Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 273 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

273 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

273 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
149
4 stars
64
3 stars
17
2 stars
13
1 stars
30
1-20 of 250 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 250 total reviews
1-20 of 250 reviews
Great product, great value, very pleased
7/1/2012

Customer review by VictorTalkingMac53

5.0 stars 7/1/2012 by VictorTalkingMac53
by VictorTalkingMac53

I bought this primarily to drink club soda water. It works great!! Using my filter refrigerator water it is easy to use and works to perfection. The syrups that came with it were all very good but I prefer club soda. My wife loves the crystal lite we bought on the side!! No more hauling tons of plastic sodas!!

Was this review helpful? (161) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VictorTalkingMac53
Winter Have, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fun and useful
8/18/2012

Customer review by robinshel

5.0 stars 8/18/2012 by robinshel
by robinshel

I don't purchase appliances very often, this was a splurge. I'm hooked on fountain diet soda and coffee. I have tried so many things to get away from the fountain diet. It's a drain on finances and unhealthy. I have tried several flavors. The diet cola flavor isn't as good as a fountain diet coke, but I learned that I like the fizz of the drink as much as flavor. I often just add flavor drops that I would have added to a bottle of water and that makes me just as happy as fountain diet coke. You can adjust the fizz to make it a bit more fizzy. I like that it doesn't require electricity, so it fits anywhere on my counter top. Make sure that you have the water as cold as possible, just under freezing, for best results. This was a huge hit with my grandson as well. Durability is my only concern. The plastic doesn't appear to be the same quality one expects in an appliance such as a blender or coffee pot, it feels cheap. The way the top tilts to screw the bottle on is a bit awkward. I have concern that the button to release the CO2 will not hold up over time due to the durability issue. I don't let anyone use it without me because I don't think it is very durable.

Was this review helpful? (169) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
robinshel
Evansville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/26/2012

Customer review by Karebear60

4.0 stars 6/26/2012 by Karebear60
by Karebear60

I was really pleased that it was easy to set up and especially that the syrup/soda tastes pretty darn good! You can tell it's not exactly the name brand, but the flavor is very close. It tastes great!

Was this review helpful? (129) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Karebear60
Los Gatos, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
7/8/2012

Customer review by speck70001

4.0 stars 7/8/2012 by speck70001
by speck70001

We like the product. It works as advertised. The CO2 is more expensive than expected.

Was this review helpful? (95) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
speck70001
Boulder City, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great way to save money
11/6/2012

Customer review by arnold2012

5.0 stars 11/6/2012 by arnold2012
by arnold2012

I love how easy it was to put together and use. It seems like it costs a lot but add up how much you spend a month on soda and than the cost of this and the different flavors it has to offer. You can pay for this very easily and make more and no need to worry about adding more trash to the environment. My kids are even able to do it, under supervision.

Was this review helpful? (38) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
arnold2012
kearney, ne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Gift I Ever Gave My Daughter for myself!
12/27/2012

Customer review by mozmom

5.0 stars 12/27/2012 by mozmom
by mozmom

My daughter drinks so much pop that we have to adjust the budget. Anywhere from 5 to 8 2 liter bottles are what she purchases each week. It really adds up. It also stacks up in the trash, the cans attract bugs and nothing smells worse than old soda pop in the garbage. So, I gave her this one for Christmas. She was wide eyed and LOVED it. Now, she LOVES it after we have tried it. The lemon lime tastes just like old school 7up, made with sugar and served in a bottle. The diet cola was my choice and I found it delicious. There is such a great variety, the pricing is fair. It doesn't require electricity and if you follow the instructions, it is simple and takes just a few minutes to prepare. Oh, and NO MESS. I already made some calculations and it will most likely save us over $400 a year. That is even taking into consideration the usage of the Carbonation gas canisters! It is a GREAT buy!

Was this review helpful? (44) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mozmom
Lewis Center OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
My favorite appliance
9/8/2012

Customer review by Littleonion

5.0 stars 9/8/2012 by Littleonion
by Littleonion

This is a wonderful product and is, in my opinion, worth twice the price. Not only do I not have to lug heavy soda products, I can have whatever flavor I feel like at the time without buying 6 different bottles. I used to hate water ... now I drink carbonated water (flavor free) daily. Talk about GREEN!!! The bottle holds the carbonation for quite a long time. I've been using it for 3 years. LOVE IT

Was this review helpful? (65) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Littleonion
Freeport, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product!
7/31/2013

Customer review by BuffaloCenter30

5.0 stars 7/31/2013 by BuffaloCenter30
by BuffaloCenter30

I have been looking into one of these for months. I finally went to wally world and bought one. I honestly cannot tell you how amazing it is to just watch the water fizz with no electricity then put the syrup in and as soon as it's cold from the fridge it makes a great coke! I agree with others that said it does not taste just like coke. That being said, it is still pretty darn good. I love the idea of not wasting plastic and cans so environmentally friendly! I am having fun trying all of the different flavors to find my favorite. So far the cherry cola is pretty nice. I too love that it does not take electricity. I have a part of my kitchen counter space that is nowhere near an outlet so this works perfectly for that space. I have used this everyday since I purchased it and another thing I really like is that I can make my drinks fizzier. I didn't realize I like them that way but turns out I do! All in all a great product and I am very pleased that I finally took the plunge and bought it.

Was this review helpful? (73) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BuffaloCenter30
Buffalo Center, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
NOT for Artificial Sweetener tasters!!!
4/1/2013

Customer review by Beaux32

1.0 stars 4/1/2013 by Beaux32
by Beaux32

I seriously needed to see this about this product prior to my purchase So I am putting this in. Certain people can taste any type of artificial sweetener as an extremely bitter/metallic aftertaste. If any type of diet/low/zero calorie drink tastes bad to you and you've always thought that those ads that say it tastes just like the full calorie drink are completely wrong then this product is NOT for you. Except for the few 'Natural' flavors they have all their syrups have Sucralose for the sweetening, better known as Splenda. The Natural syrups are made with cane or corn sugar, but cost twice as much to produce half the number of servings than the regular making cost saving benefits marginal. If they one day drop the price on the natural syrups I may revisit it, but for now its a pass

Was this review helpful? (41) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beaux32
georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
SodaStream
7/26/2012

Customer review by RayneStar13

4.0 stars 7/26/2012 by RayneStar13
by RayneStar13

I really like using it to make club soda. I had to experiment with the cola flavor to find the right mix for me. Using a whole capful was too sweet, so now I use 3/4 capful & it's just right!

Was this review helpful? (35) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RayneStar13
Lexington SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Price... Great Product
2/13/2013

Customer review by mommyof3wife21

5.0 stars 2/13/2013 by mommyof3wife21
by mommyof3wife21

I have only had this product for a couple of days but It has become my best friend. I was a little weary of this product thinking it couldn't possibly taste like real soda. I thought maybe it would leave a nasty taste in your mouth. With me drinking a lot of Sprite I never would have thought that i would have found something that not only taste as good but was healthier. My husband did some math and its would save us almost $50 a month vs buying cans and there are no cans to throw out. The only thing that bothered me is that it only came with 1 liter bottle so for my husband and I to both have something different we would have to put it in another container. For the replacement or extra containers it's $20 which i thought was a little expensive for 2 bottles but it is saving me over half that a month so $20 wont break the bank. I Love the fact that you dont have to plug it up so its portable and I can make my soda as carbonated or for my husband as not carbonated as we would like! Would Definitely recommend this Product!

Was this review helpful? (28) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mommyof3wife21
Lewistown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great seltzer water
11/11/2013

Customer review by BonstanceLV

4.0 stars 11/11/2013 by BonstanceLV
by BonstanceLV

I bought the soda stream machine so I could make seltzer water. I know that a person is supposed to drink half their weight in ounces of water each day, i.e. someone who weighs 150 needs to drink 75 ounces daily. One bottle of unflavored soda water (seltzer) equals 33 oz, and it tastes so nice and light that it helps me keep up my quota.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BonstanceLV
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top quality but not quantity
4/27/2013

