop; 64 to 38mb/s. After that I tested the Read and I was able to achieve 86 and 92mb/s. Fast drive for the $109 price and a $25 mail-in rebate.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TXbigbird
Pasadena, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
GREAT PRODUCT
12/21/2012

Customer review by mkaa05

5.0 stars 12/21/2012 by mkaa05
by mkaa05
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Perfect for backing up my laptop and for business needs. Great for storing pics vids and anything u don't want lost if your computer ever crashes beyond repair.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mkaa05
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just what you need
2/16/2013

Customer review by sgkmp

5.0 stars 2/16/2013 by sgkmp
by sgkmp

I really enjoy my Canvio hard drive. It fits in my pocket and I still haven't found a computer or device that doesn't recognize it immediately. Moving media between my notebook and my PS3 was never easier. Be careful with one thing: they are so small and light I usually forget they are attached to my notebook. Well, luckily they are so light the USB cable holdes them and they don't fall off.

sgkmp
Porto Alegre
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't Leave Home Without It
6/12/2013

Customer review by TANKSALOT

5.0 stars 6/12/2013 by TANKSALOT
by TANKSALOT

I just purchased this portable HD because my processor fried and I realized how important it is to do a backup. I used my new computer (Toshiba Satellite) and connected the old HD with a SATA to USB cable and the portable HD. I have all of my files on the portable HD and the new laptop now. I will never leave home without it. My files are my life!

TANKSALOT
Palm Bay, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ZERO Documentation!
5/20/2013

Customer review by tedp

1.0 stars 5/20/2013 by tedp
by tedp

It's hard to rate using the star system above, since there's absolutely NOTHING included with this drive that tells me ANYTHING, other than one page in the user guide (out of 34, the rest are for different languages) that basically just spells out what's included and the warranty. Give us some insight - this is ridiculous.

tedp
Sacramento CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Just about useless
6/14/2013

Customer review by Travelin' Man

1.0 stars 6/14/2013 by Travelin' Man
by Travelin' Man

One of those rare external hard drives that seems to have been built to prevent you from doing most things an external hard drive is meant to do. Can not hook it up to anything besides a computer because you need to install a driver. INSTALL A DRIVER for an EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE. Complete and utter waste of my money.

Travelin' Man
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Really?
1/19/2013

Customer review by carlitok

2.0 stars 1/19/2013 by carlitok
by carlitok

Not able to link up to my PC. Have to try, try and try again, restarting, shutting down, etc to get it to catch. Not sure what the problem is. Once it links up to my computer, it's solid, but the time it takes to get there is not so impressive.

carlitok
Military, Italy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Solid Product
10/21/2013

Customer review by Tron

5.0 stars 10/21/2013 by Tron
by Tron

I have used this product for around a year now on numerous computers including laptops both using Win 7 & 8 and have not had an issue with it. It does what it is designed to do without fuss or problems. Well done Toshiba.

Tron
Batemans Bay, NSW, Australia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It works great until 1.2TB
8/13/2013

Customer review by Shoon

4.0 stars 8/13/2013 by Shoon
by Shoon

It has been working great with Linux and Windows 7. It has been working great but it started to fail from around 1.2TB. But Toshiba is replacing it. If the cable connector was L shaped instead of straigh, it would be perfect.

Shoon
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DO NOT BUY THIS PORTABLE HARD DRIVE
10/18/2013

Customer review by Steve

1.0 stars 10/18/2013 by Steve
by Steve

My lasted about 3 weeks. I moved critical data to this hard drive, about 250 gig of data. Three weeks go by and I was going to store more data and the hard drive completely failed.

Steve
Would recommend to a friend? No
Windows 8
7/25/2013

Customer review by Bill

1.0 stars 7/25/2013 by Bill
by Bill

Will not work with Windows 8, not recognized by the PC. No Windows 8 drivers found on the internet. No documentation is included with the device. Nice paper weight though...

Bill
Minneapolis. MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Connection
4/22/2013

Customer review by gles

2.0 stars 4/22/2013 by gles
by gles

using windows 8 I connected to the usb and nothing happens, I tried a lot of times and finally... something needs to be fixed.. :-S

gles
TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
DOESN'T WORK RELIABLY
10/30/2013

Customer review by tomas

1.0 stars 10/30/2013 by tomas
by tomas

DO NOT buy this drive if you plan on using it on a Mac with Time Machine. You will get error, after error.

tomas
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good hardware - OK software
12/8/2013

Customer review by Tim277

4.0 stars 12/8/2013 by Tim277
by Tim277
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a good external hard drive which works well. The backup software that comes with it is a bit confusing, but does work once you figure out how the menus work. Could use better instructions.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tim277
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.