Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 5 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

5 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

5 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-5 of 5 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

New England Boil Dinner
2/3/2013

Customer review by Shy01

5.0 stars 2/3/2013 by Shy01
by Shy01

I take it and boil it for several hours, as long as I can take it. Put in 1/4 sleeve of butter, I add carrots then add pototoes peeled cut in halfs. Then I add cabbage cut up or chopped and cook till tender. Then you can do it two different ways, eat as a dinner take out the meat and cut off, and serve with cabbage and the rest or just put the extra's back in pan and use as soup.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shy01
Girard, Oh.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Traditional Virginia Ham
12/16/2013

Customer review by SouthernCooken

5.0 stars 12/16/2013 by SouthernCooken
by SouthernCooken

Smithfield Ham has been a Virginia staple since our Settlers arrived. The only way to keep the meet with out fridges was to roll the ham in salts and other seasonings, wrap in a burlap bag, hang them in what was called a smoke house ( a brick building with a roof that had a small chimney). They would build a large fire in the center of the building and the town folk or has the grew the butcher would hang dozens of pork shoulders mostly for drying, and strips of beef, turkey, pheasant, anything to turn into a jerky. Salted ham has it is called in some delis are best served shaved, with a sharp cheddar cheese on a light and fluffy biscuit, slightly warmed and served with cantaloupe. The sweetness and the salty is wonderful. lope

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SouthernCooken
Huron SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Shredded ham
6/19/2014

Customer review by ScottinLoudon

4.0 stars 6/19/2014 by ScottinLoudon
by ScottinLoudon

One of the best hams I have used for my beer boiled shredded ham. Knocks out most of the salt and enhances the smoke flavor.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ScottinLoudon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Salty
4/1/2013

Customer review by meggie32

1.0 stars 4/1/2013 by meggie32
by meggie32

I purchased one of the picnic hams to serve at my Easter dinner. I baked the ham as i always have with brown sugar glaze and pineapples. When we begn dinner,one of my guest was the first to take the first bite. I guess not wanting to embaress me she said oh,its a little salty. I immediately took a bite of mine and almost choked. This ham was so salty it was absolutely inedible. This was the only meat i had prepared and my Easter dinner was a total embaressment. I will never purchase this ham again. I am 76 years old and have bought and cooked many picnic hams but never have I been so disappointed. I would not advise anyone to purchase this ham .

Was this review helpful? (2) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
meggie32
Atlanta,Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Poorest quality ham I ever bought
8/26/2014

Customer review by LewisburgTiger

2.0 stars 8/26/2014 by LewisburgTiger
by LewisburgTiger

I have purchased hams at Walmart previously that I was pleased with. This, however, was the worst I have ever purchased from any store. It was so full of fat and gristle that I gave up trying to slice it. I got maybe 4 or 5 pounds of lean ham from a 20 pound ham. I will never purchase another Smithfield ham. 5 pounds of ham from a $24.00 ham---you do the math!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LewisburgTiger
Would recommend to a friend? No