Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 133 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

133 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

133 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
55
4 stars
36
3 stars
13
2 stars
12
1 stars
17
1-20 of 108 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 108 total reviews
1-20 of 108 reviews
Best Phone Around, Period!
7/17/2012

Customer review by Fohpono

5.0 stars 7/17/2012 by Fohpono
by Fohpono

I got the LG 505C for my wife to replace her Samsung R375 which was terrible. The LG is far and away THE BEST CELLPHONE I have ever seen in its design and user friendliness. At first I was surprised at the compactness of the phone and wondered how difficult typing would be, but its keyboard is the best slide out QWERTY of any phone, somehow having larger keys, and with the combination of the touch screen offers a versatility that is unmatched anywhere. I also liked that the opening screen informs you of all your message status (voicemail and text), and that the alternate screens take you directly to your text messages and contacts. Whoever designed this phone knew what the user needed! All this, plus Verizon coverage, too! I took a lot of grief from my wife with the Samsung, but now she's happy, and that says a lot, trust me! I use a Samsung Proclaim, a supposed smartphone, but the LG, which is not a smartphone, makes my phone look like a dumbphone. If you don't need a smartphone, the LG 505C is definitely the smart choice!!!

Was this review helpful? (422) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fohpono
Maui, Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
there are some up's and down's
6/26/2012

Customer review by Catclaus

2.0 stars 6/26/2012 by Catclaus
by Catclaus

The up's are that the phone have a nice view on the screen, and easy to text message with the slider keys , and touch screen is pretty good. THe downside to this expensive phone is The browser is kinda slow, and the view with that is small .. so theres not alot you can do regarding the browser ... you can do a status update on your fb but it may take a little while .. and it takes some time to get a good picture to come in on the browser or never .. takes too long to get focus .. all and all if you want a phone that makes calls and tex it is good as the other just cost more . also, the battery life is short . if you like to piece together a puzzle when you not on the phone,, well if you get this phone using the browser is like putting together a puzzle with all the wrong pieces so all text and call fine ,, otherwise nothing else to it ... camera isn't that great either... if you are a camera lover and getting great photos with ease this phone is not good for that either.

Was this review helpful? (210) (58)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Catclaus
Memmmmmphissssssss
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Best Phone I Ever Owned
7/25/2012

Customer review by Hleggette

5.0 stars 7/25/2012 by Hleggette
by Hleggette

I absolutely love this device. It's got it all, QUERTY and touchscreen with fast access buttons below the touchscreen; *great* for bypassing menus on the screen, effectively giving you shortcuts to actions. The screen gives you the maximum real estate, while the overall size of the device is compact but not too small for a large hand. I was worried about the keyboard keys being too small for large fingers, but I've had no trouble texting, at all. I was a bit shocked at how fast I adapted to the touchscreen; within minutes, I was sailing thru the menus like I had been doing it for years. It's obvious that this device is the result of some ergonomic evolution. This was a replacement for a T-mobile phone; and boy, it blows the t-mobile stuff out of the water. Before I had trouble with coverage, now with this LG 505C and Straighttalk coverage, I've had just about no problems at all. Previously at home I had spotty reception with T-mobile; with the LG 505C, that's history. Better coverage than I've ever experienced before. All in all, just about the best buying decision I've made so far this year.

Was this review helpful? (89) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hleggette
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Purchase of LG 800g and LG 505c
8/6/2012

Customer review by pickySandy

3.0 stars 8/6/2012 by pickySandy
by pickySandy
Top 500 contributor

Purchased two LG 800g's [hubby & son] - after trying for a week, I'll update. I got LG 505c to have a different carrier - that way we should have service [hopefully] when traveling. We had Verizon Wireless before and paying just for talk - our bill was as much as we are paying now for talk, text, and some data. Porting of our numbers was very easy [did on our computer] and very fast - couldn't believe how fast and we did this in the evening hours - in a matter of 15 minutes each. So far, we are liking the phones but new technology gets complicated - we haven't had texting or data plus touchscreens - wow, what a way to confuse older folks!" LG 800g runs off of AT&T towers LG 505c runs off of Verizon towers Service would depend on the towers in your area - so check it out. If you're a traveler, you might want to check out "service" in the area where you travel, too!

Was this review helpful? (77) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pickySandy
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Great features! Good price. Overall good purchase.
9/25/2013

Customer review by CarefulConsumer007

4.0 stars 9/25/2013 by CarefulConsumer007
by CarefulConsumer007
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have had this phone for about a week and so far I like it. It has been easy to figure out all of the functions and it works well. It is priced well at $70. The features are similar to my husbands LG (straight-talk) smart phone that costed about $150. The quality is slightly less than my husbands phone, but it still a good phone. Pros: The 3 home screens are VERY useful. LOVE the QWERTY slide-out keyboard (which is partly the reason I bought it). It is very easy to text on! Love how the screen switches directions when the phone is turned for easy viewing. Love having a touch screen. Cons: The touch screen works pretty well, but is not as sensitive to touch as my husbands LG Smart Phone. It takes a little getting used to, however I am already figuring out the best way to touch it and make it cooperate after only having it a week. The phone is a little small. It fits well in the hand of an average woman, but if you are a man that has bigger hands, the size may bother you. Over all it is a good purchase. I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CarefulConsumer007
Klamath Falls, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LG 505C slider cell phone using the $30 Plan
11/6/2012

Customer review by ChooseyShoppper

5.0 stars 11/6/2012 by ChooseyShoppper
by ChooseyShoppper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My husband loves his phone. The service was easy to set up and when I needed to call into the Straight Talk customer service they provided just what I needed to finish the set up. We ported our numbers from a name brand company and did not have a problem as we were already out of contract. I got our phones on the Wal Mart website and had them delivered to the store. I got them on "price roll back" so we saved money on the phones and the no shipping charge. Since my husband just wanted a phone with a key board and did not want a smart phone I got him this one, it runs on the Verizion towers. We are saving money using Straight Talk and are getting more phone services than we did with the company we switched from. The only complaint I have is that Wal Mart does not offer any extra accessories for this phone. I found the total screen protector and snap on case at two different sites online. So far we have found no reason to regret our decision to change service. Straight Talk offers several ways to pay for our service so it fits our needs well. I usually go to WalMart at least once a month or more to shop so it is easy to pick up the service cards and load them into the phones.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChooseyShoppper
Southeastern USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is a very good cell phone.
10/19/2012

Customer review by Crash2012

5.0 stars 10/19/2012 by Crash2012
by Crash2012

This was purchased for me as a replacement phone for my anniversary. This Cell phone is a great phone for people who do not wish to have smart phone capabilities. You are able to purchase either a $30 or $45 phone card so you are able to control how much you spend. This phone is easy to use. I have had a week and have had no issues with dropped calls. The camera takes decent pictures. The call quality has been good. This should be a good upgrade to a touch screen phone. It has both a touch screen and a querty slide out for easy texting. I notice the price was reduced by $20 since my husband purchased it.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Crash2012
Elmira, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good but Small!!
7/7/2012

Customer review by SwampMomma

4.0 stars 7/7/2012 by SwampMomma
by SwampMomma

This phone is ok, seems to be pretty good quality so far but dont fool yourself by thinking it's as big as a smart phone. The pic is misleading because its a full screen/touch screen phone. It's actually smaller than my blackberry and I compared it to an old flip phone I had and it was the same size as that too. But I will be keeping it as I'm not a phone junky and pretty easy to please. Overall, I like that I can have phone service for half the price as my old verizon contract service.

Was this review helpful? (149) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SwampMomma
The Swamp, Fl. Go Gators!
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Battery Life
6/29/2012

Customer review by mixail007

5.0 stars 6/29/2012 by mixail007
by mixail007

We really like the phone. it has a great battery life, easy way to text. It is not a phone designed to browse, it is better equipped for calls, text messaging and taking pictures, great value. in my area, it is using the verizon network and call quality is awesome compared to sprint and att.

Was this review helpful? (248) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mixail007
indianapolis,in
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Phone
8/14/2012

Customer review by tony6620

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by tony6620
by tony6620

down sized from my LG Optimus Q smart phone, great for phone calls, and messaging, 4 0r 5 day battery life, can't beat $30 month plan, over all good basic phone

Was this review helpful? (56) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tony6620
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lots of features and easy to use.
11/21/2012

Customer review by tt4mb

4.0 stars 11/21/2012 by tt4mb
by tt4mb
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I like the overall design and user friendly features on this phone. The touch screen allows me to access my favorite contacts with just a one touch command. The slide-out keyboard is convenient and assures accuracy when dialing or text. I can create my own ring tones and customize my groups easily. A great phone for the money and I've already purchased one for my wife!

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tt4mb
Hesperia, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Straight Talk can't be beat for value.
7/20/2012

Customer review by 000Dude

4.0 stars 7/20/2012 by 000Dude
by 000Dude

This is my families third account with Straight Talk and we have been satisfied with the coverage area, phones and value. Straight Talk continues to lead the way for reliable and value in my opinion. This LG 505C is a great touch screen phone. My daughter love the phone size and it has lots of options and is perfect for texting and for social networks. I would recommend Straight Talk to anyone looking to save money on other expensive phone services and I would recommend this phone for the in crowd looking for a cool phone.

Was this review helpful? (35) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
000Dude
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good basic phone
9/14/2012

Customer review by Rocketman46

4.0 stars 9/14/2012 by Rocketman46
by Rocketman46

I purchased my LG 505c a few days ago, so far, so good. I believe it runs off Verizon towers so call quality is not too bad. Battery life is above average. I have not been able to connect to the web yet. Message says unavailable when I click the browser icon. This is not a smartphone but good for calls and texting.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rocketman46
Middleburg, Fla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great touch/slider combo
7/13/2012

Customer review by CR160521

5.0 stars 7/13/2012 by CR160521
by CR160521

the phone is great so far.the camera takes good pictures even though i don't use it as much.the slide out keyboard is easy to use and can get used to it quick.the screen is a bit sensitive but it's not an issue.browser seems to do great with the time i used it.the battery does run out a little quick but also not an issue.the price surprised me as phones with the same features can cost alot more.overall it is the best straight talk phone i have owned so far.

Was this review helpful? (36) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CR160521
La Porte,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/11/2012

Customer review by sndrand

5.0 stars 8/11/2012 by sndrand
by sndrand

Had my phone for almost a month and haven't had any problems or issues so I'm happy so far. I do not use the internet much but have been on a few times and it seems to connect without a problem.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sndrand
Lake City, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good economical phone.
11/13/2012

Customer review by gilly2

5.0 stars 11/13/2012 by gilly2
by gilly2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my second one because I dropped my other one in water. This is a good phone for the money and does everything I need. What better recommendation than I bought it twice. This phone is cheaper if you buy it online and pick up in the store. You will find that with other phones from Walmart too. The Sales persons are very helpful with setting you up in the store.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gilly2
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/3/2012

Customer review by skyy93

5.0 stars 7/3/2012 by skyy93
by skyy93

Bought this phone for the price and thought of all the features as bonuses. IM IN LOVE WITH IT! Favorite phone ive ever owned

Was this review helpful? (60) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skyy93
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/21/2013

Customer review by momof3inMO

4.0 stars 3/21/2013 by momof3inMO
by momof3inMO

As for price this is a great phone. Calls clarity is pretty good, except on the occasion of the "feedback" like talking into a bad mic. You can access Facebook and do posts on your fb acct. but...you can NOT post pics with this phone to a fb acct. I called Straighttalk and was told to contact FB. Fb has not responded at all. So, I called LG and talked to the technical folks there. I was told..."The only way to put pictures on your FB acct to be seen on your LG phone is to do the following: take a picture, send it to an email acct, save from email acct to computer, then save from computer to your FB acct." "This phone does not carry the option to download pictures to any FB acct." I was sooo bummed, that now my phone is for sale on a swap shop! I will be upgrading to a Straighttalk phone like my husbands'...the Samsung Proclaim! It has almost everything I am looking for #minus the real qwerty keyboard...it has the virtual one...grrr#, and...I can post pics from the phone to my FB acct. This is a real great phone for the person that wants to get used to a touchscreen. Hope this helps someone!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momof3inMO
Northwest Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not at all what I wanted
10/5/2012

Customer review by csugirl2012

2.0 stars 10/5/2012 by csugirl2012
by csugirl2012

I've had this phone for 2 days. This is not the phone that i wanted but when I went to Walmart to get the one i did want they didn't have it so i got this one. The screen is very small. when you go on the internet it distorts the screen a lot-especially with email. It takes forever to get a picture to load. It has great service though for making calls and sending texts. The shutter speed on the camera is quick but it's not great quality. You can't listen to music and do anything else on the phone at the same time. you have to stay on the music player screen to keep listening. I can't get it to stop saying "New message from..." when i get a new text or a phone call. Even if the phone is on silent, it still rings when someone calls me (that has already gotten me in trouble at work) the touch screen is VERY touchy! you can't scroll down just a little bit it's either stay where you are on the screen or go all the way to the bottom. All the pictures from my memory card can't be viewed on this phone so I had no way to view them except on Facebook. It's going back today and I am going to try out the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim.

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
csugirl2012
Summerville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Phone For The Money
10/31/2012

Customer review by HandymanRon

3.0 stars 10/31/2012 by HandymanRon
by HandymanRon

Talk, text, battery life and overall usability are good. Browsing is the pits. I've had this phone for over 3 months and really like the keyboard. It even works well with fat fingers. You don't receive emails on it and it's difficult to go to a website, but you get good talk quality. Camera is ok, but not the greatest. Going to LG's website and downloading the owner's manual will unlock many features the phone has going for it. Shortcuts galore. Great starter phone and $30. a month isn't bad. Have had issues with adding more time to my account. Customer service reps are hard to understand as they are located in Pakistan or India.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HandymanRon
92225
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 108 total reviews
1-20 of 108 reviews