Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 68 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

68 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

68 reviews | 3 out of 5

57%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
19
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
25
1-20 of 64 total reviews
57%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews
Works for me
11/27/2013

Customer review by Duke75147

4.0 stars 11/27/2013 by Duke75147
by Duke75147

Be aware that this device is for Sprints 4g WiMax NOT Lte. This installed on my Windows 7 machine and works good on 3g but when I installed on my older XP machine, it would not connect. I assume that was because my XP machine is usb 1.0. The directions clearly say usb 2.0 but I thought I would try it just for kicks. It does work in my Cradlepoint mbr95 router, but to get it to connect I have to open the routers setup and go to the connection manager and wait about 5 minutes for it to connect. Not a big deal for me as this is a temporary solution for a month. Very expensive per gigabyte and you don't really want to use it for streaming, but I did try it on Hulu and was able to watch an hour program on low resolution without it stopping to buffer. If you will be using 3g, streaming will all depend on how fast your 3g is, and that may depend on how strong your 3g signal will be. I would buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Duke75147
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Reliable internet connection and very fast
10/30/2012

Customer review by valtoy

5.0 stars 10/30/2012 by valtoy
by valtoy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a 3G USB stick and upgraded to this one at 4G. It is extremely fast, very reliable internet service. The $35 monthly unlimited 4G is a great price too!

Was this review helpful? (107) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
valtoy
LaGrange, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not great
11/18/2012

Customer review by SillyPants

2.0 stars 11/18/2012 by SillyPants
by SillyPants

My USB stick seems to run very hot. When it gets too hot it seems to stop working. On the Virgin coverage map I seem to be in an area with very good 3G covered and fair 4G coverage but the download and upload are very very slow. The connection drops fairly often. I'm not sure if the USB stick is at fault, the Virgin broadband service or a combination of both.

Was this review helpful? (36) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SillyPants
Pasadena, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Was great for 2 weeks.
1/20/2013

Customer review by KickIt5

1.0 stars 1/20/2013 by KickIt5
by KickIt5

I was so excited with this device when i first connected to the internet. The 4g connection was great. After two weeks the device started having problems connecting to 4g and kept dropping the connection. So I switched over to 3g, thinking they wanted me to start using up my data usage allowance. Now in fourth week it continuously drops connection even when it shows 4 signal bars. I have not changed locations where I use this device so I don't know what is going on here.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KickIt5
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
internet on the go for a good price
10/15/2012

Customer review by DSP24151

5.0 stars 10/15/2012 by DSP24151
by DSP24151

Love it! Wherever I go I have internet without the trouble of wifi in public places.

Was this review helpful? (46) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DSP24151
Bassett, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Congrats to all of you who got in on the $35 plan
11/7/2013

Customer review by Jtronique

5.0 stars 11/7/2013 by Jtronique
by Jtronique

Virgin announced that no new sticks activated after Nov 1 would be eligible for the $35 Unlimited 4G and 2 gig 3G plan. Here's a website with more details: http://www.prepaidphonenews.com/2013/10/virgin-broadband2go-chnages.html Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh the smell of back to back netflix episodes of Parks and Rec back to back :) Last month I used 6 gigs of data! I feel like I should contribute something more positive. I'm knocking on wood but I've been using this stick for almost a year (with Win XP) and though it heats up, no probs. It has remained functional. :)

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jtronique
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Be determined to try it and the 4g network
4/6/2013

Customer review by WormWillie

4.0 stars 4/6/2013 by WormWillie
by WormWillie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Recently I purchased this U600 3g/4g USB stick from WalMart for my Virgin Mobile Broadband wireless internet service. It replaces my Novatel 3g USB stick that I started out with originally on Virgin Mobile Broadband's no contract internet service plans. At first, when I attempted to activate my new device (U600 3g/4g USB Franklin stick) it just didn't work. I tried uninstalling my software, but this didn't work either. What I did was I googled how to restore my computer operating system, because I unintentionally deleted some Qualcomm WiFi device drive software that I suspect came with the computer's original software. After I learned how (simple) it was to restore my laptop operating system, I did it, and the deleted Qualcomm software did indeed reappear. The next day I tried to activate my new device (U600 3g/4g USB stick) but I needed to call the Virgin Mobile Broadband Customer Service because I was unable to do it. After talking with a very gracious rep, I was still unable to activate it so I told her I was through with trying and that I intended to return my U600 device back to WalMart. The next day, however, was bright and sunny outside, and I thought to myself that maybe I might be able to activate my device this day because surely the 4g network would be responsive and flowing in such a wonderful day's atmosphere. I again tried and found myself online with my old, previous 3g Novatel USB stick device, but I wanted to try again my new U600 4g/3g USB device. I tried installing it, but again I had to call the Customer Service reps . This time I learned that the 4g transmission tower had been down the day before in the city where I live, but that they should have it up and running soon. After he said this, I again tried activating my U600 4g device and lo and behold it worked!!! I like the 4g network. It allows me to watch YouTube videos without run interruptions, which is important to me. I do notice that it seems quicker than my 3g network, but not lightening fast like some other AT&T internet options that I've subscribed to before. Still it serves my purposes, I can watch my films, have unlimited internet access with 4g, and I'm happier than I was, at least for now. I did notice my 4g device warming up some, but WalMart does offer a two year warranty with my purchase for $4. And I have a 90 day warranty without the added warranty, I believe. So you asked for my review, and this is it.

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WormWillie
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Price and fast!
10/11/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/11/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This item costs $70.00 on their website! like come on its a no brainer!? The first day the 4G only did not work, but now it is and i must say i really enjoy having fast internet at a low price.

Was this review helpful? (34) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/4/2013

Customer review by Bingo2000

3.0 stars 4/4/2013 by Bingo2000
by Bingo2000
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Does not work with Windows 8 or a tablet :(

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bingo2000
Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for anyone looking for internet on the go!
12/2/2013

Customer review by Seeleygirl77

5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by Seeleygirl77
by Seeleygirl77
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I previously did not have the internet. I've been able to work this without a problem. Great for a beginner or anyone looking for mobile internet access without a high price tag.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Seeleygirl77
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does not work with Windows 8!
4/26/2013

Customer review by ATG58

1.0 stars 4/26/2013 by ATG58
by ATG58
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Now I know why the 'price is right' as it is not compatible with Window 8! Once the software is installed it attempts to communicate with the device, however, it is not recognizable. I now have to return the device and purchase the Virgin Sierra Wireless Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot device which is considerable more, however, states it is in fact Windows 8 compatible.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ATG58
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed
11/13/2012

Customer review by Wealo

1.0 stars 11/13/2012 by Wealo
by Wealo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this after checking on Walmart website that it would work in my zip code area. When I loaded it, it would not activate. Rang Virgin who advised they did not have coverage in my area!! What a waste of time

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wealo
Davenport, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dial Up has returned!!
12/21/2012

Customer review by Skullboy13

1.0 stars 12/21/2012 by Skullboy13
by Skullboy13

230 Kilobits per second isn't what crossed my mind after reading 3G/4G. A waste of time and money; I'm taking it back tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Skullboy13
West Monroe LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/25/2013

Customer review by chucksooner

1.0 stars 3/25/2013 by chucksooner
by chucksooner

Not compatible with windows 8. Had to return product.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chucksooner
norman ok.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
works great
1/3/2014

Customer review by lee2626

4.0 stars 1/3/2014 by lee2626
by lee2626
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

i plugged the unit into my laptop;followed the instructions;and i was on line right away;

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lee2626
fort worth,tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gives me internet!
12/25/2013

Customer review by 5787

5.0 stars 12/25/2013 by 5787
by 5787
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I needed internet at temporary location. This works. Every so often I need to disconnect and reconnect because of slow or non-loading page. It sure beats having to run down to the library every day though. I would recommend!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
5787
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor tech support by Virgin
12/22/2012

Customer review by UnhappyinWoodbridge

1.0 stars 12/22/2012 by UnhappyinWoodbridge
by UnhappyinWoodbridge
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have had the Virgin U600 USB Stick for a week and have not been able to get it to work. Called Virgin tech support 4 times and was learned that the tech support was worthless. I was told twice that I would receive an email telling me how to install the device-guess what-4 days later and have not received anything from Virgin. One individual told me that since I had Comcast.net as my internet provider, Comcast would have to remove the program from my computer and assist in reinstalling. Apparently I was told this to "get me off te phone". Of course Comcast tech support "laughed" at the instructions. I will never recomend another Virgin product.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UnhappyinWoodbridge
Woodbridge, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
If it would only work on windows8
5/6/2013

Customer review by noclone

3.0 stars 5/6/2013 by noclone
by noclone
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I would have been very happy if it worked with windows 8. It did not disclose this in the description.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
noclone
AZ.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
okay took a few mins for set up tho.
3/28/2013

Customer review by 0x0x

4.0 stars 3/28/2013 by 0x0x
by 0x0x
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Will not work on windows 8 , glad i still had old lap top with windows 7.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
0x0x
janesville wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Unusable, avoid.
3/27/2014

Customer review by Retiredinjuneer

1.0 stars 3/27/2014 by Retiredinjuneer
by Retiredinjuneer

It was not ready for window8 out of the box. It required going online to collect drivers. Once drivers and the card were installed, it would not negotiate the account setup online. It could not connect to the tower. Customer support manually opened an account and I put the information into the modem. From there, the modem was not able to connect from home even though indication on the coverage map was I should have service at street level. Up the hill, I had some service, enough to think it might work in town. I tried to use the device in two major cities that have 3G service. The device could not remain connected consistently in any location. It would find signal, between 2 and full bars. When I click connect, it would lose the signal. Try again, wash, rinse repeat and disconnected again. When it finally did connect, speed was poor, pages loaded intermittently and the device would disconnect. Even in an area where 4G is advertised, the device did not connnect and stay connected. The signal strength varied widely if anyone in the room moved. It varied widely on it's own. Virgin Mobile refuses to refund any money. This was a horrible waste of valuble time and money. It lead me to believe I would have a device during travel for internet, but truth is, it couldn't be used to even find a local restaurant. I recommend against purchase. If you purchase, send it back if you have the slightest trouble within the fourteen day trial period that they hide behind.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Retiredinjuneer
Frederick
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews