Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 74 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

74 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

5 stars
26
4 stars
19
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 stars
13
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 69 total reviews
Here is all the info you need to set this up
2/27/2013

Customer review by Jason86

5.0 stars by Jason86

Had to create a review for this product, if you're thinking about buying this the first thing you have to do is go to the t-mobile website and load up the coverage map and put in the addresses you are planning to use this device at, if it displays light shades of green then this might not work the best for you so beware. You want to be in a strong 4G coverage area to get good speeds. Make sure you buy the hotspot device from Walmart and not a T-Mobile store/website, or you won't get the extended 60 day use for the $35 and $50 refill cards, if you do a search on the Walmart website for "mobile broadband pass" and look at the $35/$50 T-Mobile cards you'll see in the details that the 60 day time periods are ONLY FOR DEVICES BOUGHT FROM WALMART. If you bought the hotspot from anywhere else you'll only get 30 days, T-Mobile will know where you bought it from by looking at your account and seeing the IMEI number from the device, Walmart ones have unique IMEI's. When it comes to buying the refill cards, you can either buy them directly from the Walmart website using e-mail delivery so you get it right away and then can activate the PIN sent to your e-mail whenever you'd like, or you can login to your t-mobile account and buy the pass directly from them which will activate it right away. Also, when you buy the cards they are not activated until you activate the code from it, and you can activate the code from your t-mobile account. AND YES, YOUR T-MOBILE ACCOUNT WILL AUTOMATICALLY DETECT THE IMEI NUMBER FROM THE DEVICE and will know if it's from Walmart or not, if it detects that you bought it from Walmart the $35 (60 day or 3.5GB) and $50 (60 day or 5GB) passes will automatically show up for you to purchase instead of the 30 day ones. You simply login to your t-mobile account and click on Manage then go to Passes. If you need help I'll post all the links below that will have all the info you need, hopefully they are not filtered out. http://support.t-mobile.com/docs/DOC-1936 http://support.t-mobile.com/docs/DOC-4829 http://www.walmart.com/ip/T-Mobile-35-Prepaid-Mobile-Broadband-Pass-Email-Delivery/21191046 http://www.walmart.com/ip/T-Mobile-50-Prepaid-Mobile-Broadband-Pass-Email-Delivery/21191047

Was this review helpful? (332) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jason86
Colorado Springs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
I don't like unreliable wifi, but love MiFi
8/15/2012

Customer review by 2chuck

5.0 stars by 2chuck

I bought this 3 weeks ago and took it on vacation. It worked in the car en-route and provided internet access to my Itouch and Kindle. I've used it with my Itouch to Face Time Video with friends with Ipads. When I checked in at my destination I was informed that my apartment does not receive their free wifi due to obstacles, but no other rooms were available. I fired up my Mifi and am getting 4 to 6 mbps download speeds on my laptop. I placed it on the balcony where it gets the best signal, but it was hot and humid outside. I am sitting inside the condo with air conditioning, but I get a strong signal through the glass patio door. I've been doing a moderate amount of internet surfing, but no video, and I've only used 500mb in one week. I am so glad I bought this. It's the perfect cure for unreliable wifi. There have been so many times at Hotels that I could only get wifi in the Lobby, now I can connect in my room.

Was this review helpful? (247) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
2chuck
Atlanta,Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
All Perfect
11/20/2012

Customer review by Bossusa

5.0 stars by Bossusa

Purchased the the hotspot from Wal-Mart with $35 prepaid data plan for Nexus 7. Perfect on the road. I have installed nexus 7 in my car, and together with hotspot it performs very well. Easy registration, I do see 60 day 3.5gb on my account. I am in NYC, perfect connection, no drop in WIFI. Make sure to purchase the hotspot from Wal-Mart to get $35 3.5gb 60 day plan. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (123) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Bossusa
Forest Hills
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Slight activation problem
6/19/2013

Customer review by QuincyJack

4.0 stars by QuincyJack

Since my local Walmart does not carry this product, I bought it online at walmart.com and had it shipped to the store for pick-up. When I went to activate the hotspot and had entered all my info, it gave an error message that it could not be activated online and that I needed to call T-mobile. Once I got through to a live person and read them the sim card #, the rep told me that I had to return to the store that I had purchased the hotspot and have it scanned to allow for activation. So back to walmart. Luckily I found a knowledgeable salesperson that understood the problem. Basically had to return the item for a credit and then re purchase it and have it properly scanned. Got home and activation was a breeze. So if you buy from walmart.com and have it shipped to a store, make sure you open the shipping box and have the product scanned to allow activation.

Was this review helpful? (42) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
QuincyJack
Quincy, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
T-mobile coverage maps not for data
12/2/2013

Customer review by anonymousmichigan

1.0 stars by anonymousmichigan

Mostly works in a major metro area (Detroit / Auburn Hills) . I bought this for travel. I carefully entered zip codes for all areas I normally visit and checked T-Mobile coverage before I purchased it. I was pleasantly surprised to learn that there was claimed coverage pretty much everywhere I like to go. I also bought 5 GB data for $50.00 US. Then I actually started to travel. The Hotspot turns on and never stops searching for signal. Everywhere I want to go - No 4G, No 3g, not even EDGE. Nothing. I went to a Mc Donalds and used their free wifi to look up T-Mobile and I called them. I remained courteous, but I still go the runaround for nearly an hour, being transferred from person to person. Finally I reached someone who told me that the coverage was on rented towers, and that data was not available on rented towers. Bottom line - they (T-Mobile) lie about the coverage, and the hotspot is essentially worthless for my needs. My advice is don't buy this if you want to use it outside of major metro areas.

Was this review helpful? (47) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
anonymousmichigan
michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/15/2012

Customer review by missmary2409

2.0 stars by missmary2409

Please make sure your area covers 4g , My area does not ... And Two , It keeps turning off on me when I get on with my computer...

Was this review helpful? (78) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
missmary2409
mechanicsburg, pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excellent Speed
12/28/2012

Customer review by DrTJM

5.0 stars by DrTJM

Exceptional speed and decent 4G coverage. The unit is over 10 times the speed of my 3G unit (a different carrier). The per Meg cost is not extreme, but there are several different plans for the no contract use. The no contract data plans are priced competitively with the long term contract data plans of competitors. I recommend the units. I bought one for myself to test the speed, features, and reliability and then bought two more units as Christmas gifts for relatives who are in areas where DSL and cable internet access is not available (much more economical than satellite internet plans).

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DrTJM
US 46, Terre Haute, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A great option instead of using AT&T & Verizon 4G
12/24/2012

Customer review by CWOcody

5.0 stars by CWOcody

After signing up with T- Mobile website , it was a breeze to use. T-Moblie rates for 4G broadband is much better than AT&T and Verizon. Works great with my iPad and netbook with no connection problems. You can also tether it straight to your netbook/Laptop with the USB cable or use it as WIFI Hotspot. Awesome product!

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CWOcody
Fredericksburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect item
9/12/2012

Customer review by Paneuropean

5.0 stars by Paneuropean

I use it to hve an internet access occasionnaly without annual plan when comming on vacation. Easy to install. Easy to use. Works perfectly. What else ?

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Paneuropean
Scottsdales, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The device works well
4/4/2013

Customer review by GS224

4.0 stars by GS224

I read some good reviews about this T-Mobile 4G Hotspot and compared with devices by other companies. Local stores didn't carry this so I ordered one online. It arrived in two days. But I couldn't activate the device. I called T-Mobile and was told that the device was not scan activated at the time it was sent out. I took it to the local Walmart and found the same answer. Had to return it right there. Bad experience. Further search turned out that one Walmart store a little further away had it. So I bought it there and it was activated immediately in the parking lot. It works like a charm. We can have several computers, iPad, iPhone connected in the house. For speed, I didn't feel much difference with cable internet connection. The $35 card gets 3.5GB data or lasts two months. It's good for travel. The battery does not last very long if connected. But I can always plug it in. It's worth the money. I would recommend this device.

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
GS224
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor Customer Service
11/22/2013

Customer review by joro65

1.0 stars by joro65

The device works great, until you have a problem. T-mobile's customer service is probably the worst I've ever encountered. No one seems to be able to help and you end up being caught in a transfer cycle that never ends. After a total of 5 hours on the phone over two days I've given up and will find an alternative.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
joro65
Palm Springs, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BIG BROTHER IS WATCHING BEWARE BEFORE BUYING
4/2/2013

Customer review by BLACKBIRDHAVEN

1.0 stars by BLACKBIRDHAVEN

This has a automatic WEBGUARD that strickly limits your access to websites in order to disable you must provide a ssn which I refuse to do! It is pureily censorship it will not let you view any websites that they don't approve of this includes reglious websites, political websites, youtube videos that may have even the smallest thing in it maybe someone kissing, or smoking a cigarette. You wouldnt even be able to read this review with it! BIG BROTHER AT HIS FINEST!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (27) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BLACKBIRDHAVEN
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works great, and easy to use.
8/22/2013

Customer review by WMShopper104

5.0 stars by WMShopper104

I am getting a download speed of between 4 and 6 mbps consistently in the Raleigh area. Although I have not attempted to do streaming of videos, this speed is more than adequate for all I do. My main use is to listen to Pandora in the car while driving. I use Pandora on my iPad and send the audio signal to my car's stereo system. It works flawlessly, and I am finding that it uses much less data than I had thought. I don't think I will be able to use up the entire 3.5 GB in 60 days just from using Pandora in the car. One or two other reviews here mentioned Webguard, which is a web site filtering service to which this device subscribes by default. Webguard can easily be turned off—permanently or temporarily—via the web interface built into the device. (Browse to http://mobile.hotspot while connected, to get to the hotspot's web interface.) The device itself is delightfully small and unobtrusive. I carry it around in a spare hard-shell eyeglass case I found in my drawer. It fits perfectly, and is completely protected. Great setup—100% portable and protected. I am very pleased with this unit, and with Walmart's deal with T-Mobile where you can get 3.5 GB of data over 60 days for $35, rather than T-Mobile's standard rate of $30 for 2.5 GB over only 30 days. Walmart gives you more data for less cost and for a longer period of time, using the same T-Mobile network. (However, as other reviewers have pointed out, to get this deal, the hotspot must be one purchased from Walmart. The T-Mobile web site where you manage your account and register your product will be looking for that special Walmart serial number.)

