Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4out of 5 stars
4 out of 5 | 421 reviews
5 stars
216
4 stars
118
3 stars
24
2 stars
9
1 stars
54
Sort by: 
1-20 of 299 reviews
1-20 of 299 reviews
What a great value - just perfect - Power to spare
5/6/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Our 10 year old Win XP had become very slow and outdated and when MS announced they will no longer support XP we knew we had to replace our aging computer, but we did not really want an iPad or a tablet. We did not want Win 8 and so our search revealed Wal-Mart sells refurbished Windows 7 Desktops. We wanted storage and RAM: With Win 7 Pro, 1TB hard drive, 4GB RAM and a Super fast processor, the Dell GX740 seemed the ideal choice coming in at only $258 w/free site to store shipping - much less than buying a brand new one! No brainer for me. We opened the box, examined and inspected the CPU (there were a few minor blemishes on the case, but I was most interested in performance, willing to overlook a couple battle scars knowing all new parts were inside) and after following the enclosed easy to understand instructions and connecting it to 19" HD TV, using the included mouse and keyboard, we were up, running and connected to our printer and the internet in less than 30 minutes!!! It's been running 24/7 for over a week with no problems. I love Win 7 because it recognized all my devices for easy setup and my wife loves it because this computer is so fast and easy to use. If you are a first timer or looking to replace your existing setup this is the most "bang for your buck" you'll find. Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Outstanding value for price paid
9/2/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I saw all of the reviews on this refurbished Dell Optiplex and all other consumer reviews and decided this was the new system to replace my aging older Dell tower. I added a 250 Gig SSD hard drive and kept the 1 Terabyte Hard drive in the tower for back up files. With the 4 Gig memory on the motherboard and SSD along with an added Dual antenna PCI WIFI card, plus Windows 7, 32 Bit Pro, this is 20 times quicker and more reliable than my old system. My boot up speed on my old system was approximately 5 minutes. This is approximately 30 seconds. I had purchased a Trendnet Mini Wireless N Speed USB Adapter from Walmart but will be returning it as it really is better suited to a lap top and was cutting out too often. Walmart has always been great on returns and satisfaction so I feel very re-assured on being able to return the USB Adapter without any hassles.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best decission you can ever make.
7/24/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was reluctant to purchase a refurbished PC and it was better than a new one. easy to load and everything works extremely well! I even received software disks (which I did not need to use). I will continue to look for similar items in the future.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (231)No (15)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for whole family.
9/7/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have a laptop that I use for home and work. But the rest of my family, husband, 2 sons, 2 daughter-in-laws and a (6 yr old) grandson use this desktop daily. The hard drive is big enough so that everyone can save their own music , pictures and even movies on their own profile. Plus the processor is fast. This desktop has been well worth the money, easily as good as much more expensive models. Highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/23/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It seems to have a few minor slow opening programs, but overall it serves the purpose that is needed. I actually think that it was a better choice than buying a new "generic" computer because of the extra memory and storage available with this unit.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (72)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Probably the most computer you can get for the $
3/30/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Scanning the reviews before I placed an order made me realize that buyers of this particular product from this particular seller have had one of two experiences: either they get exactly what they order and it's fantastic, or they get something they didn't order and returning it is a nightmare. For my part, I got exactly what I ordered and it seems fantastic - I get a little wary about reviewing tech so shortly after purchase, but the machine performs admirably right now. Essentially, you have to decide for yourself whether it's worth the gamble; if you win (and it seems most do) you get a very powerful machine for less than the cheapest piece of junk they stock in the store. All the specs check out. The one caveat, if you consider it one, is that the included USB keyboard and mouse are very flimsy; but I suppose you could argue that they didn't have to include one at all and it would still be a good value. I was mildly annoyed that all peripherals are USB, so I had to use the cheap included keyboard instead of my awesome (but older) one that had the older 5-pin connection. All in all, I did the research and I believe that this was the most computer I could get for my money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/22/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Wanted a low priced desk top to replace my old one. This computer is fast and works well. It has excellent specs. for the money. The only problem is that it does not have any Microsoft office software with it. So if you want to write letters or do any type of work with it, you will need to buy the software. If you just want to surf the web, this computer is fine.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (90)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Super fast and Great Buy!
10/21/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I replaced a 5 year old computer, I purchased this one because of the memory...I wanted faster brousing capabilities and more storage for pictures and larger programs. What I didn't expect was the amazing speed at which my photo editing program now works. I am on this program almost daily and things that nearly took a half hour or more (multiple uploadings) now are instant. So needless to say I love this computer.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
11/9/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was a little skeptical about choosing a refurbished unit but now I am convinced it is as good as a new one but at a fraction of the cost. I jumped from XP to 7 and in a short time I was up and running. It is the most user friendly computer.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Computer for the price
9/7/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have always had very good luck with refurbished computers and this one was no exception. It performs flawlessly. I would recommend this to anyone..
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A real bargain
11/7/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I am loving this machine. Small footprint either laying flat or upright - the way I have it. It is very quiet and lots faster than my previous HP. This one has 1 terabyte of storage and 4 gigs of memory. Everything set up easily. I don't think I will ever buy "new" again. Refurbished is the way to go.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent computer, excellent price!
7/6/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was a little skeptical at first but am very happy with this computer. I would definatly recommend it to any and all whom are looking for a great computer at an affordable price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (61)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don't order it
7/27/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I worked with it for an hour, c alled for help and got it started, then it would not restart. I reinstalled twice and spent dozens of hours. I couldn't get it to work. I called for help on the weekend. Shop was closed. Called on Monday was referred to a mailbox which said that it was full. Bad product and service. I took it back to Walmart on Monday afternoon and bought a new one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Okay machine.
11/6/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought 2 of these and 1 worked fine the other was LOUD! the vendor (a 3rd party -not walmart) is slow to respond. Works fine for light internet and office functions. Also it came with the 32 bit version of windows... No idea why. A few dings and paint issues nothing big. if your looking for new and awesome this is not the machine. If you want something for around the office this will work fine.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Desktop!
11/2/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was kind of leery to buy a refurbished desktop because I had a bad experience in the past with a refurbished product. But I trusted Walmart to make sure I was a satisfied customer. The desktop is great. I did have to re-install Windows though.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
9/20/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It took me a while to make the decision to buy a refurbished product, I am happy I bought it, so far it is doing an excellent job. I am loving it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
excellent quality / low price
7/16/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was needing a new tower for my children's computer setup. I didn't need a new monitor or anything. Purchased this, got it set up, wow... Lightning fast, amazing 1tb hard drive. Piece of cake. Will be purchasing another to replace my own aging desktop in a few weeks. Good product and good refurbishment.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great deal
10/17/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
More computer than i'll ever need, at a value that can't be beat. I wouldn't have known it was refurbished, (clean, neatly packaged) except that 2 buttons on the keyboards wouldnt work. Called customer service and had a new keyboard in 2 days.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great computer for twice the price
9/25/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very nice refurbished computer. It's more powerful and faster than the original. The only negative comment I would have is the key board and mouse are very low quality.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Joy systems tech support takes care of you !!!!
10/2/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had a bit of a problem with a regestration at microsoft and Angie < the tech when I emailed my phone to Joy Systems called me back and worked with me and my wife until we got the number code right and it regersted it with Microsoft the problem turned out to be my 72 year old eyes could not get the right order and number . and they still treated us like famialy and made sure we were happy with our Wall mart purchese and made sure we could call them anytime we had any kind of problem. I will share this with you my next Email from Joy Systems the very next day was from the manager of the tech group saying his system thanked me for calling them to help and that way they could see the problems in the eyes of there custermers
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640658, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-