Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 42 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

42 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

42 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
23
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 stars
4
1-20 of 40 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews
This product was outstanding.
12/29/2012

Customer review by Gizmo3

5.0 stars 12/29/2012 by Gizmo3
by Gizmo3

I found the Pavilion g6 very fast at boot up and operating. I have DSL and am very satisfied with the speed. It has an extra dimm to add more ram but you don't really need it because 4gb was plenty to do evrything I needed. The 500 gb hard drive will last me as long as the computer will last me. I download many pictures but put them on dvd disks and then erase them from the HD so I always have room on the hard drive and also so I can store all the family pictures to show on my dvd player. I love windows 8 and never had any trouble and its alot easier to use. I have earbuds to listen to the sound from the hp and it sounds really good, along with its surround sound. Speakers sound good also. I played DVDs and the picture is phenominal in HD. Bottom line - I love everything about my g6 and would very much recommed this computer to everyone. For the price you can't go wrong either. I was very pleased with everything.

Gizmo3
Vernon, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good lap top for a good price
2/24/2013

Customer review by Kev13

5.0 stars 2/24/2013 by Kev13
by Kev13

After my old desktop died after five years, I decided to upgrade to a laptop. My primary uses for a laptop are using Word, surfing the web, and streaming music/video as well organizing and doing very minor editing to my digital photos. This laptop excels at everything I want it to do. Windows 8 may be a major departure from the traditional desktop but a little experimenting and practice and I enjoy it a lot now. Its very customizable which I like. If you absolutely HATE Windows 8 there are plenty of ways to run it like Windows 7, it just takes a little effort on your part. I've been using Windows 8 for several months now and like it a lot. Once I got use to it, it's much faster and more convient then a traditional desktop with shortcut icons. I haven't had any major problems with the computer after having it for 3 months, a few minor things but nothing that I can't fix with a simple update or etc. I love the speed of it, and the size of the hard drive. I also like the color - sparkle black. If you're looking for reliable laptop for productivity and entertainment without having to take out a small loan, then give this one a shot.

Kev13
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
DO NOT BUY!!!!!
7/15/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 7/15/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

July 5th, my computer arrives and the first night we have it we watch a movie. Problem, if your watching a video/movie you have to keep you head aligned with the center of the screen or you can't see what you watching. But, ever the optomist I think o.k. I can deal with this, it's just a movie and inferior screen is what I get for purchasing a low end computer. However while watching another movie we were kicked off of the Internet. I checked the Internet status of the other two computers in our house and they connected to the world wide web just fine. This is the straw that broke the camels back...When I try to connect to the Internet or trouble shoot all I get back is that there is a problem with the modem. I am now in the process of returning it.... Save yourself the hassle of buying one of these computers.

An anonymous customer
Riner, va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Everything works great!
12/21/2012

Customer review by dnorrisrutgers

5.0 stars 12/21/2012 by dnorrisrutgers
by dnorrisrutgers

After our last laptop computer (not an HP), I was hoping to find a new one that actually worked. Waking from sleep mode was always a problem with the old one. This one wakes up fast every time, and without problems. It recognizes the wireless mouse quickly (purchased separately). To summarize, I haven't had a single problem with it. I was a bit anxious about Win 8, but once I got used to it, it is great. The only minor item that isn't completely a "10" is that the network speed isn't super fast, It is fast and I really don't notice any slow down, but once in a while transfers take a while. That may be due to the computer on the other end of server speed rather than the laptop. Overall, I recommend highly. A great laptop for the price.

dnorrisrutgers
San Marcos, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Everything I needed
7/18/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/18/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

For the purpose of simple web browsing, this machine is magnificent. Briskly handles multitasking. I have yet to attempt anything very demanding of it, so I can't report on it's strength. It's fans aren't incredibly substantial, so I would advise investing in a cooling pad with moveable fans, since it tends to generate heat most in the front-left corner. Set-up was very easy, and the included programs are more than sufficicant. I would definitely recommend this computer to any casual web user. The keyboard is very nice, and quiet. The machine itself seems rather sturdy, and is very sleek. The touchpad is nicely textured and pleasingly sensitive, and the scroll stroke works pretty consistently. For the price, this machine is amazing.

An anonymous customer
Cincinnati OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Confusing new operating system
12/31/2012

Customer review by BooWindows8

4.0 stars 12/31/2012 by BooWindows8
by BooWindows8

I bought a g6z in red about a year ago with windows 7. I loved the computer so much that I decided to build the exact same one for my girlfriend this past christmas. The only option for an operating system was the new Windows 8. For someone who is not very tech-savy windows 8 is extremely confusing to operate. All new things take some getting used to, but I feel that this will take more time than necessary. The computer was very customizable, which was GREAT, but I wish there was an option as far as operating systems.

BooWindows8
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Machine
12/22/2012

Customer review by Adam05

4.0 stars 12/22/2012 by Adam05
by Adam05

I am overall pleased with my new HP Pavilion g6. I was somewhat reluctant to get an AMD Processor as I have always had Intel processors. I have to say that the AMD has so far proved to be perfectly suited for my usage and with the 8GB RAM the machine operates very nicely. I was also apprehensive about getting Windows 8, especially because I have been told that it is designed for touch screen computers and I did not get a touch screen computer. I was very glad to see that Windows 8 is a working out very well.

Adam05
Suffolk County, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
FANTASTIC
10/13/2012

Customer review by Lizzykai

5.0 stars 10/13/2012 by Lizzykai
by Lizzykai

I bought this computer a year ago to prepare myself for my sophomore year because I was tired of the hand-me-down old laptops that would break a few months after purchasing. The moment I bought this computer I fell in love with technology! Honestly I could not find a more durable, hard working laptop anywhere else. I have fallen asleep with this thing open, and it has taken quite a lot rough tumbles and yet barely a scratch. I love this laptop, I would get it if your looking for an everyday laptop!

Lizzykai
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Love HP
1/2/2013

Customer review by RERE48

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by RERE48
by RERE48

I have been purchases desktop HPs for several years, the service is absoluely fabulous, I got a laptop for myself in 2011 as well as a new desktop...each are doing great and provide me what I need for my home office and out of state travel. The laptop I just purchased was for my 10 year old grandson he will be in middle school next year and with the wifi printer from HP the laptop for him was the best decision. HE WAS EXSTATIC CHRISTMAS MORNING!!! THANKS HP.

RERE48
Spring Hill, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Common defects
2/14/2013

Customer review by deets19

1.0 stars 2/14/2013 by deets19
by deets19

I really liked this laptop when I first got it, but I'm having major problems with the hard drive/system crashes. I had it checked out by a few different techs while comparison shopping for repairs, and they all independently said that they see this HP model in very frequently with hard drive problems. I generally like HP products but would strongly recommend against this one. (I will note that I love it when it's working... it just usually isn't!)

deets19
Would recommend to a friend? No
Anti- virus protection
10/10/2012

Customer review by Shelley

5.0 stars 10/10/2012 by Shelley
by Shelley

I purchased this notebook as a Xmas gift for my daughter on 09/28/12. I opened package and inspected the notebook. I plugged up the PC and everything seems to work fine. I repackaged the notebook and hiding until Christmas day. The only issue I had was, not being able to use the free 60 day Norton protection on Christmas, because it have expires by then. Other than that I think this PC is great and I'm sure my daughter will enjoy.

Shelley
Phila,Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
I love this laptop
7/24/2012

Customer review by edro

5.0 stars 7/24/2012 by edro
by edro

I use my laptop everyday and it has never failed to perform in any way, it runs quiet and have never had any problems with the perfomance . it plays dvd as i expected and the wireless is better then expected as i have connected to my wireless over 100' from my roter which is a old g router . so i recommend this computer to anyone who needs one for school or everyday computing as i play games on it 24/7 .

edro
tulsa oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best in Class!!
11/30/2012

Customer review by Jason1974

5.0 stars 11/30/2012 by Jason1974
by Jason1974

I have been computing for many years but have been happier than I am right now with my new HP laptop computer. Other brands just do not measure up to the durability, performance, and design that comes standard on all HP computers. Thanks HP for changing my mind and giving me hope that there is a laptop computer out there worth buying.

Jason1974
King George, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Still Going good after a year
7/16/2012

Customer review by collegeman07

4.0 stars 7/16/2012 by collegeman07
by collegeman07

I have had my g6 for about a year now and am in college so i use this thing for everything..it still surprises me when i see other computers trying to do some of the most basic things and every time, mine still is on top. upgraded the ram to 8gigs and it plays all of my games just fine and the display is amazing for the price.

collegeman07
Georgetown, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent PC except for Windows 8.
12/3/2012

Customer review by Emmie

5.0 stars 12/3/2012 by Emmie
by Emmie

I've had this computer for almost a week, and I really love it. It's very fast, has a nice easy to use textured touchpad, and has great graphics and everything. The only thing I don't like doesn't have anything to do with the laptop itself, but I really don't like Windows 8. I would have much preferred Windows 7.

Emmie
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
This product is excellent
9/16/2012

Customer review by maryme

5.0 stars 9/16/2012 by maryme
by maryme

I love this computer. I would definitely recommend this computer to family and friends. It's the perfect computer for word processing,gaming,internet,and video conferencing through the use of skype. There is also the ability tp play and watch your DVD's.Overall this computer is a very good deal :)

maryme
New York,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Good features for the price.
1/25/2013

Customer review by corb52

4.0 stars 1/25/2013 by corb52
by corb52

My only issues are that I don't like Windows 8 for a laptop and switched to the desktop option quickly. The other issue is that would prefer the speakers to be louder. I think its a very good computer for the price and was worth purchasing over a cheaper HP laptop at a retail location.

corb52
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Exceptional!
9/4/2012

Customer review by MsBook

5.0 stars 9/4/2012 by MsBook
by MsBook

This is the second one I have purchased -- not only a great product, but delivered super fast and with exceptional care and quality by HP. I have recommended to friends/family and will continue to take care of my PC needs for the foreseeable future. Keep up the good work!!

MsBook
Bayonne, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great Gift
1/23/2013

Customer review by BH88

5.0 stars 1/23/2013 by BH88
by BH88

I bought this for my teenage daughter as a Christmas gift. She thinks it is the best Christmas gift she has ever gotten so far. The only bad thing is that she is always using her new notebook. We can't get her to put it down. She takes it with her everywhere she goes.

BH88
Southport, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Too much Windows 8
2/15/2013

Customer review by JimHjr

3.0 stars 2/15/2013 by JimHjr
by JimHjr

The computer comes loaded with programs and promotions that we don't use, and I can't find a list from which to remove them. The W8 system is not as user friendly as are prior systems. I need to be able to remove programs and promotions that we do not use.

JimHjr
Bald Head Island, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews