Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 157 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

157 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

157 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
103
4 stars
30
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 stars
13
1-20 of 156 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 156 total reviews
1-20 of 156 reviews
Much Better Than I Expected
7/31/2013

Customer review by s2wallbird

5.0 stars 7/31/2013 by s2wallbird
by s2wallbird

Tired of our outrageous cable bill and sad selection of shows, we decided to cut the cable. We have Netflix, Hulu, and other options that are much cheaper, but we were missing the local channels. I bought this antenna, not expecting too much due to the low price, our aluminum sided house, our hilly terrain, and the distance from the transmitters (apx 30 miles). But I did get it as there were some encouraging reviews. I'm not disappointed! Sure... it had to be assembled, but it wasn't difficult. Most of the pieces snap together, and yes, it appears flimsy. But that's how a lot of antennas are! They're not a single piece carved out of a solid chunk of aluminum! Don't be discouraged by those who said it is difficult to put together. Take your time, and it isn't. As I didn't know if it would work or not, I carried a TV (of course, not a big one!) up into the attic and hooked it up there for testing. I didn't want to run coax only to find it didn't work! I used the compass to find the general direction of the transmitters I wanted (see TV Fool for how to do this). I hung it from the center of the roof in a position where it would point out the side of the roof, and not through the aluminum siding in the front of the house. Turned on the TV... ran the auto scan for channels, and immediately received 22 digital channels!! Sure, there are some we will not watch, but we received all the ones we were missing. Again... this is attic mounted, and 30 miles from the transmitters through some hilly terrain. Also, no rotation necessary for my stations. I would highly recommend this product! BTW... before doing this, I called a company that installs antennas, and they said it would cost between $300 and $400 to install an antenna and get it working, and they weren't sure if I would have any reception due to our location.

Was this review helpful? (235) (46)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
s2wallbird
Lancaster, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy to assemble and goes the distance in miles.
3/21/2015

Customer review by FindIt

5.0 stars 3/21/2015 by FindIt
by FindIt

Tested Mohu Leaf, Antenna Direct and GE antennas. The GE antenna did the best job for the price. Very happy with the results and able to pull in over 70 channels that are a little less than 40 miles away. Added an amplifier due to placement in the attic and running cable to multiple TVs off this little gem. Would highly recommend over the other two antennas tested.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FindIt
San Francisco Bay Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fair value for your money.
7/17/2013

Customer review by shk00design

3.0 stars 7/17/2013 by shk00design
by shk00design

This product does a sufficient if all you want is to pick up a few location stations within 30mi from your broadcast stations. This product looks flimsy and put together like pieces of Lego. Went to a store that specialized in radio equipment with much better selections. Got a Nippon AU-14 antenna which is directional and looks like an arrow. Mounted it outside and pulled in out-of-town stations from over 40mi away. The antenna is made in Japan (not China) which is surprising. The GE Attic Mount Antenna is like a hyped up version of most indoor antenna which often works no better than rabbit ears but costing several times more. The Nippon antenna recently bought is under $100. Even for a few extra dollar, would rather get an outdoor antenna. They are more reliable and allows you to pick up a few out-of-town stations where available.

Was this review helpful? (11) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shk00design
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wasn't expecting much but this thing delivered!
4/22/2013

Customer review by wwalker

5.0 stars 4/22/2013 by wwalker
by wwalker

I've never written a product review on this site but just had to becasue I was so impressed by this thing. I live 50+ miles away from the OTA stations I was hoping to receive. My local Walmart was out of the external antennas so I gave this one a shot. Directions for assembly were pretty bad but once it was together I plugged it in inside my home and instantly received about 10 HD quality signals! Installed on the leftover Dish network (so long $90+ a month) pole connected to my roof and pointed towards the stations I wanted. Note: Each time you split the signal (if you are running to more than one TV) you suffer a signal loss. That would be true with any antenna though even if it cost a $1000, so try to keep your splits to a minimum. I have it going to 2 TVs without a problem but am concerned on quality signal with connecting a 3rd. That's not a knock on this antenna by any means, just may have to add an amplifier. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised with this product!

Was this review helpful? (23) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wwalker
Texarkana, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Replaces the standard swept-wing outdoor antenna
7/4/2013

Customer review by blessedThang

5.0 stars 7/4/2013 by blessedThang
by blessedThang

There are many variables with OTA broadcast capture, ie distance, terrain, TV equipment. But, for me I have a new LED flatscreen and I didn't want to pay for cable basically because cable bundles too much stuff I never want. Having said that, I tried an old swept-wing antenna in the attic and got too much snow in the picture. Futhermore, I did not pick up 2 stations. Moving the swept-wing into the garage and I had all the available channels with a bright picture and sharp on the HD broadcasters. Not so much on the HD secondary channels. I was faced with mounting a mast on the roof and running 40 feet of coax cable to get the massive swept-wing out of my garage. I tried the flat box indoor antenna. Took that back. I spotted the GE Attic Mount and decided to try it. Assembly wasn't that hard. I took the coax cable from the swept-wing and attached to the GE AMA. It worked. Very sharp picture, but slightly dark. Mounted the GE antenna in the attic and got the best picture reception out of all of my attenna experiments

Was this review helpful? (83) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blessedThang
Amarillo, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Exceeds Expectations
7/23/2014

Customer review by shanesny

5.0 stars 7/23/2014 by shanesny
by shanesny
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had done quite a bit of searching before deciding on the GE Attic Mount Antenna. I live 30 miles from the closest antenna farm. I wanted an antenna that would physically fit in my attic (there's no way I wanted to put anything on my roof) but still perform well even though its attic placement would restrict its ability to pick up signal. Ultimately, I decided on this antenna because of the price and previous good reviews. According to the FCC I should be able to pick up 38 channels in my location… I was able to pick up 48 crystal clear digital channels and 1 analog channel (which is also very clear). Even though the GE Attic Mount Antenna is an omni-directional antenna (it only picks up signals from the direction it is pointed in) I was still able to pick up three addititional channels that are pretty much in the opposite direction (pointed 117 degrees ESE, still able to pick up channels from 349 degrees NNW). Definitely recommending this product. I'm a fan.

Was this review helpful? (35) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shanesny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
price was less than 1 months cable bill
1/11/2016

Customer review by goodforbudgeting

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by goodforbudgeting
by goodforbudgeting

Cable prices kept going up so we cut our cable and went with this for the local channels the picture comes in BETTER than local cable. It was easy to assemble.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
goodforbudgeting
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding Performance
1/21/2016

Customer review by FreeTVGuy

5.0 stars 1/21/2016 by FreeTVGuy
by FreeTVGuy

I could only get maybe 16 channels, trying several different indoor amplified antennas. Noticing that this attic antenna had lots of good reviews, I tried it. Man O Man O man, I got (80 channels !) on my little portable 7 " tv, when testing the system while I was still in the attic. Our big 52" Samsung got (78 channels !), after I had added an additional 25 ft. of coax cable to run it further through the attic and down the wall to the living room. There is a reason this antenna has almost 5 stars. It is a great antenna !

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FreeTVGuy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Amazing
8/18/2015

Customer review by Braunfels

5.0 stars 8/18/2015 by Braunfels
by Braunfels

I can't believe how well this antenna works. I just finished assembling it...directions could have bee a lot better...and I hooked it up to a TV in my bedroom (ground floor, not the attic) just to see what would happen. I pointed it in the general direction of where I think the transmission towers might be. I really don't know where they are as I live 40 miles from the downtown area of the city that has the towers, and I'm pretty sure they are on the far side of the city which means they are at least 50 miles from me. When the TV finished going through it's channel search, it found 39 stations, and they were all crystal clear. I was not expecting this - I have an old, very large (12 ft ? long) in the attic and it never got very good reception, even with a power amplifier I added 20 years ago. So again, this is a surprise. Next step is to properly mount this antenna in the attic, and then call Time Warner to tell them - SO LONG!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Braunfels
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GE HD Antenna
1/18/2016

Customer review by Seguin

5.0 stars 1/18/2016 by Seguin
by Seguin

Its a great product that takes a little patience to put it together, but its worth it. I have assembled and installed three of them and they work great!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Seguin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Did the job well and cheaply
6/21/2014

Customer review by commonsortofguy

5.0 stars 6/21/2014 by commonsortofguy
by commonsortofguy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Couldn't believe it. Got both "local" stations (about 35 miles) and 3 others about 40- 50 miles away which were about 90 degrees from the direction it was finally set at. All stations except one are in the green (good) on my signal monitor and the one exception is very close to green. Much better than the other rectangular-shaped one I was previously using. It has a very versatile mounting bracket. GE seems to have really done their homework on this one. My wife is now a happy camper. It doesn't appear to be real sturdy, but who cares when it is up in the attic? I ended up hanging it upside down from the rafters so I put a pipe clamp on the mast to be sure that, if the clamp provided for the mast came loose, it wouldn't slide off the mast and fall to the floor. However, the first location I tried where the line of sight to the 2 local stations was blocked by my chimney passing thru the attic, didn't work well.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
commonsortofguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does what it says.
9/25/2014

Customer review by NoviceInstaller

5.0 stars 9/25/2014 by NoviceInstaller
by NoviceInstaller

If you're thinking of cutting the cable and want to try an antenna, goto tvfool.com and have it lookup your address to find the strongest stations in a list of descending order...this will give you an idea of what stations you'll pull in. It also graphs the patterns of stations on a compass so you can get an idea of what direction to aim the antenna. If there are stations over 25 miles away this antenna will get you up to 60 miles. I also purchased the $15.95 signal booster/amplifier to maximize fringe station signal strength. There are 30 stations 40 miles away from me and they all come in crystal clear. I may get even more once I raise the antenna from the attic floor to a higher point near the peak.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoviceInstaller
Plaistow, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Solid receiving antenna!
2/2/2016

Customer review by steveinaz

5.0 stars 2/2/2016 by steveinaz
by steveinaz

I live in the mountains and the TV repeaters are about 40 miles away. I was getting 19 out of a possible 22 stations on another antenna, with 3 of the channels very flaky. This antenna brought in all 22 channels rock solid. Very happy with it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
steveinaz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
IT WORKS!!!
2/4/2015

Customer review by BridgewaterJay

5.0 stars 2/4/2015 by BridgewaterJay
by BridgewaterJay

i live in bridgewater, nj ... about 30-35 miles away from nyc broadcast antenna's... and i had purchased a Clearstream indoor/outdoor antenna (rated at the same distance - 60miles) as the GE antenna. But with the Clearstream, i was unable to get ch. 4 and the other channels during heavy rain and heavy cloud coverage would pixalize the picture for time to time... this clearstream was in the attic...i was going to mount in the summer time on the roof...thinking i would have a better chance of getting ch. 4. but then i saw the ratings on this GE antenna and thought i would give it a try..b/c i was still within my 90day warranty with the Clearstream. as soon as i hooked it up in the attic...within seconds it worked...started getting all the channels i got with the Clearstream and more!!! and during the snow storm....hardly any pixalization.... well worth the $40!!! as compared to the $100 Clearstream...couldn't believe it... first time...where "you get what you pay for" wasn't the case. :-)

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BridgewaterJay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GE Attic Mount Antenna
7/12/2012

Customer review by factor60

5.0 stars 7/12/2012 by factor60
by factor60

After purchasing a 32 inch flat screen for our 3 season porch and hooking it up to the existing rabbit ears already up high in the attic I realized I was missing a few channels (PBS and CBS). I thought I would give this antenna a chance, the price was good and it seemed simple enough. Assembly is straightforward although there are a lot of small parts, took me approximately 30 minutes. After the install I was very happy to get the channels I was missing previously. The picture is excellent on all the major channels but there is some pixeling and pausing on a couple of other channels (weaker broadcast strength I assume). I live approximately 25 miles East of a large city, quite rural, lot's of trees. I placed it in the attic as high as I could. I'd have to say that this unit delivered quite nicely. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? (130) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
factor60
Lowell, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The Little Antenna That Couldn't
1/30/2016

Customer review by SirGregory

1.0 stars 1/30/2016 by SirGregory
by SirGregory

This antenna comes in a box with about 50 pieces to assemble. After about 20 minutes of putting it together you will find it picks up 2 channels. Took it back for a refund. Totally disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SirGregory
Would recommend to a friend? No
Can't believe the picture quality
1/24/2016

Customer review by flyxtyer

5.0 stars 1/24/2016 by flyxtyer
by flyxtyer

Purchased this today, connected it to my TV mounted on a stand facing out my sliding glass door until I have time to put in the attic. Bought this so we did not have to put our cable on vacation hold and get cable at our other location great what you can do today with computers with TV GO. Wanted live TV for Football and news, great picture very impressed. Can't wait to put it in the attic

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
flyxtyer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
received a returned, damaged item
1/24/2016

Customer review by scajjr

1.0 stars 1/24/2016 by scajjr
by scajjr

ordered online, shipped to house. Opened shipping box to find an open box, antenna had marks on it from where it had obviously been assembled before, had broken pieces, fasteners missing. So I was sold a used, returned, damaged item as new. Will never again buy anything online from walmart.com, god only knows what you will receive.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scajjr
Would recommend to a friend? No
spot on performance for the price
11/14/2012

Customer review by electromagneticalunatic

5.0 stars 11/14/2012 by electromagneticalunatic
by electromagneticalunatic

no need for an attic i mounted it on a microphone stand extended to ceiling height ground floor in my house 11 inch block walls nomatter though did four scans n,e,s,w. 26 channels all hdsurround. 3 channels are over 35 miles away 2 are over 70 miles away. i live in central ill. i get terrahaute ind. st.loius. indy. peoria.ill. plus the regs. within a 40 mile range. i think the people who did'nt like this product don't really understand how to use them correctly or use the signal meter on they're tuner. u find your station check your capture rate and adjust if needed. i must say, the picture quality is better than anything i've seen i swear i'm watching a dvd. football games look like i can reach in a touch the players. my advice is do your home work on using antennas and getting good capture rates maybe a signal booster if needed but i'm getting reception like this inside a brick house i can't imagine what the attic or outdoors would be like but hey i'm allready getting everything in my area and then some. so i'll end on this cut the cable . along with sat tv aswell. the air is free and so are the signals. so go get them and enjoy your money on better things then paying to watch tv.

Was this review helpful? (89) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
electromagneticalunatic
blue mound, IL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better content now with free antenna TV.
1/24/2016

Customer review by Nomorecablemafia

4.0 stars 1/24/2016 by Nomorecablemafia
by Nomorecablemafia

Weather conditions and distance variables decide how many stations are received however, this antenna helped me "Cut the cord" in the Flagler area.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nomorecablemafia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 156 total reviews
1-20 of 156 reviews