Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 104 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

104 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

104 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
51
4 stars
36
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 stars
6
1-20 of 100 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 100 total reviews
1-20 of 100 reviews
Expensive after all is said and done.
8/3/2010

Customer review by Teacher Mom

3.0 stars 8/3/2010 by Teacher Mom
by Teacher Mom

I just got this for my son's 3rd birthday and so far he seems to be entertained by it. Some of the games are a little advanced for him even though the books I got were age appropriate. But I know that I am supposed to be there with him to guide him and it is there to challenge him so eventually he will catch on. The downfall is batteries. I put in 2 brand new sets of batteries and they were both out of power in about 10 to 15 minutes (FYI-rechargeables last less time than regular batteries). I had to go to [...] and purchase the AC adapter for in the house and the car charger (both made by VTech and about 10 dollars each) [...]and other places were too expensive. So don't expect this thing to be a cordless toy unless you only plan your kid to play with it for 10 minutes at a time (which is barely enough time to finish reading the story). V Reader-[$], AC Adapter-10.00, car adapter-10.00, additional book cartridges-20.00= a lot of money! Not saying it's a bad product, just expensive.

Teacher Mom
Griffith, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product, but where is the charger?
3/11/2011

Customer review by Julie

4.0 stars 3/11/2011 by Julie
by Julie

This is a wonderful product, with one drawback...the batteries. This was a gift for my 3 1/2 year old son this past Christmas. It quickly became one of those toys that he would not put down, which leads to my one dislike, the batteries. When the vreader was purchased, the charger and battery pack were not available, and for the number of batteries that this thing takes, I figured it would last a lot longer. Boy was I wrong. I am still currently looking for the charger and rechargable battery pack, which from reading other posts on here, says that it is available in the store, but I cannot find it. The only charger that I can find is the car charger, which does not help me if my son is using this in the house. It would be nice if the accessories were available when the product came out, or at least if they were, they should be easier to find. All in all, I would recommend this unit to any parent or child. Just be a little proactive and order the charger and battery pack with the purchase...if you can find it.

Julie
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT TOY- AWFUL BATTERY CONSUMPTION
12/28/2010

Customer review by mom of 2 boys

3.0 stars 12/28/2010 by mom of 2 boys
by mom of 2 boys

It is now 4 days after x-mas and i have had to replace the batteries twice already on my childs v-reader. the programs itself are great, my 4 year old, and 2 year old think they have their own I-PADS. They are engaging for my 4 year old and the 2 year old just does the book part, but that is fine. graphics are great much better then they looked in online demos. HOWEVER- THE BATTERY ISSUE is unacceptable. replacing them 2 times in 4 days is crazy. i don't have any ac adaptors from vtech laying around the house- so now i have to purchase these as well on top of an already expensive product. this should have been included. would have been great of it could charge with the adaptor or through the computer. these will be fun for a time but my children like to move from room to room with them and will not sit with an adaptor plugged into the wall. this aspect is just so disappointing. wish i would have read about this in reviews prior to buying

mom of 2 boys
ct
Would recommend to a friend? No
the easy favorite
3/4/2011

Customer review by Nana

5.0 stars 3/4/2011 by Nana
by Nana

My grandson is very active and loses interest quickly in everything he does, toys included. He loves for us to read to him. We normally do this at bedtime due to our work schedules. We have bought several forms of readers for him, he likes them but, they have never held his attention like the Vreader has. He takes it with him everywhere he goes. In fact, we have to take it from him at his bedtime in order for his Papa to read to him. He is facinated with the certificates he earns. I just love hearing him say "Nana...look what I did." I think this is a must have for anyone with small children. It is amazing to see what they learn. Only downfall is the batteries consumption but, that means he is using his Vreader and learning while having fun. I would like to see more reading games and character (Super Why, Dinasaur Train & Mickey) books that can be downloaded online. Thanks VTech.

Nana
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My "littles" absolutely love it!!!
9/14/2012

Customer review by ISLANDGIRLVANIA

4.0 stars 9/14/2012 by ISLANDGIRLVANIA
by ISLANDGIRLVANIA

My littles (3 year old twins boy & girl, and a 2 year old girl) absolutely love their V-Readers! I cannot say enough good things, we have 3 of them. They take it everywhere, and if we forget them, they actually cry (or when the batteries die). They use it in the house, in the car, EVERYWHERE! It's just amazing how it keeps their attention, and I love that they are learning at the same time. The best part is that my 3 year old son is interested in it also, especially once we got the Toy Story Cartridge - it was love at first sight for him, and he hasn't lost interest yet. The batteries are an annoying problem, because we go through so many within a few days. But it's worth it to see the smiles on their faces. They seem to learn something new everyday, and never get bored. This is hands down, one of the best products we've ever had for our "Littles". Thank you, Vania H.

ISLANDGIRLVANIA
SEATTLE, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
V.Reader Interactive E-Reading System
8/27/2012

Customer review by SRTY75

4.0 stars 8/27/2012 by SRTY75
by SRTY75

Overall my kids love this product and it has helped my autistic son out a lot. It's allowed him to work at his own pace and progress at the same time. I would definitely recommend this product in general. The biggest flaw with this is the battery consumption and that the adapter outlet is complete junk. Both the VReaders I have don't respond well to either adapter. You must buy rechargeable batteries because I have found the adapter to be useless most of the time and kids don't want to sit there and mess around with trying to get it "just right" to work. You can get it to work but they cannot move the cord at all or it auto turns off since there is no power now. This is beyond annoying. If you don't buy rechargeable batteries I will just let you know right now you will be replacing 4 AA at least once a day. And no, I'm not kidding.

SRTY75
MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
We love it!
1/23/2011

Customer review by Steph

4.0 stars 1/23/2011 by Steph
by Steph

This thing rocks! We bought one for my 4 year old son - he loves it - and he's learning. This thing doesn't only teach them words and definitions - they're learning puctuation, context and order of events. We loved it so much, we bought another one for my daughter. The only downside: BATTERY CONSUMPTION - whoo! I'm so glad they didn't put one of those screws to lock the battery compartment because I've had to change the batteries in this thing a million times. We have the car charger, and the adapters now, but I wish they'd have put an internal battery in this thing that could be charged up much like a cell phone or laptop. I don't like having the kids playing with them while the adapters are plugged into the walls. That's the only downside though, this thing is totally worth it. Overall - this thing is pretty awesome!!!!!!!

Steph
Washington DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5 stars (in spite of flaw)
8/16/2013

Customer review by Mommy48219

5.0 stars 8/16/2013 by Mommy48219
by Mommy48219

It's been almost one year and my daughter still has a special place in her heart for this learning toy. Of course I read the reviews and purchased the rechargeable battery pack before opening the box so I have no complaints in that area. The ONE flaw that I've noticed with this machine and I can't seem to get any help with is the videos. It says something about the ability to upload videos into it and I can't seem to get them in there no matter what I've tried. I've uploaded pictures just fine. I would love for my daughter to be able to take this along in the car instead of always asking for my phone to watch videos on. If I could get help with that this would be the hit of the century! I would pass these out for Christmas every year for sure!

Mommy48219
Michigan, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Number of children:2
Battery Consumption Is Beyond Ridiculous
6/20/2012

Customer review by The Dude

2.0 stars 6/20/2012 by The Dude
by The Dude

My kid has been using this since about the age of 2 1/2, when she received it as a Christmas gift. While she enjoys the stories and games when she first receives them, and they are quite a fun way to learn, she quickly becomes bored with them as there really isn't much to each cartridge. Especially when you consider the price. Also, she hardly ever gets to play with it as we are constantly recharging batteries or forgetting to recharge them, or losing them so the thing is dead all the time. It is beyond ridiculous that the V Reader does not come with a power source that plugs into the wall, or even my laptop, so that it can charge while the kid plays with it. We might as well just get her a regular tablet or mini netbook...

The Dude
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awesome product
2/9/2011

Customer review by Lisa

5.0 stars 2/9/2011 by Lisa
by Lisa

I wasn't going to purchase the V.Reader, since I initially thought it was going to cost too much and wouldn't be able to compete with all of the lower-priced, interactive books that are available for the iPad. After seeing the in-store demo, I decided to give it a try. This has been the best purchase! My almost 3yo twins love this V.Reader. We own almost every electronic learning toy - 40+ Leapfrog Tag books with two pens, Leapster 2, Leapster Explorer, Vtech Mobigo, Vtech Bugsby, Nintendo DS Lite, Nintendo Wii (and more), and the V.Reader is their ABSOLUTE FAVORITE toy. They cannot go to sleep without requesting their 'Backpack, Backpack..'. I'm so happy I finally found a toy that they actually love. Thanks Vtech.

Lisa
NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
1/26/2011

Customer review by Mommy to Boo Bear

4.0 stars 1/26/2011 by Mommy to Boo Bear
by Mommy to Boo Bear
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My son is 5 and was engaged with this item in the store before we ever considered purcahing it. It is very easy for him to use and he can easily get to all his games. It is a great tool for reading because it is read at a slow speed so the child can pick up every word; the child can also elect to touch each word and have it read at their own speed. The only con I have found is we cannot use rechargable batteries in this item. If the batteries are completely charged, they immediately lose that charge when placed in the V.Reader. Because we have so many products that use batteries, we always have the rechargables on hand; now we have to make sure we have just regular alkaline batteries on hand as well.

Mommy to Boo Bear
Dandridge, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Learning tool for Pre schoolers!
2/20/2013

Customer review by BriRay

5.0 stars 2/20/2013 by BriRay
by BriRay

I bought as gift for 3-4 yr olds. They love it, think it's their own computer! I love the activities they can be involved in. My only disappointment is that it doesn't come with a power cord so plan on buying one separately if you don't own one that fits. The batteries do not last long enough for the length of time kids play, especially if they get up and walk away and leave it on. We love it otherwise.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BriRay
OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5 year old son loves this
12/26/2010

Customer review by Tonyend

4.0 stars 12/26/2010 by Tonyend
by Tonyend

I recommend buying the AC adapter because batteries have gone quite fast since my son uses this quite a bit. Also, if you'd like to download books and you don't have any spare SD memory cards, I recommend picking one up. To download books using the PC software you need to have an SD memory card installed in the SD slot in the battery compartment. Each book is ~10MB. I put in a 2 Gig SD card I had laying around which seems to be adequate for now. Of course, you can buy cartridges too, but the downloads give you more flexibility and spontaneity to buy new content without going to the store. Lastly, while they have quite a few books, I hope they expand to include foreign language learning books too.

Tonyend
Long Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's a hit!
12/27/2010

Customer review by Mandi

5.0 stars 12/27/2010 by Mandi
by Mandi

My 5 year old daughter loves this product! She began using it right away on Christmas morning and with a few exceptions she hasn't needed any help with the programs at all! She is learning rhyming words, opposites, and basic spelling and is excited about it! We have visited the website and downloaded some new activities for her to do, which was incredibly easy for the parents! The only draw back is that it doesn't come with the SD Memory card to complete the transfer so we are having to wait to get out downloads transferred. Other than that it's a great product and I have no doubts that it's going to be playing a huge part in our preschooler's learning to read!

Mandi
Petaluma, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't judge a book by its cover
12/24/2012

Customer review by jb23

5.0 stars 12/24/2012 by jb23
by jb23

I bought this for my 4yr old son to try. He is behind on his developement due to health issues and i have tried just about everything to get him to practice his alphabet numbers and writing and nothing worked. As soon as he opened this he was all about trying it out and writing his letters and numbers as well as learning to read!! I cannot get him to put it down! This toy is the only thing that can keep his attention long enough for him to actually pay attention to what is being said or how to do something. I would DEFINATELY recommend this to everyone especially for children behind on developement and adhd

jb23
iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
New vs. Old versions
12/11/2011

Customer review by Stay at home mom

2.0 stars 12/11/2011 by Stay at home mom
by Stay at home mom

My 5 year old daughter bought one of these a few months back on sale, it was last years version. Both her and my 3 year old son love it so much they fight over it. They espacially love the coloring book and art studio. My son liked it so well he asked for one for x-mas and got one. This new one is different, it does not have the art studio, coloring book or interactive writing and the Game "What noise is that?" is a separate cartridge not a pre-loaded game. I am so unhappy with these changes we will probably take it back and get something else instead. Very disapointed at these changes!!

Stay at home mom
Illinios
Would recommend to a friend? No
Interactive versus Animated
12/28/2010

Customer review by SirCharlsO

3.0 stars 12/28/2010 by SirCharlsO
by SirCharlsO

Would someone please explain to me the difference between:V.Reader Interactive reading system (w/ case 49 clams)andV.Reader Animated e-reader (no case = 55 clams)They have all the same words on the box. But I am at a store (that sounds like [...]) and the prices are as quoted above, plus the cartridges also have the distinction of Animated versus Interactive. Yet, everything else is the same. Will both kinds of systems take both kinds of software, or will they only work exclusively. I have searched and searched, so I am asking this here in desperation.Thanks - [@]

SirCharlsO
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful E-reader
8/6/2011

Customer review by HappyMama

5.0 stars 8/6/2011 by HappyMama
by HappyMama

My son's father bought it for him for his fourth birthday. He fell in love with it on sight, and has played with it till he fell asleep. I love that it reads the stories to him, so he doesn't have to ask someone to help him. I saw him drop it multiple times, but it managed to get away without a scratch. It also teaches him what words mean and highlights, so he can understand what words are being said. The games also help, helping him with his spelling. The only downside I have seen so far is that if you don't use brand new batteries, they die very quickly.

HappyMama
Shreveport, La
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it, but needs ac adapter.
1/17/2011

Customer review by Danyelle

5.0 stars 1/17/2011 by Danyelle
by Danyelle

My son is 3 and loves this product. It gives us quite time which is new and it is great for when we go out we take it with us and there's less of a headache when we get home. It's nice that it offers progress so you know where your child stands. Once you link the v reader to your pc it gives your all new options to track their progress and you are able to download books and such, from the program it places on your pc. Main down side is you have to purchase an SD memory card in order to do so because they take up more space then is available on the reader.

Danyelle
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Goes through batteries quickly
10/16/2010

Customer review by We love learning

4.0 stars 10/16/2010 by We love learning
by We love learning

We really like the vreader. It is just what I was searching for to enhance my grandchildren's learning in a fun and creative way. The only drawback is that it goes through batteries way too quickly. I think the adapter needs to be included with the product or made readily available for purchase with the product. Perhaps the company can come up with a remedy to the battery consumption so it's still more portable. When recommending it to others, I would be sure to tell them that an adapter is needed due to the battery consumption issue.

We love learning
Berwick, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 100 total reviews
1-20 of 100 reviews