Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 19 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

19 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
61%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Better Than I Thought It Would Be
1/25/2013

Customer review by WalleyeWilly

5.0 stars by WalleyeWilly

Have had this Poulan Pro Snow Thrower for 1 month and have used it 4 times now. I live in the Western NY area, which many think is the snow capital of the world.( It isn't) I bought it at a very good price from Walmart to provide backup for an HOA snow plow that leaves a lot to be desired. I have used it on 3", 5", and 4" of wind packed snow. I was amazed at how well it worked. Single pull starts it everytime, forget the electric start. While it is not self propelled, I was also amazed at how briskly the auger pulled it along with minimal effort on my part. Actually is much easier to control than my previous 27" two stage, 14 HP, six speed beast. The Poulan Pro probably won't go through the deep heavy snow the "beast" did, but if it gets that bad I'll wait for the plow and then mop up with the PP. I use the Poulan Pro on a 35 foot long double driveway and approx. 300 ft. of sidewalk. It throws the snow at least 15 ft. Very happy!! Was worried about it being mostly plastic, but not since I have used it. Very durable to this point in time. One other benefit of it being mostly plastic, NO RUST MARKS on the garage floor like the "beast" used to leave! Highly recommend this product for light to moderate snow. Minor assembly took about 1/2 hour. Instructions were poor, but managed to figure it out.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
WalleyeWilly
Grand Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Not for New England Weather..
1/14/2013

Customer review by biotechMajor

2.0 stars by biotechMajor

One of the wheels cracked (they're made of some kind of heavy duty plastic) as soon as I had filled it with gas. The replacement wheel is also made of the same material so replacing it would simply mean it would crack again in time. This machine is auger assisted driven so you couldn't use this machine on any surface that isn't strictly paved in some way. 138cc is not enough power to tackle heavy snowfall, especially if it's wet snow. The machine arrived in excellent condition and the engine worked perfectly. The electric ignition is an excellent feature and the machine itself isn't very heavy so it would be maneuverable for those without upper body strength.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
biotechMajor
Southwick, MA.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good for single stage snow blower
12/16/2013

Customer review by Cappy45

5.0 stars by Cappy45

Ordered it in a sunday delivered that thursday easy to put together about 10 minutes was only upset that it was missing the oil dipstick. The following week got to test it for first time was very impressed on how well it did starts every time within two pulls handles the snow great. I very much like this snowblower

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Cappy45
Cleveland ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little machine for the price
1/5/2014

Customer review by horsepro

5.0 stars by horsepro

I Love this little blower. I've had it now for two seasons in the Catskills and it works flawlessly every time I need it. I store it with a full tank of gas that has been treated and it starts first pull. It handles light snow up to 12” and the frequent pine cone or stick with no problem and even clears the nasty pile 12-14” high across my driveway that the street plows leave that has sand, salt and rocks in it. For the street pile it takes a little more pushing and taking it in smaller bits but its way better than shoveling that stuff. For the money this is a very good quality machine that even my 110lb wife can handle. I highly recommend it to anyone who has a paved path to clear. I fear however it may not be appropriate for dirt, gravel or other uneven surfaces.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
horsepro
Liberty, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great for snow no higher than 6". Excellent price
1/18/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars by An anonymous customer

Purchased as gift for my sister who lives in western PA.

Was this review helpful? (4) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A great looking machine
11/28/2013

Customer review by Cies

4.0 stars by Cies

I'll know more once we have a snowfall, But as of now I can't wait too use it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Cies
Warren, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far, it's Great!!!
1/23/2013

Customer review by kenfb1

5.0 stars by kenfb1

Have only used it twice so far. But it has been more than enjoyable to setup and use. Starts on first pull every time. I have a gravel driveway, so I'm still adjusting the skidplates to match my correct level. I actually tried it on snow on my grass to get an idea of how it scoops the snow. It's like a vacuum cleaner on the grass. But, anyway, I'm more than happy with my choice. I think I will satisfied for many years with this model.

kenfb1
Mayfield
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
I give it a rating of 10.
1/6/2014

Customer review by randyw41

5.0 stars by randyw41

I ended up with the last floor model of this unit. Already assembled, but it doesn't look like it would be all that hard to do. Read the directions before using it. I didn't, and found out the hard way, the proper way to start the unit with relative ease. I was trying to start it with the blades engaged. It started, but took quite a few pulls and a lot of muscle. If you start it with the blades disengaged, it's a whole lot easier, and for me it started on the first pull after learning the right way to do it. Typical guy thing, not reading the instructions first. Does fine till you hit packed snow. If the snow is fresh, runs through it with ease. Packed snow is another story. This is the first snowblower I've ever owned or used, so I don't know if this is normal or not. I'm betting it is. The snow packed down at the end of my driveway was the bugger, but ten inches of fresh snow was a breeze. Unit performed quite well. I have a question though. Do any of these things have a height adjustment. A friend has a gravel driveway, and I wondered if there was a model that could be adjusted to avoid the pebbles, but to remove the snow say at a two inch height. This would leave the pebbles, but would remove the majority of the snow. Probably a dumb question, but I'd still like to know...

randyw41
Indianapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Poulan Pro PR621
2/6/2014

Customer review by Erik77

5.0 stars by Erik77

I have had this snow blower for a couple of months, and it has worked far better then I expected. It is durable, easy to use and has moved a ton of snow. This product works great and starts on the first pull every time. This is the first Poulan product I have ever owned, and I am very pleased!

Erik77
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
PR621- Unbiased review from a non low intellect.. Excellent product with 3x more power than 2-cycle.
12/23/2013

Customer review by mlarsen77

4.0 stars by mlarsen77

First I will start by reminding people that this is a 4 cycle. It IS going to run different. 2nd... Lower RPMS do not = running bad...All of a 4cycles power is in the low end which is one area the motor in this thrower excells in. And last but certainly not least...... 4cycles run on non mix.... the same gas you use in your car. Dont make the mistake of using mix or it will run bad the first minute if at all, foul the plug and turn a 15 minute job into a two hour repair. Despite a couple of debateable bad reviews, I couldnt pass this unit up for under the cost of competitors 2cycles at menards, for the oppertunity to put a 4cycle winter device to the test. So... I decided to beat on it hard out of the gate. I put it together cold...topped off the oil (it came from factory with the exact amount required to fill a dry motor) and rolled it outside. I started it cold meaning I had it in the trunk of the car all day at under 32 degrees, (it started after 4 pulls) and then let it idle for just about 1 minute. I started with a couple passes down my asphalt driveway in 1" snow..... obviously no problem. After about 10 minutes I cut into 5-6" medium weight packable snow on my apron (asphalt) and I wasn't surprised at the unrelenting low end power/torque (afterall, this is the same 208cc Husqvarna engine they use to power several of their larger 2 stage self propelled throwers). I heard little to no drop in rpms and this thing threw the snow about 15-20 feet. I wasn't done pushing it yet....I like to clear the street where my kids park their cars so I'm not rushing to dig them out before theyre late for work after the plows bank them in...... this is where I hit 9" wet dense packing snow with a small amount of slush at the bottom...... I could not stall this unit not even once. It took a full width bite at a 9" height and threw it 10-15' easy.......the thrower tended to skate uowards leaving an inch or less for me to come back and take a second pass untill i started tipping it downwards a little more to keep the bite on the ground. I will do circles around the more expensive two strokes, hands down.....and never have to wait for the rpms to build up before taking the next bite.....because they don't drop and you don't have to stop pushing because of bog down. One continuous forward push until you're out of snow, gas....or realestate. I will l be keeping this unit in a heated garage that maitains 45degrees or higher. I don't anticipate 4 pull starts being the norm when running on (THIS YEAR'S) gas and with proper maintenance. Pros- Consistent low end torque. Great accuracy with directional throwing control. Low weight spring, hand controlled blade clutch.... nice for safe idling and easier start. Very Very easy assembly requiring only an adjustable wrench and channel locks or standard pliers at the very least. Lastly.....Easy start. CONS- I don't like having to shift the snow chute anyway, making the short handle just a bit more irritating to me when i have to use it..... However, minding the wind direction and throwing snow down the driveway towards the street every pass helps alleviate, making this very easy to deal with. Second con- For the lazy folks, who like to drive over the snow several times before cleaning, this unit's blades are not going to chew through hard packed snow much less ice like the old beater bars on the toros used to. To that i say...salt it up and come back with a shovel later. Last con (or difference from 2 stroke)- Just like your car, this one requires a regular maintenance including oil changes. Overall.....I found myself having a hard time finding a complaint about this unit.......so, .......the biggest con is menards didn't have the electric starting version. I may look to see if I can get that as an aftermarket bolt-on with my spouse in mind......if she ever feels the urge to do the driveway.

mlarsen77
joliet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Disappointing Poulan Pro
12/26/2012

Customer review by 8thStBridge

3.0 stars by 8thStBridge

1st year winter 1 hour snow blow, ok but not great. At 67 yrs old I gave my 2-Stage to my brother because of my Carpal Tunnel... hoping the smaller Pro621 would be easy on me; 'not so' hard starting this season for expected snow fall - "CHOKE TOO LOOSE" and keeps sliding back to full choke; only running on 1" of travel from full choke and has to be held with small clamp from sliding back to choke engine!

8thStBridge
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
No adjustable skids
1/24/2013

Customer review by oldsarge1973

3.0 stars by oldsarge1973

The unit starts easily and runs well. The problem I have with it is it does not have adjustable skids to raise the intake level to adjust for my gravel driveway. If the unit did have these skids it would be much more versatile.

oldsarge1973
Aliquippa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
won't start
12/14/2013

Customer review by john123

1.0 stars by john123

4 pulls the first start . Had to take it apart the next time. If it won't start the next snow it's going back and I'm buying a toro !

john123
Would recommend to a friend? No
Broken out of the box
3/15/2013

Customer review by DriverX

1.0 stars by DriverX

After first start the snow thrower engine was running extremely rough and couldn't generate enough power to throw snow. Also there was no markings on the dipstick so there was no way of telling how much oil to add. Overall a poor quality product that will need to be taken to the repair shop before its first use.

DriverX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice looking, that's about it
1/5/2014

Customer review by medic61

1.0 stars by medic61

Used 4 times, broke. When it ran, it did a decent job for the size of blower it is. It even started on the first pull! On the 4th use (less than 2 weeks old) the muffler broke off at the weld, it in turn hit the plastic piece between the carb and main engine causing gas to flow out. Their "authorized service center" is a joke in my town. They are rude if you didn't buy from them and are always backlogged. I'd put the new parts on myself if they would send them to me, but they wont. Now I have to sit and wait for the center to have an opening while I look at 8" of new snow on the ground.

medic61
Fort Wayne
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Very poor design, quality
2/1/2014

Customer review by ironmike

1.0 stars by ironmike

The second time I used this machine a small chunk of ice shattered the discharge chute. After about 8 - 10 hours of use the rubber auger needed replacement. While replacing the blade I found that the gas cap does not seal completely so that when the machine is tipped backwards, the gas runs out of the filler. There are no adjustable or replaceable skids so when the housing wears down, you will have to replace the entire unit. I found the directional stability to be poor and the engine very loud when under load. I have owned four prior snow blowers and this is by far the worst unit in terms of performance and durability. Pay a few dollers more and get a a better product!

ironmike
Would recommend to a friend? No
hardest thing I have ever tried to start.
2/5/2014

Customer review by spatters

1.0 stars by spatters

I purchased this 2 winters ago. I have used it maybe a grand total of 4 times. Each time it was impossible to start. It took at least 10 pulls to get it started. This winter I have not had to use it until today. I put in fresh gas and oil. After 20 minutes in 5 degree weather, I have up and shoveled my sidewalks in less than 15 min. This is the biggest waste of money I have ever spent and being on a fixed income it was hard enough to purchase. Can't wait to "junk it" and by a more reliable brand next year.

spatters
omaha
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Quality is horrible
2/10/2014

Customer review by Chris99

1.0 stars by Chris99

I purchased two of these machines this winter for my business because of the power for a single stage. We get wet heavy snow here and I figured these things could handle it better than other single stages. The first time we tried to take them out the pull cord would not retract on one of them. We always start our machines and let them run before we leave the shop. Back in the shop that one went. When we used the other one and hit a small ice chunk the discharge chute broke apart. Using the other one for parts we got that fixed. Took the one in to get repaired that had the broken string and a week later we had it back. Our service technicians here are great! A month and several snow falls later, both machines won't push light snow into the discharge chute. They pile the snow in front of the auger making it hard to push. Also, both machines have loose cables that control the auger causing them not to stop. I had high hopes for these machines because of the power the engine has. Unfortunately, the rest of the design is so poor they have not lived up to my expectations.

Chris99