Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 23 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

23 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

23 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
19
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 22 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews
Good backbone for fighting big fish.
1/8/2016

Customer review by JimmyV

5.0 stars 1/8/2016 by JimmyV
by JimmyV
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I've hade this rod for a couple of years. I have it paired with a Penn GT2 345. My nephew caught a heavy 54" King Mackerel on it out of Corpus Christi, Texas. It was about a 10 minute fight with the rod practically doubled. No problem.

JimmyV
Boyd, Texas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Excellent for the price!
1/8/2016

Customer review by Bucktailbill

5.0 stars 1/8/2016 by Bucktailbill
by Bucktailbill
Spark Reviewer - received free product

Really good rod. Bought this one to replace my old rod. This one is super light and strong wasn't expecting it to be this great!

Bucktailbill
Montauk, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Great Handling
12/27/2015

Customer review by Chiefy

4.0 stars 12/27/2015 by Chiefy
by Chiefy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

As I already own four Ugly Stik varying in size and action, I felt it pertinent to add a fly rod to my repertoire. I could not be happier. I usually try to stick to a one piece fly rod but, I could not pass up the chance to try the "Bigwater" Fly Rod. Its action, overall weight and length, and extreme durability allows for quite an enjoyable day on the river. I would highly recommend this rod to any fly angler of any skill level. I plan on purchasing a few more to gift to my angling buddies. Great job Ugly Stik!

Chiefy
Fort Drum, New York, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome fly rod
11/24/2015

Customer review by Randy87

5.0 stars 11/24/2015 by Randy87
by Randy87
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought the Ugly Stik Bigwater Fly Rod a week ago and so far its doing a really good job.

Randy87
New Mexico, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/27/2012

Customer review by Mazpers

5.0 stars 12/27/2012 by Mazpers
by Mazpers

Very nice value. Suprisingly good presentation for a rod this heavy. Handles large bugs with ease. Swings big streamers in big water. You can put a centerpin reel on it and drift fish it, as well. It's strong, strong, strong. In fact, if you hook something that can break this rod -- even with bad handling on your part -- then you better get away from the water!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mazpers
Southcentral Alaska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
6/17/2013

Customer review by Rilke

5.0 stars 6/17/2013 by Rilke
by Rilke
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I wanted an inexpensive stout rod that will stand up to abuse and so far I have not been disappointed. I have used this rod to catch smallmouth <3# and carp the biggest being 7#. The rod handled the fish with ease. I plan on using the rod extensively for muskys this fall. Hopefully I will give the rod a full workout on some big skis. If you are looking for durability this is a good option.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rilke
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/2/2012

Customer review by ashopper1

5.0 stars 8/2/2012 by ashopper1
by ashopper1

Exactly what I asked for at a good price and free shipping to my house. This fly rod is built to handle the big ones.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ashopper1
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
6/26/2015

Customer review by Scotch

4.0 stars 6/26/2015 by Scotch
by Scotch
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm excited for this rod and reel setup thank you ugly stick for making fly rods.

Scotch
Houston, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
so far so good
7/27/2015

Customer review by novousflyfisherman

4.0 stars 7/27/2015 by novousflyfisherman
by novousflyfisherman

used this fly rod a few times and so far good. Little on the heavy side but works for what I use it for and not out mega$$$

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
novousflyfisherman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Super Service
8/24/2014

Customer review by Bluecat1

5.0 stars 8/24/2014 by Bluecat1
by Bluecat1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I Bought 2 BWB 1120 * ft. rods. The service was excellent1 I am gonna inform everyone, these were NOT what I thought they were. I wanted an 8 foot 1 piece rod, that is what I got,,, but,, these rods are stiff as a 2x4! Very strong tip. I was hoping for a bit more action. Its the websites fault. If I could, I would rate the website a 1 star, but, I got my rods very quickly, came undamaged, so I got to give a 5 star. If you want a super heavy action rod, very strong back bone. These are the rods for you!

Bluecat1
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sturdy rods for river fishing
12/18/2013

Customer review by samubus

5.0 stars 12/18/2013 by samubus
by samubus

I own the BWS 110066 and 110070 and love both of them. I use them for Ohio River catfishing and occasional saltwater vacation fishing. I love the handles because they are the perfect size for fighting large fish. These also have good backbone but are not like pool sticks either. This 39" Flathead was caught on the BWS110066 paired with an Okuma Coronado baitfeeder and Power Pro 30lb. braid. I would recommend a Shimano Baitrunner over the Okuma. I own both but the Baitrunner is more maintenance friendly.

samubus
Steubenville, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
great expectations
12/16/2014

Customer review by Phred

5.0 stars 12/16/2014 by Phred
by Phred
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Based on other ugly sticks I've used, 5 stars all the way. This rod is intended for an upcoming gulf vacation. It will be paired with a Penn Sportfisher and like the tiger lite jigging rod, Wil be pulling in black/yellowfin tuna, snapper and grouper.

Phred
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/3/2014

Customer review by jeff57

2.0 stars 8/3/2014 by jeff57
by jeff57
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

bought 2 ugly sticks / big water . Loved how they fished but the reel attachment on one rod came loose and freely rotated around the rod blank. Found it easier to fix it than go thru the hastle of returning it. Must have not had much glue applied or some similar issue.

jeff57
Washington, United States
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tough Stuff
5/18/2014

Customer review by Burgerboy

5.0 stars 5/18/2014 by Burgerboy
by Burgerboy

I bought this for my most recent trip to Port Aransas, Tx. and it worked well off the pier. I then took it to Galveston 2 weeks ago and had success at the pier and in the surf.   This rod is tough as heck, and gets the job done while still having a fast action tip, to be sensitive.  Great Value !!!

Burgerboy
Aubrey, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great rod
7/21/2014

Customer review by mcon

5.0 stars 7/21/2014 by mcon
by mcon
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Have the 7ft MH spinning rod set up as a bunker snagger and popper flipper and it has great feel for both. The rod has a hard enough action to set the hook for the bunker snagging and gives good action to a plug. Great utility rod.

mcon
CT, United States
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great surf rod
6/19/2014

Customer review by ChengGangX4

5.0 stars 6/19/2014 by ChengGangX4
by ChengGangX4

I purchased this rod about 2 weeks ago and have used it 4 times already and it has yet to fail me its great for getting a long cast and keep your line about the breakers overall a great surf pole for those that have experience surf fishing 

ChengGangX4
Edison, NJ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great value
6/13/2014

Customer review by albd

5.0 stars 6/13/2014 by albd
by albd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the sixth big water Ugly Stik I have purchased. I have purchased them for my grandchildren and son and myself. They are well constucted and hold up to rough usage and minimal care. A great all round rod.

albd
Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value
6/18/2014

Customer review by GOVNA

5.0 stars 6/18/2014 by GOVNA
by GOVNA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this rod to go saltwater fishing from boats. I paired it with a Shimano tr 100 g reel.The rod is built to last and the sensitivity is unmatched. The fish don't stand a chance against this setup.

GOVNA
Brooklyn, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great strong rod
8/8/2014

Customer review by everchevy

5.0 stars 8/8/2014 by everchevy
by everchevy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Fully lives up to its reputation. Needs a hook keeper down by the handle. Excellent value/price ratio.

everchevy
Sullivan, In
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/31/2014

Customer review by watermelonman

5.0 stars 7/31/2014 by watermelonman
by watermelonman

For the price, this rod will bring in any catfish....I love it.

watermelonman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews