Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 277 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

277 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

277 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
183
4 stars
61
3 stars
13
2 stars
9
1 stars
11
1-20 of 276 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 276 total reviews
1-20 of 276 reviews
Fastest computer to date
1/2/2013

Customer review by SunflowerPA

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by SunflowerPA
by SunflowerPA

Ordered this online since all the stores are selling Windows 8. Configured this computer with Windows 7 Professional as I am more familiar with the networking features. Elected the quad Core i5 processor which for my use is fast enough and instantaneous surfing the net. I did install a few games and so far, no issues with the speed of play or graphics. Found a Panasonic HDTV/Monitor at Best Buy so that I could multitask in the home office to use as the monitor. There was one configuration issue with the graphics in that regard to set up so that the computer image fit the screen and that was accomplised in the Catalyst Control Center, Flat Panel Options by adjusting the slide towards Underscan. Added the HDMI graphics option card and connected to the Flat Panel via HDMI which is just BEAUTIFUL! Text size adjusted to Medium which displays better on the 24inch size. Other than the added costs of the options I installed, configuration to what I wanted was a plus and I'm completely satisfied with my purchase.

SunflowerPA
Easton, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Quick, capable, no problems
1/29/2013

Customer review by Gary56

5.0 stars 1/29/2013 by Gary56
by Gary56

This computer is much quicker than my 10 year old Dell. Or the Lenova I bought at Best Buy for a smokin deal a week before. It had Windows 8 which was not a good experience. :( It was also not supported by my company's IT team. I needed a new computer to work from home efficiently and quickly. Windows 7 with the HP machine works great for me. The only issues I have are the cords for the mouse and keyboard are too short! Maybe that's so we will go out and buy a wireless set, which is what I did. Also, I tried to install Microsoft Money 2000 on the new machine so I could continue to keep track of my checkbook, it no longer recognizes my password and is unusable on the new HP. That is probably just due to trying to use 12 year old software. Overall, I am very pleased with my HP desktop's performance and features. I started out ordering it online, then had some questions and called a sales rep who was very helpful. I am glad I spoke to someone before ordering it.

Gary56
Gilbert, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent Desktop
6/28/2012

Customer review by John01

5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by John01
by John01

I bought this desktop to upgrade from a very old Dell. I got the following. Windows 7 Home Premium [64-bit] • 2nd Generation Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2320 processor [3.0GHz, 6MB Shared Cache] • 6GB DDR3-1333MHz SDRAM [2 DIMMs] from 4GB •1TB hard drive • Integrated Intel(R) HD Graphics [DVI-D & DVI-D, DX 10.1] - (the standard factory interface) • SuperMulti DVD Burner • Integrated Ethernet port• 15-in-1 memory card reader, 2 USB 3.0, audio • Beats Audio (tm) -- integrated studio quality sound • HP wireless keyboard and wireless optical mouse The speed is wonderful. I strongly recommend this PC for average normal user. I went with the factory/standard video card because I just do normal web/e-mail and it does wonderful. Per the Microsoft system performance check the video was the slowest however its perfect for me. Therefore per this test I would recommed upgrading the video card is your a gamer which I am not. Processor, memory and hard disk had extremely high scores. I love the two USB ports on the front for easy access.

John01
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very happy w/ this system
12/1/2011

Customer review by loneelk

5.0 stars 12/1/2011 by loneelk
by loneelk

It's a long story, but suffice it to say that after being a Dell customer for over 10 yrs. (& 3 computers) I made the decision to give hp.com a chance. I'm very happy w/ the ease of online ordering from HP as well as with my computer as ordered and ease of setup. I received everything in my order except the headphones sooner than expected and only 6 days after placing my order, and the headphones arrived the following day, just as the order tracking said! I'm not a computer expert by any means, but even reading the directions over again and taking my time w/ the connections, I had it set up and working in right at an hour. Later today, I'll try hooking up my printer and camera. Printer is an older HP that I just love, so I hope the drivers will be right. Camera is almost as old, different brand, but I'm very happy w/ it also. So wish me luck on that! Very nice solid looking system. I can't afford top of the line, but I'm very happy w/ this one!

loneelk
southern NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Online order form was misleading about USB ports
1/4/2012

Customer review by rshpe

1.0 stars 1/4/2012 by rshpe
by rshpe

The online photograph for that selection was a picture of the front of the computer and the multimedia card slots, so I assumed that the choice between 2 or 4 USB ports was for the number of additional ports on the front of the computer, not the total number of USB ports. My last HP desktop which is over 2 years old had 4 ports on the front and 6 in the back, which were all used - and that computer had an LPT port as well as mouse and keyboard ports. This Pavilion p7qe only has 4 USB ports total, all in the back, and it does not have LPT or mouse or keyboard ports, so now I in addition to USB ports for my old devices, I now need three more USB ports to take their place. This means I have a newer computer that requires more USB devices but has fewer ports than the old one. I don't like having to use a USB hub. Besides more money for a good quality, there don't seem to be any available with more than 7 ports, and also it adds significant clutter to my desk, which I thought was one of the big selling points of having all these wireless devices.

rshpe
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
New computer saved my sanity
12/17/2011

Customer review by kimcal

5.0 stars 12/17/2011 by kimcal
by kimcal

When I purchased my previous computer I bought the "standard" offering. Six years later it was sub-standard to say the least and frustrating me to no end - incredibly slow, often had to restart programs, etc. I finally made the decision to buy a new computer. I had not purchased from HP before, but ultimately went with them due to price, brand, and most importantly, the ability to have greater customization of hardware than the maker of my previous computer. It arrived quickly; set up was simple; and I was up and running in no time. I have had it for about a month now and so far no problems. The speed is amazing and my productivity has greatly increased. My frustration has definitely decreased! Only real complaint is that the keyboard and mouse look and feel cheap. I opted to keep my existing mouse even though it doesn't always play nice with Windows 7. I may replace keyboard down the line.

kimcal
Springfield,MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
replacement for a bummed out a1540n
9/3/2011

Customer review by eehmay

5.0 stars 9/3/2011 by eehmay
by eehmay

Computer is nice, Just don't care much for the acclaimed Win7. Machine came with Home Premium but I bought the upgrade to Win 7 Professional in the hope to use some of my Win XP printers and scanners. The recommended Win XP download possible with Win Prof. and Ultimate did not solve everything. Got one printer back with the other stuff still incompatible. Can't blame the machine for this lousy Win stuff. Computer could use a few more USB 2, has no USB 3, outlets. By the time the Battery back up is hooked and a couple of external back up drives and the camera is hooked for download there aren't any outlets left. Will install a USB card. Hopefully there is room for hook up to the mobo. Need my "My Pictures" file thumbnail view, not the dumb view with Win 7. Want my address book to be like Win XP's not that dumb "Contact" by Win 7. Stupid. Win XP makes computing so much easier. People say "oh you'll like Win 7 it's so much better." Ha, not in my book. Not to mention the unused printers and scanners sitting around. No Microsoft Picture Manager either with the slider enlargement adjustment.

eehmay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fast Desktop
7/17/2012

Customer review by Miamignc

5.0 stars 7/17/2012 by Miamignc
by Miamignc

This HP with the AMD processor is very fast and it has the capacity to increase to 32GB Memory.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Miamignc
Miami
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Powerful and quick
8/4/2012

Customer review by PJSLAX

5.0 stars 8/4/2012 by PJSLAX
by PJSLAX

I could not come close to the price building this with HP right from the factory. Great machine.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PJSLAX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Jayhawk
3/11/2012

Customer review by Jayhawk

5.0 stars 3/11/2012 by Jayhawk
by Jayhawk

It was time to update my computer and this time decided to get one that is already assembled rather than replace components. This proved to be a good choice. The HP Pavilion p7qe customizable Desktop PC is proving to be a quiet-fast machine. I wish I could say the same for Windows 7 but Microsoft eliminated useful features from XP with features that are entertaining but not necessarily practical. Windows 7 64 bit is faster but XP was designed for those with office skills and made work much more straight forward. the The HP Pavilion p7qe came ready to work and easy to set up in very little time. One needs to read the instructions before beginning and it is simple for even the novice. I got the wireless keyboard and mouse which set up nicely but it is ergonomic. I came up with a manual typewriter ("a what?") so I prefer the old keyboard layout better but I am getting accustomed to the circuilar configuration. The new HP 2211x monitor is a nice wide screen. I just wish that I could have the XP display properties to clean up the Windows 7 desktop. I still have my HP notebook with XP on it so I can use programs that are not compatable with 64 bit.

Jayhawk
Northeast Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
HP is an outstanding product
4/10/2012

Customer review by Labmom

5.0 stars 4/10/2012 by Labmom
by Labmom

I have used other brands of computers (at work) but for my personal use, I will always use HP. The quality, performance, price, and features cannot be beaten. Shipping was amazing! I ordered my new computer online Sunday night, by Wednesday morning it was at my door! Awesome. The website was very user friendly, I found what I was looking for in about 10 to 15 minutes. This computer is so quite, if it didn't have the blue light bar at the top, I wouldn't know it was on. Oh, and by the way, blue is my favorite color, so I was really pleased with that! Setup was a breeze, no problems. I am extremely and completely happy with my purchase. I will never use anything but an HP. In face, my printer that I was using with my last computer would not work with this one (to old) so I just purchased a new printer from HP last night.

Labmom
East Prairie, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Nice Desktop Computer
11/14/2011

Customer review by john222

5.0 stars 11/14/2011 by john222
by john222

This seems to be a good computer. I'v had it for over a month now and I use it frequently. I had absolutly no problem with this computer yet, and having had a few HP Computers before this one, I dont expect any problems, besause I have not had any problems with my previous HP Computers. One thing that I am a little bit concerned with is the hard drive. I'm use to Western Digital HD's, they run silently, and I have not had any problems with them in the past. In this Computer you can hear the bearings cracling when the HD is spining, which tells me that this is not a WDHD, some other brands are not so good. My previos two HP Desktop Computers had WDHD's. I could possably be wrong, I have not opened the Computer to see whats in there. Other than that this Computer is fast, graphics are cristal clear and its very stable.

john222
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Desktop
3/7/2012

Customer review by SusaninVA

5.0 stars 3/7/2012 by SusaninVA
by SusaninVA

One of the reasons I purchased was the great reviews other customers gave this computer, and they were right! It arrived ahead of schedule and was easy to set up. I am still learning a lot of the new features (I replaced an 8 y.o. HP) but it is super fast. I did upgrade to the wireless LAN card and the 15 in 1 memory card & 4 USB ports on the front. To the several folks who indicated this computer lacks a front USB port in their reviews - this computer DOES HAVE front USB ports, they are behind the slide down door. I almost did not purchase because my set-up requires front USB ports (in a cabinet), but I called HP Sales and was assured it did have this feature. So for anyone who may read this review and cannot locate your front USB ports, call HP and they will walk you through it.

SusaninVA
Chesapeake, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
So-So
9/19/2012

Customer review by Ginger26

3.0 stars 9/19/2012 by Ginger26
by Ginger26

The set up instructions for the computer are pretty vague. Mostly they consists of pictures of general areas on the back of the computer where everything is plugged in. I have be using a laptop for years, so my set up skills were a bit rusty and I could have used a little more guidance. But I got through it, and it is now running fine. I have to say that the overall impression of the computer is rather chintzy. The case is flimsey plastic and thin metal. The computer is noisy. The hard drive whirrs, scratches and groans loudly. Again, being a laptopper for the recent past, this seems strange to me. I have always had HP products and expect a higher sense of quality from them. Maybe all desktops are like this now. Operation is good, and I guess that's what is important.

Ginger26
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
lost hard drive in 36 days
12/16/2011

Customer review by lostcharlie

1.0 stars 12/16/2011 by lostcharlie
by lostcharlie

I bought this computor in Nov 2012. Lost 10 years of internet favorites because no one said they can't be transfered with out a special program to make them compatable with the 64 bit system. 36 days later the hard drive failed internally. Could not boot up. Tech said it would cost $1,000. to try to recover any info on the harddrive. 36 days was all the drive lasted. I lost over 2 years of photo's because I was stupid enough to think I had bought a quality product. I lost a lot of nonreplacable photo's. My other files are all gone also. HP will warrenty the hard drive . So sad , to bad about thinking you had a personnel computor that was reliable that . You have to treat it like a work computor that you can't put anything personel on it . I will not buy HP again !!!

lostcharlie
Mich.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
This Pavilion is the best computer I've had.
5/14/2012

Customer review by Carbguy

5.0 stars 5/14/2012 by Carbguy
by Carbguy

I ordered this new Pavilion directly from HP wihout the benefit of being able to "test drive" it first, but so far it has been the best PC I have ever owned. It is super fast, super quiet (I can barely hear it running) and has all the features I was looking for in a PC. I have been a fan of HP for many years, and this computer reinforces my satisfaction with their products. Setup was a breeze, it fired right up, and within minutes I was transferring files from my old computer to the new Pavilion. Tasks that previously seemed to take forever are now accomplished as quickly as I can click. My wife is equally pleased, zipping through her on-line tasks with amazing speed. I'd recommend this HP model to anyone in the market for a new desktop.

Carbguy
Northeast Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Amazing computer for the price.
9/2/2012

Customer review by MrxPsyco

5.0 stars 9/2/2012 by MrxPsyco
by MrxPsyco

I've had this computer for about a month now and it does EVERYTHING I need it to do with extreme ease. I play games, graphic design, and everyday use. Definitely recommend to anyone who has this type of budget.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrxPsyco
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pavilion p7xt review
9/1/2011

Customer review by Cucumber

4.0 stars 9/1/2011 by Cucumber
by Cucumber

I purchased this machine for my daughter when her laptop died about three weeks past the warranty. The company I purchased it from certainly has their "planned obsolescence" down to a fine art. I hope this won't be the case with my purchase of an HP product. I was very disappointed to see that HP is getting out of the computer product business shortly after ordering my computer. Wish I had seen that one coming. Overall, this is a nice computer. It is attractively finished and performs well for everything my daughter will be using it for. I am very disappointed with all the "bloatware" that came with it and I have always been against recovery partitions and recovery CD/DVD's. All computers should come with the operating system CD/DVD. Recovery CD/DVD's only replace all the bloatware back on the machine after you have taken so much time to remove it. Now companies don't even bother to ship the recovery material instead forcing the consumer to create their own, which, if the process is botched you are out of luck because the software only runs once. I am not recommending this to other users not because it is a bad machine but solely on the basis that HP is out of the game so I don't know what kind of support will be available in the future.

Cucumber
Would recommend to a friend? No
worst experience possible
1/20/2012

Customer review by BUDPAL

2.0 stars 1/20/2012 by BUDPAL
by BUDPAL

The box arrived in good shape. I removed the computer and attached the old monitor,(a HP w 1907)flat screen that I bought with my previous HP desktop.and the keyboard that shipped with the new desktop, I attached all the cables and turned it on. The blue light on the top of the new desktop came on and the num lock light on the keyboard came on.The monitor went to sleep. It was attached with the vga cable. The new desktop has a DVI connector , so I bought a DVI cable and connected it after I had remover the VGA cable. The monitor gave me a "no signal" message on the monitor.Just to be sure I connected the monitor to my old computer and it worked fine. All of this activity took 3 days, off and on, without any success.

BUDPAL
CUMMING, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Zippy Update
12/21/2011

Customer review by OldFed

5.0 stars 12/21/2011 by OldFed
by OldFed

My 10-year old Tower was the very flower of Pentium IV technology. Although long in the tooth, it could still gut-out basic work, but it was a losing battle trying to contend with multiple near-simultaneous tasks, let alone put-up with a serious system update from XP to 7. It will be retired to simple file server work in other parts of my system. This new i-5 quad-core minitower with 6 Gig of RAM and a terabye of Hard-drive is more computing power than was available to all the combatants of WWII! It is more computer than all 60 PCs available to my regional office in 1988. I'm gratified and pleased with its performance. Outstanding! My 1st computer was a Honeywell mainframe; my 1st PC was an Apple II-e

OldFed
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 276 total reviews
1-20 of 276 reviews