Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 284 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

284 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

284 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
86
4 stars
69
3 stars
35
2 stars
31
1 stars
63
1-20 of 263 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 263 total reviews
1-20 of 263 reviews
Love, love , love!
8/22/2012

Customer review by clb112085

5.0 stars 8/22/2012 by clb112085
by clb112085

I've had this phone for about a week now and I absolutely love it! This is my first smartphone and I couldn't be happier with the purchase. The phone is easy to use, but does a lot! Everything is so much easier with this phone. I have had no trouble with it freezing or resetting as I read in a few other reviews. I went with straight talk (and with this phone specifically) because a very helpful walmart associate said that of the straight talk phones, this one got the best service coverage. He could not have been more right. The service coverage is awesome and the phone itself is fantastic. It makes social networking, texting, browsing, and anything else you may need simple and fast. Activating my service was quick and simple. I did it online and within 10 minutes the service was active. I have not had to contact customer service for anything yet, but I have read several reviews stating that the customer service is horrible. I guess we'll see...the phone, however, is worth every penny!

Was this review helpful? (43) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
clb112085
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beware! Internal storage is ONLY 160MB!
1/16/2014

Customer review by medicineheart

1.0 stars 1/16/2014 by medicineheart
by medicineheart

Pro: Good phone if you do not wish to install apps. Great for phone calling, texting, social networking. Con: Very low internal storage of 160MB. This is only < 20% of a Gig. If you download any apps do not get anything higher then 10MB or your storage will be low and you will need to dump the apps. Bloatware on the phone cannot be deleted. SOME downloaded apps can be moved to the sd card but that is fruitless because those same apps will take up space on the internal storage so having a sd card is useless. There are MANY MANY complaints of this phone on the straighttalk forums. In the Samsung forum every inquiry has a mysterious canned request from straighttalk to take the privately with them thru email. The other thing I had noticed and did my own research on straightalk that the phones that are listed only the iPad phones list their internal storage on the website. All the other phones that they offer DO NOT list the internal storage space. Wished I known this before I purchased it from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (65) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
medicineheart
West Union, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
ZTE Merit--Great Phone for the Price
7/24/2012

Customer review by Sweetpeacm06

5.0 stars 7/24/2012 by Sweetpeacm06
by Sweetpeacm06

I researched this phone before I bought it, I also went and entered 93 zip codes from SC, NC NY and NJ and all but 3 said that this phone worked in those areas. So I bought the phone, then went on a trip from Myrtle Beach, 'SC to New Jersey and I never lost coverage or data use. So far it has been a great phone. I was worried about memory, but I simple went and bought a high MB MicroSD card(problem solved#. Took photos while on my trip and they came out great. #FYI: You do not need a high pixel camera (on phone or regular camer#, unless you plan on blowing them up for a poster or are on a crime photography team. Just an FYI) Browsing has been fine. No problem there. Downloading apps thru Google Play Android Markert. No problem there. Since this is a GSM ATT phone I foresee and have had no problems. So if you are wanting a good Android for a good price and one that works very well on the East Coast #that I know for a fact) I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (193) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sweetpeacm06
TooHotMyrtleBeach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A "dumb" smartphone?
4/1/2013

Customer review by rebel260

3.0 stars 4/1/2013 by rebel260
by rebel260
Top 500 contributor

My first android (WOW!) phone and bought it blinded by starry eyes that blinded me. It failed about 8 months after purchase when the back button broke inside the circuit board - no repair. Here's what I learned while it worked: This phone is handicapped by grossly insufficient memory and while it claims you can add a micro-SD card, you can't really USE that card for loading many aps because the phone comes with a ton of pre-installed google based aps that can't be uninstalled and they use all the VERY small internal memory needed to download or run other aps. Basically, the Merit could've been a good basic "android for beginners" choice but instead, they made a "dumb" smartphone that can run the mostly useless google aps that come with it. To use this phone, you will NEED to learn very careful memory management skills. I gave this phone 3 out of 5 only because I bought it as an education and it taught me all the things that I wanted and it wasn't. I definitely would NOT recommend this phone to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (21) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rebel260
South Bend, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
DO NOT BUY, SAVE YOURSELF THE HEADACHE
8/19/2013

Customer review by Deano22

1.0 stars 8/19/2013 by Deano22
by Deano22

I did not want to pay Verizon's prices anymore, so I purchased this phone. It has been nothing but trouble. Let me first say, that I'm very careful. Have never dropped it, got it wet, etc. You cannot get rid of the preinstalled apps. or move them to an SD card which leaves you vertically no space to download any additional apps you might want. I have put on 2 and get messages that my phone is out of space. Phone now rejects incoming text messages due to no space which forces me to have to delete pics and messages (even if I have no messages, I still get incoming texts rejected). Phone #1 began rebooting itself over and over. Only way to get it to quit, was to take out battery and wait on shipping label to return it. Phone #2. doing same thing PLUS now when I make a call, I can see they've answered, but I cannot hear them. Sending the phone in again, but may just use it as a back up or give it to my son. Going back to Verizon. I travel and this phone is not reliable at all.

Was this review helpful? (28) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Deano22
Pittsboro, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So far, so good!!
6/26/2012

Customer review by Weetomah

4.0 stars 6/26/2012 by Weetomah
by Weetomah

I bought 2 of these phones just yesterday and so far my daughter and I love it! I am not a cell phone techie, but it was very easy to enter all my contacts into it. I had another touch screen phone that I did not like at all, but this one has been very easy to use. The screen is not so sensitive that it opens everything that is touched. My daughter had hers all set up and ready for activation within 15 minutes of taking it out of the box. She activated boh of them through the Straight Talk website and all went well and fairly quickly. Both of these phones were activated and running within 2 hours. I think I have my husband convinced to switch to this phone from another Straight Talk phone he got yesterday! I had to call Customer Service to complete the activation of his phone and they were very nice. I had some concerns as I knew they were not located in the US, but the woman I spoke with was very easy to work with and was very helpful.

Was this review helpful? (84) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Weetomah
Greenville, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very disappointed.
8/7/2012

Customer review by nicknametaken12345

1.0 stars 8/7/2012 by nicknametaken12345
by nicknametaken12345

The first one of these I bought wouldn't charge right so I exchanged it. This one is the exact same way but I realized that the reason that it sometimes charges and sometimes not...heat. When the phone gets hot or even overly warm, it will not charge. It gets hot easily so it's almost impossible to charge while you're talking on it because the heat from your head and your hand holding it is usually enough to do it. The battery life is poor yet it takes a long time to charge it. The internal memory on the phone itself is terrible. The preset apps take up so much room that almost every other app you download in addition to those HAVE to go on the memory card and you can't put every app on the SD card. Sometimes I even have to remove an app to have enough memory to download and install a new one that can go on the memory card then I have to download the one I removed again. It has also started freezing after about 3 weeks. I would NEVER buy this again. Actually I'm hoping it breaks so I can use the insurance I got on it and get a new one!

Was this review helpful? (33) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nicknametaken12345
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT PHONE, GREAT PRICE, GREAT SERVICE!
7/7/2012

Customer review by JeffreyV

5.0 stars 7/7/2012 by JeffreyV
by JeffreyV

I just purchased this Android (ZTE Merit) from my local Wal-Mart for my wife. I was a little skeptical from hearing about the short battery life and the fact it runs on AT&T and not Verizon. My wife has downloaded everything onto this phone, been surfing the web, playing games, etc. and without charging it for over 24 hrs. and the battery life was around the half way mark. It never has froze up, never had any problems with downloading programs, no dropped calls and the battery lasts just as long as any other phone. We have been with Straight Talk for going on 2 years and the service has always exceeded our expectations. Great phone, Great Price, and Great Service. I highly recommend the ZTE Merit. P.S. As far as the battery life follow the instructions on how to save your battery which comes with the phone, that is what we did and we have had no problem with the battery draining to fast.

Was this review helpful? (293) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JeffreyV
Trenton, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
One small design flaw....one MAJOR problem
3/7/2013

Customer review by FentonJester63026

1.0 stars 3/7/2013 by FentonJester63026
by FentonJester63026

This had the potential to be a good phone, instead, "Smart" is not a word I would to describe this phone. It is made with only 160 MB (No, not 1.6 GB, 160 MB) of internal memory. It is loaded with progarams you cant remove. Problem is those programs update, and as they do, your internal memory shrinks. It lasted me over the 15 days they give you to return it, but shortly after I just kept getting error messages that I'm low on space. Had plenty of room in the SD card, but doesn't matter. Without internal memory, you cant download/update anything. my top bar is loaded with error messages. I have plenty of RAM and space on SD, but becuse the phone itself has fiiled its own memory with things I don't even use, its worthless. You can go through every program, delete the updates, download/update what you want, then transfer that to SD. But that doesn't seem too much like a "Smart Phone" to me.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FentonJester63026
Fenton,MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great phone for the price!
7/6/2012

Customer review by Krazedncer

4.0 stars 7/6/2012 by Krazedncer
by Krazedncer

This is my first fancy phone. I left verizon and went to straight talk to save money. I have had this phone for about 3 weeks and I am totally happy with it. I do live out in the country and when I am driving into town, I do have a couple of dead spots where I get dropped calls (with Verizon I didn't). I just know where those spots are and don't use my phone until I get through them. I bought the 3 month unlimited and so far it is worth the savings even though I get a few dropped calls. I do have to charge this phone every night. If I don't, I may not make it through 2 full days. I don't know if I just got a bad battery or if its just the way it is. It comes with 2 GB memory card which did not take long to fill up. I have a couple of apps on there and 2 short videos, and about 5 pictures and it says I have low space. So, I am buying more memory. For the most part, I am happy with this phone. Of course this is my first Android so I don't have much to compare it to. It is everything I expected it to be.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Krazedncer
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for the price
6/19/2012

Customer review by TheChuck321

4.0 stars 6/19/2012 by TheChuck321
by TheChuck321

I love this phone. I moved and had very low signal on my Optimus Q because it uses Sprint towers. I read the reviews on this phone and they said the Merit used AT&T towers. I went to my local Walmart and it wasn't there. I went here and it wasn't online either so I ordered directly from StraightTalk. The phone came quickly with free FedEx Overnight Delivery. Easy to set up online on my account and they had it registered and working within a few hours. The only bad part is that the lower left part of my screen broke in my pocket. I contacted StraightTalk and they said they will send me a replacement phone, so now I will be waiting on that. StraightTalk has had excellent customer service the few times I've used them. I mainly use their online customer service because their call center is in another country and I have hearing problems as it is, and trying to get through an accent is difficult. Text knows no accent... lol It's a great Android phone, you won't be sorry buying it, just make sure you find a hard cell phone case. mine was in the mail on it's way to me when the screen broke. Day late, dollar short...

Was this review helpful? (279) (52)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheChuck321
New Castle, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great phone
12/24/2012

Customer review by BJM1712

4.0 stars 12/24/2012 by BJM1712
by BJM1712
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this phone for my teenage daughter for Christmas this year. Since she hasn't opened the gift yet I don't know how she will like it, but I found it to be a great phone. I took everything out of the packaging so that i could charge the phone and load the $45.00 card and add some of her music from our computer. I took pictures that turned out very well, music downloaded quickly and the phone activated in minutes, sending me a text message on my cell phone. It took some time to familiarize myself, as my android is much more basic that this phone, but overall, I'm very impressed. It isn't quite as large as an Iphone, but has many of the same features and plenty of apps possibilities with google apps. I called myself, tone quality very good- no raspy annoying noise, music played beautifully with ear buds she has from her ipod. I bought her a micro sd card to enhance the storage that she can put in when she wants to. Overall, highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BJM1712
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exceeds Expectations
6/26/2012

Customer review by Caramel0819

5.0 stars 6/26/2012 by Caramel0819
by Caramel0819

I previously had the LG Optimus Q. That phone was the only android at the time and works off Sprint network. The service was HORRIBLE in my house. Never had a dropped call or anything just could surf the web and get on FB like I wanted to. So finally they came out with this one that is $50 cheaper than the LG. I can say that it does everything that the other phone did. It is way faster and I can watch youtube in my house without it buffering AT ALL. I absolutely love it. The only difference I can tell is that when I try to make a song a ringtone it won't let me because it says it is too big. On the other phone I could do that. The song has to be a short ringtone...like 30 seconds or less. I can live with that. Wonderful phone for the price. Don't be fooled into buying more expensive phones....this one is great and just as good as the more more expensive ones.

Was this review helpful? (57) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Caramel0819
Springdale, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
ZTE Merit has met all my expectations!
6/21/2012

Customer review by gloryhusk

4.0 stars 6/21/2012 by gloryhusk
by gloryhusk

I have been very happy with my ZTE Merit purchase, so far. I have owned this phone for about 2 months and have not had any issues with it so far. I use it everyday! My previous phone was a Blackberry Curve from Verizon and I had numerous issues with freezing. I have had none of those issues with this phone. Super fast downloads. I use PhoneZoo and ring-tones download in about 10 seconds. Streaming music does not lag at all. The pre-loaded Apps are pretty cool and the phone comes with the Google App store where you can find many free Apps. Only downside is the battery life lasts only about 36 hours but as long as you plug it in before bedtime, you should not have a problem. I am going to be looking for a better battery. Other than that, this phone is great for the money!

Was this review helpful? (134) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gloryhusk
26101
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good value.
7/25/2012

Customer review by WalmartCustomerinAZ

4.0 stars 7/25/2012 by WalmartCustomerinAZ
by WalmartCustomerinAZ

Overall I am very happy with this phone. The Price of the phone combined with the Straight Talk unlimited plan is a very good value. It must be a very popular phone as it was out of stock at my local Walmart and out of stock at Walmart.com, so I got mine directly through the Straight Talk website. Coverage and reception has been great with this phone. It runs on the AT&T network which is actually what sold me on buying this phone and switching my service to Straight Talk. The only minor gripe I have with the phone is that for some reason I can't watch or stream video from some websites when browsing. I don't know if all smartphone's are like that or what the problem may be, but overall it's not a huge issue as most of the major sites like YouTube have an app or a mobile site where the video works. Other than the minor video issue this smartphone seems to be able to do everything else.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartCustomerinAZ
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Do not buy this phone
8/1/2014

Customer review by AllisonC89

1.0 stars 8/1/2014 by AllisonC89
by AllisonC89

Do not be lured in by the low price-- this phone isn't even worth that. Very limited storage, lots of pre-installed apps one does not need but cannot delete to free up space. I am also unable to move the useless apps to SD card. I will randomly be told that my text message inbox is full when I have 2 or fewer messages, which I must then delete. And restart the phone. And if I'm lucky, I will receive the incoming text that prompted the "text message inbox full" notice several hours later. Now, after about a year, the touchscreen has randomly failed. I cannot unlock the phone. Two restarts later, it still will not unlock. If you only want to place calls, this phone may be (barely) adequate for your needs. But anything else is nigh impossible with this poor excuse for a cellphone. In short, DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AllisonC89
Would recommend to a friend? No
reboots constantly
9/13/2012

Customer review by highlandergrog

1.0 stars 9/13/2012 by highlandergrog
by highlandergrog

I was really happy with this phone initially, lots of features and a really good value. However, I am on my second one in a matter of 2 days due to its constant restarting. The first one I bought within 20 mins of opening it and charging it restarted about a dozen times. I put up with it thinking that it would improve. It didn't. I returned it the next day to exchange for a different one thinking that maybe it was just this particular phone. Within an hour of being fully charged it restarted twice. Better than the first one but still glitchy. When I returned the first one the sales associate who helped me (awesome customer service btw) said she had never had any similar complaints and it was their most popular model. Since I had problems I looked online and have found several reviews from other consumers reporting a similar problem so I know that while not a common one it is an issue with the phone. If you are lucky enough to get one without this problem then aside from the lack of memory due to bloatware I think you will be happy. If, on the other hand, you happen to get one that is defective save yourself the headache and just buy a different brand of phone.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
highlandergrog
Columbia, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
ATT ZTE MERIT Z990G Low Stgorage Capacity
8/31/2012

Customer review by JBG1935

3.0 stars 8/31/2012 by JBG1935
by JBG1935

I purchased two ZTE MERIT 990G cell phones from Wal-Mart on July 27, 2012, I charged the phones overnight. The next day, logged, on to Straight Talk followed the instructions and ported my old numbers, I was surprised the phone and numbers were active within fifteen minutes, great service. The ZTE MERIT phones after one month have been great phones, easy to operate and program. My wife and I are in our late seventies and this is our first smart phone. The only problem I have had so far is witth the Internal Storage Capacity, the advertisement states 512 MB. With nothing downloaded on the Internal Storage, I show only 163 “MB” of Total Internal Storage Capacity and a low Internal Storage Capacity keeps popping up. I have replace the 2GB SD Card with a 16GB SD CLASS 4 CARD. If I have any problems in the future I will return and post on this site.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JBG1935
Kenesaw, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great phone for a great price.
9/6/2012

Customer review by StraightTalker4

5.0 stars 9/6/2012 by StraightTalker4
by StraightTalker4

This is my first Android phone and I love it! The Merit does everything that I expected and more. I bought a nice cover for it and it looks nice. In fact, one of my co workers thought it was an HTC phone lol. The thing I am most pleased with is the speed of the internet. The internet on all of the other Straight Talk phones I have had was very very slow and didn't load a lot of webpages. The Merit is super fast. I am even able to watch Netflix without even connecting to wifi. I used to have a Blackberry through Verizon and the Straight Talk ZTE Merit by far a better, and faster phone. LOVE THIS PHONE!!!

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StraightTalker4
joplin, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Want an Android phone without spending big big $$$
7/5/2012

Customer review by SKG6

5.0 stars 7/5/2012 by SKG6
by SKG6

then this is the phone for you. This is by far the best phone that I have owned so far. I find it to be the best budget friendly phone for the price. You just can't beat it. You get all the things you are looking for in an Android phone but without spending close to $200.00 or more. Mine is running off from AT&T, great signal. Call clarity is great. Text messaging sending/receiving has great response time. The web features are awesome for this phone. There are many features pre-installed on this phone. For example, GPS, facebook, google search which has speech to text option available, and many more. You will also find many "free" apps to choose from from the Google Play app. store. (I would suggest downloading the Dolphin browser to use instead of the pre-installed web browser. It seems to work a little faster.) This phone has a 5mp camera and camcorder function. They both work nicely in a well lit room but not so great in a dark setting. Having a flash would have been nice but still I'm satisfied. The battery life on this phone in my opinion is "excellent". I don't make that statement lightly. I have used this phone for long periods of time in a day and the battery life barely decreased. At the end of the day I still had 35% battery life. This phone also comes with a charging cord that can plug into a computer USB port or a wall outlet. If your thinking of purchasing this phone, I say go for it. I don't think you will be disappointed. In fact, I believe you will be happily surprised how feature rich this phone is. This is the first device that I have rated a full 5 stars and was happy to do so.

Was this review helpful? (71) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SKG6
Eastern KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 263 total reviews
1-20 of 263 reviews