Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 135 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

135 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

135 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
83
4 stars
39
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 stars
7
1-20 of 91 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 91 total reviews
1-20 of 91 reviews
Fantastic value!
9/23/2012

Customer review by FVMohawk

5.0 stars 9/23/2012 by FVMohawk
by FVMohawk

I really did my homework when I decided to upgrade from my 4 year old desktop to a laptop. I've studied the internal specs and product reviews of many laptops, extensively for months. I concluded that the NE56R12u by Gateway offered the best bang for the buck and would fullfill my specific needs. The fit, finish and function of this laptop compares favorably with laptops costing two and three times as much. Everything worked flawlessly out of the box. The performance parameters for processor, ram, intel graphics card were all very good. So much so, that I immediately upgraded to 8 gigs of memory for 20.00 from Micron. Now it positively screams. The unit stays much cooler than a couple other name brand laptops I tried and is very quiet. Optical drive works very well. It will read and write large complex files and video. Plays video extremely well with no lag and streams flawlessly. Keyboard and layout is excellent. The HDMI is a must have and expands it's capabilities for TV. It made my cable subscription obsolete. I would totally recommend this laptop over other units and brands costing much more money. Also purchasing through Walmart gives you an ironclad garantee that can't be beat. Buy this laptop with confidence. It is worth every penny and then some.

Was this review helpful? (185) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FVMohawk
Cottonwood, Az.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
excellent value, and the price was right
9/29/2012

Customer review by joenis

5.0 stars 9/29/2012 by joenis
by joenis

This is my fourth purchase of a Gateway Computer. Gateway's service is excellent, and should you have to call them, you are speaking with someone in the USA>

Was this review helpful? (71) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
joenis
Neptune City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice
9/7/2012

Customer review by Surferdude407

5.0 stars 9/7/2012 by Surferdude407
by Surferdude407

Just bought this last night and i must say WOW It really is a great Laptop for the price and the Sales lady at Walmart is what really made me stop looking for another model....If your looking for a laptop and are on a budget then you should get this one.....

Was this review helpful? (166) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Surferdude407
Amherst,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value
9/23/2012

Customer review by HK561

5.0 stars 9/23/2012 by HK561
by HK561

My laptop arrived at the store, picked it up and brought it home, plugged it in and turned it on. Set up was simple and fast, it recognized nearby wireless networks listing mine first and luckily I had my security key handy and got online without a hitch. It's a little bigger than I realized, for laying in bed would probably prefer a netbook, but it's a very good back-up to my desktop. The keyboard takes a while to get used to, some keys like to go "home" are in different places, and Windows wants to do updates every time I shut down, need to figure out how to turn that off, it says please do not turn off your computer but I turn it off anyway, starts back up no problem.

Was this review helpful? (57) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HK561
Boca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
WOWW!!
10/10/2012

Customer review by swaggedout19393

5.0 stars 10/10/2012 by swaggedout19393
by swaggedout19393

this computer is amazing it runs way faster than my hp and the screen is perfect its light weight downloads are instant and the keybored is nice overall this is the best laptop ive ever had and ive and 3 including a macbook pro but this thing beats them all gateway should be proud the built an amazing product

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
swaggedout19393
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wow!
10/7/2012

Customer review by ChristianHerbalist

5.0 stars 10/7/2012 by ChristianHerbalist
by ChristianHerbalist

I never thought my daughter would be happy with a computer again. She has had complaints about the last 3 computers that we have bought, but this one exceeds all expectations. The WIFI receiver is excellent (the last 2 we bought and returned could not get any signal at all in her apartment). She has plenty of hard drive and the memory is good for her use. The battery life, in her words, "is amazing"!

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChristianHerbalist
Lookingglass Valley, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great laptop
9/23/2012

Customer review by brunettebeauty87

5.0 stars 9/23/2012 by brunettebeauty87
by brunettebeauty87

The Gateway ne56r12u is a great laptop. I've had it for a week and, i have had no problems. The connection is fine i can get to other websites fast. I could finally download the game i wanted. I just haven't watch a dvd yet on it or taken it to a wi-fi hotspot. It does connect my in house wi-fi no problem. Oh and the picture is nice. Did get complimented on the hard drive, memory and GB. Good laptop for day to day use and can paly your games to. Great value proud to say this is my first laptop. Oh and site to store is a great service will use again.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brunettebeauty87
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best deal around
10/4/2012

Customer review by dyno2009

5.0 stars 10/4/2012 by dyno2009
by dyno2009

With 4gig ram and 500gig hard drive I could not find anything close to this for price and preformance.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dyno2009
Milford,Ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better Than Expected
10/10/2012

Customer review by DDJ2012

4.0 stars 10/10/2012 by DDJ2012
by DDJ2012

I had a tight budget and was leery of buying a Gateway because of feedback I received from others. Previously, I had a Compaq Presario and Toshiba laptops with the later being my favorite. The Compaq Presario was good but it got so hot that it burned my lap. The Toshiba was excellent however I wasn't going to spend $600 for a laptop again. My specs were simple: 2.1 GHZ, 4GB RAM, and at least 500 GB HD. With these specs I perused Amazon.com, New Egg, and a couple other sites. Although this computer was on other sites, WalMart had the BEST prices. My only critique is the mouse pad, it transitioned from being hard to move to extra sensitive. On the other hand, it meets all my needs and it's sleek and light. I'm more than satisfied and would definitely recommend this computer to others.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DDJ2012
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great laptop!
11/7/2012

Customer review by SPUDtracker

5.0 stars 11/7/2012 by SPUDtracker
by SPUDtracker

This is my first personal laptop, I have had work ones before but I have always bought desktops for personal use. However, I am starting new college courses and felt I needed more mobility and flexibility. The computer arrived in estimated time and I had it up and going the next morning. I opted for the Windows 8 upgrade, which I installed last week. Only slight issues with it, like some of the games not working. I feel this is the upgrade's fault and not the computer's as I have had no trouble with the computer itself. It easily connects to a hotspot, the full-size keyboard is comfortable to use, as is the full keypad. I have not had issues with the laptop overheating or powering off unexpectedly. Battery reserve is consistent with the specs listed and charges very quickly. Took less than an hour to do the first charge. The machine is light and totes easily in my shoulder bag. All in all, I am very pleased with this purchase and would highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SPUDtracker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I think a good computer, wish I could say for sure
10/7/2012

Customer review by bellebug

4.0 stars 10/7/2012 by bellebug
by bellebug

I ordered this laptop on Wednesday and it was delivered on Thursday, wow. I noticed when I turned it on the first time at the bios startup there were errors in the loading of the basic programs. I tried the service people at Gateway to help and I did what they wanted me to do but the problem was not fixed. When I called them back they said I should send it back. I have decided to return it to Walmart. I am going to order another of the same laptop. I do believe it will be a good computer for the money. I am hoping anyway. I am using the defective computer to write this review.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bellebug
Blue Ridge, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great laptop
10/4/2012

Customer review by ericthegreat111

5.0 stars 10/4/2012 by ericthegreat111
by ericthegreat111

I am not an IT person, but my buddy is and he actually suggested this laptop. I have had it for about 2 weeks and it has been wonderful. i love it to be honest

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ericthegreat111
florence ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A LOT of Laptop for the Money!
10/24/2012

Customer review by Shndlr

5.0 stars 10/24/2012 by Shndlr
by Shndlr

I found this as a special deal on the Walmart website. I liked the fact that it was a name brand, had a big screen, and had the Pentium processor, versus the cheaper and slower Celeron type. At $335, I felt it was a great value. I special ordered it in the store and the woman who helped me was terrific. I received numerous emails from Walmart regarding the shipping date, expected date of arrival etc., and it was all very reassuring. It arrived in half the time they predicted. I've been using it for a few weeks now, and am very happy with it. I also like the fact that it has a DVD recorder, etc., and a lot of bells and whistles. I haven't tried the various options it has yet, but so far I'm very happy with it. My first choice would have been a nice Apple Mac Book, but at 4 or 5 times the cost, it was tough to rationalize. Also, knowing I have Walmart to back up the purchase, I am more at ease regarding the overall purchase.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shndlr
Berlin, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Computer
10/13/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 10/13/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased this computer so I may continue my college education. It was an easy setup from start to finish. It's fast and easy to operate. I am very happy with my purchase. The battery life is great compared to my old laptop. Only issue I have is the mouse area. When it's on I am always hitting it and losing my information or opening other pages. Solved that with a wireless mouse! I am pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Lexington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
no complaints here
9/22/2012

Customer review by elizatheth

4.0 stars 9/22/2012 by elizatheth
by elizatheth

i read reviews, maybe their were some defective ones, but mine runs smooth easy to set up, no touch pad problems, no slow processor it fast, speakers are good, one bar behind keyboard makes a a single speaker but go in speaker control and turn on the equalizer and and volume control, it came installed with bing, so if you want ie9 you have to put it in, please remember to go in and customize how you want everything , some computers will ask at set up this one did not, make sure you install all updates from windows and your set to go, its a sleek beautiful design, we love it i have a hp, and this gateway is almost as good, my hp is a little more solid built, but the picture is better on the gateway, i would not hesitate to buy this computer, grab the extended warranty for peace of mind

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
elizatheth
illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So far everything is working as expected.
11/4/2012

Customer review by Chipinthedesert

4.0 stars 11/4/2012 by Chipinthedesert
by Chipinthedesert

Installed several programs and an additional 4GB of ram quickly and removed the usual bloat without any problems. Did some photo editing on some large raw files and responded quickly, watched movie and picture quality was very good. All hardware works as expected, keyboard is a little mushy and DVD drive is a little flimsy but adequate. Card reader worked well, internet access a breeze, peripherals installed without difficulty. Numeric keypad a nice touch. Sound quality is what you would expect from an inexpensive laptop. Camera works well on Skype, good resolution. Recommend going on Gateway website and updating drivers for hardware and software, always a good idea. Operation is quite and battery life is adequate after conditioning; light and easy to carry around. Windows 7 is familiar and easy to navigate. All in all, good for the price. Only time will tell how it does in the long haul.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chipinthedesert
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Laptop!
11/7/2012

Customer review by Okinu

5.0 stars 11/7/2012 by Okinu
by Okinu

I researched for quite a long time many different laptops before i bought this laptop. I can truly say that i LOVE this laptop. It is very nice to look at, the graphics and volume are great, it works wonderfully with the computer games i play as well... pretty much all its features are really great and you really get awesome value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Okinu
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/16/2012

Customer review by HeyFrankie

4.0 stars 10/16/2012 by HeyFrankie
by HeyFrankie

The keyboard is shrunk to make room for the number pad. It takes getting used too. Especially since the touch pad is off center. Another issue to be aware of is that the sound quality is poor. The max volume is barely audible, and virtually silent if you are in a room with any amount of background noise. Nevertheless, this laptop can handle multiple open tabs for internet browsing without freezing. It handles gaming software very well. The battery is long lasting. It does not heat up much, remains silent, and is light. Overall, I give it 4 out of 5 stars. Would definitely recommend. Great value for those on a tight budget, like yours truly.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HeyFrankie
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Buy
10/13/2012

Customer review by CollegeStudent04

5.0 stars 10/13/2012 by CollegeStudent04
by CollegeStudent04

I had a horrible HP Dv5 before which was horribly slow and had over heating issues. Wanted something not too expensive yet a laptop which is good for daily tasking/work/personal use. I am completely satisfied with this product and recommend it to everyone, especially college students. light weight well built cool scroll pad features WORTH THE MONEY!!!! IF NOT MORE...

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CollegeStudent04
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good buy
9/30/2012

Customer review by TheBallplayingFam

5.0 stars 9/30/2012 by TheBallplayingFam
by TheBallplayingFam

Bought this for my junior high aged-child, mainly for schoolwork. Really good price for the processor and screen size and useful for what we're using it for. The only thing was the shipping time--it said on the website that it would take 7-10 business days to get to the store for pickup and that was not an exaggeration--it was available for pickup 10 full business days after the order was placed! It took 4 days after I placed the order for it to arrive at the sorting facility in Utah, another 4 days to arrive at the delivery facility in Red Bluff, CA, and then another 4 days to travel 130 miles to the store for pickup. Talk about slow!! Walmart beat Amazon for price but Amazon is miles ahead of Walmart for shipping speed.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheBallplayingFam
Davis, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 91 total reviews
1-20 of 91 reviews