Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 916 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

916 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

916 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
610
4 stars
201
3 stars
32
2 stars
22
1 stars
51
1-20 of 759 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 759 total reviews
1-20 of 759 reviews
High wind and still standing
8/4/2010

Customer review by sccobra

5.0 stars 8/4/2010 by sccobra
by sccobra

I was a little reluctant to buy this product after reading some of the reviews regarding wind resistance. However I decided to give it a try and I am glad I did. We just returned from a 9 day camping trip to AirVenture 2010 at Oshkosh, Wisconsin and true to form had a squall line move through on I believe Tue or Wed night (hard to keep track of time when camping). The storm produced reported 60 to 70 mile per hour winds and very heavy rain for over an hour. The next morning I was half way expecting the canopy to be in Michigan somewhere but low and behold there it was just like when I put it up. One recommendation I will make, and a word of caution, throw the little metal stakes that come with the canopy away and buy four of the big spiral (dog-run) anchors to secure the canopy. Also buy four of the long heavy-duty spike style stakes with the green plastic heads to stake the frame to the ground. Along with the cord that came with the canopy I also used ¼” poly rope tied to the upper frame legs just below the canopy and secured to the cork-screw anchors. This is a must in high wind as there were a couple of units of the same brand, and other brands for that matter, that used the factory stakes that did get blown half way to Michigan.

Was this review helpful? (313) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sccobra
Benton, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
While it lasted...it worked great..until
6/24/2010

Customer review by MaleItch

3.0 stars 6/24/2010 by MaleItch
by MaleItch

Owned this item for over a year, and up until our last use it was a fantastic product. The last time I put it up I noticed a severe crack in one of the plastic joints that joins the metal folding arms. I then checked the others and every single plastic joint was on the verge of disintegrating. The product has either been in the garage or in my van its entire life so I am not sure what caused the sudden deterioration. It is possible I just have a bum unit, but everyone should keep an eye out for it.

Was this review helpful? (410) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MaleItch
Daphne, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
First-Up and staying up!
6/7/2008

Customer review by jkyle

5.0 stars 6/7/2008 by jkyle
by jkyle

I had this product shipped to my local Wal-Mart store. I also purchased the optional screen kit available. I have a 12 x 24 deck about 8 feet above ground. It gets full south sun all day, morning to sunset. It can be scorching out there. This year I decided to buy some sort of canopy/gazebo to cover part of the area. After reading reviews of the many "gazebos" out there, I feared I would put one up and with the lightest winds, at such an elevation, it would be destroyed. Not to mention, so many of them are $150 or more...no matter what their rating or review. I saw this First-Up model and thought...this could be my answer...easy to install, not necessarily permanent and the perfect TRUE 10 x 10 size (unlike those portable slant-leg models.) I am 5'6" and I can walk in and out of the canopy without needing to "duck-down" at all. The center of it is very high. My husband and I assembled this unit within 15 minutes. The instructions were clear and the unit went up without a hitch. The instructions even have "disassembling" instructions. The bottom of the lags have a small footing with a hole drilled into it, where you can stake the unit down (metal stakes are included) we used screws to anchor our unit down to our deck. So far so good. We've had a few gusty days and the unit hasn't budged, buckled or twisted in any way. It has seen some heavy rain and has not leaked and has no collection/puddling issues on top of the canopy. In all I'm very satisfied with my purchase. Although a real "garden canopy" may be a little taller and perhaps a bit more "decorative," this one will come down easily in early fall and be ready again for me next year, in a snap. The unit comes with a carry bag, to hold the tent, with wheels on one end, so if you do "take it along," it can be rolled behind you. As for the price, it was cheaper than the larger garden canopies. But, it was no "bargain." I paid a fair price, I believe. It remains to be seen the value I got for my money..depending on how many summers I get out of it. I will post a review about the screen addition at that items page.

Was this review helpful? (240) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jkyle
Norwich, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for outdoor craft shows
12/19/2010

Customer review by fiberlover

5.0 stars 12/19/2010 by fiberlover
by fiberlover

I purchased this gazebo to use at outdoor craft show and it worked great. Easy to put up and take down. The carrying case is wheeled so that it is convenient to pull. This tent is a great buy.

Was this review helpful? (92) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fiberlover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Well-built canopy
4/20/2008

Customer review by shopwalmartfirst

4.0 stars 4/20/2008 by shopwalmartfirst
by shopwalmartfirst

We needed a canopy that would give us shade on our patio, and one that could possibly stand up to the strong winds where we live in Houston. I found this canopy at Walmart and was the first one that has an air vent on the top of the canopy. And the price was incredibly reasonable at $ 92.00. As always, shipping to a Walmart store is free and quick, so I was glad to receive this item in no time. I was able to install it by myself, but it would be easier with two persons doing it. I put the canopy near the house with two windows. I like the design of the pop-up canopy because if the strong wind would break the frame, the frame pieces will not break apart and not break my windows. We have had very strong winds (up to >30-mph), and the canopy has held up. The only improvement needed is to protect the canopy where the frame joints tended to rub off on the canopy material. I corrected this by putting a pipe-foam around the frame to protect the material. Also, the next time I will buy I will pick the canopy to be of a thicker material, 300-grade, rather than the 150-grade thickeness of this one. And, hopefully, Walmart will supply canopy top replacement material, since the frames looks very strong and will outlast the canopy material. This item must be popular, since in a few weeks, the item online was out of stock.

Was this review helpful? (219) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shopwalmartfirst
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
As good as more expensive canopies
8/2/2010

Customer review by DelanceySt

5.0 stars 8/2/2010 by DelanceySt
by DelanceySt

I did a decent amount of research before settling on the First Up canopy. I was choosing between this and the Coleman canopy. After camping with friends who bought the Coleman, I didn't see any big differences between the First Up and the Coleman, except the fabric color. The frames may be identical. On its first use, this canopy survived a very serious rain storm with moderate to heavy wind, all without even being staked down. It also kept our friends nice and dry when their tent sprung a leak. I would highly recommend this canopy and am very pleased that I didn't choose the more expensive option.

Was this review helpful? (59) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DelanceySt
Ashburn, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
gazebo is great!
6/8/2008

Customer review by gatordeb

5.0 stars 6/8/2008 by gatordeb
by gatordeb

This gazebo is fantastic! It's super easy to set up (but is definitely a two-person job and probably can't be done alone). Once it's up, it's super sturdy. It is definitely a bit on the heavy side to carry, but there's a roller wheel on the carrying case to make it easier to move (although, it's a cheap plastic wheel so I don't totally trust it). I've taken the gazebo to the park so my 1 and 3 year old kids could picnic... such a convenient thing to have!

Was this review helpful? (45) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gatordeb
Voorhees, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good Deal for the Money
2/14/2011

Customer review by DebiGag

3.0 stars 2/14/2011 by DebiGag
by DebiGag

My older brother purchased this canopy because we have a small Native American gift business and we started doing outdoor craft shows. We were very happy with the price as well as the easy set up of the prroduct. I was disappointed though with the fact that when you have the Optional sides attached (screen or the solid sides) there are NO grommets or loops along the sides where you can stake down the sides. Thus all day during our first show (which was VERY windy), the sides blew inward knocking everything over that sat on the tables. There was absolutely no way to keep the sides from bulging inward upwards of 2 feet!!!! What a nightmare. We had the canopy staked down but we still ended up having to hold onto the front corners because it still threatened to lift off. But I am sure most any canopy would tend to lift. I was very disappounted though with the lack of ability to stake down the attachable sides. I do like the product and intend on buying a second one. However, before I use it I plan on sewing strap-loops every 2-3 feet along the side panels so that I can stake them down. I also plan on attaching 10 ft sections of PVC platic piping about 3 feet up the sides (just going to bungie them to the side posts) so if the wind does blow, the sides will be better secured via the stakes along the sides and the waist high "bar" I attach as well.

Was this review helpful? (49) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DebiGag
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
I've owned 3
6/2/2011

Customer review by MsOpinionated1618

5.0 stars 6/2/2011 by MsOpinionated1618
by MsOpinionated1618

I've purchased these to take to the beach and to use on my back deck for shade. At the beach, the wind/rain can and will damage it. The frame can not take strong wind and the canopy will not hold lots of rain. Rain will accumilate and the frame will buckle under the weight of all the rain. If you know a storm is coming - remove the cover from the frame and lower the frame, this will extend the life of your gazebo. Same goes for use on the deck or in the yard. I LOVE these but I view them as disposable. If it breaks I replace! I've had one last as long as 2 summers. If you take care of it and don't leave it out in storms or rain it should last. I'm completely happy with the last three and entend on buying another one this summer. Now if I can just remember to secure it during storms! LOL

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsOpinionated1618
Gainesville GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
5/31/2011

Customer review by ryno44

1.0 stars 5/31/2011 by ryno44
by ryno44

Just over 1 year old and all the plastic joints/hinges became brittle and just fell apart.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ryno44
indy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Surprising Value
4/21/2011

Customer review by SCMotorcycleRider

5.0 stars 4/21/2011 by SCMotorcycleRider
by SCMotorcycleRider

I bought this product on a spur of the moment buy at a local Walmart. Set it up the next day. I bought a side kit but only installed half of it so it woudl keep the weather off my bike, but allow me to get in and out without having to open it up every time. That was 2 years ago! This thing has been through 2 winters with snow and even a recent windstorm that was gusting to 60mph. The only thing I added was using 12" gutter spikes for the legs and tie down lines. The stakes that came with the canopy were just too wimpy. Other than that you can't go wrong with this canopy!!!

Was this review helpful? (33) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SCMotorcycleRider
Kershaw, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Handy
1/5/2011

Customer review by Ninainfl

5.0 stars 1/5/2011 by Ninainfl
by Ninainfl

I use this for over top of my outside hot tub ,I also bought the screens for it .Very easy to put up. Beware of the wind ,lower when not using an tie down the top with the rope they incluide.

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ninainfl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOVED THIS CANOPY, BUT ....
7/31/2011

Customer review by leonardml

1.0 stars 7/31/2011 by leonardml
by leonardml

Bought for use at the beach. It definitely took two people to put up. After we had it up, noticed one of the joints under the canopy was split. Started looking at the others and 3 out of 4 had broken. This was on it's first use, the day it was bought. Returning it to Walmart today. My husband and I really liked the canopy and would have considered this an exceptional value for $78.88, but the plastic used to construct the joints doesn't appear to be strong enough to handle the load these canopies may incur. Buy at your own risk.

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
leonardml
Orange Park, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Product
2/9/2009

Customer review by CookieleeBarbie

5.0 stars 2/9/2009 by CookieleeBarbie
by CookieleeBarbie

I used the First-Up tent this weekend at a dog show. It went up easily and provided great shade all day. The second day of the show a rain storm blew in. The tent held up great! Many of the other tents had water pooling on top, not my First-Up! Great product.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CookieleeBarbie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Well Named
7/21/2010

Customer review by Jeff2136

5.0 stars 7/21/2010 by Jeff2136
by Jeff2136

Two people can get this gazebo set up in minutes and it packs away just as easy. Although the instructions have you remove the canopy from the frame during take down I have found it to be easier to set up if you leave the canopy on when you pack it away.

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jeff2136
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
GREAT PRODUCT
1/29/2011

Customer review by LEWALL

5.0 stars 1/29/2011 by LEWALL
by LEWALL

I bought this about 8 years ago for camping. I wanted a shaded place to sit and eat. I bought the screen and rope lights to go with. It has lasted a long time, gone on many camping trips, and has been put up for other events. Two people can put it up easily. I always steak it down and it has stayed in place in high winds. The vented roof helps keep it stable in high winds. No leaks in the roof. It's been easy to use and pack back up. It's been great over the years and I continue to use it.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LEWALL
Breinigsvill, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Really Pleased!
2/16/2011

Customer review by Sullyone

5.0 stars 2/16/2011 by Sullyone
by Sullyone

I put this up myself in about 30 minutes including the screen. I"m a 5'0", 1110 lb woman. Two people could get this up in no time. The extra height is great too, makes it feel bigger than 10X10.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sullyone
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worth the money
10/5/2010

Customer review by funnelmaster

5.0 stars 10/5/2010 by funnelmaster
by funnelmaster

I Have a funnel cake business and experienced high winds and isolated thunderstorms this weekend. The gazebo stayed perfectly still and not one drop of rain got through. Didn't even have it tied down. Well worth the money!

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
funnelmaster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walmart associate
5/6/2011

Customer review by Willispissedoff

2.0 stars 5/6/2011 by Willispissedoff
by Willispissedoff

Used the gazebo a few times the past 1 1/2 years. Just went to put it up for a party - 2 corner and 1 sliding plastic fitting are broken.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Willispissedoff
Ladson, C
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent product
8/6/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/6/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This gazebo is better than advertised. It did take two of us to stretch it out to its correct, very large size and lock into place. It is strong, sturdy and spacious.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Sedona, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 759 total reviews
1-20 of 759 reviews