Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 302 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

302 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

302 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
210
4 stars
65
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 stars
9
1-20 of 279 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 279 total reviews
1-20 of 279 reviews
Love this tree stand!
8/18/2012

Customer review by BAMBINVA

5.0 stars 8/18/2012 by BAMBINVA
by BAMBINVA

We bought this tree stand for our son who never put it up. So after it sat in the basement for a year, me and my husband decided to set it up and use it last year. Now everyone loves this tree stand. It was easy to put together and it takes two people to setup. Lots of room and comfortable. It also had storage pouches with it. We will be buying our own this year now that our son wants his!! I would definately recommend!!

Was this review helpful? (64) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BAMBINVA
Broadway, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Long - But you should read
12/6/2013

Customer review by 400JD

4.0 stars 12/6/2013 by 400JD
by 400JD

When I received my package, everything appreared in order. I hand-trucked the 75 pound stand into the woods, along with my tools, saw for clearing some brush, etc. Upon opening the package, I noticed that all of the tie wraps holding the different sections together we already cut. I dumped everything out, and counted that everything appreared to be present. In another cardboard section I found a package of bolts and nuts. This package was also already open. I counted what was supposed to be present, and found several missing pieces. Unfortunately, I'm just over 400 yards from my truck, and about 30 miles from town. Needless to say, I was extremely upset. I built the stand with what I had, and returned to town to purchase some bolts and nuts from our local hardware store. I returned back to my stand location, and finished construction on the stand. In total, I spent just over 6 hours from the time I left my house until I returned home. Now that everything is finished, and I have used my stand several times, I can give an honest assessment. 1) Shipping - GOOD - At my door in 3 days 2) Packaging - POOR - Missing bolts / nuts (already opened) 3) Product - GOOD - Comfortable (bought the 2-man stand to give me more room, I hunt alone) 4) Assembly - EASY - Anyone with minimal knowledge can build (standard and metric bolts in my packaging, make sure to have both tools available) Standing the stand up would have been much easier with a second person. I stood it up on a tree, then climbed the stand with no attachments to secure the top section. Please don't try this alone, let someone help you. I should listen to my own advice, but it's done now. I am glad that I went with this stand. The two man version gives me room to sit comfortably without feeling cramped. I can move from side to side, and position myself better for shots. Do not plan on using the "shooting rail" for shooting though. When sitting in the seat, the shooting rail isn't even chest high. I would recommend this product for my friends, and I would purchase another one if I were in the market. My last test for this stand is the test of time. I wonder how many seasons I can get out of it?

Was this review helpful? (45) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
400JD
South Eastern NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A GREAT DEER STAND
8/14/2012

Customer review by JTBELAH

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by JTBELAH
by JTBELAH

THIS IS A GREAT STAND. THE BOX WAS KINDA TORN UP UPON ARRIVAL TO MY HOME BUT WALMART SAID THAT IF ANYTHING WAS MISSING, CONTACT THEM AND THEY WOULD SHIP ME A NEW STAND. THERE WERE NO PARTS MISSING WHEN I OPENED THE BOX AND HAD THE STAND TOGETHER IN ABOUT 1-2 HRS. IT'S VERY STURDY WHICH WAS SOMETHING I WAS WORRIED ABOUT SINCE THE PRICE WAS SO LOW BUT IT'S GREAT !!! AMERISTEP PRODUCTS ARE VERY GOOD PRODUCTS AS I HAVE HAD SEVERAL OF THEIR HUNTING TENTS. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS 2-MAN STAND TO ANYONE THAT WANTS A GREAT, STURDY LEAN-UP STAND. IN FACT, I'M THINKING ABOUT ORDERING A 2nd ONE....

Was this review helpful? (95) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JTBELAH
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
8/29/2012

Customer review by OHHUNTER88

4.0 stars 8/29/2012 by OHHUNTER88
by OHHUNTER88

Pros: Easy to assemble Comes with two (2) safety harnesses Sturdy and well built Cons: 15' is at the top of the rail (you are only about 12' off the ground sitting straps which go around the tree are rather short

Was this review helpful? (43) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OHHUNTER88
Litchfield, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Roomy, solid and secure.
11/27/2013

Customer review by LukeDS

5.0 stars 11/27/2013 by LukeDS
by LukeDS

I bought this tree stand for archery season this year and had it shipped to my Dad's, where I hunt. By the time I arrived he had put it together as well as a second one that he bought after putting mine up. I bought a third one for another location so we didn't have to move them around. They are not hard to move, just cumbersome and time-consuming during the season. It takes 2 people to erect them. The shooting rail folds back neatly against the back rest, giving archers the most clearance possible. We bought the 2-man stands for the extra room they have to change positions while sitting, I have back problems and need to be able to stretch and change positions frequently; that is difficult to do in single stands - they lock you into facing forward. The only thing I would change in this stand is to make the seat and foot platforms about 2 inches deeper. We do take an additional seat cushion to sit on for extended time in the stand.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LukeDS
Potter County, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This stand is worth twice as much - Great bargain
10/13/2012

Customer review by GnPwdr

5.0 stars 10/13/2012 by GnPwdr
by GnPwdr

This is a realy nice sized stand. It is built strong and is roomy. I bought it because of the price but was very pleasantly surprised with what I got. I have owned stands that cost twice as much and this one is way better. I would not recommend trying to assemble it in the field because it is in many small pieces and took about 45 minutes to put together on a clean flat surface. It is not difficult to assemble following the easy to understand directions, just have a couple of different sized sockets and a wrench handy. Assemble the deck/seating area and then the ladder and then connect those two pieces once in the field. Dont try and lug the whole thing out in one piece. Once it is in place it is solid and sturdy. Put a flat board under the legs because it will sink into dirt and get out of kilter. At my 225 pounds it is very comfortable and feels very secure. Friends could not beleive the price. I have seen similar stands that cost three times as much and if I had seen it first I would have been wiling to pay way more than $104 shipped.

Was this review helpful? (50) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GnPwdr
Eastern, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great stand!
9/14/2012

Customer review by booms

5.0 stars 9/14/2012 by booms
by booms

Bought one last year and hunted through some high wind with NO problems. Very comfortable for one man, easy to put up. Liked it so well my son bought one this year. The only way to go, beats climbing around in trees trying to build a wooden stand for sure. Very quiet even with wind and the tree swaying. Would recommend to anyone. Put it up by myself which was a little difficult but with 2 people much easier. Happy hunting.

Was this review helpful? (29) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
booms
Imperial, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
very good for price
9/7/2012

Customer review by john4fishing

5.0 stars 9/7/2012 by john4fishing
by john4fishing

Well made and easy to put together, and all bolt holes lined up great.Good stand for the money and the features compare well with stands costing more. Only slight negative is that the stand seat could be a foot or two higher, but I recommend this stand.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
john4fishing
Warner Robins ,Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great stand for the price
9/26/2012

Customer review by Welder7014

5.0 stars 9/26/2012 by Welder7014
by Welder7014

I have two of these stands and both are doing the job. I would suggest that an extra section of ladder be purchased and installed to give more height. Another suggestion is to add a section in the middle of the foot rest just beneath the seat to give you an additional place to put your foot when shooting your bow. If you can fabricate one or have a local weld shop fab one up and lay it in place and use zip-ties to secure it in place. I have done this to both of mine and it works great. Also, add the burlap or leafy camo cloth around the stand. I also added pipe insulation to the arms and secured it to make things more quiet.

Was this review helpful? (51) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Welder7014
Clinton, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Easy to assemble and put up
8/26/2012

Customer review by Kew1519

5.0 stars 8/26/2012 by Kew1519
by Kew1519

This stand is well worth the money. The instructions were surprisingly easy to follow and it was guick to assemble. We just put the stand up today and it was very sturdy. I would definitely buy another one.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kew1519
Union, ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
8/12/2012

Customer review by NRUT2

5.0 stars 8/12/2012 by NRUT2
by NRUT2

Very well built for the price

Was this review helpful? (27) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NRUT2
Kalispell,mt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
was surprized by the quality of the product.
11/2/2013

Customer review by mixnutz

5.0 stars 11/2/2013 by mixnutz
by mixnutz

very easy to assemble , all parts there and identifiable, very sturdy ,good quality.need 2 people to erect to the tree,directions accurate,i bought 2 and put up on my land,recommend you assemble pryer to taking to the woods, carry the ladder and assemble at the site, have to give credit to wal-mart, fast shipping and free to my door,3 days,,i assembled the stand part in my apt, and with a assistant carried to a short-bed pick up, both fit perfect in the bed.i am 274 lb,yep fat,and 6ft tall and there is a lot of room in this stand,even with my size another could be in it comfortably,i sat in the stand for 5hrs with the included harness attached,even nodded off,a couple times,so yep it works well, not really any cons with this,maybe a thicker seat pad,that's it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mixnutz
southern va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very stable and practical stand.
10/26/2012

Customer review by lohud123

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by lohud123
by lohud123

I have a couple of these and they are great stands and stand up to the elements well year after year. The instructions for assembly and which bolts to use where are typically poor. Lay everything out and consider the purpose of each bolt (weight bearing vs not) and the length need before starting assembly. Took me one hour in total in my driveway. I loaded it assembled except for the ladder sections into my 5 foot pick up truck bed with no problem. You CAN NOT PUT THIS UP BY YOURSELF. It's not the weight, it's the way it's distributed. They don't explain erecting it well at all. You want to have it positioned with the platform AWAY from the tree and the bottom of the ladder towards the tree. Then you start lifting the platform and working your way down the ladder towards the tree while 2 helpers pull on the stabilizer straps you have tied to the top section of the stand. They need to be behind the tree or at least even with it. Make sure the foot of the ladder is set solid in the ground as you do this or it will just flip on you like a big mouse trap. Once it's up resting against the tree and level pass the straps around behind the tree and secure them to the opposite side of the ladder. Now set the stabilizer bar snug to the tree. Now the real fun! While your TWO helpers hold the ladder you climb up and put the ratchet straps around the tree and ratchet it tight. This is a very off balance position to get into, the ratchets are very hard to reach unless you are trim and tall and fit. Keep in mind that your not tied in at that time and the stand can easily fall to the side and throw you out if you don't have TWO strong helpers stablizing it and . BUT it's doable and a great stand once it's up. I then hang a 4x4 sheet of plywood off the front "shooting rest" bar by "S" hooks and use a bicycle style padlock (where the lock detaches from the hasp) to lock the stand by drilling two holes thru the plywood even with a step so that the hasp goes around the step. The board hides my movement from deer and the locked door keeps others from using or stealing my stand. A great setup once it's done.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lohud123
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent product for the money
9/18/2012

Customer review by davh

5.0 stars 9/18/2012 by davh
by davh

I have other deer stands and the Ameristep is a great value for the money. Well built and comfortable to sit long term. I recommend 2 people to set up but was very easy compared to my other stands. The straps are heavy enough to make me feel secure while in use. I still add a cable for security and long term set up as I have with all my stands.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
davh
Paola, Ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
GREAT BOW STAND
1/6/2014

Customer review by bbray04

5.0 stars 1/6/2014 by bbray04
by bbray04

I just purchased my third stand. I highly recommend this stand for the average size person. I can see where it would be a little uncomfortable for a very tall (over 6'4") or heavy person (over 300lb). This stand has all the qualities of the expensive name brand stands and for the money is a true bargain. The shooting rail makes it easy to attach a camo screen around the stand for extra cover. I do recommend that you let a buddy help you put this stand or any other ladder stand up and take it down. You won't find a better value for the money than this stand. There's plenty of standing room to allow you to shoot a bow 360 degrees. I am not a fan of climbing stands and this is the best ladder I have ever purchased. I plan to own at least ten of these over the next few years. The paint is also very good and the first stand I bought three years ago looks just as good today as it did the day I bought it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bbray04
Umpire, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good stand for the money
10/30/2012

Customer review by k5blrz

4.0 stars 10/30/2012 by k5blrz
by k5blrz

This stand had easy instructions to follow. All you really need are two crescent wrenches for assembly. I used a rachet and a crescent. It only took me about 30 to 45 minutes to assemble once I had all the pieces laid out. Even though it is not too heavy, but a bit bulky to handle, it did take two of us to set it up on a tree. Overall, for the ONLINE price, setup time, and quality, I give it a good rating. There are others out there much nicer but for a higher price. This will be used by me and my first time hunting son. It does come with two body harnesses as well for safety. The one extra I did was attached my camo burlap around the top for bowhunting, works well.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
k5blrz
Sheboygan, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value
9/13/2012

Customer review by arsahm

5.0 stars 9/13/2012 by arsahm
by arsahm

This is a great tree stand for the price: well built, sturdy, holds two people comfortably. No frills. Just what we were looking for: basic stand at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
arsahm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is it! Buy this one.
2/7/2014

Customer review by In2abdl

5.0 stars 2/7/2014 by In2abdl
by In2abdl

This two man ladder stand is well designed and easy to assemble with quality bolts and washers. There are other brands that I shopped before I bought it and afterwards and the only difference between this one and some of the other brands ranging from $129-$189 was simply the name. You're wasting your money to buy a more expensive one because it says "Bone Collector" on it. Now there were models over $259 that have more room and are a foot taller but again not worth paying the extra money for. My friend is 6'5" 240lbs and I'm 5'11" 200lbs and we both can sit in this stand comfortably. Another review said it wasn't big enough for two adults and I disagree unless it's two Sumo wrestlers, then yes it might be hard for two of them to fit in it. It also includes 2 safety harnesses that are great and will fit adults and children. I haven't hunted out of it yet but I've practiced with my compound bow and there were no problems. It has a rail in front of you for resting your rifle or crossbow when shooting or you can swing the rail back behind you if your shooting a bow.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
In2abdl
Houston,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not what i expected
10/9/2012

Customer review by deerslayer011

3.0 stars 10/9/2012 by deerslayer011
by deerslayer011

its not even close to 15' maybe 11 at the platform and maybe 12' to the seat.. dont know who measured it but its not 15'.. im 350 lbs and i feel safe in it.. just wish it was 15'

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
deerslayer011
central jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great for hunting
10/15/2012

Customer review by roofdawg

5.0 stars 10/15/2012 by roofdawg
by roofdawg

I bought this for my brother and his daughter for her first year of hunting (birthday present for her) they love it. He's 6'5/245 and she almost 5'/100 they both have enough room for supplies guns and gear. it' worth the money

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
roofdawg
Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 279 total reviews
1-20 of 279 reviews