Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 29 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

29 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

29 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-20 of 23 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews
11/8/2012

Customer review by Richard12147

5.0 stars 11/8/2012 by Richard12147
by Richard12147

Machete is well-balanced. However, the axe/pick is a bit top-heavy and the handle is a bit small (and I have average sized hands). I beleive I can fix this by wrapping the handle with tennis grip tape.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Richard12147
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/28/2012

Customer review by GearGuy123

5.0 stars 10/28/2012 by GearGuy123
by GearGuy123

This is a great line of products! All of the equipment is built sturdy and will stand up to hard use. The entrenching tool folds out and locks nicely, and breaks down very small when you are done with it. For the price, this kit can't be beat. A much better way to get outfitted than to buy each piece individually.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GearGuy123
San Francisco, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Good Products & Excellent Value for the Money!
12/10/2012

Customer review by msmiles

4.0 stars 12/10/2012 by msmiles
by msmiles

If you need all the items listed, then this kit it is a bargain. Purchased individually they would be a lot more expensive. The quality is good, with typical rugged SOG construction. They will work nicely for my limited needs, but don't confuse them with the super high end SOG products found at specialty knife stores/etc.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
msmiles
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4 out of 5
12/10/2012

Customer review by VisionQuest

4.0 stars 12/10/2012 by VisionQuest
by VisionQuest

The pocket tool is nice piece with a good sharp cutting blade that is near razor sharp. The " tomahawk" head was a little small but has a good working edge. the quality of the shovel could've been better, but should work for most camping needs. For the Cyber Monday 70 dollar price the kit was worth it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VisionQuest
St Lucie, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sog is pretty solid
10/27/2013

Customer review by johnrj61

5.0 stars 10/27/2013 by johnrj61
by johnrj61

The knives and tools SOG makes are tough and dependable so far. They seem fit to do the jobs I need them for.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
johnrj61
Coeur d'Alene
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/18/2012

Customer review by wfast4you

4.0 stars 12/18/2012 by wfast4you
by wfast4you

I bought 5 sets for emergency gear for the cars of myself and children. Hopefully they'll never be needed, but, if they are, the kits represent an excellent assortment of cutting, hacking and chopping tools. With the added bonus of a multitool, all with canvas carrying cases.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wfast4you
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Set of "Tools".
9/1/2013

Customer review by MichiganOutdoors

3.0 stars 9/1/2013 by MichiganOutdoors
by MichiganOutdoors

Nice kit has everything you might need for camping. Everything seems to be first quality. I don't think these items are factory rejects and then sold to walmart for a great deal. Everthing comes sheaths so your back pack wont get cut up during your hike. The only issue is the tool logic signal fire pictured is not the one sent. They sent me the Sog Firestarter/sharpener SH03-CP which is junk with a $20 dollar value. If you were purchase all of the pieces separate it would be close to $200.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MichiganOutdoors
Saginaw,Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great survival kit!
12/27/2013

Customer review by Meximax

4.0 stars 12/27/2013 by Meximax
by Meximax

Multi-tool is very handy. Shovel is on the small side, but will stow in the trunk well. Machette needs to be sharper, but tomahawk is sharp and has good balance for throwing. Overall just what I needed.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Meximax
Hutchinson, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/25/2012

Customer review by sjgwlittlebit

5.0 stars 12/25/2012 by sjgwlittlebit
by sjgwlittlebit

I bought this for my fiance for Christmas and he was like a little kid with a new toy. He said the quality was excellent and was way more than he expected.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sjgwlittlebit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good quality for the price
12/28/2012

Customer review by JCom

5.0 stars 12/28/2012 by JCom
by JCom

Our son loved it. Good quality for the price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JCom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
The knife broke the first time it was used .
12/20/2012

Customer review by Lenpez

4.0 stars 12/20/2012 by Lenpez
by Lenpez

SOG is replacing it though.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lenpez
Benton, AR.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great set!
12/27/2012

Customer review by studog001

5.0 stars 12/27/2012 by studog001
by studog001

My girl got this for me for Christmas and I love it. The tomahawk is perfect size and weight and very sharp! The only complaint I have is the grip is very slick (could fly out of your hand) but wraping it in paracord should take care of that. The shovel is very compact (folds up) and seems tough, only complaint is I had to work the locking mechanism for about 10 min. back and forth to get it to work (very tight). I thought it was broke at first. The machete is very sharp and well made, the saw edge on back would be very handy, only draw back very small for machete but will be easy to carry. Multi-tool is well made and consist of a knife, pliers, flat/phillips, can opener and bottle opener. The knife is also very sharp. Have not tried the sharpener/fire starter yet.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
studog001
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Affordable!
11/8/2014

Customer review by TinkNewt

5.0 stars 11/8/2014 by TinkNewt
by TinkNewt

We bought this set to place in our bug out kits. We have yet to test them out, but they seem sturdy and well made. Compared to other sites, the price was fantastic!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TinkNewt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT PRODUCT!
11/14/2014

Customer review by nyfb4u2

5.0 stars 11/14/2014 by nyfb4u2
by nyfb4u2

Great product, and the great quality as stipulated by the manufacturer, definitively superseded all my expectations. The product arrived exactly as described, and the overall purchase was a great deal. I am very happy with this product and definitively recommend the manufacturer and seller.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nyfb4u2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SOG Essential Survival Tools for any Emergency!
1/31/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/31/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Loved the Walmart price$$ and how SOG makes quality tools and equipment for everyday uses and emergencies!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SOG survival kit
12/2/2012

Customer review by G19prepster

4.0 stars 12/2/2012 by G19prepster
by G19prepster

Products seem to be of good material.. Haven't field tested yet.. Good price for what you're getting... Recommended!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
G19prepster
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not so happy.
12/17/2012

Customer review by funeman39

1.0 stars 12/17/2012 by funeman39
by funeman39

I ordered this product expecting high quality. From the shipping delay to the actual inspection of the product, I was disappointed. The product was recieved approximately 4 days past the expected date on their response. Just stated "held up in transit".The "screwdriver" in the knife was loose. The strike flint would barely throw a spark. I expected a full tang on the tomahawk. It wasn't. For the not so picky individual, it wouldn't be bad but if you want high quality, I'd be leary of purchasing this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
funeman39
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Walmart service excellent, poor product
7/15/2013

Customer review by Inspect7

1.0 stars 7/15/2013 by Inspect7
by Inspect7

I have owned two previous SOG multitools and had no issues. Although they lacked Leatherman or Victorinox quality of design and intuitiveness, they were well made, interesting, and delivered as advertised. However, this multi-tool broke while I was learning the functions out of the box! It wasn't even used in any application! I was unable to release the screwdriver when fully extended. It broke both my thumbnail and the release lever trying to release the screwdriver. The knob is pressed on rivet-style and cannot be repaired. And there is no advantage to the the compound priors, as the metal body of the body is made of foil and began to fold (deform) while simply squeezing it. The shovel is a joke. The washer that maintains angular position of the shovel is of the lowest quality possible and began to fold (deform) under hand pressure on the blade. I used a real folding portable trenching shovel in the military and this is unserviceable as a functional tool. I did not open the other products, having already given up on SOG. Cannot believe they let their name be used on this. Never again! SOG would be well advised to protect their brand. This is pretend stuff better utilized as a prop in a play than real service. Walmart service was commendable throughout the process. Delivered to the store for pick-up ahead of schedule, and returned with equal ease the very next day.

Was this review helpful? (9) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Inspect7
Orlando
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
just as advertised,good quality
12/13/2012

Customer review by sangy

1.0 stars 12/13/2012 by sangy
by sangy

fast and easy ordering and pickup

Was this review helpful? (0) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sangy
grove city
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fire Striker/Whistle is not, small items
12/10/2012

Customer review by NHVA

3.0 stars 12/10/2012 by NHVA
by NHVA

Notice the first image with the bundle, that's what I (and likely you) will get- it's a fire striker on one side, and a cheapish knife sharpener on the other. No whistle, but worst of all, no removable striker- you have to use something else (like the supplied multi tool) to get your flame. Also, don't base the size off the shovel, if you're expecting the larger military sized one, it's about 2/3 the size of what I was expecting (being a veteran). All that being said though, it's a decent price for the set.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NHVA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews