Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 106 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

106 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

106 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
30
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 stars
27
1-20 of 88 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews
It's a phone yet a very small computer
5/18/2013

Customer review by Logicgirl

4.0 stars 5/18/2013 by Logicgirl
by Logicgirl

I've had this phone for over a year now and I love love love this phone. I also like the fact that it's a tiny computer in my hand and like all computers that get really full, it will run very slow. So I limit what's on the my PHONE, since it's used mostly as a phone. I like the sliding keyboard feature and have found a stylus comes in very handy for the touchscreen. I've put a small piece of velcro on the case and one on the stylus to keep in place when not in use. I also replaced the 2mb memory chip with a 16mb. Love the camera, it takes great shots when you don't have a better actual camera at hand. I've also found that by having only a few items running like the bluetooth and sound, my battery lasts a few days. Not much of a texter, but it's handy and only use the internet on an occasion, another handy feature, but again it's a phone. Good product, good phone.

Logicgirl
Seattle, WA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DO NOT BUY!! Save yourself the frustration!!
11/13/2013

Customer review by Toni

1.0 stars 11/13/2013 by Toni
by Toni

This is the worse phone i have ever had. I've had two of these phones and they both acted the same way. It pretty much does whatever it wants, if you open up an app there's a good chance (after it takes a good 2 minutes for it to finally open) that it will just close on you. Most of the time when i try to open an app using the shortcut on the home screen it doesn't do anything. The genius button is useless, it completely freezes my phone when i accidentally press the buttonIve had this phone for 2 years and I've never used the stupid G button. The battery only lasts me about 4-5 hours with normal usage, after charging it overnight i have to charge it about noon, and then again around 6. By the time i go to bed the battery is almost dead again. I could literally go on and on about how awful this phone is and how many times I've wanted to throw it out the window but i wont. Just do yourself a favor and don't buy it!!! The only good thing i have to say about this phone is the keyboard. The keys are spaces out perfectly, makes for easy and efficient typing. But that's all. Not worth the stress of dealing wih the touch screen.

Toni
Boston, MA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice Basic Android Phone
4/2/2012

Customer review by ScoopDL

3.0 stars 4/2/2012 by ScoopDL
by ScoopDL

This phone is by no means the fastest phone available, and it does have its bugs, but it works fine for the price. The only problems I have are that the browser unexpectedly closes at random intervals (seems this happens on other android devices as well), and the phone resets itself if I run larger apps that bog it down. Otherwise, all other feature work. A system upgrade is supposed to be released soon, so hopefully that fixes some issues.

ScoopDL
Riverside, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great smart phone
10/31/2012

Customer review by csaskins

4.0 stars 10/31/2012 by csaskins
by csaskins

This is my second smart phone from LG and I am very impressed w/it so far! I have been using it for about 3 months now and it works great! I use it extensively and the battery charge lasts all day long. It only takes about an hour or so to fully recharge. The screen is a good size and responds to touch very well but not too sensitive.

csaskins
Lexington, NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So Slow!
5/14/2013

Customer review by Moore

1.0 stars 5/14/2013 by Moore
by Moore

This phone is very slow and I seem to always have problems with it.

Moore
Houston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
so very slow
10/6/2012

Customer review by dosmastr

1.0 stars 10/6/2012 by dosmastr
by dosmastr

This phone is a budget device in every way possible. Even with the latest firmware update, the browser and google play will randomly exit. The voice recognition of the genius button is mediocre at best. The touch screen and soft buttons are unresponsive large portions of time. Even Angry Birds shutters sometimes. Soft buttons – particularly the genius button do not work half the time. Open the genius button APP from the apps menu and it works every time Open the system monitor and you see the CPU usage never drops below 25%, just scroll on the list of 1 to 3 apps which are running (each using 0% cpu) and the CPU usage fly’s up to 70 or 80% (just scroll and the cpu is taxed that much) The keypad is off center. I've used physical qwerty phones for 7 years now and this one still throws me off 6 months after purchase. Get a picture on google and picture where your thumbs rest for "Home row" there are 2 small and one big buttons to the right of your right thumb and 3 small and one big to the left of your left thumb—left thumb has to cover 2/3 of the keyboard. Secondly the buttons are just too big, you cant type fast because they are so large it takes more time to move your thumb from one to the next. The camera is a joke. anything other than perfect lighting and the picture comes out fuzzy or with the colors all wrong. My wife has a different phone and we can take the same photo with both phones, her's comes out looking good, mine looks all washed out so its THIS camera or software just being terrible. The call volume is also not high enough sometimes even when at maximum, "speaker-phone" must be used but if you are in a car that is even running you can't hear it without holding it up to your ear. (Have not tried BT) Under normal usage the battery holds up pretty well for me, I'll burn 45-70% in a 18-20 hour day. Its rare that the battery is dead before normal bed time. Disabling background data really makes a difference here. The latest firmware update marginally helped everything. The phone boot time is now pretty fast while the factory firmware took a full 5 minutes to startup. LG has said there will be a android 4.0 Ice cream sandwich (ICS) update in the 2nd or 3rd quarter of 2012. Forth quarter is here, the ICS update isn’t. The only goods I can come out of this with are the battery life is far above average, and the physical device feels solid.

dosmastr
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
An excellent first smartphone.
12/17/2012

Customer review by BradleyJM

4.0 stars 12/17/2012 by BradleyJM
by BradleyJM
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got 1 for my girlfriend and she is very happy with it. It has nearly all the features of my much more expensive phone and is smooth and easy to operate. An excellent value for the money spent it just made sense.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BradleyJM
Lakewood Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great features easy to use
10/10/2012

Customer review by paintsandropes

4.0 stars 10/10/2012 by paintsandropes
by paintsandropes

I got a defective phone that would flip between service and no service with 3-5 bars of signal. BUT the phone is very easy to use. I liked the on screen QWERTY key board. The layout and size of the buttons are good for larger fingers. Everything is available from the home screen. No menues having menues having menues like someother phones. Battery life good. Pretty much all the features you can get in a non smart phone. My local walmart did not carry the LG800 so I had to get a LG505. The LG505 is not as easy to use and does not have half of the features the LG800 has, and at 2x the price. I hate it. PLEASE CHECK THE STRAIGHT TALK WEBSITE FOR COVERAGE for the phone you want. Walmart website does NOT have accurate coverage information by zip code. ST customer phone service usually has a 20 minute wait time. Using the web has never been suscessful for me in activating a phone. ST web will say that your phone has been activated but it actually has not.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
paintsandropes
Fargo, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Decent little phone
9/26/2012

Customer review by MsKYWildcat

4.0 stars 9/26/2012 by MsKYWildcat
by MsKYWildcat

My husband bought us these phones because they happened to be the only option in-store. Since we knew we could return within 15 days and switch phone, he went ahead and got them. I previously had a smartphone (Samsung Galaxy S) and I hated that phone because I had so many problems with it. Plus, I didn't use all the bells and whistles that smartphones provide, so it was pointless for me to have the bill along with it. I knew someone who had Straight Talk and loved it, so we dropped T-Mobile and came on over. This phone is a good phone for anyone who wants the basic talk and text phone. It is small and sleek. The only thing I didn't like was that the icons on the screen looked generic (if you can imagine that). However, that's probably only because I have been looking at a Galaxy for 2 years and just used to those graphics. But, hey, if it works good - a phone is a phone. This phone is fine if you don't plan to use the web, since its web capabilities are somewhat limited. We have ordered an upgrade online but only because I use the web for my job alot, and so does my husband.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsKYWildcat
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It's a Steal!!!
10/13/2012

Customer review by JessnAndy

5.0 stars 10/13/2012 by JessnAndy
by JessnAndy

I am BLOWN away at the price! My birthday was 2 weeks before my fiance's and he got me this phone in our Walmart store for $60, then I found the EXACT same on online for under $40, I was a little upset that I had to spend an extra $20 plus dollars for mine but anyway.. SERIOUSLY this phone is INCREDIBLE, and for $40 bucks I'm just amazed! I was expecting to spend 100 on a touch screen phone when we went to buy mine, they are cheap but very very good and the screens don't scratch hardly at all, I have a few scratches on mine already but I had a touch edge on my fingernail and I didn't know it, but I love this phone SO much! The camera is pretty great, you can edit pics on it and everything! Don't hesitate to buy this phone you will love it! And I stay on the internet on it all the time, it took me a while to find a plce to download apps but I found one! LOVE MY PHONE and fiance loves his as well!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JessnAndy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!
9/23/2013

Customer review by Kimisphere

1.0 stars 9/23/2013 by Kimisphere
by Kimisphere

....Or your sanity! This is a horrible piece of junk! I have had this phone for over a year. The text keyboard is terrible, forget it... you cant do it. The touch part of it is equally horrible, it takes several attempts "touching" one of the few apps it allows before it sends you to the one you want. If you want to email or facebook... forget that too, again, the keyboard is useless and extremely frustrating. It is also very cheaply made, and cheap looking. The graphics are childish. The screen lock, another PAIN! Makes it terribly hard to retrieve voice mail... I hate it, there is nothing I can say good about this phone, except how happy it will make me to be able to destroy it, as soon as my new samsung arrives. LG generally is a good brand, but not when it comes to this phone! I would not recommend this to a friend, or an enemy! NET10's website offers this phone for free "refurbished"... if your desperate for a cheap phone, (I know times are tough) but I would still advise against it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kimisphere
Rocky Mount VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does what a phone SHOULD do~
11/4/2012

Customer review by ThisPhoneKeepsItSimple

4.0 stars 11/4/2012 by ThisPhoneKeepsItSimple
by ThisPhoneKeepsItSimple

Nothing fancy or complex about this phone. It works like an actual phone -- calls, voice mail, etc. -- with the bonus of texting and Facebook. The touch screen isn't amazing, but I personally like pressing down harder on the buttons; it just means no buttons will push themselves in your purse or what have you. The two games included are fun, challenging, and will pass the time when you're bored. Internet is slow, but I don't use it for much other than Facebook (which you can download the app for and be set). It also takes okay photos, though I don't advise using VIDEO AT ALL....there is NO way of taking videos off the phone if they take up too much space! I lost a lot of videos I'd taken because if I didn't, my photos would be forever stuck on the phone itself. You also cannot watch videos on Youtube. I have not used this for music at all (mainly because I don't like headphones), so I can't comment on how that works. I've had this phone for roughly 7 months and I love it. It's so simple in itself that you don't need to put up with the glitches of more high-tech phones. This one won't fail you. P.S. I've dropped it many times and, aside from a scratch or two, it's stayed intact.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThisPhoneKeepsItSimple
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
9/27/2012

Customer review by capesiding

5.0 stars 9/27/2012 by capesiding
by capesiding

I can't say enough good things about this phone, I simply love it! For under $40 you get a touch screen phone, reasonable in price but doesn't feel cheap. Very sturdy phone. Excellent sound quality and also has a pretty decent camera. And as for the straight talk network, I wish I had switched years ago! I'm yet to have a call dropped, all my text messages go through and I can get on the internet. I paid more than double the price with Verizon and didn't get as many minutes! go figure

Was this review helpful? (109) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
capesiding
Scranton, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not a smart phone, but a great touch screen phone.
7/28/2012

Customer review by PCRepairTech

5.0 stars 7/28/2012 by PCRepairTech
by PCRepairTech

I've talked to a great deal of people who all have varying opinions of cell phones and cell phone manufacturers. In my view, LG makes the most intuitively functional phones on the market. I've owned several LG phones in the past and when replacing my last LG phone, the one I wanted was not available, so I settled for a Motorola. Huge mistake. Using the Motorola compared to the LG phone was similar to going back to using stone knives and bear skins. As soon as it was convenient, I ordered the LG 800G touch screen phone and was instantly back in the 21st century. It should be noted that this phone is NOT a smart phone. Its web browser is definitely not an Android based browser as you'll find on a smart phone. If you want web browsing similar to a PC on your phone or you'd like to watch You Tube videos on your phone, DO NOT buy this phone, as the web browser is functional, but only for basic needs. It is a fully functional touch screen with an excellent camera/video that also provides a full screen QWERTY keyboard. The gallery feature allows you to view your photos full screen and unlike the Motorola, the calculator, calendar and alarm features are very easy to see and to use. This phone accepts up to a 4GB microSD card and has a full featured MP3 player with a head phone out jack so you can plug it into a car stereo for mobile music. The ringer is very loud and it comes with a good selection of ring tones or you can use your own music as a ring tone. I get excellent reception with this phone and calls are crisp and clear. It should be noted that I keep this phone in a belt holster as I do not recommend carrying it your pocket.

Was this review helpful? (350) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PCRepairTech
Greenfield TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Purchase of LG 800g and LG 505c
8/3/2012

Customer review by pickySandy

5.0 stars 8/3/2012 by pickySandy
by pickySandy
Top 1000 contributor

Purchased two LG 800g's [hubby & son] - after trying for a week, I'll update. I got LG 505c to have a different carrier from them - that way we should have service [hopefully] when traveling in WV and OH. ... Go Mountaineers! Had Verzion before for over six years and paying just for talk - our bill was as much as we are paying now for talk, text, and some data. Porting of our numbers was very easy [did on our computer] and very fast - couldn't believe how fast and we did this in the evening hours - in a matter of 15 minutes each. So far, we are liking the phones but new technology gets complicated - we haven't had texting or data plus touchscreens - wow, what a way to confuse older folks!

Was this review helpful? (101) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pickySandy
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
A nice touchscreen phone for the price...
9/22/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/22/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

While anyone who buys this expecting a smartphone will be disappointed, it will please those who are looking for an inexpensive entry into the world of touchscreen technology.The display features imitation apps, but the camera & video camera are real enough! Expect to do some experimenting to figure out how phone works as no instructions or manual are enclosed and you have to play w/ it a bit to find more "apps" that are hidden on bottom display bar. Overall - phone is lightweight & stylish and hard to beat for the price...

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Decatur,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart need more of these phones to order Online!
11/13/2012

Customer review by stayathomemommie

5.0 stars 11/13/2012 by stayathomemommie
by stayathomemommie

Walmart you need to get more of these phones online, as I went to order it and had it ordered then you ran out and this is the only reasonable phone for my area, because the other phones will not work where I live. Would love to see these back in stock need for a single mother with 6 kids, Straighttalk is always reliable, would recommend this service to anyone as I have had most all other cell phone services and they aren't near as reliable as Straighttalk is. Cell One, Cellular, Verizon, AT&T(this company lies about their plans offer you one thing for 5 phones and then get the first month's bill and it was almost $700.00 dollars, as well as Sprint had a an almost $600.00 dollar bill there for the first month for 1 phone going, Unicel I forget the other phone companies I have had almost all of them and they can't hold a candle to S.T.!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stayathomemommie
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
WONDERFUL!
8/12/2012

Customer review by Naruto7

5.0 stars 8/12/2012 by Naruto7
by Naruto7
Top 250 contributor

I Love this phone it is all you need in a basic touch screen.( It is not a smart Phone) I will recamind this phone to my friends

Was this review helpful? (83) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Naruto7
NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
9/26/2012

Customer review by longhaul2

4.0 stars 9/26/2012 by longhaul2
by longhaul2

For the price & the way I use it, it is a great buy. I am retired person & use it as a phone, it is nice to have the camera should u need it. I would recommend this to a friend. Both my wife & I have this phone & we have did away with our land line, we don't need it.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
longhaul2
Montgomery, Il.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/24/2012

Customer review by Anuff

5.0 stars 9/24/2012 by Anuff
by Anuff

great phone great reception at 39.95 was a great deal

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anuff
conneaut lake, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews