Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 28 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

28 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

28 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 23 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews
Excellent phone-great coverage-easy to use
10/12/2012

Customer review by datadoctor

5.0 stars 10/12/2012 by datadoctor
by datadoctor

I purchased this phone at the local Wal Mart store with the $30 All You Need service plan. I ported my old number and activated the R455C completely on line. The porting and activation process was seamless with no trouble. I initialized the porting/activation process on a Saturday night and the R455c was ready to be activated the next morning. There is information on-line on how to port a number to Straight Talk and this information was very helpful. The R455C works great. Coverage on the Verizon network is excellent. I have not had any dropouts or static and the audio is crisp and clear. I didn't buy the phone for taking pictures but the camera is easy to operate. The camera zoom works as long as the resolution is not set to maximum and the exposure can be adjusted to compensate for low light. Texting and browsing is easy with the slide out qwerty keyboard. The battery capacity is good for about 4 days with average use. The browser included is ok but I did install the free Opera Mini browser for easier accesss. This was for my personal preference. Some users may find the included browser adequate. I did buy a phone cover to protect if the phone is dropped. I had been a wireless customer of AT&T for more than 15 years but had became weary of the monthly charge increases and what appeared to be less coverage. With this new phone my service on Straight Talk is much better, the audio is much improved, and my bill has been reduced by half. If you don't need or want a Smart Phone or Android this phone will meet your needs.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
datadoctor
Marietta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
My 2nd Straight Talk Phone
6/27/2012

Customer review by Chryster

4.0 stars 6/27/2012 by Chryster
by Chryster

My first straight talk phone broke in half (it was 2 years old) so I went looking for a new one. I wanted a NON-smartphone and for it to be CDMA. There's this model and the LG 505C. All of the stores in my area are out of stock on the LG phone so I went with this one. My previous phone was also a Samsung so I figured there wouldn't be much of a learning curve with this one. When transferring my number to this phone, there was a slight hiccup and I had to talk to customer support. Slightly annoying because I only have the one phone so I had to call from my computer. I finally got it working and put in all of my contacts and went to put in my user names and passwords for facebook and gmail, the only two websites I have any desire to access from my phone. Facebook worked flawlessly. Gmail, however, wouldn't work at all. I put in my user name, my password, and clicked "sign in" and nothing happened. I tried from the web menu, and directly entering every possible gmail web address I could find, Gmail.com, mail.google.com/gmail, http and https, so on and so forth. Same results with every address I tried. I tried calling customer support, which we all know is a joke. The first time I called, the lovely gentleman with an accent so thick I could barely understand him, had me clear the cookies, cache, and history but couldn't figure out why it wasn't working so he politely told me to call google to see if they're having an issue with their mobile website. I politely told him to have a nice night and hung up. That's literally the most ridiculous thing I've ever heard from any customer service agent. I talked to two more customer service agents. One told me that since I had activated my phone less than 24 hours ago (it had been like 12 or 13 when I spoke with hiim) that the browser might not be functioning properly yet. The other one told me that if I want to use the internet, I need to get an android phone. I told him that Gmail is a website listed on the Mobile Web Menu and I should therefore be able to use that website. He read another script about my phone functioning properly since I can call/text from it. Since I can't get the gmail issue resolved, this phone is going back and I'm going to try to get my hands on a Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. It's Straight Talk's only CDMA smartphone thus far. At any rate, the hotmail and yahoo mail websites both work on this phone so if you have no interest in using gmail, this phone is fantastic and I'd highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (50) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chryster
Fort Collins, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/9/2012

Customer review by red461512006

5.0 stars 9/9/2012 by red461512006
by red461512006

I would recomend this product to people that does alot of texting and browsing on the internet.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
red461512006
Martinsville,Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Phone!!!
10/22/2012

Customer review by Jewels83

5.0 stars 10/22/2012 by Jewels83
by Jewels83

I love my R455c! It is a great phone. I've had mine for probably about 7months now and I have never had a problem with it freezing up or anything. I've even accidently lost it out of my sweater pocket into a full tub of water and it didn't even show up any water damage on the phone. Not to manging Ive dropped it on the cement a few times getting out of the van cause I forgot it was on my lap. It still works like new, I would recommend this phone to everyone. I love straight talk!

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jewels83
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Overall a Solid Feature Phone
10/29/2012

Customer review by Brad87

5.0 stars 10/29/2012 by Brad87
by Brad87

I bought this phone 3 months ago to replace the LG 231C. I wanted a verizon network phone and I was tired of texting with T9. This phone works perfect for what I wanted it to do. The coverage is great and it functions well for what I need it to do. It is Java enabled so you can download Google Maps and Opera Mini. The battery life lasts about 3 days for me with regular use. The phone is a little slippery to hold but I bought a rubberized case from ebay and it makes the phone feel and look awesome. I would buy this phone again.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brad87
Mount Pleasant, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/7/2012

Customer review by wwjigg

4.0 stars 11/7/2012 by wwjigg
by wwjigg

very good phone so far i only had it for a month but i have 2 friends that have this phone and are very pleased with it. had to order on .com no longer sell this model in store. this phone is a verizon phone

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wwjigg
richmond, va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great basic phone.
10/30/2012

Customer review by Havenot88

5.0 stars 10/30/2012 by Havenot88
by Havenot88

All I needed was a phone I could use to make calls, text, and check my e-mail and this phone works great for that. Would highly recommend if you don't need all the bells and whistles.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Havenot88
Havelock, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing
7/19/2012

Customer review by Vic13

4.0 stars 7/19/2012 by Vic13
by Vic13

I barrowed this from my mother on the way to my son's doctors appointment in Hershy. I instantly loved it and asked her about it. I'm not big on aindroids and i love the slide out keyboards. Its easy and has the screen lock button that i need because of my son likeing phones, and its nice and loud when someone calls. The only problems i have with it are the buttons take a lil bit of getting use too, and i cant find the speaker phone if it has one.

Was this review helpful? (15) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vic13
Huntingdon, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does what I need it to do.
3/14/2013

Customer review by nursenorton

5.0 stars 3/14/2013 by nursenorton
by nursenorton

I don't need a smartphone(or a big phone bill).Calls don't drop,texting is fine,feels sturdy.Battery life is great.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nursenorton
Hamlet,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I don't need an Iphone
1/26/2013

Customer review by koolmn

5.0 stars 1/26/2013 by koolmn
by koolmn

I don't text but I am able to do that. I "talk" with my phone and use my bluetooth headsets.I don"t need an Iphone . This phone does what I need it to do.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
koolmn
murfreesboro,tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great phone
3/13/2013

Customer review by 1sissy4u

5.0 stars 3/13/2013 by 1sissy4u
by 1sissy4u

I like this phone it is easy to use and it is my main phone --I have no land line so I need something dependable

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1sissy4u
Marion VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this phone!
11/4/2012

Customer review by STNEFan

5.0 stars 11/4/2012 by STNEFan
by STNEFan

I don't need a fancy cell phone: I only need a cell phone primarily for calling and sometimes texting. Especially like the clear screen and the slideout QWERTY keyboard. This phone has everything I need, and I've been a StraightTalk customer for over 3.5 years - have always been very pleased with the service.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
STNEFan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/14/2013

Customer review by phoneymom

4.0 stars 3/14/2013 by phoneymom
by phoneymom

This phone is great for the person who is not used to texting. It's simple to use and has great features like a good size querty keyboard and bluetooth compatibility. Since it uses Verizon service, I don't experience dropped calls.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
phoneymom
Griffin Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
IF U WANT SOMETHING FANCY THIS IS NOT !!
1/20/2013

Customer review by MACIKA

5.0 stars 1/20/2013 by MACIKA
by MACIKA

BUT ITS ALL I WANTED DOES THE JOB,FOR 80.00 U DONT GET A LOT BUT THESE DAYS THIS PHONES ARE GETTING VERY RARE,RUNS ON HORIZON SO U GET DECENT COVERAGE,AND FOR 30.00 A MONTH U CANT GO WRONG!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MACIKA
SPRING HILL FLORIDA!
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Stop before buying this and read
11/1/2012

Customer review by Nettiek

2.0 stars 11/1/2012 by Nettiek
by Nettiek

If you want a phone to make phone calls, this is the phone for you. If you want something to browse or read email, buy something else. I went from an android to this because of CDMA dropped calls continually. Well, I haven't dropped a call yet. So that works great! However, I like to text. I got used to touching one screen and texting someone. I never remember having to hit so many buttons to send one text in my life. I am so tired of trying to find a contact by the time I get to the screen to text someone, I forgot what I wanted to say. What a pain!!! The only easy way I found to text is go to the recent call list then message them. There is no way to change the menu shortcut buttons. I would love to put a text button for one of the shortcuts. No option to do that. This phone is prehistoric to say the least. When will this company put the menu screen for the home screen? Wouldn't that just be one less step someone would have take to message someone? In my opinion, this phone should cost $49.99. It is WAY overpriced for the functions of the phone. I just saw an Android on here for the same price. That makes this price ridiculous. Look at the picture of the phone on the ad. Doesnt this look like the menu would be the home screen? Wouldn't that be easy to do? So why haven't they?

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nettiek
Springfield OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Straight talk couldn't get phone to work
1/1/2013

Customer review by disappointedback2ATT

1.0 stars 1/1/2013 by disappointedback2ATT
by disappointedback2ATT

I don't necessarily know if the phone itself is bad, it seemed to be a problem with Straight Talk. They couldn't get the phone to make/receive calls. I even exchanged it and got a replacement in person from a store, instead of online. I had been calling customer service and trying to get them to fix the issue every day for a week with no results. Only randomly did they get it to work one day, and then the next day when they updated something, I lost the ability to make calls again. Then after another few days of continued horrible customer service, they got it to randomly make calls again, and then as soon as I hung up, they sent me a text to update the phone again, and I lost the ability to make calls again. They said they their highest tech support people had no answers. They also kept saying they'd escalate the request, and then nothing would come of it. I was really disappointed cause I wanted Straight Talk to work out since the $30 plan is a great price for what you get, but if Straight Talk can't seem to figure out how to program phones to work, it's not worth it! I think if you're lucky enough to not have to deal with customer service you may be ok. But from my experience and from other reviews I've read online, their customer service is pretty clueless and hard to deal with and get any results.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
disappointedback2ATT
Ridgewood, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/25/2012

Customer review by Dohepe

4.0 stars 12/25/2012 by Dohepe
by Dohepe

Camera is 1.3 MP so just ok, the more light you have in your photo the better. I bought this phone cause I'm on a tight budget as is most people these days and I wanted the option to have a phone that takes the $30 and $45 card plan. It is not a good phone to get if your thinking of spending a lot of time on the internet. The buttons on the qwerty text board is a little hard to push but you get use to it. No stroage, so I bought a 4GB sd card for it for just a few $$ so no biggie there. All in All this is a good phone. If you want a phone that does it all then better buy a smart phone , if you want a phone for calls and texting this phone will get the job done.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dohepe
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Would be a decent phone if it worked as it should
10/4/2012

Customer review by davidsco

3.0 stars 10/4/2012 by davidsco
by davidsco

Have had the phone for 2 weeks now. It works as a phone, but just has a couple of really annoying design flaws. 1. The backlight dims too dim, and randomly won't brighten when I press a button as it should. I have to move the slider to get it to. 2. The Vibrator is virtually useless. Unless you are holding the thing on your skin, you'll never feel it. 3. After the first alert of a message, it doesn't alert you again. Frequently, there's a VM or Text waiting and I had no idea. 4. The SD card is inside, requiring you to open the phone to get at it. 5. The buttons are small, and difficult to press, and the keyboard layout is only fair. The toggle one, in particular, is a little difficult to use. 6. Music quality is fair. Sound quality is decent. Bought the phone because it's on the Verizon network, and sadly, ST seems to be steering away from that. Coverage has been good, equivalent to my old Contract Verizon phone. The phone does NOT work with the Samsung Kies software

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
davidsco
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Outstanding "Dumb Phone"
5/2/2013

Customer review by meif

5.0 stars 5/2/2013 by meif
by meif

If you don't need a smart phone, this is the one to get. I bought this phone for my wife and she has really put this phone to the test. The phone works great and its on the Verizon network and it gets great reception.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
meif
Eastern, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
50 years old with bifocals.
4/19/2013

Customer review by Seefron62

5.0 stars 4/19/2013 by Seefron62
by Seefron62

Alphanumeric and QWERT keyboard are a plus. Also buttons are large enough to easily see/read.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Seefron62
Chester, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews