Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 19 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

19 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

19 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-18 of 18 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

PS--Look at coverage map on T-Mobile site
9/13/2012

Customer review by Spike111111

1.0 stars 9/13/2012 by Spike111111
by Spike111111

Further to my first review complaining about the device's slow speed, potential buyers must do more than type in their ZIP code on the Walmart.com page to see if there is "coverage" where they are. T-Mobile's web site has zoomable maps that show the quality of coverage in every place. This depends on cell towers and on terrain. And zoom in until you can identify your neighborhood on the map; the statewide maps suggest there is coverage almost everywhere. My entire ZIP code (a group of towns with maybe 20,000 people), on the 3G/4G map, is in a region below "satisfactory" labeled "2G." Conclusion: It's a wonder the device works at all where I am. (Ignore my 1-through-5 ratings above, as what I am saying is your results may vary greatly.) But the clunky software the device installs on my PC has made one irreversible change to my browser, has four new processes running around-the-clock, and has deposited a bunch of junk into my Registry that seems designed to affect a variety of popular anti-virus programs. That's intrusive. It's not bad enough to return for a refund, but am not sure I'll re-up when my Pass runs out.

Was this review helpful? (74) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Spike111111
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for the price!
9/25/2012

Customer review by SavyCollegeShopper

4.0 stars 9/25/2012 by SavyCollegeShopper
by SavyCollegeShopper

Purchased the laptop stick instead of the other wireless device that cost hundreds for multiple connections. I order this item site to store, it was ready for pick up in two days. Plugged it into the computer software downloaded. I had to call Tmobile hotline to activate the prepaid voucher . I've had it for a bout 2 months now works very well. I am college student on a budget cant afford to pay for cable tv and internet bundle from companies like comcast. I use the laptop stick with my netbook only. Every once in a while the connection will go out but I just close and reopen the Firefox browser and its fine.

Was this review helpful? (64) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SavyCollegeShopper
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1/10/2013

Customer review by NinthIsland

5.0 stars 1/10/2013 by NinthIsland
by NinthIsland

I looked at the coverage map and my area was covered in Las Vegas. I get 4 out of 5 bars. I was using a Virgin Mobile 3G laptop stick but I saw that the TMobile data plan was a lot more generous. Virgin Mobile was 1GB for 30 days for $20, the Walmart special price. TMobile is 3.5GB or 5GB for 60 days at $35 or $50, a lot more generous. I was always worrying about my data usage when my computer would download hundreds of megabytes of data for updates from Microsoft, Adobe, Java and others. With TMobile I have more than enough data and time to cover everything that I do. Also, the price was very reasonable. I paid about $75 for my Virgin Mobile laptop stick at Walmart a couple of years ago vs $49 for the TMobile 4G. I had some trouble setting up the connection but I called the help line and was able to get everything set up. The problem was with the instructions that came with the laptop stick. The instructions said to insert the sim card into the stick by sliding open the cover and note the number on the card but the sim was already in the stick and the instructions only showed a picture of sliding open the cover and it wouldn't budge. I didn't want to force anything so I called the help line and found out there is a tiny, almost invisible slot at the end that has to be pried open to access the sim card. The person then walked me through setting up my account. I would rate the help desk as very good. My only problem, which is probably common to all wireless systems, is when the system gets overloaded, maybe by people watching videos or just too many users. Then the connection gets real slow or times out but it is not quite as bad as Virgin Mobile 3G. When it gets real bad I have to stop what I'm doing and try again later. I've learned to use my TMobile at times other than peak hours for best results. It's too bad that it is just 4G, I've heard that 4G LTE is a lot faster and hopefully less congested.

Was this review helpful? (46) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NinthIsland
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Stay clear of this one
11/30/2012

Customer review by lenzy1000

1.0 stars 11/30/2012 by lenzy1000
by lenzy1000

Buggy software that takes forever to connect and doesn't work even if you have an excellent signal. T-Mobile support is non-existent and nearly impossible to contact. I waited 20 minutes for online chat only to be given a support number that is always busy.

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lenzy1000
Twin Cities, mn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Did not work in my area
3/18/2013

Customer review by Consumer1000000

1.0 stars 3/18/2013 by Consumer1000000
by Consumer1000000

The device did not work in my area dispite the fact that Walmart and the T-Mobile map suggested that it should. A phone call to T-Mobile confirmed this. Returned the device and prepaid card for a 100% refund. I am pleased with the refund, just not the coverage area. I should have called T-Mobile to discuss coverage before I ordered. It seems like a great value if it works in your area.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Consumer1000000
Coaldale, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/18/2012

Customer review by MsBrendaJ

5.0 stars 9/18/2012 by MsBrendaJ
by MsBrendaJ

I am very well satifisfied with the T-Mobile 4G Laptop. So far it has met it's expectations.

Was this review helpful? (12) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsBrendaJ
Navasota, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent value and performance for my needs!
1/11/2013

Customer review by MoJoWorkin

5.0 stars 1/11/2013 by MoJoWorkin
by MoJoWorkin

I purchased the T-Mobile Rocket 4G Laptop Stick at a special year end sale price I could not resist. I plugged it into a USB port on my Windows XP netbook and it instantly installed T-Mobile's Connection Manager software perfectly with no issues. Then I connected to the T-Mobile network to activate it and purchase an Internet data pass. I bought this stick mainly for use on my laptop at airports when I travel. I will use it while waiting for my flight to board or between connections on multi-hop flights. Before making the purchase, I checked T-Mobile's data coverage map at my home and found it to have a so-so, not great rating. Indeed, at my home, I found that it ran at a slow Internet speed like an old dial-up connection. That was not a concern because almost every major airport in the USA has EXCELLENT T-Mobile coverage. You can check out the T-Mobile coverage map at any major airport and you will see it is EXCELLENT. My work office is near a major airport, and as expected this little beauty ran at lightning fast 4G speed in my office. I prefer this device because it is a "pay as you go" with no contract commitment & no monthly charges. If you decide to purchase it, I suggest you spend a little time in the support area of the T-Mobile web site (it's free, won't cost you any data usage) and download the support documents for this device. Then read and get familiar with how the Connect Manager works and how others solved issues you may encounter. There is not much to read, and it won't require more than a couple hours of your time. Most issues I saw were not biggies, and could have been avoided if the user had only taken the time to get familiar with how to use it. Also suggest you Google how to utilize your Internet data efficiently as I did. That way, you get more "bang for the buck" on each Internet data pass you purchase. I promise if you do this, you will have a wonderful trouble free experience with this little beauty on the Internet for your particular need. Looking back, had I known how well this Laptop Stick works, I would have gladly paid the regular price.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MoJoWorkin
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Works on Fort Bragg, NC
3/3/2013

Customer review by Blackhawk10

5.0 stars 3/3/2013 by Blackhawk10
by Blackhawk10

Used this device on Fort Bragg, NC, the airfield, and I get a great signal. Did not want a contract nor monthly charges. This works well and even beats the big contract companies like Verizon and AT&T.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Blackhawk10
FORT BRAGG, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
AT&T just raised my monthly internet charge by $15
1/26/2013

Customer review by Austinbiggirl

4.0 stars 1/26/2013 by Austinbiggirl
by Austinbiggirl

I tried to negotiate a better deal with AT&T for my home internet when the 1 year trial expired - no deal. So I read the reviews on this service and checked my area service map on the T-mobile website. It came via UPS in 3 days and was very easy to install do NOTHING except plug it in. I even had my old AT&T internet connected and no problems with the install at all. I purchased a one week $15.00 pass from Walmart which came promptly via e-mail to give it a try before purchasing one of the 60 day passes. You have to call the activation number, you cannot do it on the T-mobile website as the pin number from Walmart is too short. Once you activate the card you have to go back to the T-mobile site to transfer it into data usage it doesn't do it automatically. Other than that I would have been up and running in under 15 minutes. I live just north of Austin, TX and get three bars and it allows me to view short videos with no problem I have not tried downloading anything longer yet. I would definitely give this a thumbs-up as I see no difference between this and the more expensive AT&T Uverse I had.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Austinbiggirl
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
2/13/2013

Customer review by Sarape

4.0 stars 2/13/2013 by Sarape
by Sarape

I have only used this for about 4 days and each time it has been for about 1 hour. So far so good. I can really appreciate that I am able to connect to internet even in a storage unit when I had to send an email on my laptop.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sarape
Ontario CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Horrible Service
4/12/2013

Customer review by Walmartdotcomshopaholic

1.0 stars 4/12/2013 by Walmartdotcomshopaholic
by Walmartdotcomshopaholic

I'm not sure if its the area I live in or what but this is the most frustrating service I ever had to deal with. I called T-mobile and they gave me courtesy airtime, thank god I would have spent double the money for the stick and the bad service. I took the device back.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Walmartdotcomshopaholic
Clovis, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
T-Mobile 4G Laptop Stick
6/25/2013

Customer review by GA5051

3.0 stars 6/25/2013 by GA5051
by GA5051

I did not get a chance to use this product. T-Mobile wanted to charge a $50.00 deposit to activate this product. I have been with T-Mobile for 10 years, I felt this was not necessary.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GA5051
Glen Allen, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It works!?
1/29/2013

Customer review by YataYata

2.0 stars 1/29/2013 by YataYata
by YataYata

Got Pruduct - wasn't activated! Price to activate (make useful) was quite high. I would not buy another online!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YataYata
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Irritating!
2/21/2013

Customer review by mojayokok

1.0 stars 2/21/2013 by mojayokok
by mojayokok

Do NOT buy this stick if you wish to keep your sanity! I'm stuck with it because, as you know, you're forced into contracts but this thing DROPS constantly. It has a horrible radius. The T-Mobile Stick is the opposite of what the customer is looking for ... do yourself a favor and buy a different one!

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mojayokok
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works Great So Far
5/4/2013

Customer review by mukoy

5.0 stars 5/4/2013 by mukoy
by mukoy

I Have Had the T-Mobile 4G Stick For 1 Week. Some Areas I Get 2G, But When I Get 4G It Works Great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mukoy
Pasco, Wa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/7/2013

Customer review by Travleror

4.0 stars 5/7/2013 by Travleror
by Travleror

I chose it for the price, but the process of loading it with funds for use and monitoring the usage is not easy and makes you think twice on staying with it, and not switching to another company which allows reloading on the website with out calling TWICE or THREE times to get the stick to function. Now if they had roll over minutes, one would not even think twice about changing companies. I imagine the T-Mobil agents also deal with more of there share of I-rate clients trying to get there sticks reloaded. But the products WORKS! the method needs to be more efficient.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Travleror
Opa-Locka,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good price
3/17/2013

Customer review by shiny24

4.0 stars 3/17/2013 by shiny24
by shiny24

its great for a prepaid had a couple problems at first but great after all

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shiny24
tacoma wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
doesn't work with an Android tablet.
6/10/2013

Customer review by Geroblue

1.0 stars 6/10/2013 by Geroblue
by Geroblue

Looks like a good idea, but it doesn't work with an Android tablet. I tried to get it to work on the tablet, nothing. It did start up its connect wizard on my Windows desktop.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Geroblue
D'Iberville, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never