Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 71 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

71 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

71 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
40
4 stars
19
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
5
1-20 of 56 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 56 total reviews
1-20 of 56 reviews
Great everything
7/24/2012

Customer review by thisisBB

5.0 stars 7/24/2012 by thisisBB
by thisisBB

I needed a new computer for school, currently I am doing a lot of online, and word document related things, as well as gaming, music and skype. So I am on this computer everyday on average 5-6 hrs per day maybe more. This is my life. This computer was about 100 over what I wanted to spend, but I loved it, even looked at it in the store, and i had to have it. Considering the processor, the memory and hard drive, it was a great price so I went ahead and got it and I love this computer!!!! I have used the web cam and everyone says its pretty good. I love the face recognition (smart logon) to sign in, it has its moments and the lighting is sometimes a factor but for the most part i like that feature. A few times smart logon has frozen, I can still log in with a password though, and once you power down normally it is fine. The key pad for me (being right handed) is great, its off center to the left so it gives my lower arm less of an awkward angle The keyboard does have space between the keys, something my last laptop didnt have so its been weird adjusting. The charging port thing is also in a great spot on the left side which has proved to be veryy convenient for me. The battery life is better than I thought it would be, I love all the power plans, entertainment, battery saver, ect. Like I said along with the constant usage, Im not always plugged in, and it lasts for me. I have not yet taken it out yet, Im not back to schhol yet, so Ive always been near a power source. The computer is also great for gaming, I can have internet open, stream league of legends and music (Itunes) with no problems. The HDMI port is also awesome, Ive hooked up a few times to the tv with a cord for gaming and it was amazingg. I guess thats about all I have to say (that I can think of) but the bottom line is, this is a great computer, it meets everything I wanted and then some, and for what you get the price is great.

Was this review helpful? (79) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thisisBB
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Laptop
9/4/2012

Customer review by mdeckler

5.0 stars 9/4/2012 by mdeckler
by mdeckler

When it comes to laptops I am very picky. I researched alot and wanted one with decent specs at a good price. Never had an Asus and didn't think they were very popular but apparently they aren't half bad. Actually this laptop is excellent. Got it mainly because of the i5 processor and 6GB of RAM. Even though it's not quad core it still has hyper-threading which is very convenient. I also wanted to make sure this would run some PC games fairly well with decent framerate. At first I was concerned because of the UMA graphics but surprisingly the games I have played run great. For example I can run WoW on High graphics with a framerate of 17-25 and thats with alot on-screen. Dumb that to low settings and a whopping framerate of 60. Just one example. Anyways the pros: -Thin -Very fast -Built to last -Beautiful screen -Amazing raw power even before turbo boost kicks in. -Hyper-threading -Long battery life -Good price for what you get. -HDMI port -awesome trackpad - and so many other pros...i'd be here a while listing them all. CONS: -umm...i'm thinking. Obviously this isn't the best laptop in the world but it's pretty awesome for the price/specs. I highly recommend it and this saying applies to laptops especially: "you get what you pay for" so don't be afraid to spend a bit more to get this laptop. It's worth the money for sure.

Was this review helpful? (42) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mdeckler
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great laptop for students
7/14/2012

Customer review by takkuntiki

4.0 stars 7/14/2012 by takkuntiki
by takkuntiki

This laptop has been amazing so far. The touch pad is awesome, works just like a MacBook. The only problem I've been having with it is that i have had two occasions where it freezes up while turning on, leaving me with a black screen. it won't recognize that i have the charger plugged in when this happens, but i take out the battery and put it back in and it works fine again. It freaked me out so hopefully it doesn't happen often.

Was this review helpful? (35) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
takkuntiki
Joliet, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This is a good laptop; a new chip is out.
10/25/2012

Customer review by Steve42104

5.0 stars 10/25/2012 by Steve42104
by Steve42104

Asus makes top quality products. I won't go into details such as how pretty it is, or it boots up fast, etc., nor will I talk at length about tech differences. It is an absolutely brilliant computer in terms of build quality, features and performance. It will do any consumer a great job. One note to consider. Intel has come out with the series 3 chip, which replaces the series 2 chip that this model has. It has better performance. If you can, get the series 3. Where the model lists Core i5-2450M, if it were a series 3, it would be i5-3450M. The i5 series chips are an improvement over the i3, which have been so popular. At the present time, there are the i3, i5 and i7. The i3 is still very popular, but the i5 is a bit newer and as software gets more demanding, it is something to consider. Unless you do very high level gaming, a lot of number crunching or serious video editing, the i7 chip is a bit expensive. That noted, if you are into gaming, or serious business use, the i5 (this model chip) is still a very sound investment. A mom and pop business or personal use enthusiast would not know the difference between the i3 and i5. But, the extra power is there if you need it. If you go to other online sites, you will find models with series 3 chips at a reasonably comparable price. Being a quad core processor, the hyper-threading and turbo boost is helpful for video editing and gaming, in that it can temporarily boost the clock speed up to 2.9GHz. Oh yeah, the M stands for mobile, and 450 is the SKU number. I would upgrade the RAM to 8GB. While WalMart doesn't offer chips in stores, Kingston (great brand) can upgrade with a 4GB chip to 8GB for around $22-25. This computer with 8GB of RAM will be a fantastic investment, particularly if you own an older computer.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Steve42104
Bowling Green, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good value for a laptop
9/6/2012

Customer review by Leroy66

5.0 stars 9/6/2012 by Leroy66
by Leroy66

battery lasts a long time. easy to set up.

Was this review helpful? (13) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Leroy66
lake city, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/16/2012

Customer review by PickyPerson40

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by PickyPerson40
by PickyPerson40

Great computer. Fast and surprisingly has great speakers! The more we use it, the more we like it. Would buy again!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PickyPerson40
Chino
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Laptop... Disappointed with web cam :(
10/2/2012

Customer review by NothingButTime

3.0 stars 10/2/2012 by NothingButTime
by NothingButTime

I decided it was time for a new laptop as I have my mothers old 2002 Dell which has to be plugged in to even turn on.. I purchased this laptop based on the specs (processor, RAM and GB storage) all great aspects at a great price ($488.00 bundled). The display and screen are awesome, very clear, great color, great positioning of the mouse/track pad, light weight etc. What I didn't pay attention too was the MP of the camera; being .3MP the quality is poor to me. I wanted something I could use for the purpose of skype / face chat because my cheap external camera on my other laptop wasn't cutting it (I use skype every day as i'm in a long distance relationship so clarity is important to me!). Well, it turns out there was no difference in my external camera quality and the quality of the one built in to this, so I decided to return it. I recommend this for all other reasons besides the webcam!!! I just did not want to go out and spend additional money on an external camera when I feel the one built in should be enough :)

Was this review helpful? (11) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NothingButTime
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Small Issues but otherwise ok
9/19/2012

Customer review by NGGtax

4.0 stars 9/19/2012 by NGGtax
by NGGtax

I have had to remove the battery twice because the computer wont come on when I hit the power button. I am not sure if this will be an ongoing issue. All else works fine.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NGGtax
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Value
10/4/2012

Customer review by mrchambo

5.0 stars 10/4/2012 by mrchambo
by mrchambo

Having thoroughly researched laptops with this specification set, I found the ASUS to be the best value, period. Then, when the fine folks at Walmart reduced the price by another $100, well, the decision was made. And I am very happy with that decision. Won't find a better value anywhere.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrchambo
Central Gulf Coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Asus laptop
10/16/2012

Customer review by mygodsgal

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by mygodsgal
by mygodsgal

I went on Amazon and only found it 1.02 cents cheaper. With none of the advantages of Walmart guarentee, warrentee and no shipping with site to store. This is my third site to store purchase and I will do it again, it has been such a good experience. The lap top took longer than they thought, originally, to arrive, but it was such a great deal that my techy friends were intensely jelous.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mygodsgal
Loveland, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Good value for the money
10/14/2012

Customer review by walmartmominil

4.0 stars 10/14/2012 by walmartmominil
by walmartmominil

I have had this laptop for almost a month. I bought it to replase a aging netbook. It has run great for me with no problems. I don't play games or do much intense work on this laptop. I got it to web surf , facebook and use itunes. It will charge my ipad 3 and I like that a lot. I does have a cheap feel to it so I don't know if I would recomend it for a student. The screen is good and clear with crisp colors. If you are looking for a good value for the money I think this would be a good buy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walmartmominil
IL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/17/2012

Customer review by BWhiteboy

1.0 stars 10/17/2012 by BWhiteboy
by BWhiteboy

The unit worked for 8 days then locked up on the screen after loading programs. Called ASUS for help and had to send unit back in for repairs. Paid for shipping to send unit to ASUS. Would recommend bying "in store", so electronics items can be returned to store when issues arise in just one week. The unit worked very well the first 8 days and I am not discouraged by the product or Brand name, just the process to get unit returned for service as opposed to returning to the store.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BWhiteboy
Woodsboro, Md.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very responsive
11/14/2012

Customer review by RetRev78

5.0 stars 11/14/2012 by RetRev78
by RetRev78

I don't care for lap tops or windows 7, but I have found this model better than most. I don't like the delete key being a part of the key pad. When the num lock is on it becomes a period. There is another on the top row, but is difficult to find. I will keep my XP desk top as long as it works!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RetRev78
Madison, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good school laptop
10/25/2012

Customer review by avet

3.0 stars 10/25/2012 by avet
by avet

the only thing i was disappointed about was that the description said 3.1 GHz and it is actually 2.5 Ghz

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
avet
Bellingham
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Check local wartmart first!
11/11/2012

Customer review by Walmartbuyer2012

1.0 stars 11/11/2012 by Walmartbuyer2012
by Walmartbuyer2012

I purchased this online for 498.00, i went on my local store and they are selling it for 350.00! Guess what happened next.... I returned it!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Walmartbuyer2012
Would recommend to a friend? No
not user-friendly
10/30/2012

Customer review by mrs17mac

3.0 stars 10/30/2012 by mrs17mac
by mrs17mac

Perhaps for gaming or some other use this is a good laptop, but I use mine for work, which means mainly emails, maintenance of online courses, and writing documents. For these things, this laptop did not work at all. It would not stay connected to the internet (wireless); every time I moved to a new network, which happens several times each day, I would get an error message saying Internet Explorer had stopped working. This message would pop up every few minutes until I completely shut down the computer and restarted it. Additionally, the touchpad was waaayyy too sensitive, and would send the cursor jumping all over emails and documents while typing them - super annoying. It was fast, and the screen was nice, but ultimately I exchanged it for the old tried-and-true HP.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrs17mac
MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My laptop does not work at all
10/29/2012

Customer review by Sid420

1.0 stars 10/29/2012 by Sid420
by Sid420

I received my laptop 3 days late and when it came it does not even start.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sid420
Los Angles, ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Junk from the Start!
11/6/2012

Customer review by 237x

1.0 stars 11/6/2012 by 237x
by 237x

Took it out of the box, powered up, and it ground to a halt. Brought it to a computer shop to check it out. They couldn't get much out of it, The hard drive was about dead, they told me. Took it back to WM the next day and got a refund. My refund money went to HHGreg and a Dell computer. The Asus looked good, tho...

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
237x
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Economical Little Notebook with Good Performance
10/28/2012

Customer review by jrs8084

5.0 stars 10/28/2012 by jrs8084
by jrs8084

This is my third ASUS notebook I have purchased for friends/family. I am a Mac/comp geek, but I keep a PC around for various needs. This fits the bill, without breaking the budget. This ASUS model had what I wanted most: decent HD, 3 USB ports, gigabit ethernet, 6 GB of RAM. The i5 processor and integrated graphics are more than enough for any average/even power user. The trackpad offers multi-touch, but isn't fabulous. Usable and acceptable for this price range. The web cam is typical for this price point. Battery is very good-especially when using the Power4Gear widget to optimize for battery usage. The machine contains little bloatware other than a few ASUS included apps (and the user manual is included electronically contrary to other posts) . Some are useful, others not. But, they are not obnoxious. It isn't 50 installed trials you have to uninstall. And, ASUS has their Live Update Utility that keeps their installed apps up to date. I didn't have to uninstall a whole bunch of cruft. ASUS offers solid machines that offer the most bang for the buck compared to other vendors. They can do this because service is less than stellar. Sure, they will fix your machine if broken, but you will pay shipping to their facility, and turnaround is not expedited. While this is a really nice machine that will satisfy, just realize that in the rare event you need service, it might take a week or two. I have purchased many computers over the years, and many ASUS notebooks have a better fit and finish compared to other makes. This, compared to the specs for the price offset the minor hassles in the rare event should I need a hardware repair.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jrs8084
Statesville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great price
10/15/2012

Customer review by wildcatky72

5.0 stars 10/15/2012 by wildcatky72
by wildcatky72

Amazed this product arrived four days after ordering it. Does what I wanted which is replace old desktop with a computer with more memory, faster speed and the added benefit of being transportable. We also have a two-year-old HP laptop and the Asus ventilation works much better.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wildcatky72
rural Southern NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1-20 of 56 reviews