Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 42 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

42 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

42 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

62%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-20 of 40 total reviews
62%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews
not what i expected
9/23/2012

Customer review by workingman4263

2.0 stars 9/23/2012 by workingman4263
by workingman4263

it will not get u lost but it is up to 200 ft off at you destination or you destination is on the left it will say on the right the voice control is not very good its limited on what u can ask it and only gets it right about 30% of the time and u have to press a button on screen every time to do a voice command. also the bluetooth volume is not very loud and it tends to be slow at recalculating if you miss a turn and dont even try customer service there a joke but the pro's are the lane guidence is good feature graphics are nice speed limit warning is great 5mph over and it goes off it knows a lot of roads and streets speed limits fastest route feature works well also dont do shortest route it will take you on every backroad mounting bracket is really slick and easy to use the menue is a littlr difficult to use at $99 price tag its not bad but i use my gps every day on my job and expected more than this from tom tom i will be returning unit for a garmin

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
workingman4263
new castle pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It was just OK until it is broken...
7/28/2012

Customer review by greenpia

1.0 stars 7/28/2012 by greenpia
by greenpia

It was great bargain on Walmart with rebate. So I decide to try TomTom for the first time. My 4 year old Magellan had ancient map data. I was impressed by TomTom's new features like Traffic update, Bluetooth phone, Verbal commend. But after I tested for about a week, I realize that the main core (which is GPS# is just so much less intuitive than Magellan. It takes two or three buttons to get the infos which only took one button on 4 year old magellan. Interaction design should be better than 4 years old, No? Also this great speak your commend or street address was not easy. It only got about 30% of my commend and street right and it was so inconvenient to use. And you need to touch the start commending button and done button at the end. So what is purpose of speak your commend??? Buttons of this 4.3" GPS is so small #I have very small fingers) that I often touch wrong line which isn't the case with my old 3.5" Magellan. Anyway I was not fully happy but I decide to keep this unit and stick with TomTom. Until yesterday, when it decide not to turn on when I start the engine. Only in one week! I return the unit and I am looking for next Magellan GPS on sale.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
greenpia
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This makes Tom Tom number 3 for me
8/14/2012

Customer review by hvons

4.0 stars 8/14/2012 by hvons
by hvons

The operating system can be a little frustrating and map updates are sometimes a challenge but it does what I want it to do. They keep improving the interface and making it more intuitive to use. Good features for the price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hvons
Lake City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
issues with battery and car adapter
8/1/2012

Customer review by cringo

3.0 stars 8/1/2012 by cringo
by cringo

this is my first navigation system, so i cannot say much about its features. it was easy to get used to and to start depending on it! however, within one year i am having two technical issues. 1) the device stopped working on battery, i.e. when it was pulled off the car adapter or off the computer, it would turn black and not turn on any more. this issue has been reported by other users too. after a short back-and-forth with tomtom customer service, i got a return authorization and am waiting for a replacement device. i will be left with the cost of returning the broken device. 2) the car adapter which also contains the traffic receiver lost its front contact and fuse, rendering it useless. i was fortunate to find the pieces in my backpack and was able to put it back together. i found other reviews reporting the same issue where people had to request a replacement part.

cringo
Toronto, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great for alternative routes
4/7/2012

Customer review by AFVH

3.0 stars 4/7/2012 by AFVH
by AFVH

Purchased over a year ago, so lots of time with it. Pros, alternative routes when going to work, ease of use, sleek look & style, lifetime maps and traffic updates. Cons: voice recognition is very poor in that when contacts are downloaded from my smart phone it is next to impossible to access contacts beyond first screen and on top of that voice recognition rarely gets the right contact - very frustrating. I have given up on using this feature even for finding streets. Unit installed via a vent mount that is angled to the direction of my mouth and approximately 20 inches away, however, Blue Tooth connection is average - people say I sound very distant and often unclear - switched back to blue tooth headseat and deactivated blue tooth settings - thought it was to good to be true. The unit has taken me on poor routes right into dead ends where construction is underway and alternative routes are longer than what was originally planned. Points of interest seems to work well when in a specific geographic area but don't try to find a point of interest that is outside of the area you are working from. Wish unit retained a history of routes taken and their mileage as this would be helpful for managing mileage for work purposes - Garmin I understand has that feature on certain models.

AFVH
Markham, Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Battery failed after the first use.
8/6/2012

Customer review by vcrothers

1.0 stars 8/6/2012 by vcrothers
by vcrothers

I had read that it might be an issue down the road when I was reviewing the camera before my purchase. Other consumers had the same problem but I didn't think it would happen right away, literally after the first use. The battery does not hold charge so you have to leave it plugged in while in the vehicle. So it does still work but it's inconvenient not being able to pull it off the dash and input data/address etc. From what I've read, it's a problem that a lot of people have had and a call to TomTom is required to get a replacement. People seem to have to get replacement after replacement so I may even just return it to Walmart and get a different unit completely.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vcrothers
New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Broken after a few hours of using it.
8/15/2012

Customer review by ugeek7

1.0 stars 8/15/2012 by ugeek7
by ugeek7

To make a long story short. The voice navigator stop working, even the tech support from Tom Tom could not help me. Pros, it had a lot of great features. But the main feature does not work. return it back to walmart, and will purchase a Garmin.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ugeek7
Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Never TomTom
8/18/2012

Customer review by Benzin123

1.0 stars 8/18/2012 by Benzin123
by Benzin123

I have read some negative reports about TomTom before I bought it. But I have hoped that this will not happen on me. Unfortunately it has only worked once correctly and then couldn't find a GPS signal! Very disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Benzin123
Would recommend to a friend? No
EASE OF MIND
10/18/2011

Customer review by zelo

5.0 stars 10/18/2011 by zelo
by zelo

I received my Tom Tom a few weeks ago but didn't go anywhere to try it out until last week. I drove from WV to MO an 857 mile trip one way and I would not have done that if I didn't have my Tom Tom. Tom Tom did very well fixing my mess ups. Tom Tom only got confused twice, the one a detour, I kept going in circles and the other, Tom Tom couldn't find my hotel. But, the accuracy and helping me the way it did makes Tom Tom absolutely the way to drive long distances. Returning from MO Tom Tom kept me on the right path, I love it's features and I am very happy with how well it works.

zelo
Webster Springs, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
The best yet
3/31/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/31/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is my third Tom Tom, Go 510, Go 730 and now this Go 2405. Had no conplaints about the other three but this is the best yet by far. The new mounting system is great and as usual the maps are far superior to any of the competition's. Alot of people come to visit us out here in the county of Ky and most all of them get lost using the other brand of gps out there. Tom Tom gets you here. Actually had a "G" brand for the wife a while ago and it was just terrible compaired to Tom Tom which is why I bought the 2405 and gave my 730 to the wife and got rid of the other brand !!

An anonymous customer
Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Outstanding Device!
3/31/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/31/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This unit replaced a Magellan, which I used for years and loved. I am now a TomTom convert! My 2405 has outstanding routing logic and map accuracy. Works very well with Traffic to avoid delays. I also find it very easy to use. About the only thing I would add, which I am surprised TomTom didn't think of, is an on-screen compass. Knowing what direction I am traveling is important to me and I miss this. Altitude would also be great, but I can live without that. Overall this is an easy to use and accurate little helper!

An anonymous customer
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very good GPSrice was very comparable
3/31/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 3/31/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I found the Tom Tom GPS very good and very easy to use. The price was very compareable to other competetors. All thought the TomTom dosn,t have all bells and whistle that are nice to have. I made the decission to buy Tom Tom for the safty aspect where I might be temped to play with while driving. The only things I would like to see is that the unit would turn on by it self when the car is turned on and the legal notice stays off after you have except it once.

An anonymous customer
Orleans , Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Battery problems
7/15/2012

Customer review by hockeyguy56

1.0 stars 7/15/2012 by hockeyguy56
by hockeyguy56

Google 2405 or 2505 battery. Before you buy! Save yourself the headaches I had. Not as many problems with newer model 2435.

Was this review helpful? (4) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hockeyguy56
King of Prussia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good gps
12/14/2011

Customer review by Burby

4.0 stars 12/14/2011 by Burby
by Burby

I really like just about everything regarding this model. The only reason I don't give it five stars is it has routed me off the freeway and back on it for some reason and there was no traffic. The only other complaint I have is I can't see the screen because of glare when the sun hits in certain directions. Overall it's a great gps.

Burby
Houston,tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
limited fuctions...
3/31/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 3/31/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is my second TomTom, and I was sold on TomTom to the extend of only considering this brand for my new device. The GO 2405 does very well what it does... but don't do what my 5 year old one was doing = DESAPOINTMENT!!! this new device does not allow me to plan a full trip or add more than one (1) 'waypoint' to a destination.

An anonymous customer
Montréal QC - Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great product
6/1/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/1/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Had a cheaper Magellan unit & this one is far superior. The traffic feature really works...re-routed me around a huge traffic jam 1 day without any effort on my part. :) Haven't found a 'reverse' feature where I could just return to original destination but this would be good to have.

An anonymous customer
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Ongoing costs...
3/31/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 3/31/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Got mine with a 2 year upgrade promise. But started getting notified to update after the first year. I will not upgrade for that much money, waiting for someone to steal it and then start looking for a new one. I drive for a living and paid a lot up front for this thing.

An anonymous customer
Hastings, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
unreliable
4/12/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 4/12/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

freezes, does not recognize my voice input, constantly needs to be reset, has overlaping screen parts, on vacation it was only correct 50% of the time. couldent find numerous points of interest (Hawaii).. map is 3 years ols for a "up to date" map

An anonymous customer
Calgary Alberta Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
5/28/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 5/28/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The 2405 is a very nice tomtom, the only few complaints that I have are the voice activation has trouble understanding commands, and that there is not alot of choices on icons, car symbols, voices, etc like are seen on other tomtoms

An anonymous customer
pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Just ok
3/31/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 3/31/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Core GPS functionality is good and the device is easy to use however there are some features missing that I would have expected to see in this model that are availlable in others, like the ability the add voices and additional maps.

An anonymous customer
Jersey City, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews