Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 24 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

24 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

24 reviews | 4 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 23 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews
Works great
10/22/2013

Customer review by AmarilloNurse66

5.0 stars 10/22/2013 by AmarilloNurse66
by AmarilloNurse66
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The DVR in this package is the bread winner here. The search and review function works flawlessly. The 2 cameras that came with the set are okay. They can be hung upside down under eaves, the mounting base screws into the back of the housing to accomplish this (there is also a place to attach the base under the camera as shown on the box.) I did pick up 2 Swann cameras from my local Walmart that are a little better than the ones that came with the kit. Setting up for mobile phone use is about as easy as it gets... If you call Swanns technical support. The lady on the phone had it working in 10 minutes. You do have to give them access to your computer temporarily. Was weird watching my mouse pointer move on the screen and my router page open up, but she got it up and running on my iPhone and wife's android phone with no problems. For the price it is well worth the peace of mind. Works good at night and if there is a little light then works great. I have had this kit up for about a week and love it.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AmarilloNurse66
Amarillo, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/28/2012

Customer review by NewGuest

3.0 stars 8/28/2012 by NewGuest
by NewGuest

This was a recent purchase for my mother. The daytime video is excellent quality. The night vision does reasonably well although facial features are somewhat distorted almost to the point of nonrecognition of some features (particularly around the eyes). The vision range at night is much smaller, but that's to be expected. There are still things we are trying to figure out, but beware that this system does not record audio without the additional purchase of a separate microphone, which I am trying to find. The instruction manual needs a lot of improvement because there are some things that are difficult to understand or it does not explain what they are, and these addtional items that require a separate purchase (like the audio or PTZ camera) need to be clearly stated. The DVR doesn't seem solidly made, but so far it's doing its job. The optional motion sensor alarm can be frustrating because at times it seems to alarm for a prolonged period of time even though nothing is moving. If you just want a simple, less expensive (compared to other systems) video surveillance camera, this one would be ok to start with.

Was this review helpful? (85) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewGuest
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for just starting out
8/12/2013

Customer review by Topgearwatcher

4.0 stars 8/12/2013 by Topgearwatcher
by Topgearwatcher
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this with an additional camera for home secruity. Arrived at my local store in half the expected time. Setup was very easy and rather intuitive, not a lot of reading nessary. Cameras work as expected for their price, this means they work but not the knock-your-sox-off sort of camera. DVR was easy to use and fun to play with. great value overall.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Topgearwatcher
Milwaukee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Suitable Home Monitoring for technically inclined
7/22/2013

Customer review by AGAE

3.0 stars 7/22/2013 by AGAE
by AGAE

Product has all the right features and is reasonably priced. Not a HD system, but people are recognizable in day time. Will work out of the box (live views) but it takes time to understand and tweak configuration options. Not for the technically challenged. PROS: Great Features: live view, recording on schedule, on alarms per camera. Viewable with monitor, TV, over ethernet, Internet, smartphone (android worked well). Video records searchable by date, time, camera. Swann DDNS Server works well (use if internet connection gets dynamic IP address from ISP). Can sends alarm emails (works well with web-based Gmail). Package comes with all accessories and cameras have decent length cables. Recorded files saved to other drive (eg USB) can be played with Windows Media Player not just Swann player (as manual states) Good live technical support (but must have basic knowledge of IP Networking, DHCP, DNS...). CONS Cameras resolution OK in day time, so-so at night (people not recognizable). Short focus (10ft) Cameras cannot be mounted inverted as image will be upside down (would be convenient for attaching under eaves). Motion detection (compares subsequent images and is NOT an infrared sensor detecting warm bodies) not reliable outdoors if you have any kind of plant in field of view because slight wind motions trigger alarm even when restricting sensing areas with the setup screens. Changing ambient light (clouds temporarily obscuring sun) also triggers false alarms. False alarms are less of an issue for ‘recording on alarm’. Hard Disk fills up, but oldest records get overwritten when the disk is full. Still, you have to watch a lot of records to find an actual intrusion even if you know the date. False alarms are big issue if ‘sending email on alarms’. Outdoor cameras will send dozens of false alarms each day even when sensitivity is set to very low, eg 2/8. Recommendation is to configure email on alarm for indoor cameras only. This explains my low 'Meets expectations' score. I want to be alerted reliably on intrusion outside, not watch live monitor screen all day.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AGAE
Palo Alto, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
my fist dvr
3/10/2014

Customer review by LITTLEBIT41

4.0 stars 3/10/2014 by LITTLEBIT41
by LITTLEBIT41

good low price dvr good clarity during the day i have my cameras behind my window and i still have a clear picture during the day but at night no picture because its behind my glass window i plan own upgrading my cameras the cameras that came with it is okay but i want to able to see clear distance but if you dont want to spend a lot on a dvr this dvr is a good choice to start out with.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LITTLEBIT41
dayton oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best money ever spent!
4/13/2016

Customer review by keywestflamingo

5.0 stars 4/13/2016 by keywestflamingo
by keywestflamingo
Top 250 contributor

I bought DVR 11/27/2014. Did not come with cam's. Maybe $50.00 price made up for that. I had my own, served me well for over 10yrs. The better the cameras & connections the better the pictures. I needed to replace DVR portion. Wanted 500GB/ larger & $100.00 or less. The DVR was re-placing a $900.00 one & could set info to a CD-RW included in the unit. I was spoiled, but with little money gave this a try. The week I ordered it the complex put in security. Last wk. the parking area cam's were shot out. 04/10/2016 I got this out,went through the instructions & had my camera on my car, recording & going good. All functions work, picture is best, helps I had day/night auto color cams. Swann, again, has out done itself on a great product. At 70 I knew to stick with the best & Swann came through.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
keywestflamingo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 250 contributor
Easy to install. Good low price system.
12/9/2013

Customer review by Grafenwoer

4.0 stars 12/9/2013 by Grafenwoer
by Grafenwoer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good low priced system. Easy to install. The night vision is poor without external nearby light sources but I expected that for this price. Camera and unit were low priced but function as I expected- focus clarity and detail are adequate. The power supplies were improperly labeled (camera versus DVR) but a quick call to SWANN cleared it up and system functions fine.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grafenwoer
Western North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good price. Serves it's purpose.
12/11/2013

Customer review by Mdzjoe

5.0 stars 12/11/2013 by Mdzjoe
by Mdzjoe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Highly recommend this system for the value, it's functionality, & excellent Swann customer service that is only a phone call away to help you out with all questions.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mdzjoe
Scottsbluff, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great
12/18/2013

Customer review by Marloooo

4.0 stars 12/18/2013 by Marloooo
by Marloooo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The security camera work great as I expected. Easy to install n setup.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marloooo
West orange, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Camera
3/27/2014

Customer review by 2t4u

5.0 stars 3/27/2014 by 2t4u
by 2t4u
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This system is a bit better than I thought. I have one outside where there is a street lamp and it is lit very well. The other is outside as well but the street light comes on and then off, but even though it's a bit dark when it's off, you can still see ok. Overall this is a good camera to begin with or if you're just using it for something minor.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2t4u
Johnstown,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good value for this system
1/4/2014

Customer review by MYOTECOYOTE

4.0 stars 1/4/2014 by MYOTECOYOTE
by MYOTECOYOTE
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

the hook-up part was pretty easy for me but i have experiance running and fishing wires and mounting things. the configuration of all the features if you choose to utilize them seems challenging for a me as i am a computer moron.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MYOTECOYOTE
HAMMONTON, N.J.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really Hard to Set Up
8/22/2013

Customer review by IowaKnitter

1.0 stars 8/22/2013 by IowaKnitter
by IowaKnitter

Don't buy this with the idea that you are going to hook it up and get it working as easily as a home computer or DVD player. I am going to work on this a few more days, and if I can't get it working within the time period WalMart allows for returns on electronic items, I will be returning it. I am very disappointed---I am having neighbor issues and really needed this.

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IowaKnitter
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
excellent
11/8/2015

Customer review by PEPE

5.0 stars 11/8/2015 by PEPE
by PEPE

excellent works fine good price i owned 2 years the only problem was program my dsl router modem but custumer service help me thanks a million

PEPE
Hollywood, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Beginner
Awesome! Read this if you have doubts!
2/25/2013

Customer review by Happy

5.0 stars 2/25/2013 by Happy
by Happy

This system works great and is so easy to install. Night video is actually better than expected, i can see clearly beyond the 30ft. Lights outside of your home help alot (can see clearly upto 100ft)! I plan to install motion lights in areas where I don't want to leave the lights on all night. Connecting to PC's. Iphone, Ipad where a little tricky, but /i got it with no call to tech support. Watch the setup videos, they help alot! Get this system, gret value and now I can watch my family swim in the pool from work! I plan to add two more cameras soon.

Happy
Milan, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Beginner
Decent product
10/23/2012

Customer review by Customer

3.0 stars 10/23/2012 by Customer
by Customer

Nice video recorder. I'm using better cameras as the ones that come with it aren't very good. I've used both Internet Explorer and the NetViewer to view over the internet but have not tried a smart phone or tablet. Works fine. Would like a better viewer but not really necessary. I've been using the unit for over a month now and have a ptz camera to. 500 gb hard drive still has lots of room on it.

Customer
upper midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Beginner
Good value
10/18/2012

Customer review by CarBuff

4.0 stars 10/18/2012 by CarBuff
by CarBuff

Needed a good value for a home security camera set and this does the job. Instead of paying a home security company to install their equipment and pay for monthly monitoring we did it all ourselves. Cameras provide a good view of what we want to protect and the DVR (plus an inexpensive computer monitor) make this whole system complete.

CarBuff
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
better than expected
1/18/2013

Customer review by hammerhead

4.0 stars 1/18/2013 by hammerhead
by hammerhead

results great for the price.dvr even works with my old camaras and security monitor recording 4 channels through 1, rotating view,easy setup for the basic needs.still tweaking.night vision about expected in low light areas.

hammerhead
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Enjoying the good pictures and dvr .
1/1/2013

Customer review by plumber

4.0 stars 1/1/2013 by plumber
by plumber

I am happy with this product . need's a little better instructions on setting up . But overall very happy so far !

plumber
Arkansas, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Beginner
Suitable Home Monitoring for technically inclined
7/22/2013

Customer review by TonyG

3.0 stars 7/22/2013 by TonyG
by TonyG

Product has all the right features and is reasonably priced. Not a HD system, but people are recognizable in day time. Will work out of the box (live views) but it takes time to understand and tweak configuration options. Not for the technically challenged. I bought this system to receive intrusion detection email alarms when away from home. Email alarms only reliable for cameras installed inside home. PROS: Great Features: live view, recording on schedule, on alarms per camera. On-alarm recording can be set to include 30 sec prior to alarm. Viewable with VGA monitor, TV, over ethernet, Internet, smartphone (android worked well). Video records searchable by date, time, camera. Swann DDNS Server works well (use if internet connection gets dynamic IP address from ISP). Can sends alarm emails with small jpeg image (works well with web-based Gmail). Package comes with all accessories and cameras have decent length cables (60ft). Recorded files can be played with latest Windows Media Player in addition to Swann player. Very good live technical support (but must have basic knowledge of IP Networking, DHCP, DNS...). CONS Cameras resolution OK in day time, so-so at night (people not recognizable). Short focus (10ft) Cameras cannot be mounted inverted as image will be upside down (would be convenient for attaching under eaves). Motion detection mechanism is suboptimal: compares subsequent images and is NOT done by infrared sensor detecting warm bodies. I found motion detection unreliable outdoors if there is any kind of plant in field of view. Slight wind causing leaves, shrubs or flowers to move trigger alarm. Restricting sensing areas with the setup screens -a nice feature- did not help very much. Ambient light changes (alternating clouds and sunshine) also triggers false alarms outdoors. Lowering sensitivity to say 2 of 8 reduced number of false alarms, but there were still 5-6 an hour. False alarms are less of an issue for ‘recording on alarm’. Hard disk fills up, but oldest records get overwritten when the disk is full. Still, you have to watch a lot of records to find an actual intrusion even if you know the date. False alarms are big issue if ‘sending email on alarms’. I found my outdoor cameras will send dozens of false alarms each day even when sensitivity is set to very low. My recommendation is to configure email on alarm for indoor cameras only. When recording on-alarm, it is possible to record 30 sec prior to event. Unfortunately, the emailed jpeg image is also from prior to the event and will not show intruder. Product only partially meets my expectation. I want to be alerted reliably by email for intrusions on my property outside the home, not just for successful break-ins.

TonyG
Palo Alto, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Great product for the price
4/19/2015

Customer review by 41edgar

4.0 stars 4/19/2015 by 41edgar
by 41edgar
Walmart associate

The only problem I ever had was that the system wouldn't record after the hard drive was 3/4 full but reformatting it would solve the problem every time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
41edgar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walmart associate
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews