Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 71 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

71 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

71 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
40
4 stars
19
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
5
1-20 of 56 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 56 total reviews
1-20 of 56 reviews
Great Laptop... Disappointed with web cam :(
10/2/2012

Customer review by NothingButTime

3.0 stars 10/2/2012 by NothingButTime
by NothingButTime

I decided it was time for a new laptop as I have my mothers old 2002 Dell which has to be plugged in to even turn on.. I purchased this laptop based on the specs (processor, RAM and GB storage) all great aspects at a great price ($488.00 bundled). The display and screen are awesome, very clear, great color, great positioning of the mouse/track pad, light weight etc. What I didn't pay attention too was the MP of the camera; being .3MP the quality is poor to me. I wanted something I could use for the purpose of skype / face chat because my cheap external camera on my other laptop wasn't cutting it (I use skype every day as i'm in a long distance relationship so clarity is important to me!). Well, it turns out there was no difference in my external camera quality and the quality of the one built in to this, so I decided to return it. I recommend this for all other reasons besides the webcam!!! I just did not want to go out and spend additional money on an external camera when I feel the one built in should be enough :)

Was this review helpful? (12) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NothingButTime
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Laptop
9/4/2012

Customer review by mdeckler

5.0 stars 9/4/2012 by mdeckler
by mdeckler

When it comes to laptops I am very picky. I researched alot and wanted one with decent specs at a good price. Never had an Asus and didn't think they were very popular but apparently they aren't half bad. Actually this laptop is excellent. Got it mainly because of the i5 processor and 6GB of RAM. Even though it's not quad core it still has hyper-threading which is very convenient. I also wanted to make sure this would run some PC games fairly well with decent framerate. At first I was concerned because of the UMA graphics but surprisingly the games I have played run great. For example I can run WoW on High graphics with a framerate of 17-25 and thats with alot on-screen. Dumb that to low settings and a whopping framerate of 60. Just one example. Anyways the pros: -Thin -Very fast -Built to last -Beautiful screen -Amazing raw power even before turbo boost kicks in. -Hyper-threading -Long battery life -Good price for what you get. -HDMI port -awesome trackpad - and so many other pros...i'd be here a while listing them all. CONS: -umm...i'm thinking. Obviously this isn't the best laptop in the world but it's pretty awesome for the price/specs. I highly recommend it and this saying applies to laptops especially: "you get what you pay for" so don't be afraid to spend a bit more to get this laptop. It's worth the money for sure.

Was this review helpful? (42) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mdeckler
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great everything
7/24/2012

Customer review by thisisBB

5.0 stars 7/24/2012 by thisisBB
by thisisBB

I needed a new computer for school, currently I am doing a lot of online, and word document related things, as well as gaming, music and skype. So I am on this computer everyday on average 5-6 hrs per day maybe more. This is my life. This computer was about 100 over what I wanted to spend, but I loved it, even looked at it in the store, and i had to have it. Considering the processor, the memory and hard drive, it was a great price so I went ahead and got it and I love this computer!!!! I have used the web cam and everyone says its pretty good. I love the face recognition (smart logon) to sign in, it has its moments and the lighting is sometimes a factor but for the most part i like that feature. A few times smart logon has frozen, I can still log in with a password though, and once you power down normally it is fine. The key pad for me (being right handed) is great, its off center to the left so it gives my lower arm less of an awkward angle The keyboard does have space between the keys, something my last laptop didnt have so its been weird adjusting. The charging port thing is also in a great spot on the left side which has proved to be veryy convenient for me. The battery life is better than I thought it would be, I love all the power plans, entertainment, battery saver, ect. Like I said along with the constant usage, Im not always plugged in, and it lasts for me. I have not yet taken it out yet, Im not back to schhol yet, so Ive always been near a power source. The computer is also great for gaming, I can have internet open, stream league of legends and music (Itunes) with no problems. The HDMI port is also awesome, Ive hooked up a few times to the tv with a cord for gaming and it was amazingg. I guess thats about all I have to say (that I can think of) but the bottom line is, this is a great computer, it meets everything I wanted and then some, and for what you get the price is great.

Was this review helpful? (79) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thisisBB
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great laptop for students
7/14/2012

Customer review by takkuntiki

4.0 stars 7/14/2012 by takkuntiki
by takkuntiki

This laptop has been amazing so far. The touch pad is awesome, works just like a MacBook. The only problem I've been having with it is that i have had two occasions where it freezes up while turning on, leaving me with a black screen. it won't recognize that i have the charger plugged in when this happens, but i take out the battery and put it back in and it works fine again. It freaked me out so hopefully it doesn't happen often.

Was this review helpful? (35) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
takkuntiki
Joliet, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This is a good laptop; a new chip is out.
10/25/2012

Customer review by Steve42104

5.0 stars 10/25/2012 by Steve42104
by Steve42104

Asus makes top quality products. I won't go into details such as how pretty it is, or it boots up fast, etc., nor will I talk at length about tech differences. It is an absolutely brilliant computer in terms of build quality, features and performance. It will do any consumer a great job. One note to consider. Intel has come out with the series 3 chip, which replaces the series 2 chip that this model has. It has better performance. If you can, get the series 3. Where the model lists Core i5-2450M, if it were a series 3, it would be i5-3450M. The i5 series chips are an improvement over the i3, which have been so popular. At the present time, there are the i3, i5 and i7. The i3 is still very popular, but the i5 is a bit newer and as software gets more demanding, it is something to consider. Unless you do very high level gaming, a lot of number crunching or serious video editing, the i7 chip is a bit expensive. That noted, if you are into gaming, or serious business use, the i5 (this model chip) is still a very sound investment. A mom and pop business or personal use enthusiast would not know the difference between the i3 and i5. But, the extra power is there if you need it. If you go to other online sites, you will find models with series 3 chips at a reasonably comparable price. Being a quad core processor, the hyper-threading and turbo boost is helpful for video editing and gaming, in that it can temporarily boost the clock speed up to 2.9GHz. Oh yeah, the M stands for mobile, and 450 is the SKU number. I would upgrade the RAM to 8GB. While WalMart doesn't offer chips in stores, Kingston (great brand) can upgrade with a 4GB chip to 8GB for around $22-25. This computer with 8GB of RAM will be a fantastic investment, particularly if you own an older computer.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Steve42104
Bowling Green, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/16/2012

Customer review by PickyPerson40

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by PickyPerson40
by PickyPerson40

Great computer. Fast and surprisingly has great speakers! The more we use it, the more we like it. Would buy again!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PickyPerson40
Chino
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good value for the money
10/14/2012

Customer review by walmartmominil

4.0 stars 10/14/2012 by walmartmominil
by walmartmominil

I have had this laptop for almost a month. I bought it to replase a aging netbook. It has run great for me with no problems. I don't play games or do much intense work on this laptop. I got it to web surf , facebook and use itunes. It will charge my ipad 3 and I like that a lot. I does have a cheap feel to it so I don't know if I would recomend it for a student. The screen is good and clear with crisp colors. If you are looking for a good value for the money I think this would be a good buy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walmartmominil
IL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Asus laptop
10/16/2012

Customer review by mygodsgal

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by mygodsgal
by mygodsgal

I went on Amazon and only found it 1.02 cents cheaper. With none of the advantages of Walmart guarentee, warrentee and no shipping with site to store. This is my third site to store purchase and I will do it again, it has been such a good experience. The lap top took longer than they thought, originally, to arrive, but it was such a great deal that my techy friends were intensely jelous.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mygodsgal
Loveland, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Excellent Value
10/4/2012

Customer review by mrchambo

5.0 stars 10/4/2012 by mrchambo
by mrchambo

Having thoroughly researched laptops with this specification set, I found the ASUS to be the best value, period. Then, when the fine folks at Walmart reduced the price by another $100, well, the decision was made. And I am very happy with that decision. Won't find a better value anywhere.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrchambo
Central Gulf Coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Small Issues but otherwise ok
9/19/2012

Customer review by NGGtax

4.0 stars 9/19/2012 by NGGtax
by NGGtax

I have had to remove the battery twice because the computer wont come on when I hit the power button. I am not sure if this will be an ongoing issue. All else works fine.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NGGtax
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome laptop for Music Producer
11/6/2012

Customer review by AverageAlienSD

5.0 stars 11/6/2012 by AverageAlienSD
by AverageAlienSD
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I needed a new laptop for excellent performance in music production, specifically FL Studio. I was looking for a PC with a good amount of RAM and a high end processor. As soon as I saw this deal, I knew I had to get it. With an i5 processor and 6GB of DDR3 RAM (which I expanded to 8GB after only a $50 DIY upgrade), this is a deal I couldn't pass up. The built-in Real-Tek Audio Soundcard works great with FL Studio and provides a nice audio manager and outputs good sound. The trackpad is absolutely flawless and works just like an over-priced MacBook Pro trackpad. The Laptop in general looks very sleek and attractive and performs excellent as well. I've yet to run into any problems with processing speed even when hardcore multitasking. I love the HDMI port and 2 USB 3.0 ports. It is solidly built with an aluminum coating in front of the keyboard and around the trackpad. I love the carbon fiber-like finish on the hood. Too many awesome things to say about this PC. Bottom line: if you're thinking of getting this laptop because it sounds like an awesome deal, it is. Get it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AverageAlienSD
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/17/2012

Customer review by BWhiteboy

1.0 stars 10/17/2012 by BWhiteboy
by BWhiteboy

The unit worked for 8 days then locked up on the screen after loading programs. Called ASUS for help and had to send unit back in for repairs. Paid for shipping to send unit to ASUS. Would recommend bying "in store", so electronics items can be returned to store when issues arise in just one week. The unit worked very well the first 8 days and I am not discouraged by the product or Brand name, just the process to get unit returned for service as opposed to returning to the store.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BWhiteboy
Woodsboro, Md.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good value for a laptop
9/6/2012

Customer review by Leroy66

5.0 stars 9/6/2012 by Leroy66
by Leroy66

battery lasts a long time. easy to set up.

Was this review helpful? (13) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leroy66
lake city, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
not user-friendly
10/30/2012

Customer review by mrs17mac

3.0 stars 10/30/2012 by mrs17mac
by mrs17mac
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Perhaps for gaming or some other use this is a good laptop, but I use mine for work, which means mainly emails, maintenance of online courses, and writing documents. For these things, this laptop did not work at all. It would not stay connected to the internet (wireless); every time I moved to a new network, which happens several times each day, I would get an error message saying Internet Explorer had stopped working. This message would pop up every few minutes until I completely shut down the computer and restarted it. Additionally, the touchpad was waaayyy too sensitive, and would send the cursor jumping all over emails and documents while typing them - super annoying. It was fast, and the screen was nice, but ultimately I exchanged it for the old tried-and-true HP.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrs17mac
MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5 STAR COMPUTER!!
11/16/2012

Customer review by CustomerFromMonteNe

5.0 stars 11/16/2012 by CustomerFromMonteNe
by CustomerFromMonteNe

I am so impressed with this computer. It's easy to set up / start. It's very fast and it has a lot of space on the hard-drive to download a ton of photos or music, games. I haven't had any problems with it locking up on me. I did purchase a wireless mouse and keyboard because I am more comfortable using them rather than the key board or touch pad. However, the touch pad is very nice and easy to control. and the letters on the computer keyboard are actually larger than on the wireless keyboard. So that also, is very easy to use. I've burned several disks and have had no problems with that. This is the BEST laptop that I've ever used and would definitely recommend it to anyone. Plus I received it a week earlier than stated when I purchased it. I was very pleased about that.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CustomerFromMonteNe
Monte Ne / Rogers, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hardware is excellant, documentation is poor
11/12/2012

Customer review by ohnjay

3.0 stars 11/12/2012 by ohnjay
by ohnjay
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This machine is very fast and most all devices work perfectly. Scrolling with this touch pad is an exception – it is not nearly as effective and useful as it is on my five-year old HP laptop. I saw some reviews that this PC tended to overheat however I have run it nearly continuously for the week that I have had it and there is no indication that this is a problem – it has remained very cool to the touch and has never shut down. On the downside, there is no manual with the machine and Windows 7 is VERY disappointing compared to XP. For examples, task switching is unnecessarily kludgey (shows mini application windows instead of icons when you Alt-tab through them) and connectivity with XP PCs is deficient in that the root of discs on the Windows 7 PC cannot be accessed by PCs running XP (documentation says you can but it doesn’t work). The other way around, i.e. XP shares accessible from this Win 7 PC, works perfectly. Also, clicking ‘All Programs’ from the ‘Start’ taskbar button brings up a scroll control instead of the full screen list of icons as in previous versions of Windows.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ohnjay
Manchester, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very responsive
11/14/2012

Customer review by RetRev78

5.0 stars 11/14/2012 by RetRev78
by RetRev78
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I don't care for lap tops or windows 7, but I have found this model better than most. I don't like the delete key being a part of the key pad. When the num lock is on it becomes a period. There is another on the top row, but is difficult to find. I will keep my XP desk top as long as it works!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RetRev78
Madison, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Check local wartmart first!
11/11/2012

Customer review by Walmartbuyer2012

1.0 stars 11/11/2012 by Walmartbuyer2012
by Walmartbuyer2012

I purchased this online for 498.00, i went on my local store and they are selling it for 350.00! Guess what happened next.... I returned it!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Walmartbuyer2012
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good school laptop
10/25/2012

Customer review by avet

3.0 stars 10/25/2012 by avet
by avet
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

the only thing i was disappointed about was that the description said 3.1 GHz and it is actually 2.5 Ghz

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
avet
Bellingham
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Asus 15.6 K55A-RBR6 Laptop PC with Intel Core i5
11/3/2012

Customer review by Ravenoutwest

5.0 stars 11/3/2012 by Ravenoutwest
by Ravenoutwest
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a wonderful laptop, all that I expected and more. I wanted the Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option and requested it, but did not get instructions or disc. Will have to contact them very soon. I use it for work and personal use. The screen is wide and the colors are vivid. It connects very easily to wireless networks - great for when you are in hotels and need to get work done. It is a little heavier than I expected, but it is larger than most. Overall, I would suggest this computer to anyone who wants a reliable, fast, intuitive laptop.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ravenoutwest
CAlifornia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1-20 of 56 reviews