Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 916 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

916 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

916 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
610
4 stars
201
3 stars
32
2 stars
22
1 stars
51
1-20 of 759 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 759 total reviews
1-20 of 759 reviews
Great Gazebo
2/9/2013

Customer review by Tom218

5.0 stars 2/9/2013 by Tom218
by Tom218
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Sets up easy, looks great. A little tight when first set up. They say that it's "highly Water Resistant" but not water proof. I recomment getting some "Trek7" spray on water proofing threw Amazon (cheaper shipping). I also purchased the side curtains for it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tom218
kennesaw, ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very nice
6/17/2013

Customer review by flipat602

5.0 stars 6/17/2013 by flipat602
by flipat602
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If there is any part of you that likes the out-of-doors or volunteers or just enjoys more shade outside your backdoor, then you need a canopy like this, as much as you need tables and chairs around the house. It came out of the box (new) for our volunteer event and went up in only minutes (best with two people). It came down just as easily, and got back into its (wheeled-) carrying case just great. The canopy fabric is light but not flimsy. The center height was great...better than our living room, actually (low ceiling). The legs have three height adjustments, and that they are vertical allows them to be lashed, if necessary, to another, adjacent canopy. If you keep it up (say...in your backyard), be sure to anchor it well (there are holes in a small 'foot' at the bottom of each leg) because it CAN get picked up easily (a good feature, actually) and blown topsy-turvy, like a giant spider doing somersaults on your yard (not so good). It's a good investment...enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
flipat602
Southern CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Weather Shade For Camping Site
6/23/2013

Customer review by lee1105

5.0 stars 6/23/2013 by lee1105
by lee1105

We have a 5th wheel camper w/16x8' awning, we use most of the time, we bought 10x10' canopy because we secured a tent only site at Bahia Honda State Park, Fl which are hard to come by. We needed shelter from sun/rain while on the camp site.. Out of the Box took us less than 30 min to set up 1st time, as other reviewers indicated use Coleman long Green tipped Tent anchors. This canopy kept us dry and shaded the 6 days we camped, also had a Tropical Storm passed close by with higher than normal winds and rain. I anchored the 4 feet with the long tent anchors and attached the canopy tie downs to this same anchor without all the lines to trip over. Our canopy didn't budge, the roof vents worked as they should. The Velcro corners are easy to secure and other Velcro straps you might need a step stool of short ladder to secure my wife 5'6", we always carry one with us. Take down 15 min including packing back in its case. It is heavy 60# but case has hand holds and rollers. Noticed at least three others on the beach providing shade and shelter.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lee1105
Venice, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Fairly well made and replacement parts available
5/9/2013

Customer review by PopeyeGordon

5.0 stars 5/9/2013 by PopeyeGordon
by PopeyeGordon
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I managed to assemble it by myself. The fabric is light weight nylon that has a good water repellant treatment. The peak vents have been cleverly designed to open and stay open even after being folded up a long time. There are only two vents, the other two are fake. Walmart sells replacement tops for $30 which is a good price and you would be wise to buy an extra one with your new canopy as the fabric may only last a year according to some reviewers, while the heavy steel frame is likely to last multiple seasons. An internet search will lead you to a site that sells replacement parts for the frame. I'm using this in Florida where the wickedly strong sun will eat up this fabric, I plan to buy and use a nylon tent fabric preservative treatment to extend the UV resistance. Two canopies can be joined to make a carport, you can buy or make a fabric gutter to catch rain where the two join. The included stakes are useless, you need to fashion weights for the legs or buy some screw type awning anchors from an RV supply.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PopeyeGordon
Zephyrhills, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not bad at all for the price
7/17/2013

Customer review by CanadianSteve

4.0 stars 7/17/2013 by CanadianSteve
by CanadianSteve
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I attended an event that I had to fly to. I bought this from Walmart online and had it shipped to the location. So the first time I saw it was when I had to set it up. I hoped for the best... and I pretty much got it. It went up easy enough and looked just fine. As luck would happen, I got to test its sturdiness on Day 1!! A huge wind storm came through. I decided to leave it up. I lowered it to its very lowest setting (just a few feet from the ground) and used the included cord to tie down each corner. In the morning, it looked no worse for wear. It does feel a bit wobbly and someone else had a Coleman tent that was very similar but had a nicer height adjustment method. Nice, but not necessary. This one is just fine. Nothing super-special. But for the price, its perfectly good for most situations I can think of. Incidentally, I knew ahead of time I wouldn't be able to take it on the plane (it is slightly too large and a $100 fee would apply) so I sold it at the event for $80. I had three people lined up to take it so I'm sure I could have gotten more. Anyway, I won't be able to follow up with a long-term review as I know longer have it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CanadianSteve
Kelowna, BC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not bad for the price
11/7/2013

Customer review by ScaryPoet

5.0 stars 11/7/2013 by ScaryPoet
by ScaryPoet
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We own five tents that are used for sales at various outdoor markets. We have a large canopy tent (10x20) and four 10x10s. One of the smaller tents is an expensive ez-up and it is heavy, difficult to repack, and not really any better than the Walmart First-up and the Ozark Trail models. We love our three First-ups but they do not make them anymore. The Ozark Trails tent seems a little less sturdy than the others but for the price (less than a third of the EX-Up) it is suitable for the job. If you are going to set this tent up every weekend, it may only last a year or two but at less than $100, you can't go wrong. Be sure to purchase or make some kind of weight system to hold the tent down in gusty winds. We have had good luck with half-size cinder blocks.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ScaryPoet
Lakeland FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product at a great price
1/16/2014

Customer review by bruno994

4.0 stars 1/16/2014 by bruno994
by bruno994
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After using another brand of pop up canopy for the past few years, I was in the market for a better one with more coverage and an easier way of putting up walls when needed. To upgrade to the other brand with walls it would have been nearly double the price. So far I have only used the Ozark Trail once, but so far it has impressed. The real test will be the first time I use it in inclement weather (windy and rainy). I have several other friends who have had the Ozark Trail for a few years and have had nothing but good things to say about them using them a dozen or so times a year.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bruno994
Buna, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Well worth the money!!
9/2/2013

Customer review by SydneyChloe

5.0 stars 9/2/2013 by SydneyChloe
by SydneyChloe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the second canopy that we have purchased from Walmart and we love them both! Our first one is still being used and is 4 years old! You cannot beat the prices offered by Walmart and we ordered this one online and picked it up at the store the same day! We use our canopy on our deck and we have our grill and a swing underneath it. Without the canopy we would have too much sun to be comfortable and we can even enjoy our deck in the rain. I would definitely recommend this canopy to anyone. It comes in a heavy-duty case with wheels for easy moving and the frame is sturdy and easy to put up with just two people. We actually leave the fabric canopy on the frame when we take it down in the winter time and store it that way and we have never had any trouble doing this. It makes it much easier to set up each year. Well worth the money!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SydneyChloe
Fitchburg, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent value
11/28/2012

Customer review by capnTJ

4.0 stars 11/28/2012 by capnTJ
by capnTJ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the second one of these I've purchased, the first one lasted through ten months of continuous use. The So. Texas sun eventually degraded the fabric top to the point of disintegration but the frame held up to the strong wind and rainstorms without any problems. I purchased an extra canopy (fabric) this time so that I'll be ready when this one dies. If you intend to leave it set up as I do, then you'll need to be sure that its properly tied down and anchored in order to aviod damage from high winds. I have the legs bolted to my concrete patio and guy lines on all four corners. Even with the extra canopy this setup costs less than most of the "Event tents" with full truss roofs that WILL blow away in a wind storm or collapse under heavy rain. Maybe not so fancy looking but worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
capnTJ
So. TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good canopy for the cost.
7/9/2013

Customer review by AviationFreak

4.0 stars 7/9/2013 by AviationFreak
by AviationFreak

I am familiar with and have used the First Up brand canopy that Wal-Mart used to stock, so my compairson and review is really based on the difference between the two. I thought this Ozark Trail canopy was good, but not the best. It did protect us from the hot sun for several days on the beach just as every other canopy I have ever used. It is built just as sturdy as most low cost canopies I have seen/used. However, I believe the First Up brand was better for the following reasons. First, the bag this Ozark Trail canopy comes with is not well built and requires you to insert it from one end rather than having a zipper that opens the entire bag up as the First Up brand had. Our bag ripped on the first use. Second, the latches that lock the canopy open are more difficult to deal with. My wife didn't have any trouble with the First Up latches, but couldn't always get the Ozark Trail latches to lock into place. It does take more energy to latch it open. With that said, the canopy is a good value and well worth the money. It does its job well and it appears that it will last a long time. It is fairly light weight, but sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AviationFreak
West Point, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Not as good
9/13/2012

Customer review by glraz

3.0 stars 9/13/2012 by glraz
by glraz

I originally purchased the "First Up" brand from Walmart and used for a year before a wind storm took and bent the frame on a camping trip. I tried to find the First Up brand again because the quality was great. I figured since Walmart no longer carried the First Up but now the Ozark and they looked almost identical that it would be of similar quality. I was wrong. While it does provide a shade canopy it doesn't seem to be as sturdy. We put it up before using the first time and had to spend 20 minutes digging out the retention buttons for one of the legs. It go pushed in the little hole and disappeared. I actually had to take the top of the canopy off the leg to get it lined back up and working. Over all for the $99 price it will work but I am disappointed in the quality compared to the previous brand purchased from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
glraz
Tucson, az
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
GREAT CANOPY!
5/21/2013

Customer review by Melly1212

5.0 stars 5/21/2013 by Melly1212
by Melly1212
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Perfect! I needed this last minute for a craft show, it worked wonderfully, was easy to set up and take down. The only thing I did not like (which has nothing to do with the product its self) is that I ordered this one site to store, and they gave me a BLACK canopy top, though it was not hot under it as I feared it would be!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Melly1212
Brunswick, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Yes, but...
9/12/2013

Customer review by birdman623

3.0 stars 9/12/2013 by birdman623
by birdman623
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First problem I incurred was ordering the canopy online to be picked up in store. Upon my return home, I discovered the color was not what was pictured or ordered online. I purchased tan, or so I thought. While there may be tan ones available for shipping direct, the ones in all my area stores turned out to be gray. I decided to stay with the gray because I needed immediate usage. I had bought a curtain for the tan and found that is NOT available for the GRAY...so I had to return to my store and exchange that for a couple of windscreens that were in gray. Get the picture? All of this was created because online and store did not sync up with color options. One other quick mention. My previous Walmart canopies held up really well. They were made by a different company. These don't seem to be quite the same quality, in terms of cover, carry bag, or mechanicals. We'll see....

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
birdman623
North Hollywood, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
love my canopy
2/11/2013

Customer review by brighteststarr

5.0 stars 2/11/2013 by brighteststarr
by brighteststarr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for my handcrafted jewelry I sell at shows indoor & outside, I use the metal frame to hang my silver necklaces on & its very strong & soooo very easy for me to set up alone. i love the carrying bag too & I have had other canopys that arent half as easy or good as this one.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brighteststarr
mobile ala
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best one I've found.
7/7/2013

Customer review by Donnie26571

5.0 stars 7/7/2013 by Donnie26571
by Donnie26571

I had two of these and used them a lot in the last three years. I was not easy on them. They've been through windstorms, snow, heavy rains, and more. I've hung tarps off of them, tied them together, and used bungee cords to hang my stuff from them when I'm camping. I've opened and closed it dozens of times, and even left one outside in the weather beside my fire pit at home. The frame is the toughest I've found. I've had it twisted and straightened it back out like it was new. Recently, my two EZups were destroyed. I had tied them together with a tarp on a rainy camping weekend and a night-time deluge filled up the tarp and collapsed them. I nearly cried. I went to buy another one, but there was only the Coleman (http://www.walmart.com/ip/Coleman-10-x-10-Gazebo/23428073) on the shelf. I thought it would be even better, a step up. I was wrong. It broke on the second use. I'm going back to this EZup and never straying again. The only complaint I have is that the canopy isn't completely waterproof. You'll get drips during hard rains. Maybe some spray sealant or something would stop that, but I just bought a cheap, lightweight tarp to throw over it once it's set up. Works like a charm.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Donnie26571
Farmington, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Beats more expensive canopies in quality
5/6/2013

Customer review by NashingMyTeeth

5.0 stars 5/6/2013 by NashingMyTeeth
by NashingMyTeeth
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We spent more than $200 this year on a really pretty Coleman canopy. It didn't survive a week. Next we bought this pop-up style canopy. What a great value! The material is thicker, the frame is sturdier, and it's just the right size for our little patio area. We are so happy with this canopy that we want to buy another one just like it to put away for events, so we can leave this one up. It's easy to raise and lower, so before a storm we simply lower it, then raise it after the wind stops. There is a nice carry-case included.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NashingMyTeeth
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
FRAME BENT ON THE FIRST USE!!!
6/2/2014

Customer review by jmo1970

1.0 stars 6/2/2014 by jmo1970
by jmo1970

I bought this canopy back in September of 2013 and it sat in the box until yesterday. We took it to the beach, set it up, and it looked great. We anchored the tent down properly and all was well until a gust of wind came along and bent the frame BADLY in two places. One of the legs actually completely collapsed. Very weak material to say the least!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jmo1970
Would recommend to a friend? No
fabric seems to be fraying with one usage.
5/18/2013

Customer review by starben62

3.0 stars 5/18/2013 by starben62
by starben62
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have used this once. It was easy to set up and provided the shade as advertised. BUT, I am worried because when we took it down, I noticed that the fabric was pulling and had opened up at one of the places where it has to be pulled tight. Since there are many spots where it is pulled tight (all the corners and other places of stress), I am worried that it is going to fray. I am probably going to return it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
starben62
Verona, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great tent for craft show
7/17/2013

Customer review by njcupcake

5.0 stars 7/17/2013 by njcupcake
by njcupcake

Just used this for my first craft show and the tent was perfect. I also purchased the sun wall to block the back of tent. Easy for 2 people to put up and take down..less than 15 minutes. It is heavy and although the carrying case has wheels they don't roll over pebbles very well in stone parking lots so I carried it. It arrived at my house, with free shipping, in 2 days. Very pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
njcupcake
Dorothy, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
works fine
1/31/2013

Customer review by DoctorJ99

4.0 stars 1/31/2013 by DoctorJ99
by DoctorJ99
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Legs are not the most sturdy when fully extended, which would account for some of the failures reported in windy conditions. So, if there is a mild wind, good idea to secure the legs and use the cords to tie down the top. If wind is moderate, probably best not to fully extend the legs. If you want to leave it up overnight or longer, lower the legs and anchor them with the anchor pins (provided) and/or weigh down the feet with a brick or two., and re-secure the top with the cords. This lower profile will better withstand wind gusts. With the legs in the lowered position, you can still actually crawl under and sit underneath. Kind of cozy, but you can't see much. But then again, others can't see much of you.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DoctorJ99
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 759 total reviews
1-20 of 759 reviews