Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 74 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

74 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

74 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
40
4 stars
17
3 stars
4
2 stars
11
1 stars
2
1-20 of 67 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews
Dell Inspiron 660 is Quiet and Fast!
12/10/2012

Customer review by TallBill2

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by TallBill2
by TallBill2

Pros: Since this system has an Intel i5 processor (4 processors), it is extremely fast compared to my old system (766 MHz Pentium III machine). It boots up to the login screen in 15 seconds and I am up and running applications in about 1 minute! Even after adding a 2nd internal hard disk drive, this machine makes no noise at all. Cons: The Dell Support Center (web app) is not a re-sizeable window, and lacks much of a border, making it hard to see sometimes. Also, attempts to get answers leaves you feeling like you are going in circles. The support web site does not recognize my Service Tag. Another big beef of mine is that there no CD-ROMs or DVD-ROMs for the software (Windows 8 and Office 2010) that was installed on the system I purchased. You have to use the Dell Backup and Recovery utility to create your own backup disks, but this event typically occurs a week or 2 after you have already had the system and I think you have to upgrade to the Pro version of the software (I don't know the cost yet).

TallBill2
Cypress, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cheap computer that can run modern games.
6/27/2012

Customer review by Experiment

4.0 stars 6/27/2012 by Experiment
by Experiment

My review will mostly be about gaming. If you can't afford an alien ware computer but you still want to play game such as Assassin's creed, skyrim or MW3 then this is a good computer. i had no problem running assassin's creed on high graphic however when playing skyrim i had to set the resolution to the lowest in order to play without any problem. However i personally think there is too much applications that are installed by dell already I had to uninstall plenty of useless application in order to run my computer.it takes so long for it to start up because of that. All this applications running all at the same time when you start your computer isn't really nice. On the other hand, the design is really nice even though i chose the black color. The USB port at the front are really useful. I would not recommend this computer to a beginner but if you know how to manage your application and uninstall some of them then this computer is great.

Experiment
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Solid Value
8/31/2012

Customer review by BahbW

4.0 stars 8/31/2012 by BahbW
by BahbW

Pros This is a well built machine. I got the Core i5 with 8GB RAM and 2TB hard drive and there is definitely a lot of room to grow into. Having the built in HDMI and Wireless is nice! Cons Do yourself a favor and upgrade from the base keyboard. The keyboard that is included features laptop style chicklet keys instead of full keys. My keyboard also featured a space bar that would squeak if you hit it with your left thumb (but not if you hit it with your right thumb). Since I'm a lefty this got annoying really quickly. I gave up and ditched the included keyboard for a Logitech K260 which I purchased separately. The built in sound is rather basic and insufficient to run my old 5.1 speaker system, so I'll be upgrading the sound soon. If you have basic speakers, the built in sound is probably sufficient. If you an audiophile, you'll want to upgrade the sound. Review There's a lot of value to be found here with an affordable price tag. However, don't be afraid to visit the add-ons section when you configure yours. You'll be glad you did.

BahbW
Joliet, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
660 i5 Desktop in Florida
1/7/2013

Customer review by ABEMAN

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by ABEMAN
by ABEMAN

I replaced an old Dell 2400 desktop with the Dell 660 Desktop with an i5 processor, 8 Meg of Ram and 1 gig hard drive. I still plan to use the old Dell as a stand alone game computer for the kids to play with. First of all the price was excellent and with the free shipping and free McAfee, it was a no brainer. After a month of use, I find the computer is extremely fast, and especially quiet in all aspects its operation. The setup was fairly easy to do and Windows 8 perhaps has too many features. However, I am disappointed with the lack of free software such as an PDF acrobat reader. And I had to find a USB to retrofit the parallel port that is now missing from the computer. Also the computer should have more available USB ports. My keyboard, mouse and backup hard drive take up three right of the bat. The front USB ports are a bit tight fitted. I am using a USB Hub but not all devices work on it. The Pros are the value, overall speed and internet speed. The cons are a need for more USB ports and lack of free software such as a PDF reader.

ABEMAN
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very satisfied customer so far
12/15/2012

Customer review by Gordon2002

5.0 stars 12/15/2012 by Gordon2002
by Gordon2002

Have only had this computer for a couple days, but I wanted to submit a review to say that I am very happy with this computer. It is very quiet, fast, and a big improvement over my old Dell Windows Vista computer. I was sort of hesitant about going to Windows 8, but it is really not that complicated, but then I am an advanced computer guy. I can see where someone not so computer savy could have trouble. In just 2 days time I had the new computer & monitor up and running and all my files transferred from the old computer. Of course that was all day for 2 days (retired). Probably the best good comment is how fast it boots up compared to my old computer. Right now I can't really think of any cons. I have had Dell computers for about 15-20 years now and the only negative thing was that I had to replace a DVD/CD RW drive in one of them after it went dead. I would recommend Dell computers very strongly to everyone.

Gordon2002
Statesville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
PCI-E Slot Not Working
1/1/2013

Customer review by MadJayhawk

2.0 stars 1/1/2013 by MadJayhawk
by MadJayhawk

This computer is a good value for the money and works well. HOWEVER, the PCI-E slot is defective. It will not recognize a Dell Supported video card. What I went through to get the problem diagnosed was pure torture. The problem was never solved. First tech, ran through the standard checks, then ordered a new motherboard. The tech who brought the motherboard said the video card would not operate because I had Windows 8 and would not install the motherboard. I installed Windows 7. Still would not work. I installed every driver known to man. Installed new power supply. Every time I called tech support my call got dropped. Finally got through and the tech spent half the time apologizing to me and told me it was my fault and that although the PCI-E slot was there I wasn't supposed to use it because Dell didn't support it. He didn't say exactly that but that is the gist of what he said. I finally told Dell, after more than 10 hours of torture, I wanted send it back because it either had a bad motherboard or the PCI-E slot was defective. They MIGHT take it back. Do not buy this computer if you want to use the PCI-E slot.

MadJayhawk
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great computer overall!
8/6/2012

Customer review by JulianW

5.0 stars 8/6/2012 by JulianW
by JulianW

As a student about to enter university, I decided to keep the laptop that I am currently using and decided to get a new desktop for several reasons, including my budget, functionality, and security purposes. This desktop from Dell is quite the product. The specifications are more than enough for any ordinary university/college student (excluding those requiring intensive graphics or gaming). The Intel core i5 processor is very fast and the 1 TB hard drive is extremely useful for storing large amounts of data/files. I was quite surprised at how quiet the system operates at and the computer does not over heat at all (that being said, the fan is also quite quiet!) Although the USB 3.0 ports are a bit inconvenient to reach at the back, the 4 available USB 3.0 ports that Dell offers beats any other brand's desktops (other brands usually have 2 or even none). The DVD/CD drive, as well as the front USB/SD card/audio input slots are all hidden nicely. All in all, I would strongly recommend the Inspiron 660 Desktop to anyone in the market for a desktop computer, especially those about to begin their post-secondary careers.

JulianW
Toronto, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Inspiron 660 Review
10/25/2012

Customer review by rogerreeves

4.0 stars 10/25/2012 by rogerreeves
by rogerreeves

I purchased the Inspiron 660 because my previous computer, nearly 10 years old, had finally died, the processor fried. I was looking for a relatively inexpensive computer that was powerful enough to run the games my wife wanted to play and the programs I needed to run. I was impressed with the speed of the computer itself as well as the ability to run new games without even having installed the new graphics card I purchased. My two complaints, though minor, would be that the power supply I feel is too small, it did not have enough attachments to add my graphics card and I had to replace it, even before that however, it would shut itself off if running too many programs at once (my wife loves to do that). The other complaint, would be that the usb keyboard that comes with it has some issues where the upper middle section of the keyboard, well the individual keys there, will not work at all. Overall, I was very happy with my purchase. For me a computer is an investment, something I want to last 10 years if I can stretch it, and so far the computer seems very capable and I doubt I'll need to replace it before requirements make it obsolete.

rogerreeves
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Its a 50/50
1/8/2013

Customer review by Timmy2012

3.0 stars 1/8/2013 by Timmy2012
by Timmy2012

Pros- -Fast -Large Hard drive -Cheap -little bloat ware -Lots of upgrade room Cons- -No CPU options other then intel. Would prefer AMD. -little / horrible graphics upgrades -Little memory upgrade options -Boring, old, tired out design I bough this Dell Inspiron 660 back in november. About after a month I got annoyed with the stinky graphics so I upgraded to a nvidia GeForce GTX TI 550 and a higher power supply. I also downgraded to windows 7, I dislike windows 8 with a passion. Also it seems like the Inspiron desktop lined has looked the same for a LONG time and has not been re design the gloss is finger print and dust happy. Other then then that it boots fast, stable, but I really WISH DELL WOULD USE AMD cpu's and stop being a thing for intel. it hurts them money wise.

Timmy2012
Portsmouth, NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Glad I went to Dell again
4/3/2013

Customer review by John1947

5.0 stars 4/3/2013 by John1947
by John1947

Just recently taken delivery of a shiny new Inspiron 660 with windows 8. I tried to get it on line but had question about it so I gave them a ring and spoke to a guy who did everything he could to help and was nice and easy to talk to. He took my order and everything went perfectly from then on. When I received the delivery everything worked fine strait from the box and it was the quietest computer I have ever had to date. I was a little worried about stuff I had read about people complaining about windows 8. But I think it is fantastic, I love it and all I can say is people to give it a chance to get used to it. I am not anything more than average with computers but I have had no trouble at all. It is BRILL........So is the 660. Of course I would have preferred something with higher spec but that depends on how deep your pockets are. So far I have been nothing but impressed with the speed of the machine and it has played the games I have just fine. Boot up is super rapid. My old XP would still be booting up, but with Windows 8, I am already on the net, no probs. To sum up. Dell sales and delivery was perfect with no probs. If I want another computer in future I will be going right to the Dell site again. John

John1947
County Durham, UK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I learned my lesson- only Dells from now on
4/29/2013

Customer review by PinkGator

5.0 stars 4/29/2013 by PinkGator
by PinkGator

I must say I love this PC. I use it for gaming, the complete Office suite, watching videos (sometimes multiple players at the same time) and having three different browsers open at one time. It never crashes! As people have mentioned it is incredibly quiet and it was a great value; especially for a 2 TB drive and 8 gigs of memory. I feel bad for all the people that got Windows 8 and are miserable. I have Windows 7 since I purchased my computer several months ago. It took a while to get used to it, but once I did I loved it. So, it is NOT Dell's fault that is the version installed. Just as it was not their fault Windows 7 was installed on mine. I made a BIG mistake by going with my first non-Dell computer in 2010. Not only did it break within a year (one day after the warranty expired mind you) but support was non-existent. My first experience with Dell was in 1998. Loved that computer and kept it until it just wasn't fast enough with all the new technology. I had that computer as my main until 2003 and it is still working! In 2003, got another Dell that lasted seven years. Finally, am back to Dell again after the last debacle with a competitor. I am only getting Dells from now on. It was ridiculous those two years I had a non-Dell.

PinkGator
Atlanta, GA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Inspiron 660 entry level model (My recommendation is to get the fastest processor you can afford!)
2/25/2013

Customer review by MadMax007

2.0 stars 2/25/2013 by MadMax007
by MadMax007

The first thing I would say is that I am very disappointed with Windows 8 - it's simply awful compared to Windows 7, not what I'm used to and I cant see that I shall ever get used to it, in fact I had to download an App which makes it look and behave like Windows 7 just so I could use it! The Inspiron 660 is ok, I got the entry level model which has a slow processor but I suppose its a case of getting what you pay for. Aside from that the build quality seems fine and it does all that I need it to do albeit rather slower than I would like - speed wise its not a patch on my old Dell Inspiron 560 which had the quad core 2.5Ghz processor, however that sadly died (out of warranty) and I had to buy this thing.

MadMax007
Leyland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dell Inspiron 660
12/27/2012

Customer review by Ron1961

4.0 stars 12/27/2012 by Ron1961
by Ron1961

The computer is extremely fast in loading up, and easy to set up. There are a couple things that I don't like about it. The Windows 8 OS is completely different than any other windows that MS has come up with. At first I hated the Windows 8, but I am starting to get used to it. Out of the box there wasn't any word processing programs or anti-virus programs with the exception of the free 30 day trial versions. So you better expect to fork out some more money right after your purchase. Also, it's my understanding that you cannot play dvd's on the optic drive. This is because dell thinks that more people stream video instead of actually watching video. All in all, I would still purchase this machine again.

Ron1961
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Affordable computer that can grow with you!
6/13/2012

Customer review by NJKen

5.0 stars 6/13/2012 by NJKen
by NJKen

This affordable desktop with its mid-tower case was just what I was looking for. I wanted something that I could afford now but I also wanted to be able to upgrade the system as my needs grew. This fit the bill perfectly, the case allows me to upgrade with full size cards down the line. A unique feature that I fell in love with was the indentation on the top of the case. I can set my MP3 player and camera while charging and not have to worry about them falling off. The only down side to my purchase was that I wasn't able to order a more powerful set up, but unfortunately that was my finances and not a complaint against the product. Definitely a great desktop system that will be with me for many years.

NJKen
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
And looks good in the living room...
4/5/2013

Customer review by bobspcs

4.0 stars 4/5/2013 by bobspcs
by bobspcs

This PC is setup in my upstairs den with only an HDMI connection to my Sony TV and the power cord (other connections are all wireless). Case looks good with the rest of the entertainment center equipment. Came installed with Windows 7 Pro, I added Windows 8 (dual boot) and everything works great in both OS's. Note this dual boot configuration does require 2 licenses for McAfee Security Center (ouch!). Issues (Nit-picking): 1. Wireless N is coming in at only 65Mbs - I suspect the 1506 wireless adapter does not have the greatest antenna. 2. There does not seem to be a button on the optical drive, the tray only opens when requested by whatever software you are using.

bobspcs
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Run away from Windows 8
12/15/2012

Customer review by Zrackster

2.0 stars 12/15/2012 by Zrackster
by Zrackster

I have been using PCs with Microsoft Operating Systems since the mid 80's. I have seen, experienced and adapted to my share of changes in technologies, software and operating systems. However, never before have I ever experienced anything so horribly designed and unintuitive as Windows 8. This experience has been truly a nightmare and huge mistake for me. My IT guy strongly advised me to avoid it at all costs. I laughed him off knowing I would overcome this change too. How wrong I was! I have been rather loyal to Dell for a long time both from my personal and business computer acquisitions. I just received my Inspiron 660. It was received ahead of schedule which was great! So far, it seems to be functioning quite well. It is quiet and has average features for a computer of this class. The standard keyboard and mouse supplied are quite "dinky" and you should upgrade to something better at time of purchase if you don't have anything more solid lying around the house. Bottom line, my rating is based on my overall impressions (Hardware and OS). If I could separate my rating, I would give the hardware 3.5 stars and the OS 0. If you cannot purchase this unit with Windows 7, then avoid Windows 8 version at all cost. Unless Microsoft makes some drastic changes soon, I can see an Apple Macintosh in my very near future. Dell would be advised to start supporting Android or Linux development.

Zrackster
Would recommend to a friend? No
Mr
8/30/2012

Customer review by Yukonprince

5.0 stars 8/30/2012 by Yukonprince
by Yukonprince

System arrived about a week after I ordered it. I plugged it in and it took me through easy to understand steps to get all my data moved from my old system to my new computer = about 120Gb. I used a ESB hard drive to do this. Took about four hours to load the data up from my old computer but only 55 minutes to load it down on my new computer. Everything was moved over including my email settings, favourites etc etc. My new computer was ready to use. I had to reload my MSOffice 2007 professional and Roboforms programs. That was it for total installation. System is fast - I LOVE IT!!!

Yukonprince
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Insipron 660 is fantastic.
4/29/2013

Customer review by Thomas95

5.0 stars 4/29/2013 by Thomas95
by Thomas95

I bought this product on Friday; it arrived Monday. Excellent delivery times. I also found that Windows 8 is not confusing after about an hour of practice. It's user friendly, and as easy to use as Vista and 7. The 660 is fast, virtually silent, smooth and a really good all rounder. I have the 3rd Gen core I5 with 4GB of ram, and an HD Radeon Sapphire 6450 graphics card which I installed myself. It works like a charm. An excellent computer, ideal for gaming and schoolwork, this is a computer for a great price with great software. A big well done to Microsoft and Dell.

Thomas95
Royal Leamington Spa, Warwickshire, UK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Inspiron 660
1/16/2013

Customer review by gabecu

5.0 stars 1/16/2013 by gabecu
by gabecu

I bought the Inspiron 660 desktop for right before Christmas, I was very pleased with the price considering it came with an I5 processor, 1 TB Hard Drive, 8 GB of memory and even a bonus of wireless card, easy use of setup of Windows 8. have always been loyal to the Dell Brand, very happy with their warranty help and ease of any issues with ordering, exchange, and parts. The only thing I would have wished to have gotten was a 1 GB video card. The only bad thing I would say with this model is the keyboard and mouse, they are not the same quality as in the past.

gabecu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Computer
9/24/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 9/24/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

INSPIRON 660 . Got mine almost 10 days ago. Very fast shipping . It is core 3 with 6Gb memory. Look & performance of computer is very good. Very easy set up & no problem with start up . Fast load up & browsing.Quality of mouse ,keyboard is good .feels easy on hand. Only one problem that Computer is not very quiet, which i was not excepting . It makes some noise when you browse thru or open some programme .Looks like from hard drive. Its not too much but you can feel it. Overall computer is good & iam satisfied with my purchase of INSPIRON 660. Thanks

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews