Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 85 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

85 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

85 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
37
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
10
1 stars
16
1-20 of 83 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews
Worked!
10/29/2012

Customer review by lisawmtiger

5.0 stars 10/29/2012 by lisawmtiger
by lisawmtiger

After purchasing a Philips product that failed to work the minute we tried to watch a DVD one hour into a 23 hour round trip with 3 kids under 5, purchasing this on the fly with no research on our way home was a LIFESAVER. It worked, the volume was great, it didn't skip, and we used it for the majority of our 10 hour trip home. At this point, I won't read reviews anymore. The philips had 4 1/2 stars...this one had one star...I think it's hit or miss as to whether you get a good one or not!

Was this review helpful? (100) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lisawmtiger
richmond, va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
8/30/2012

Customer review by lightgirl777

2.0 stars 8/30/2012 by lightgirl777
by lightgirl777

The player worked great the first 15-20 minutes, then it began skipping really bad. We couldn't even finish the movie (which we watch at home all the time with no problems). The player was sitting on a chair when it first started skipping, so I moved it to the table thinking it was off balance, but it skipped even worse after moving it to the table. I turned it off, then back on trying to "reset" everything, but it still continued to miss a large number of frames.

Was this review helpful? (89) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/11/2014

Thank you for your comments and concerns about the portable DVD players, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of portable DVD players.

lightgirl777
Van Buren, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
great dvd player
12/18/2012

Customer review by judyjoe

5.0 stars 12/18/2012 by judyjoe
by judyjoe

have had this for over a year and it still works great. never gave us problems. would reccomend this. as for the other people who had problems, probably got a defective one

Was this review helpful? (60) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
judyjoe
holley ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Do not waste your money
4/10/2014

Customer review by Foryourowngood

1.0 stars 4/10/2014 by Foryourowngood
by Foryourowngood

I have owned this player a grand total of 20 days...just long enough not to be able to return in the store (15 day limit)...and it stopped working. It always made a loud humming sound, which I was willing to live with for the sake of entertaining my little one at long events or on car rides. However, now it won't play any DVD past the previews. It just gets stuck and eventually stops. Very frustrating! I did not expect to spend over $70 with tax and only own a working player for 20 days. The warranty from the manufacturer is also terrible, not surprisingly. They want me to try a DVD cleaner, which I have to purchase (after maybe 5 movies have been played?!), then if that doesn't work, they want me to mail it back on my own dime so that they can fix it. No thank you, I would rather have my money back so that I can get a decent player from ANYWHERE but Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/10/2014

We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.com

Foryourowngood
Would recommend to a friend? No
Average because it lacks a high audible volume.
4/23/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 4/23/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Bought 2 of these and both could use MUCH more audible volume. Otherwise fine. JD

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Scottsdale, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The worst DVD I have ever owned!
10/26/2012

Customer review by krissyapoo

1.0 stars 10/26/2012 by krissyapoo
by krissyapoo

We have purchased a few portable DVD players for my daughter and this is by far the worst we have ever owned. We have owned it less than 1 year and the control buttons have broke. The hinge part that connects the the screen to the base has broke on both sides. The player itself is loud when the disc is playing. It also came with a warning not to charge it by the car adapter that it came with, to only use it with the play mode only. I have also replaced the car charger because it quit working.

Was this review helpful? (21) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/11/2014

Thank you for your comments and concerns about the portable DVD players, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of portable DVD players.

krissyapoo
Glasgow, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great picture quality.
6/25/2014

Customer review by Sillyguy

5.0 stars 6/25/2014 by Sillyguy
by Sillyguy

The only negative comment I have is that the buttons are hard to negotiate.(i.e. Play, FF, Stop) Other than that I am very satisfied with this player.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sillyguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
compact and easy to use
7/10/2014

Customer review by grannys5kids

5.0 stars 7/10/2014 by grannys5kids
by grannys5kids

We have only used this a short time but hope to get good use out of it in a couple of weeks. Appears to be a quality product, nice picture and our 10 year old granddaughter has no problems operating it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grannys5kids
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Large screen - good for car
3/17/2014

Customer review by lexismom0108

5.0 stars 3/17/2014 by lexismom0108
by lexismom0108

I needed a portable dvd player in a pinch and this one was priced well. It works fine. My only complaint is the car charger cord is too short. I have an older vehicle so my only ports to plug it in are in the front and my child rides in the back. They need to have longer cords. You can always wrap it and tie-tag it if it's too long. Will look into getting a longer cord. Or a new car. Other than that, it's great.

Was this review helpful? (54) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lexismom0108
Arlington, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little portable dvd player :-)
7/23/2014

Customer review by icream4woody73

4.0 stars 7/23/2014 by icream4woody73
by icream4woody73

There is only 2 things that I don't like about this player 1- how flimsy the door is ... you just flip it up to put your DVD in or take it out 2- its loud you can hear the motor going especially if you use headphones Other than that it works great and you can't beat the price for a 9" portable DVD player

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
icream4woody73
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't waste your money!
4/5/2014

Customer review by Dx21974

1.0 stars 4/5/2014 by Dx21974
by Dx21974

I bought this Portable DVD player on Tuesday and it worked fine. The next night I put a DVD in it and it says unknown disc. I tried numerous DVDs and got the same message. If I were you I wouldn't waste my money in this. Sure wish I had read the reviews before I purchased.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/10/2014

We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.com

Dx21974
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product!
5/25/2014

Customer review by shei59

5.0 stars 5/25/2014 by shei59
by shei59

I bought it and works perfectly so far.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shei59
Rockville, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
RCA DVD PLAYER
10/5/2014

Customer review by scottrm777

5.0 stars 10/5/2014 by scottrm777
by scottrm777

This unit was purchased as a substitute for my DVD player in my laptop. The battery charges up quick and the sound is great.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/10/2014

Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.

scottrm777
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrible don't buy it
11/13/2014

Customer review by AndiM7

1.0 stars 11/13/2014 by AndiM7
by AndiM7

I bought it last night and it worked great. Today it doesn't work at all. When disk is in it says no disk. Doesn't work after 1 day. Seriously??!!??!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/9/2014

We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.com

AndiM7
Would recommend to a friend? No
Perfect portable DVD for travel
9/22/2014

Customer review by LANCERHAWKFRIAR

5.0 stars 9/22/2014 by LANCERHAWKFRIAR
by LANCERHAWKFRIAR

Needed a quick replacement of our travel/portable DVD player for a very last minute weekend get away. This was right within our budget. It was just what we needed to keep our son entertained on the car ride.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/10/2014

Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.

LANCERHAWKFRIAR
Melrose MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/25/2013

Customer review by eyem4reel

5.0 stars 7/25/2013 by eyem4reel
by eyem4reel

This DVD player is the best. Very easy to connect, nice big screen too. I am very happy with my purchase of this item and would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eyem4reel
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just "okay"
11/13/2014

Customer review by DMP4994

3.0 stars 11/13/2014 by DMP4994
by DMP4994

This player was purchased to use for playing exercise DVDs for my at-home exercise routines. For this purpose the player is "okay" but if I were using it for actually watching movies I would be returning it. While the motor is operating and spinning the DVD, it is sooo loud that it is sometimes hard to hear the exercise leader! And when switching on the menu from one section to another, it almost seems like the player is "struggling" to switch gears, so to speak.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/9/2014

Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your tablet. Thank you for your comments and concerns about the tablets, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of RCA tablets.

DMP4994
Would recommend to a friend? No
Portable is the only good thing to say about this.
8/20/2014

Customer review by Heulwen

1.0 stars 8/20/2014 by Heulwen
by Heulwen

This is one of the most cheaply made portable dvd players I've bought. I actually have an RCA 9" portable that is about 4 yrs. old. I wanted another and thought I was getting the same quality of the one I currently own. No, not at all. The plastic, and it is plastic, is mega cheap but that could be overlooked IF the player had worked at all; it did NOT. Apparently it was a lemon straight from the "factory" but it has soured me on RCA. I returned the player the same day I bought it, within an hour actually of purchasing it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/15/2014

We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.com

Heulwen
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Noisy
11/16/2014

Customer review by DD65

1.0 stars 11/16/2014 by DD65
by DD65

When the DVD was placed into the player the sound of the disc spinning was so loud it distracted form the DVD that was playing, I returned this item and got another brand.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/9/2014

Thank you for your comments and concerns about the portable DVD players, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of portable DVD players.

DD65
Would recommend to a friend? No
great deal
10/13/2014

Customer review by wlfbabe

5.0 stars 10/13/2014 by wlfbabe
by wlfbabe

The dvd player is so light weight. Plays great and the picture is awesome

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/9/2014

Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.

wlfbabe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews