Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 132 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

132 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

132 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
86
4 stars
26
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 stars
10
1-20 of 131 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 131 total reviews
1-20 of 131 reviews
Much Better Than I Expected
7/31/2013

Customer review by s2wallbird

5.0 stars 7/31/2013 by s2wallbird
by s2wallbird

Tired of our outrageous cable bill and sad selection of shows, we decided to cut the cable. We have Netflix, Hulu, and other options that are much cheaper, but we were missing the local channels. I bought this antenna, not expecting too much due to the low price, our aluminum sided house, our hilly terrain, and the distance from the transmitters (apx 30 miles). But I did get it as there were some encouraging reviews. I'm not disappointed! Sure... it had to be assembled, but it wasn't difficult. Most of the pieces snap together, and yes, it appears flimsy. But that's how a lot of antennas are! They're not a single piece carved out of a solid chunk of aluminum! Don't be discouraged by those who said it is difficult to put together. Take your time, and it isn't. As I didn't know if it would work or not, I carried a TV (of course, not a big one!) up into the attic and hooked it up there for testing. I didn't want to run coax only to find it didn't work! I used the compass to find the general direction of the transmitters I wanted (see TV Fool for how to do this). I hung it from the center of the roof in a position where it would point out the side of the roof, and not through the aluminum siding in the front of the house. Turned on the TV... ran the auto scan for channels, and immediately received 22 digital channels!! Sure, there are some we will not watch, but we received all the ones we were missing. Again... this is attic mounted, and 30 miles from the transmitters through some hilly terrain. Also, no rotation necessary for my stations. I would highly recommend this product! BTW... before doing this, I called a company that installs antennas, and they said it would cost between $300 and $400 to install an antenna and get it working, and they weren't sure if I would have any reception due to our location.

Was this review helpful? (155) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
s2wallbird
Lancaster, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GE Attic Mount Antenna
7/12/2012

Customer review by factor60

5.0 stars 7/12/2012 by factor60
by factor60

After purchasing a 32 inch flat screen for our 3 season porch and hooking it up to the existing rabbit ears already up high in the attic I realized I was missing a few channels (PBS and CBS). I thought I would give this antenna a chance, the price was good and it seemed simple enough. Assembly is straightforward although there are a lot of small parts, took me approximately 30 minutes. After the install I was very happy to get the channels I was missing previously. The picture is excellent on all the major channels but there is some pixeling and pausing on a couple of other channels (weaker broadcast strength I assume). I live approximately 25 miles East of a large city, quite rural, lot's of trees. I placed it in the attic as high as I could. I'd have to say that this unit delivered quite nicely. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? (103) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
factor60
Lowell, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Replaces the standard swept-wing outdoor antenna
7/4/2013

Customer review by blessedThang

5.0 stars 7/4/2013 by blessedThang
by blessedThang

There are many variables with OTA broadcast capture, ie distance, terrain, TV equipment. But, for me I have a new LED flatscreen and I didn't want to pay for cable basically because cable bundles too much stuff I never want. Having said that, I tried an old swept-wing antenna in the attic and got too much snow in the picture. Futhermore, I did not pick up 2 stations. Moving the swept-wing into the garage and I had all the available channels with a bright picture and sharp on the HD broadcasters. Not so much on the HD secondary channels. I was faced with mounting a mast on the roof and running 40 feet of coax cable to get the massive swept-wing out of my garage. I tried the flat box indoor antenna. Took that back. I spotted the GE Attic Mount and decided to try it. Assembly wasn't that hard. I took the coax cable from the swept-wing and attached to the GE AMA. It worked. Very sharp picture, but slightly dark. Mounted the GE antenna in the attic and got the best picture reception out of all of my attenna experiments

Was this review helpful? (54) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blessedThang
Amarillo, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
spot on performance for the price
11/14/2012

Customer review by electromagneticalunatic

5.0 stars 11/14/2012 by electromagneticalunatic
by electromagneticalunatic

no need for an attic i mounted it on a microphone stand extended to ceiling height ground floor in my house 11 inch block walls nomatter though did four scans n,e,s,w. 26 channels all hdsurround. 3 channels are over 35 miles away 2 are over 70 miles away. i live in central ill. i get terrahaute ind. st.loius. indy. peoria.ill. plus the regs. within a 40 mile range. i think the people who did'nt like this product don't really understand how to use them correctly or use the signal meter on they're tuner. u find your station check your capture rate and adjust if needed. i must say, the picture quality is better than anything i've seen i swear i'm watching a dvd. football games look like i can reach in a touch the players. my advice is do your home work on using antennas and getting good capture rates maybe a signal booster if needed but i'm getting reception like this inside a brick house i can't imagine what the attic or outdoors would be like but hey i'm allready getting everything in my area and then some. so i'll end on this cut the cable . along with sat tv aswell. the air is free and so are the signals. so go get them and enjoy your money on better things then paying to watch tv.

Was this review helpful? (67) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
electromagneticalunatic
blue mound, IL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/23/2012

Customer review by yooperintx

5.0 stars 8/23/2012 by yooperintx
by yooperintx

Bought this antenna after purchasing a new HDTV. Old antenna was only getting a few channels and was missing most of the ones I wanted. Tried installing old antenna in attic but got even fewer channels than when it was downstairs. Looked at available antennas on-line and went to Wal Mart to buy one, they did not have the one I had chosen so "settled" for this one. It was easy to put together and install. It is a directional antenna so must be pointed toward the broadcast antennas. All in our area are 34 miles south on the other side of Houston. When I scanned for channels, it came up with 93, including one that is not on the channel list at AntennaWeb.org. Very impressed with this antenna. Even hooked up a second TV to it without any loss of signal.

Was this review helpful? (27) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yooperintx
Spring, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Looks nice but does not perform
7/1/2012

Customer review by dancin2nite

1.0 stars 7/1/2012 by dancin2nite
by dancin2nite

After quitting cable, we decided to buy one of these today bcs we only have 1 set with rabbit ears-but the reception is not good. We only get about 30% on our digital converter. We get better reception with the rabbit ears at 74%! So, it will be returned tomorrow!

Was this review helpful? (68) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dancin2nite
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Picking up Dallas area stations from Rowlett!
9/3/2012

Customer review by AntennaWiz

5.0 stars 9/3/2012 by AntennaWiz
by AntennaWiz

Hello my neighbors! I cut the "cable" this month and picked up this antenna and installed it in my attic today. Works like a champ! In a nutshell, I receive these channels: 4, 5, 8, 11, 13-1/13-2 (my favorites), 27, 68 and several others I don't really care about. All these channels come in without any power amplifiers. I live in a two-story house and is pointed generally south-west from where I live (towards the TV stations). I don't know what more I can say but I'm pretty happy with the ease of installation and quality of channels I'm receiving. As compared to cable, this thing will pay for itself over and over! Now if we could figure out how to get rid of ads and commercials! Hope this review helped!

Was this review helpful? (71) (42)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AntennaWiz
Rowlett, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Exceeds Expectations
7/23/2014

Customer review by shanesny

5.0 stars 7/23/2014 by shanesny
by shanesny

I had done quite a bit of searching before deciding on the GE Attic Mount Antenna. I live 30 miles from the closest antenna farm. I wanted an antenna that would physically fit in my attic (there's no way I wanted to put anything on my roof) but still perform well even though its attic placement would restrict its ability to pick up signal. Ultimately, I decided on this antenna because of the price and previous good reviews. According to the FCC I should be able to pick up 38 channels in my location… I was able to pick up 48 crystal clear digital channels and 1 analog channel (which is also very clear). Even though the GE Attic Mount Antenna is an omni-directional antenna (it only picks up signals from the direction it is pointed in) I was still able to pick up three addititional channels that are pretty much in the opposite direction (pointed 117 degrees ESE, still able to pick up channels from 349 degrees NNW). Definitely recommending this product. I'm a fan.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shanesny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
no kidding
7/16/2012

Customer review by Thomasssssss

1.0 stars 7/16/2012 by Thomasssssss
by Thomasssssss

well depending i guess where u are reception may be different , but for me i lost 3 channels with this product. i also have signals coming from 3 different directions . but product not easy to put together took me 1/2 hour then i had to put it in the attic , i almost broke it doing that. if u r going to go to all the work of putting a antenna in ur attic find something better, i returned it a week later and put another antenna (rca same price) in the same spot and bingo reception improved by 50% and i got all my channels. do not buy this DO NOT BUY THIS if u need to know where ur signals come from and how far antennaweb.org is great for that

Was this review helpful? (42) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thomasssssss
GRANTS PASS OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
You've got to try it.
2/11/2013