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
WMShopper104
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hard to get activated correctly
11/21/2013

Customer review by budgetyguy

4.0 stars by budgetyguy

I have been using this same product for about a year and a half. I have been happy with the device. It works (where it has coverage) for home internet, and internet on the go. My free wifi VOIP phone only works when I get 3 or more bars on 4G. I use an antenna to boost signal at home. I am playing about $17.50 a month for 1.75G data. I am low budget, and I like it. When T-mobile changed their billing rates I realized i needed to buy the "walmart version" to get the lower data rate and lower pricing offered only on the Walmart purchased device. I bought this and the $35 prepaid card. There were a few phone numbers to call to activiate. The card phone says you need a "phone number for the hotspot" for billing, etc. I called T-mobile. I told them I read the walamrt blogs about activation. I said please register this as a walmart device. 1st try was wrong-registered as a T-mobile device ($35 only last 1 month instead of 2). Called T-mobile back again to fix the next day. They said I had tyo go to walmart to get walmart to call it in and request if beign purchased at walmart. Supervisor at T-mobile said same thing. Did not want to see my reciepts, etc. Did that. T-mobile told walmart I could re-buy it, or wait 72 hours to get the Device ID changed. After 48 hours I decided to call and make sure something else did not go wrong. Spoke to Kevin at T-mobile and he said with the hotsport usage web site (manage my acct) was not working correctly at T-Mobile many things got messed up. Site is still down but you can call to get usage status. He fixed everything and confirmed that my hotspot was a walmart version. Things are back working again, and I am happy.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
budgetyguy
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gets the job done !
3/27/2013

Customer review by VinceOfIslandJams

4.0 stars by VinceOfIslandJams

I live in Socal and ordered online delivery....after waiting a week, it finally came so I went on Tmobile's site and discovered that when I selected the $35/3.5Gb-60day plan (on T-mobile.com) , They added tax to the pre-finalized transaction. ... so I read some advice on another (walmart)review and instead, bought the tmobile $35 Mobile Broadband Prepaid Pass from Walmart.com and was not charged for tax...Hooray ! The unit works fine and appears to go on a standby mode (when exiting wi-fi mode from my tablet) which displays "X" users instead of between 0 - 5 users. Very nice.....when I'm ready to use it again , I press the power button and it switches back from "X" users to "0"..then back to "1" when i go back on wifi mode on my tablet. I would recommend this to anyone intending to get supplemental wi-fi service for their mobile devices(except for streaming media or uploading/downloading as the data will deplete quickly )while away from a home or business network. kudos !

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
VinceOfIslandJams
Cerritos, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/12/2012

Customer review by dcoburn4

3.0 stars by dcoburn4

this does work but, not what i expected i have had fast internet but if you remember the first over phone lines that is what this experence is like. it takes 2 minutes to go from one page to another. it's better than not having but it is slow.

Was this review helpful? (25) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
dcoburn4
sulphur ok
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Ok for basic internet access
12/1/2013

Customer review by sparkyfoxy

1.0 stars by sparkyfoxy

Purchased this device to provide a 4G Hotspot for several wireless webcams to monitor my house for extended absences. Pros: Expected speed for area "not in 4G area" Cons: T-Mobile disabled any firewall settings by default on this device making it impossible to forward any required ports for the cameras or any other web-servers. this device has every port blocked so forget any special requirements from common programs or games, also forget about any chance of using VPN. Help from T-mobile website just shows you how to use the "firewall settings" to set this up these features even though they have disabled that option on this device. If you just need basic internet/email for your computer, tablet and phone this should work fine just forget any more advance features. Wish the device didn't say it was connected to 4G when its not. Walmart returned with no hassel

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sparkyfoxy
Warner Robins, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
60 day Expiration on refill cuts cost in half!
12/24/2012

Customer review by SoloSocrates

5.0 stars by SoloSocrates

Make sure you have good t-mobile signal in your area and you are good to go! Download speeds range from 2.5 mbps to 7mbps depending on location and time of day. Good for 480p and 720p video streaming.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SoloSocrates
WINTER PARK, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works very well
10/15/2012

Customer review by Multihost

4.0 stars by Multihost

Bought this 3 weeks ago. Activated and used for 2 weeks. So far it does everything as expected. I keep it on for most of the day with light use and battery keeps OK.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Multihost
Jersey City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works everywhere
1/25/2013

Customer review by MUMatt

5.0 stars by MUMatt

I originally purchased this device for use with my netbook. I didn't have access to an Internet hook up and this fit the bill perfectly. Since then I've used it all over the Midwest and South and it always gets a signal. It also connects easily to my computer and it always delivers 4G speed. The battery lasts a reasonable amount of time and recharges quickly. In short, this handy device has been a lifesaver!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MUMatt
Fort Myers, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 69 total reviews