Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 260 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

260 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

260 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
160
4 stars
83
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 stars
4
1-20 of 257 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 257 total reviews
1-20 of 257 reviews
Great Composter!
3/15/2014

Customer review by bignerdguy

5.0 stars 3/15/2014 by bignerdguy
by bignerdguy

Just got this and managed to assembly easily. parts all were high grade and fit nicely, even had quite a few nuts and bolts left over as spares since it came shipped with extras. Few things to be aware of: 1. Be sure to note the extra hole on the one side edge for the hexagonal sections. the sides that hold the door have an extra hole in the center of the edge. if you don't line them up in the beginning you'll have to start over. 2. For assembling the tumbler section: a ratcheting screwdriver is recommended over an electric one. the electric can over tighten too much and cause the plastic to break ruining the seal. 3. Might want to have two people do this though one person can if they are careful. the tumbler section will want to rotate on its own when you are assembling the panels and it helps to have an extra set of hands just to hold it. otherwise it can be a bit awkward. I cant wait to see how well this thing composts. perfect for my small back yard garden!

Was this review helpful? (38) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bignerdguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for a beginner
12/3/2013

Customer review by Haosmith

4.0 stars 12/3/2013 by Haosmith
by Haosmith
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am a beginner, yes. Overall, I feel happy with the tumbler. First, the price is much better than other places. Shipping is timely, answering my expectation. Regarding assembly process, my experience is good, very good. I am not technically smart, but I was able to complete it within 1 hour. But I did not use the instructions on the printout. Thanks to another reviewer comments, I was able to find online instructions, which make assembly an exciting and easy process. Ah, I have to say that with the tumbler, I can recycle a lot of things from home, which makes us really happy. So far, I have no problems or complaints about it. The reason why I give it 4 stars (while putting 5 stars on hold) is that I have the tumbler for only 8 days, and just started composting 6 days, I haven't got any compost finished yet. I am waiting to see my products. Thanks for giving me a chance to review the product.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Haosmith
Westminster, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE the two compartments!
4/3/2017

Customer review by WG

5.0 stars 4/3/2017 by WG
by WG
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love this product. I ordered because of the review ratings. A few mention that this is hard to put together. I'm 6 months pregnant and put this together in a leisurely 30 minutes while visiting with friends on our front porch. It is not hard if you know how to use a screwdriver and have a small amount of common sense. The two compartments are awesome. I had an Earth Machine before, which made it hard to stir the compost - the good stuff settled at the bottom and the newer stuff was still at the top. So when I transferred it was great to be able to put all the newer compost into one compartment to further decompose and then put all the older, richer compost into the other compartment until we're ready to till it into our garden. Once you put it together it seems a little small, but as you start putting compost into it, you realize it holds a LOT. Also, I paid for 2-day delivery and it was delivered right on time.

WG
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Everything's good
4/22/2013

Customer review by LawrenceofBelgravia

5.0 stars 4/22/2013 by LawrenceofBelgravia
by LawrenceofBelgravia
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Only had this product a couple of weeks, so no compost yet - and this review ONLY covers cost, delivery and ease of assembly. Cost: At least $20 cheaper than rival websites (Lowes, Home Depot etc). I'm cool with that... Delivery: Wow. FREE UPS Ground shipping direct from the manufacturer in MI and it arrived in just 4 days (not the 7-10 I expected). Assembly: Instructions were very easy to follow. But there are a LOT of screws (56 from memory) so I almost developed a blister on my thumb! Only downside was that they'd supplied 12 screws, and 5 nuts too many. So once everything was assembled, I began to freak at these extras. What had I missed?! But I went over everything again, and I'd used all the screws I should have. And now it's sitting there in the garden, doing its thing - one chamber already full of garden waste, and vegetable scraps. Can't wait for the results!

Was this review helpful? (33) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LawrenceofBelgravia
Front Range, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product; insufficient assembly instructions
4/7/2017

Customer review by Amateur Farmer

5.0 stars 4/7/2017 by Amateur Farmer
by Amateur Farmer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The only CON thus far is the instruction manual: This product comes with about 60 screws. That is a lot of twisting and tightening. The assembly instructions provided in the actual box is an abridged version, you are instructed to go online to get the full version of on the assembly manual. HOWEVER, when I went online and clicked on the link to obtain the manual, I got an error message. So I tried to figure out how to assemble the product with the bare-bones instructions provided. There is a certain trick/method to assembling this product. If you know the trick/method upfront, assembly is a piece of cake. However, I did not know the trick/method. I eventually figured it out through trial and error. It took me 4 hours to put this thing together because I had to disassemble the product multiple times. I think if I had the full manual, I could have gotten the product assembled in about an hour. I am very pleased with the final product, though. It seems sturdy. My advice: if you are unable to get the manual online, call Hayneedle and ask if they have a copy that it can email to you.

Amateur Farmer
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Solid, easy spinning, great value
2/27/2017

Customer review by Hannah

4.0 stars 2/27/2017 by Hannah
by Hannah
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am really happy with this. Nice and solid. I can't believe how easily it spins. My son just assembled it for me in about an hour. Luckily I had researched and read reviews online with assembly warnings. To call the assembly instructions "instructions" is a gross exaggeration. I'd give it 5 stars if it wasn't for that. Before you insert a single screw, check out the rectangular panels. Each of them has two SETS of holes on the short edges, however there is one panel that has THREE SETS of holes. This panel must attach to the roundish end panels on the edge that has THREE SETS of holes as well. There is an adjustable vent that is right next to that edge. The rest of the rectangles can go anywhere, but that one 3 set of holes panel can only go there.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hannah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great price but bad instructions
9/21/2012

Customer review by Obgrl73

4.0 stars 9/21/2012 by Obgrl73
by Obgrl73

My first order was missing several screws (10 to be exact) and 5 nuts. The instructions were horrible. The bars for which the barrel is identified as AA, BB, etc but the actual item is not marked making it very difficult to figure out which bar goes where. I wish somehow they were marked or some sort of measurement would have been nice. Once the actual metal pieces were together, the instruction on putting the black slots were a little complicated to figure out how it went. After trying for several seconds to get a slot to fit it was figured out. The picture for how to put the item together was poorly written, it was very confusing trying to figure out which way the nut went. Better clearer instructions for the whole item would be nice. The price for the product was great compare to other home improvement places so I can't complain about that. The customer service rep who helped place a second order so that I had the correct number of screws and nuts was very good, interesting enough I had extra nuts but still was missing at least 2 screws (problem solved with a trip to Lowes).

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Obgrl73
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Well made and fairly easy assembly.
4/29/2017

Customer review by Cheryl

4.0 stars 4/29/2017 by Cheryl
by Cheryl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great product! Very sturdy, heavy gauge plastic. Some of the reviews are a little scary but, assembly is not that bad. I used a socket wrench instead of the adjustable in the "tool list" and it worked well except in the corners. if you happen to have a socket wrench with an adjustable angle it would be perfect.. What the pictured instructions fail to depict are the little angled tabs on the horizontal underside that have to hook into holes on the previous panel.Even with having to go back,TV and a speaker phone call I was able to complete it in a couple hours. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Cheryl
undisclosed
Received free product:Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great composter
5/8/2017

Customer review by Composter

5.0 stars 5/8/2017 by Composter
by Composter
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great composter for smallerror loads 2 sides work great for keeping your compost going without having to separate new material from old Easy to put together, nice height, easy spinning makes turning your materials a breeze [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Composter
Conway, sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very impressed!
4/27/2017

Customer review by Sheryl

5.0 stars 4/27/2017 by Sheryl
by Sheryl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

There are a many screws and a learning curve on putting it together. However, the included directions had step-by-step pictures. I appreciated the instructions regarding broken or missing pieces, although everything was perfect. The booklet has detailed information on how to compost. I was concerned the unit might be too small, but it holds a large quantity of materials and is very easy to spin. I love the two chambers! The Yimby Compost Tumbler is well designed and I am impressed with the care shown to ensure consumer success. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Sheryl
undisclosed
Received free product:Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Composter smaller than expected, but works great!
5/4/2017

Customer review by Phil

4.0 stars 5/4/2017 by Phil
by Phil
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Item arrived quickly, assembly only took about an hour. Conceptually it is great, but was smaller in size than expected. Following included instructions for composting, is working as expected. Very easy to spin when loaded on both sides. Mixes materials well. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Phil
undisclosed
Received free product:Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Absolutely fantastic!
7/16/2012

Customer review by fortheloveofgardening

5.0 stars 7/16/2012 by fortheloveofgardening
by fortheloveofgardening

Even better than I had hoped. Went together easily and spins very well. The only metal is the screws and stand, so the barrel won't rust through.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fortheloveofgardening
Athens, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Good size and quality
5/3/2017

Customer review by Honey

5.0 stars 5/3/2017 by Honey
by Honey
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Haven't used it yet. Husband just put it together last night Looks like a good size and good quality

Honey
Tampa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Composer heaven
5/3/2017

Customer review by Corinne

5.0 stars 5/3/2017 by Corinne
by Corinne
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Fairly easy to put together. We are excited to have a composer and look forward to many years of use. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Corinne
undisclosed
Received free product:Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just the right size for a two person family
3/26/2013

Customer review by MediaGal1

4.0 stars 3/26/2013 by MediaGal1
by MediaGal1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The composter arrived on the day stated. The box was open, but all of the parts were there. It took about two hours to put together by myself. All I needed was a flathead screw driver and an adjustable wrench. The unit spins easily. It is not large, so check the dimensions to make sure it is the size you want. I think it is perfect for just the two of us. I really like having two chambers. It seems sturdy. The cost was right, a good value for the money. My daughter bought a much larger unit. I really prefer the compact size of the one I purchased. I definitely recommend this unit.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MediaGal1
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
composting
4/30/2017

Customer review by Patty

5.0 stars 4/30/2017 by Patty
by Patty
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was given to a family of 4 as a xmas gift and they are very excited about it and use it all the time. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Patty
undisclosed
Received free product:Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT FOR THE PRICE
4/25/2017

Customer review by Sallylou

5.0 stars 4/25/2017 by Sallylou
by Sallylou
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to assemble alone, good quality, fast shipping. Just make sure when you assemble the drum you put in the sliding access panel last exactly per the instructions. Plenty of spare nuts and screws too. Definitely recommended. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Sallylou
Western NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Holds a good amount!
3/8/2013

Customer review by Craftynaynay

5.0 stars 3/8/2013 by Craftynaynay
by Craftynaynay
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We were able to fit a lot of gardening waste in this big dual composter. We were pleasantlyable surprised. Spinning is easy. A lot of pieces to put together, but with two of us we got it done in 15-20 minutes. Not hard just tedious. Very pleased with the results.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Craftynaynay
SantaClarita, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love my compost tumbler!
4/25/2017

Customer review by Cidalia

5.0 stars 4/25/2017 by Cidalia
by Cidalia
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

only been using it for a month, and so far I love it. I like the 2 compartments, and they are really big. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Cidalia
undisclosed
Received free product:Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/20/2012

Customer review by pusseruk

4.0 stars 7/20/2012 by pusseruk
by pusseruk

I have used a different tumbling composter before I bought this one. It went together easily, took me about an hour I think. Its in use now in North Carolina where it has been very hot recently and the half of the composter that is in use if half full. I tumble it each time I add kitchen vegetable peelings to it and have added some previously mulched grass from my mower. The compost has begun to rot down but somehow, some flying insects have got into it and the whole compost is wriggling with insct larvae of different kinds. That said, I am sure they will break it all down but the resulting compost may not be very good and may not smell very good. This problem is nothing to do with the compost bin, more likely the way I have loaded it.

Was this review helpful? (37) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pusseruk
Seven Springs NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
1-20 of 257 total reviews
1-20 of 257 reviews