Customer review by OhioMom822

5.0 stars 2/11/2013 by OhioMom822
by OhioMom822

I got tired of paying almost $100.00 a month to watch re-runs and junk on cable and only 6-8 new episodes of my shows a year. Best Buy has some fancy antennas, but they charge a restocking fee. I very reluctlantly bought this antenna from Walmart for less than $37.00, figuring I could just return it if it didn't work. We now get 35 crystal clear channels! I didn't even know we had that many in the Cleveland Suburbs. I am about 15 miles away from the closest station. It took about 30 minutes to assemble the array, but it was simple. We just disconnected the incoming cable line in the attic and connected the array to the existing splitter, so all 4 of our tv's get the signal. We set it on the rafters in the attic. We didn't have to move it around or anything, it was so easy. I am kicking myself for the $1200.00 a year we paid for cable for so many years. We also subscribed to Netflix through our wireless blu-ray player we bought from Walmart for (about $79.00). We pay $7.95 a month for Netflix, and we can watch all of our regular shows just 1 to 8 days after they premier on the cable channels, and when watching full seasons Netflix keeps track of where you left off so you don't forget which episodes you already watched.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OhioMom822
North Olmsted, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wasn't expecting much but this thing delivered!
4/22/2013

Customer review by wwalker

5.0 stars 4/22/2013 by wwalker
by wwalker

I've never written a product review on this site but just had to becasue I was so impressed by this thing. I live 50+ miles away from the OTA stations I was hoping to receive. My local Walmart was out of the external antennas so I gave this one a shot. Directions for assembly were pretty bad but once it was together I plugged it in inside my home and instantly received about 10 HD quality signals! Installed on the leftover Dish network (so long $90+ a month) pole connected to my roof and pointed towards the stations I wanted. Note: Each time you split the signal (if you are running to more than one TV) you suffer a signal loss. That would be true with any antenna though even if it cost a $1000, so try to keep your splits to a minimum. I have it going to 2 TVs without a problem but am concerned on quality signal with connecting a 3rd. That's not a knock on this antenna by any means, just may have to add an amplifier. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised with this product!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wwalker
Texarkana, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
More channels than any other antenna tried.
4/12/2014

Customer review by CharlesTech

5.0 stars 4/12/2014 by CharlesTech
by CharlesTech

The last antenna I tried GE Amplified Antenna (http://www.walmart.com/ip/GE-Amplified-Antenna/20976616) got me 11 channels about 26 miles away according to tvfool.com, but I wasn't getting all the channels I wanted, so I got the GE Attic Mount Antenna(http://www.walmart.com/ip/GE-Attic-Mount-Antenna/20976617) which I mounted to the wall in my room. I now have 26 channels the farthest being 52.1 miles away. After mounting the antenna in the attic it gets 45 channels the farthest being 77.9 miles. I am very happy I get all the channels I wanted plus some.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from Tech Support - 5/20/2014

CharlesTech,<br />Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the attic antenna. I am glad to hear that the antenna is receiving so many channels for you. Jasco Products Tech Suport(Manufacturer)<br />contact: http://www.jascoproducts.com/contactus/index.asp<br />phone number: 1-800-654-8483 option 1

CharlesTech
Monument, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does what it says.
9/25/2014

Customer review by NoviceInstaller

5.0 stars 9/25/2014 by NoviceInstaller
by NoviceInstaller

If you're thinking of cutting the cable and want to try an antenna, goto tvfool.com and have it lookup your address to find the strongest stations in a list of descending order...this will give you an idea of what stations you'll pull in. It also graphs the patterns of stations on a compass so you can get an idea of what direction to aim the antenna. If there are stations over 25 miles away this antenna will get you up to 60 miles. I also purchased the $15.95 signal booster/amplifier to maximize fringe station signal strength. There are 30 stations 40 miles away from me and they all come in crystal clear. I may get even more once I raise the antenna from the attic floor to a higher point near the peak.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NoviceInstaller
Plaistow, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Great air antenna
9/26/2012

Customer review by SANDSPIKE

5.0 stars 9/26/2012 by SANDSPIKE
by SANDSPIKE

I needed a back up antenna for RCA HD flat screen and decided to try this one. Easy to assemble and to my surprise worked much better than I expected. On my first channel scan found 35 channels and at least twenty five have very good picture quallity and no tiling and breaking. Some of the through the air channels I don't get with the cable system on the den set. I did fudge somewhat and did some re-inforcing to make it an outside mount. So far no problems and the reception is fantastic for me.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SANDSPIKE
Pinnacle, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does the job!
10/9/2012

Customer review by iterrones

5.0 stars 10/9/2012 by iterrones
by iterrones

It works perfect, takes about 30 min to assemble. I live in a major city but was not getting good reception with rabbit ears, but this antenna picks up ALL the channels, perfect picture and I did not have to adjust it or move it to get a good reception. You can't go wrong with this $40 dollar antenna.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iterrones
Houston,Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Can not believe it works
6/28/2013

Customer review by Jjennifer

5.0 stars 6/28/2013 by Jjennifer
by Jjennifer

I live in the country and have tried everything. I now have almost all the over the airch annels. Im 45 plus miles away from the broadcast towers. Give it a try. Glad I did.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jjennifer
Alexandria TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/20/2013

Customer review by RockNTodd

5.0 stars 1/20/2013 by RockNTodd
by RockNTodd

I had to write a review on this product because I'm so impressed. GREAT antenna! I fired my cable company because I'm streaming with ROKU. So I needed a way to get local channels in the metro Phoenix area. I bought this antenna and mounted it in my attic. Picked up 43 local digital television stations. (Of couse only about 20 interest me.) The antenaa gives super HD reception. Keep in mind I'm about 18 miles from South Mountain where most of the local tv towers are located. I just pointed the antenna towards South Mountain and connected up through the exsisting coax cable lines used for the cable tv. Did not even use a amplifier. You may need an amp if connecting muliple tv's. Everything needed comes with the antenna for installation and mounting. No need to buy any mounting hardware. I'm through getting ripped off by the cable tv companies. Streaming and free local tv. ALRIGHT!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RockNTodd
Chandler, AZ.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Basic Cable in HD for free!
11/1/2013

Customer review by Luap46

5.0 stars 11/1/2013 by Luap46
by Luap46

I bought this on a whim after my cable company scrambled the HD broadcast signals and wanted an additional 9.99 per month to receive HD. I didn't expect much from this antenna but thought it was worth experimenting since I only have basic cable with broadcast stations. I mounted it in my attached garage attic and feed my house cable TV wiring. To my surprise, I get all the stations in Boston which are over 50 miles away plus Portland, ME. I needed to add an amplifier to boost the weaker stations. The picture is excellent, I get more stations than I did with basic cable, I can now use the full functionality of my TV like the on screen program info, and it's free instead of $35 per month. I should have done this years ago.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Luap46
Southern, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Did the job well and cheaply
6/21/2014

Customer review by commonsortofguy

5.0 stars 6/21/2014 by commonsortofguy
by commonsortofguy

Couldn't believe it. Got both "local" stations (about 35 miles) and 3 others about 40- 50 miles away which were about 90 degrees from the direction it was finally set at. All stations except one are in the green (good) on my signal monitor and the one exception is very close to green. Much better than the other rectangular-shaped one I was previously using. It has a very versatile mounting bracket. GE seems to have really done their homework on this one. My wife is now a happy camper. It doesn't appear to be real sturdy, but who cares when it is up in the attic? I ended up hanging it upside down from the rafters so I put a pipe clamp on the mast to be sure that, if the clamp provided for the mast came loose, it wouldn't slide off the mast and fall to the floor. However, the first location I tried where the line of sight to the 2 local stations was blocked by my chimney passing thru the attic, didn't work well.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
commonsortofguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Impressed, Excellent Value
7/4/2013

Customer review by wiwtsf

5.0 stars 7/4/2013 by wiwtsf
by wiwtsf

Compared this to a couple of other antennas, including that sleek "mud flap" design that costs twice as much, and this thing blew the doors off the others. Setup: clamped to a microphone stand and facing the wall in my 2nd floor apartment, and I was getting all of the major networks from 2 nearby cities. I then added a $12 antenna amplifier and got several more useful channels! Love it! BTW, I have been discovering that antenna placement and orientation really, really matter (with any antenna design), so spend a little time finding the right spot, height, and angle. Just hold the antenna in your hand and slowly point it this way and that and see what happens. You might find that what seemed like an obvious position (near a window) isn't always the best spot.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wiwtsf
Western MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 131 total reviews
1-20 of 131 reviews