Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 90 reviews
5 stars
50
4 stars
21
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 stars
7
Sort by: 
1-20 of 83 reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews
Works but spring breaks easily
12/2/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'd leave the D cells out. I started testing all the batteries in our drawer and some were good, some okay, some bad. But when I put the third D battery in, the spring broke. You see, one side slides out on a spring to hold the battery tight depending on its size. The D battery is at the far end of what it can hold. And now my tester doesn't spring back. To test a battery, I have to make sure I hold that slider tight to the battery. I miss my old tester but my son probably "borrowed" it and lost it. It's been lost for months so I finally broke down and bought a new one. This one still works, but not with that spring. Have to hold it tight against any battery I test. Be careful with the D's!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (62)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not Very Helpful
10/22/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
When the inexpensive tester I'd had for over ten years, finally stopped working, I looked for a new one, and decided to order this model. Well, it's sure compact, and simple to use, however, it's calibration leaves a great deal to be desired, and I'm not even sure it's accurate at all. It seems that other than when testing dead batteries, all others, whether brand new Duracell alkalines, just recharged ones, or even some that have been used for a good while, show a reading of about a third to halfway into the Good area. Now, I would assume brand new, fully charged batteries would show a reading much further over to the positive side, and lesser charged, or partly used ones would be the only ones showing just a third of the way into the "Good"... So, IMHO, unless the one I received is just a dud, and so isn't working properly, it's not a very good piece of equipment...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (42)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Battery Tester works perfectly!
9/8/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The same tester was priced for 3 times the amount as what it cost through Walmart. Couldn't believe the disparity. Aside from the excellent price, I put it to immediate use and was easily able to determine which of my batteries were to be thrown out and the rest to retain. Couldn't have done it without it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good for small batteries only
8/7/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Item as described
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good product at a good price.
7/26/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It's very easy to use all by itself, without having to even glance at any separate instructions. Besides the listed battery types, it also has a slot for testing 1.5V button batteries. It has a lot of functionality for a low price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
save your money
3/6/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this because I had a desk drawer full of batteries that I had no idea if they were good, bad, or somewhere in between. Every battery that I have tested has come back in either the yellow(fair) zone on the meter, or in the green(good) zone. I even pulled batteries out of a flashlight that I watch die. They tested good. NOT IMPRESSED.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A "MUST HAVE" battery tester
4/16/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have bought these testers for myself and also a Lady friend. Very simple to check your batteries. Testing the larger D cell is tight, but rest are fairly easy. No need to wonder anymore about if it is the battery or item it powers that is bad. And the testers with wire leads require batteries, which also go bad. This never needs a battery to work. Love it. Plus, these were very hard to find. None of the Hardware store here had them. Had to get them online.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Small battery tester
1/2/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
A battery tester is always a handy gadget. Test those loose batteries before you try to use them to know if they will work of not.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
so easy to use
7/19/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
inexpensive way to tell if the battery is any good. very easy to use
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Battery tester
12/4/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I wanted to be able to check lose batteries that I came across. This simple tester works fine, and you can check most size batteries.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Money saver
7/21/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought this to see if batteries I had bought at a discount were any good. The first two I tested were no good. These were 9 volt batteries so the first test I did more than paid for the tester. It's nice to have around the house to see if smoke alarm batteries are good or not and also to test the 9 volts we put in sprinkler control box.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great!
2/21/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Works as advertised. Very helpful to have around to check out all the batters we have in various places in the house and we never knew where they were good or bad.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Handy gadget
1/12/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I like this product. I had some batteries that I was about to discard but they tested okay so I did not get rid of them.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Inexpensive and useful
9/18/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Doesn't cost much and fits all the popular battery sizes. It may not give the most precise reading, but it's a help, especially when I'm trying to test smoke detector batteries. I suppose an alternative would be just to replace all the 9-volts every year.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Simple and worthy
2/25/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Bought this to sort through the endless mound of batteries that my kids keep removing from their Wii remotes and replacing. This is a simple tool and very affordable. Does the job I need.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great gadget
2/18/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
For someone who is does not have an electrical battery tester this is a must have. I have used it on several size batteries and it works very easy. I can recommend it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/3/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
works perfectly better than my old one
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Disappointing
7/15/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The first one broke right away. The second one broke, but lasted a longer than the first one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Battery Tester - Easy and Quick to Use!
1/31/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It's a simple tester that "anybody" in the household can use to test most commonly used batteries.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very handy for checking questionable batteries
1/23/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Had a bunch of batteries loose in a box. Found that only three out of the eighteen batteries were no good.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641747, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-