Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 119 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

119 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

119 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
91
4 stars
24
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
0
1-20 of 113 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 113 total reviews
1-20 of 113 reviews
12/2/2012

Customer review by Big6Boy

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by Big6Boy
by Big6Boy

very pleased with the price and in store pickup. Worked out great. Thank You

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Big6Boy
Flanagan Il.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/13/2012

Customer review by TeeKay

4.0 stars 11/13/2012 by TeeKay
by TeeKay

My son loves this lego!

Was this review helpful? (8) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TeeKay
Morrill, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for 12 yr old
12/29/2012

Customer review by mrst53

5.0 stars 12/29/2012 by mrst53
by mrst53

My grandson loved it. He sat there and put it part of it together. It was great.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrst53
Stanley, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Drillin' for my pot of gold!
8/21/2012

Customer review by DJNeo84

5.0 stars 8/21/2012 by DJNeo84
by DJNeo84

This excavator set is an great set not only for mining, however for any construction jobs that you need. This set is easy to build, great to stare at and fun to play with. Love the interchangeable drill and bucket for the excavator. The truck itself is perfect, along with the colour scheme that is used. It's a really worthy set to own, but I have a few disappointing comments. The first is that most excavators don't use wheels but are on tracks and there is no realistic method of having the excavator come off the trailer without simply plucking it off or modifying it to do so. Despite that it's a set you must buy as it seems hard to get these new mining sets in stores. A must buy, cheers!

DJNeo84
Montreal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AWESOME SET
11/26/2012

Customer review by LegoCityFan13

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by LegoCityFan13
by LegoCityFan13

Excuvator: big and realisic. Easy to build. sturdy and it rotates too. Truck: detailed and really easy to build. sturdy, Flatbed Trailer: the easyest part. also sturdy. nothing much to say about it since i only had a little bit of parts to put on to it. Rocks: the 2 rocks can be split in half. little gold studs inside. comes apart easyily and snaps back on easyily. Minifigures: set comes with two minifigs. a truck driver and a miner. however the miner is really comman and it is almost in every mining set. Other: when you put the excuvator on the trailer of the truck, it forces he trailor down alittle bit so you might hear or feel a light scrape when playing with it on carpet. Otherwise it's a good set! 10/10

LegoCityFan13
Somewhere in VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AWESOME
6/6/2012

Customer review by legocityfreak953

5.0 stars 6/6/2012 by legocityfreak953
by legocityfreak953

THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST CITY SETS EVER!! and i've been waiting for this for 6months Cons. 2minifigs and driller

legocityfreak953
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Completely new
8/3/2012

Customer review by Daniel13

5.0 stars 8/3/2012 by Daniel13
by Daniel13

I waited all June 2012 to buy this with mining 4x4. Her's my review, Truck: This piece of the set is just cool lookin. The green is great and so are the mining stickers. You even have a coffe mug in the cab. Trailer: Nice en long and the excavator fits well. It store tools like dynamite and a pickaxe. If you notice, there's also orange lights on the side. Two problems exist though, when turning it makes wide turns and with when attached to truck you can't cross the 7936 level crossing. Excavator: Alot of yellow like most construction machines. It rotates a perfect 360 degrees. The stripes on the back are amazing detail and I really like the arm with attachable drill and shovel. minifigures: All-new faces and printing.

Daniel13
Covington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good mining set
5/5/2013

Customer review by Legoman02

5.0 stars 5/5/2013 by Legoman02
by Legoman02

Very cool! The details in it like the driller are so cool. I recommend this Lego set to Lego fans. TOTALLY AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!

Legoman02
North Port
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A GREAT TOY
5/7/2011

Customer review by niksan

5.0 stars 5/7/2011 by niksan
by niksan

I had built both of the models and i thing that the model B is considerably better. It's far more fun because it's faster and easier to control. The M motors are simply too small for the A model but they are perfect for the B. I love this toy and all of it's functions. And it looks really good too. It has a lot of power and it can climb things or push something almost like the buldozer. I'm looking forward to the next lego technic top model. Thanks lego!

niksan
bulgaria sofia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quite nice for my first LEGO
1/12/2012

Customer review by rotproof

5.0 stars 1/12/2012 by rotproof
by rotproof

Was very excited as it is my first LEGO. It took me 7 hours to build. I was confused with extra pieces left and thought smth went wrong during building so took another 2 hours to double-check correctness. Excavator is fully-working like a real one. I wish LEGO made more remote-controlled devices.

rotproof
Kiev, Ukraine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Technic set ever - truly a masterpiece
7/19/2010

Customer review by AFOL1978

5.0 stars 7/19/2010 by AFOL1978
by AFOL1978

Ah, the highly anticipated Motorized Excavator. I have been waiting for this one since winter. It is an excellent set that rivals the 8275 Bulldozer from 2007. It performs the same functions as the 8275 in terms of backwards, forwards and performing turns on its tracks by rotating one or the other independently. Plus, we get the advantage of turning the superstructure as well as the raising, lowering and extending, retracting the boom and an advantage over the 8294 smaller scale excavator of a 3rd linear actuator operating the tilting of the bucket. While the bucket seems a bit oversized for this set, it doesn't detract from the elegant curves and fairings used to make this excavator almost as realistic looking as a real-life CAT or Komatsu excavator. The actuators move a bit slow for the bucket/boom functions, XL motors might have made a bit of a difference, but the size of XL motors would been too big to fit into the superstructure. A bit on the expensive side, but chock full of functions and endless playability, this is a must have for any Technic fan of any age.

AFOL1978
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/2/2011

Customer review by JetPower

5.0 stars 12/2/2011 by JetPower
by JetPower

i like building giant structures, such as Supercar

JetPower
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Motorized excavator - 8043
8/1/2010

Customer review by Doug72

5.0 stars 8/1/2010 by Doug72
by Doug72

Just completed building this model and its fantastic, complicated to build, the step by step excellent instructions. The gearbox is amazing and finally found out how two drives pass through the turntable ! Only minor criticisms are the tracks are jerky when turning due to the small idler wheels and the lost motion to the one track, when reversed, due to the co-axial drive arrangement using stack clutch cones. A more positive coaxial "special" sleeve needed to pass this drive through the turntable. I have enjoyed building this model but loathed to break it down to build the B model which looks to be excellent also. Just need to obtain some special pieces and will have enough other Lego to build this. The two models will compliment each other Well done Lego and the designer on a excellent model - must be the Model of the Year." Doug72

Doug72
UK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
If you love mechanics and treaded vehicles...
12/24/2010

Customer review by GoDeLego

5.0 stars 12/24/2010 by GoDeLego
by GoDeLego

I Just finished it yesterday and It's AMAZING! The thought that went into this model is incredible. I was particularly impressed with how the designers implemented the transmission and I was pleased to collect a few new speciality mechanical pieces and gearing. The controls and mechanics are genius and the build is tight, sturdy, and efficient. The fact that it is a 2-in-1 adds even more value. I would rank this one one of the best Lego models ever designed.

GoDeLego
Edmonton Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Most challenging Lego Technic set to date!
12/26/2010

Customer review by pathofpi

5.0 stars 12/26/2010 by pathofpi
by pathofpi

This is the most challenging Lego Technic set I have ever built/seen. I'd say it is A very good value for your money as well. I am amazed at the innovative methods they use for the mechanics of the set. This is also one of the few sets that can be 100% independent. It can do all of it's mechanical functions with you using just the remote. This is a great gift for any Lego Technic fan that wants a challenge! Note: It took me about 5 1/2 hours to built this and I am a very fast builder, so An average Technic builder would likely take 9-12 hours, so be committed to work on it!

pathofpi
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A must have....
12/27/2012

Customer review by zven

5.0 stars 12/27/2012 by zven
by zven

It is just amazing how the LEGO designers are able to put so many gears and wheels inside this excavator AND have it work. This is super entertainment under construction and in the play afterwards. Go and get this LEGO build.

zven
Copenhagen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
little tricky
7/6/2012

Customer review by molly7966

5.0 stars 7/6/2012 by molly7966
by molly7966

good but a little tricky i did screw up i have to admit but it is nice i dont have alot to say tho but ummmm i like it i think you will to!

molly7966
upper rawdon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Build For Anyone
11/26/2012

Customer review by kdig085

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by kdig085
by kdig085

This was probably one of my favorite builds. It was slightly tough at first to see where they were going with the motors and center gear section, but once you see how it all comes together it is all downhill from there. This set is fun from the time you start building it until you stick the batteries in a actually get to play with it, then its even more fun. Although fun I did find one downside. The thing I would have liked to have seen is maybe a rubber track as the plastic one doesn't get very much traction, I have a feeling they did this to avoid stripping gears, which I understand but it made the overall playability a little lame.

kdig085
Cornwall
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/30/2012

Customer review by Leon

5.0 stars 10/30/2012 by Leon
by Leon

Fantastic model - and with four motors plently of future building options!

Leon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/10/2012

Customer review by Ari1982

5.0 stars 8/10/2012 by Ari1982
by Ari1982

very nice smooth functions. remote control works fine. nice looks too

Ari1982
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 113 total reviews
1-20 of 113 reviews