Customer review by crash1978

4.0 stars 4/27/2013 by crash1978
by crash1978

I've had my soda stream for 4 months now and have been through 3 carbonator canisters. Each canister claims to make up to 60 liters. I went through the first bottle within about a month and didn't think I made anywhere near 60 liters, so I kept track of every liter made and with average fiz(same as soda pop) I got 30 liters out of one bottle and 33 liters out of the other. The soda it makes is very good, and most of the flavors match the leading brands. The ones that are the best are the energy, Dr. Pete, Root beer & (Mtn. Dew equivalent). The one that I'd stay away from is cherry cola and the lemon-lime. The cherry cola doesn't really taste like cherry Pepsi, cherry Coke, or even the generic brands. In fact, it basically tastes stale and very acidic. Overall though, this is a very good product and if you love soda and club soda, you can't beat this deal.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crash1978
West Jordan, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Just OK
2/11/2013

Customer review by dadfromOH

2.0 stars 2/11/2013 by dadfromOH
by dadfromOH

Ok First let me say I can tell diet soda from regular soda in a blindfold taste test every time. If you can too, you may not want the soda stream product. My opinion, is ALL of the soda from Soda Stream, except for the natural flavored soda, has a diet taste. All of the natural flavors are flavored with pure cane sugar or Corn syrup, not Splenda. Even the regular (non-diet) sodas from Soda Stream have Splenda in them. That is how they reduce the Calories. They still have that Diet (Splenda) taste to me. As for their claim of no storage well, where are you planning to keep the soda machine and Soda Concentrates? There is still some storage, it does not eliminate it. It may reduce it a little. I have tried many flavors, and to me only the All natural (Sparking Naturals) flavors, taste like the real things. To bad the All natural flavors only come in a few flavors I like. (Cola, Root beer, Ginger Ale & Lemon Lime). The other Natural flavors I normally don’t drink. The Natural Flavor concentrates don’t make as much soda as the regular (Splenda) versions. ONLY half as much and the Naturally sweetened cola (In the dark red bottle) cost more than the other natural flavors. So there goes your savings. Now I have not found one flavor Diet or Natural flavor that taste like a BRAND name. I can tell Coke from Pepsi in a blindfold taste test. The Natural Cola (in the dark red bottle) was my favorite. But it was more expensive than buying a brand name at the store. So for me the Soda stream was not so great. My Wife and Kids drank it and they could give it a better rating than I would. You can exchange the Co2 Cartridges at many retailers, so that is a nice convenience. I have not had to do this so we will see how “Convenient” it really is an what it costs. I have had NO explosions while adding the Co2 as some have reported. If you add the Flavoring last you should not have an issue, unless you don’t attach the bottle to the Co2 dispenser properly, which is hard to mess up.

Was this review helpful? (28) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dadfromOH
Northeast OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Easy to assemble and use. Flavorings are ok
12/10/2013

Customer review by nancy325

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by nancy325
by nancy325

The whole machine is very easy to assemble and use. If you like carbonated water, this could save you a lot of money over time. The soda flavorings were not wonderful but you can add any flavorings you want after the water is carbonated, so you can fix a drink that is naturally lower in calories than soda. We like using about 4 oz. of fruit juice to 12 oz. carbonated water. It tastes great and has less calories. The carbonation canisters have to be replaced after each 60 liters of water are carbonated, but they are available at several local stores. So far, we like the machine and are pleased that it only takes a minute to make a liter of carbonated water.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nancy325
Beltsville MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent way to customize your soda
7/10/2013

Customer review by chugluvr

5.0 stars 7/10/2013 by chugluvr
by chugluvr

I am blown away with how my sodastream has benifited my life in so many ways. I am able to customize my soda is many ways; carbonation level, flavor concentration, and mixing the flavors to create my own cocktails. As a recovering alcoholic it is very important to me to have my own drink with me when I am out socializing. Mixing my own soda flavor satisfies my urge for specialty cocktails, virgin of course! Currently I am on a strawberry lemonade kick, but I also enjoy a blend of the coke zero alternative and rootbeer. I love being able to reuse the bottles. Previously I have had to use a large portion of my tiny kitchen for storage of my store bought flavored waters, and had to drag them to the recycling center frequently because I simply have no room for them in my house. Now, a very small portion of my shelf is dedicated to the soda stream mixes and accessories and I feel much more organized. The affordability of the soda stream continues to save me money; not just on the flavored sparkling waters that I am no longer buying, but on gas to get me to the store and my valuable time that I am no longer wasting driving to the store only to find out that the drink that I like is out of stock. Now all the drinks that I like are always available in my own kitchen! My sodastream has dramatically changed my life for the better.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chugluvr
Sonora, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Would be great if the flavors were better.
12/24/2013

Customer review by SkinsFan85

3.0 stars 12/24/2013 by SkinsFan85
by SkinsFan85

I got this as a Chrismas gift this year. I'm a sodaholic and my favorite drinks are usually Pepsi, Mountain Dew, and occasionally Coca-Cola. So far with my Soda Stream I have tried their Cola, Cherry Cola, Fountain Mist, and Lemon Lime flavors. I've also tried the Crystal Light Lemonade flavor. Despite some previous reviews, the Cola flavor tastes NOTHING like Coca-Cola. I would say it tastes more like Pepsi Next. The Fountain Mist tastes nothing like Mountain Dew either. The only one decent tasting one was the Crystal Light lemonade but the taste was kind of ruined by the carbonation. I don't feel there is a need to carbonate Crystal Light or Kool-Aid. The taste of the flavors they have is the only thing holding this product back. The packaging is great, the design and appearance of the Soda Stream is great, watching it carbonate is nice. It's simple to do and doesn't take long at all. You get 3 full size flavors and 24 sample flavors for free. (Not sure if it's for a limited time or if it's always been that way.) With all this being said, I would not recommend this to someone who is a big soda drinker.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SkinsFan85
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love my SodaStream!
12/8/2013

Customer review by JazzyGranny

5.0 stars 12/8/2013 by JazzyGranny
by JazzyGranny

I have been wanting one of these for quite awhile and was really thrilled when the price started to creep downward, also was happy to be able to get it in red to match my kitchen. I can drink water all day long as long as it has bubbles! I have always had to go out of my way to find sparkling water that did not have artificial sweeteners. Sparkling water with flavors of fruit juice without the nasty chemicals have made me a very happy person. One warning I would like to add is that if you buy the SodaStream flavors the WalMart website does not tell you the ingredients. Do not be fooled!!! The flavors that are NOT diet have sucralose (Splenda) and another artificial sweetener.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JazzyGranny
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/20/2012

Customer review by cnyjoe50

1.0 stars 12/20/2012 by cnyjoe50
by cnyjoe50

I would not recommend this product to anyone. I have over $150.00 Invested in the Machine, Spare Bottles, Drink mix and Co2. Very disappointing, the CO2 leaks out of the top when filling bottles. I called soda stream and they seemed helpful offering to send a new machine out right away. Two weeks later I received the new machine only to find it was worse than the one I had. Soda stream obviously sent me a refurbished machine and the button on the new one sticks making the machine useless. I ended up sending the second one back and soda stream has not corrected the situation. The machine uses twice as much Co2 as advertised. The Co2 and mix is very expensive. The flavor is ok but not impressive. I could have purchased a lot of my favorite brand with the money I wasted on this.

Was this review helpful? (39) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cnyjoe50
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent!
1/2/2013

Customer review by Reviewer124356

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by Reviewer124356
by Reviewer124356

I've had this for a couple of years now, and I recommend it to my friends. Over the longer term, this definitely saves money. The more you use it, the more you save, but for me it paid for itself in less than a year and is now saving me money every time I use it. If you drink a lot of soda or particularly expensive stuff like Red Bull or Perrier, this will save you a ton. I use it mostly for just carbonated water. I get a better product than buying it in the store because I can control how carbonated it is, I start with better (filtered) water, and it stays fizzy longer with the SodaStream bottles. I no longer have to lug heavy bottles from the store, find space for the bottles at my house, or deal with recycling the bottles. And it is much, much better for the enviornment to use one SodaStream bottle in place of literally hundreds of regular soda bottles. The bottom line is that this gives you a better product with less hassle than buying soda. It is better for the environment, and if your household consumes more than about 1 liter of sode per week, it will also save you significant money in the long term. A good product.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Reviewer124356
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 250 total reviews
1-20 of 250 reviews