Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 49 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

49 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

49 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 stars
8
1-20 of 47 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews
Good starter fishing kayak
5/23/2013

Customer review by DjSchmeeJ

4.0 stars 5/23/2013 by DjSchmeeJ
by DjSchmeeJ

This is my 5th or 6th kayak I have purchased. I have a nice 14ft perception touring kayak, but wanted something just for fishing. It paddles easy (the paddle that comes with it looks cheap, I use my own) and straight and is fairly steady.... you can't stand up in it if that's what you're looking for. It is a bit heavy at 48-50 lbs, and it is not completely sealed, so if you leave it out in the rain right side up water will get into it. But it has a drain plug. I suggest removing the piece on the hand grip that ties it to the deck bungee so it's easier to carry. Also suggest sealing everything better. And really needs a hand grip at the thigh pads so it would be easier to shoulder for transport. It's easy to fish from. The side walls are high enough that you won't get too much water in it, so you really don't need scupper holes. I mean... you're going to get wet in ANY kayak! There is residual plastic pieces inside that you can hear sliding around, and the cut out for the scotty rod holder falls inside when it's cut... so you'll hear that also. I put a fish finder and a couple of mods on mine easy enough, but you'll have to cut out the storage compartment to get access under the deck for the transducer. I have a video on youtube showing mine. All in All a good fishing or low end kayak to get into.

Was this review helpful? (158) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DjSchmeeJ
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Stable and comfortable kayak.
3/5/2013

Customer review by OldMusician

4.0 stars 3/5/2013 by OldMusician
by OldMusician

I purchased at our local Walmart after looking and trying to research kayaks on-line and with friends. Local stores were selling it for $449.00 ! Tried it today and found it to be quite smooth in the water, easy to paddle, and quite stable ..not sure I could stand up in it, but I can move around some and that seemed nice. The cushions for the knees seem like a good idea, they may be place a bit too far forward for us shorter folk 5'8". There were two screws holding the seat back in place, one of them was cross-threaded (not sure if that was factory or Walmart associate problem#. I called KL Industries and they are sending me a replace "nut" #actually more of a moly fastener) at no charge. In the meantime I was able to use a die and carefully re-tap the existing nut and made the repair. Decals are "stick-on" type and easily damaged and were damaged from in-store handling but that doesn't affect the utility of the kayak. The paddle was an inexpensive model but is a good starter paddle or as a spare. The "towable" storage compartment is quite small with a relatively small hatch, but it might work fine ....there is no provision to attach a line to it for purposes of towing, but drilling a hole for that should not be a problem. I will most likely just remove that compartment and use the recessed space to hold other types of containers. The front hatch is very small and I'm not sure just what the use for it will be. It is about 6" deep and 5" in diameter ! All three rod holders should be useful and the "Scotty" adjustable front rod holder is extra nice. The seat seemed comfortable although I didn't do a "long-term" test .

Was this review helpful? (226) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldMusician
Crystal River FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great kayak for the price!
8/1/2014

Customer review by KayakinLulu

5.0 stars 8/1/2014 by KayakinLulu
by KayakinLulu

I have had my Journey for 2 years now and I just love it. Very stable (have only dumped it once and that was because I was being careless). Plenty of room for fishing or camping gear. I learned last week that if I remove the tow-able on the front that area becomes my dogs seat for a long float down the river. (now that I know she loves to kayak with me she will be getting her own lifejacket) The only issue I have had it that on really hot days the plastic becomes softer and the rivets that hold the adjustable seat back pop out. Easily solved by using an inexpensive boat cushion as a back rest (which serves as an extra pfd if needed). I am on the river most days that I am off. Many great adventures ahead for us now because my hubby is getting the Journey 10' Sit On, can't wait!

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KayakinLulu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than I ever would have believed
6/7/2014

Customer review by Fishfindermn

5.0 stars 6/7/2014 by Fishfindermn
by Fishfindermn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This boat is perfect for lake fishing. Light enough to be easily carried by one person. I've carried it over half a mile to remote spots comfortably. I recently mounted a fish finder and trolling motor along with an anchor system. I couldn't be happier with this boat.

Was this review helpful? (45) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fishfindermn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great deal
6/3/2016

Customer review by Supersquid

5.0 stars 6/3/2016 by Supersquid
by Supersquid
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

i bought two at the same time, great deal, they work great, track great, have plenty of storage in them, fairly stable, they move with ease. the only gripe i have about my entire purchase was when i first added them to my cart, the price was 347.00, when i clicked the check out they went up to 459.99, i took them out of my cart and canceled the purchase, came back an hour later and they were 347.99 again, i added them to my cart and they went up to 369.73, i went ahead and bought them because it was still a good deal. walmart needs to some continuity in the pricing online. i've had that problem of placing an item in the cart and the price goes up during check out, so i take it out and try again, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Supersquid
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overall excellent VALUE !
7/30/2013

Customer review by Silentgrayfellow

5.0 stars 7/30/2013 by Silentgrayfellow
by Silentgrayfellow

Purchased this at Walmart for $449 as advertised and I'm very pleased. There are pieces of plastic that slide around inside but that doesn't affect the performance. I didn't know what they were at first until I did some research and found out they were plastic cut-outs that drop down inside the hull in the manufacturing process. There is a website for Klindindustries.com where you can contact the manufacturer. I've seen some negative reviews on various kayaking network forums and blogs but they are typically biased against Walmart and a bit snooty about the quality. I for one find no problem with the quality and the fact that it doesn't have "scuppers" (to let the water run off the top# is not a problem because I never had a problem with water getting in in the first place. If you are looking for a good working kayak #holds 390 lbs# at a light weight #48 lbs# for a really good price #$480+ after taxes) then this is the kayak for you.

Was this review helpful? (108) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Silentgrayfellow
Keystone Heights, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Can't Get Enough
10/27/2014

Customer review by paddlehead

4.0 stars 10/27/2014 by paddlehead
by paddlehead

Just went out for the first time this AM. Yak was excellent under very windy and rough water. I fish mainly in a harbor (Cold Spring Harbor, NY ) This kayak is a great buy for the money. Lightweight and easy to put on top of my SUV. Tracking was excellent and the rod holder worked out well.Shipping was excellent also as it came in 2 weeks earlier than expected, wrapped nicely and in perfect condition. The paddles (a nice bonus ) are cheap but more than did the job. Expect to get wet in this on top Yak but lets get real.......your on the water. Storage is ample and I guess my one con is the rear storage compartment which is nearly impossible to get to when paddling and very difficult to open at any time. I'll be making a pull handle for it asap. All in all an excellent bang for the buck.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
paddlehead
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Descent boat for your money
5/29/2016

Customer review by Sweet

4.0 stars 5/29/2016 by Sweet
by Sweet
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ok boat. Handles good. Stability is ok once you get use to it. It is not quite as wide as the 10' so it has a different feel. I dont like that you cant reach the dry box while seated. It should be arranged like the 10'. On the 10' the drink holder and the dry storage is within reach from your seated position.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sweet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wife is mad at me
4/17/2013

Customer review by Texastrigger

5.0 stars 4/17/2013 by Texastrigger
by Texastrigger

I decided to buy this yesterday and the wife was ok with that! Today we went to Canyon Lake AZ, I did stop buy me friends house to get the sub 200 dollar kayak so she could go too! After about 15 min and terrible wind she asked me to stop in this kayak to trade, I did....... long and behold I was disappointed, she was happy! she was cruising against the wind so much better than me, that my arms got tired! I bought this one for late night fishing, now I know it was worth the money! I give this thing a 10! I also recommend that you need to be able to lift 48lbs over your shoulder! {the wife didn't help carry this one} man am I happy , but over tired today! Next day off I"m going to go fishing in it! By the way did put in on top of a Ford Explorer 4x4, no problems with the luggage rack!

Was this review helpful? (123) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Texastrigger
Queen Creek AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Greatest kayak ever made.
7/7/2013

Customer review by aandcmorgan

5.0 stars 7/7/2013 by aandcmorgan
by aandcmorgan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have enjoyed these 2 kaykaks so much, we have taken them out almost every weekend. We like their style. They are open so you don't worry that if you fall out, your body falls and you come ride up to the surface. They are safe and our older grandchildren love using them. You can even fish out of them.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aandcmorgan
Rio Dell
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Leaky
5/27/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 5/27/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The waterproof compartments are not water proof the hull leaks and it's brand new just seems for the money if would have been much higher quality

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/6/2013

Customer review by My6gen

4.0 stars 6/6/2013 by My6gen
by My6gen

Been looking at kayaks for awhile now. finally pulled the trigger and bought this one. Online it goes for 499. picked up at the local store only paid 449. Great deal for what you get. Of course i had to try it out. so i headed to the local river. Dropped it in and paddled away. This yak tracks very well straight line all the way. I am pleased with it. only issue i had was it had some scratches from shipping and a small ding under the boat. But does not effect the handling of the boat. For under 500 bucks i can't complain. Cant wait to get my poles and spend the day out fishing. Im not a little guy either 5'11 280. This boat floats and tracks great.... It says 395 but i am positive it can hold more than that...

Was this review helpful? (70) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
My6gen
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Awesome fishing platform!
6/4/2015

Customer review by GAtreerat

5.0 stars 6/4/2015 by GAtreerat
by GAtreerat

First time kayaker, took it out on the inlets around Daytona Beach Shores. It was very easy to paddle and steer, and the tracking was great. Very comfortable even after a few hours. Still learning the methods needed to catch fish inshore, but casting was easy and stable.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GAtreerat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Stable for a narrow Kayak
6/3/2014

Customer review by lweetz

4.0 stars 6/3/2014 by lweetz
by lweetz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Got the kayak on sale & with bonus on credit card, I paid $410 out the door at Walmart. My husband weighs about 240 & really likes this kayak. He can get it in & out of the water pretty easy & says it is very stable for a narrower kayak. It tracks well & has sufficient dry storage for day on the lake. He has not been off the beach yet, but that is coming soon. The only future modifications will be an anchor trolly, booster seat, and maybe better handles. This kayak is kind of a hybrid, (sit on/sit in). There are no scuppers & the seat sits low, soooo thats where the water will pool if it rains or water gets in from paddling. This is the reason for 4 instead of 5 stars. Also the swivel rod holder seems a little flimsy, but fine for light fishing or just holding your rod while your on the move. Some reviews say the paddle that comes with the kayak is cheap & flimsy, It seems fine to us for a 2 piece...We also really don't have anything to compare it to since this is our first kayak. I'm sure my husband will graduate to a more ocean going kayak in the future, but this is a great beginners kayak & perfect for lake fishing. This one will probably be my hand-my-down when he moves on... :o}

Was this review helpful? (27) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lweetz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for the money!
6/23/2013

Customer review by blzngmarine

4.0 stars 6/23/2013 by blzngmarine
by blzngmarine

My first Kayak and worked well when I tried it out yesterday. Only complaint is there could have been more closed storage, the opening is to small to put alot of stuff in so you have to remove them which works too but then is not waterproof. Good value for the money, free paddle works ok despite some saying it is cheap. Stable and room to move around in. I am 5'9" 230 lbs and it tracks pretty straight and moves pretty easy through the water, not the fastest but not meant to be.

Was this review helpful? (39) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blzngmarine
Berrien Springs, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Best value in its class for the price.
5/27/2016

Customer review by Manny

5.0 stars 5/27/2016 by Manny
by Manny

You may have read some of the other reviews about minor details with proper sealing, lack of handles, weight of the kayak and they're all acurate. I also would like to mention its design creates a pool of water right where you sit whenever you take on some water which keeps your behind wet for the remaining time you're rowing unless you clear out the pool. But here's the bottom line! The minor flaws in sealing are easily corrected with some silicone and even if you dont correct them, which I haven't, they pose absolutely no major annoyance or even minor safety issues so it's quite an unimportant issue. The lack of nice side handles is more of an issue but I have placed handles all over the kayak now and customized it in so many ways it is now a lot more user friendly and capable craft. None of the modifications were extremely difficult or time consuming to perform and the cost quite trivial. This is a big, roomy, cargo ready kayak, capable of carrying two people even though it is designed for one, so ofcourse it is on the heavy side but I'm not a big guy and I manage to carry it literally, not drag it up and down steep embankments and over somewhat long distances but yes it is work and it is tiring. You can rig it or accessorize it to have a wheel rig that makes getting around with it on land a lot easier. This is a big kayak, yet it is stable, nimble and maneuverable on varied wimperfectionscurrents. I've gone as far as taking it through category 3 rapids and waterfalls and it takes it like a champ. If you do flip over it takes some work and practice to get back on in the deep. In shallower water flipping over is not an issue since it is a sit on kayak it doesn't take on any water and all you do is flip it back and you're back in business. The wet seat issue can only be remedied by modifications, custom seating or minimized using inflatable or foam padding, but if you plan to go kayaking and not getting your butt wet anyway, well its perhaps a bit unrealistic to begin with and getting wet should always be part of the fun you're having on a kayak because kayaks are for outdoor people who enjoy the outdoors and everything that comes with it within manageable reason at least. And a wet seat, I think is manageable :). There are a lot of other kayaks out there, some fancier and some even less capable than this one that cost a lot more, but this one is a great and solid value in spite of its minor imperfections. One thing I wish it had is the ability to use kayak paddles and a trolling motor for kayaks.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Manny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great kayak for the price
6/19/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/19/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I did a lot of homework researching reasonable price kayaks. This model is the best price performance kayak. Stable and well made. Enough room for all that you need. Enough so I ordered a second and all came in great. Don't hesitate on this product.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome and stable
10/27/2014

Customer review by risinger112

5.0 stars 10/27/2014 by risinger112
by risinger112
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I took this kayak out in 4 foot swells with the water breaking over me and it never rolled or sank. Very stable fishing platform

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
risinger112
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Would buy again anyday!
3/7/2014

Customer review by mms1985

5.0 stars 3/7/2014 by mms1985
by mms1985

I picked up this kayak for my first Yak 3 weeks ago. I am 330lb 6'4'' and it floats me great I have put about 5miles on it in two outings. Have caught a few fish and I like that I can get up in there where there at. I have a few mods I made such as a anchor trolley, a cheat on either side to use as handles, and extended the length of the paddle, and another rod holder. I paid $449.00 and it was money well spent in my book. Would buy another if this one was stolen!

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mms1985
Meridian, Ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Not a good kayak
5/26/2016

Customer review by Roadrunner3516

1.0 stars 5/26/2016 by Roadrunner3516
by Roadrunner3516
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Was so excited to get this kayak. Been borrowing my brother in laws kayak. To start off it wasn't delivered when it was scheduled to, it did not have the paddle with it, and when I got it home and tested it out in my pond it floated 6" higher in the front than the back. Only positive notes I can give are it tracked really well and Walmart employees were very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Roadrunner3516
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews