Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 87 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

87 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

87 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
55
4 stars
16
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 stars
2
1-20 of 72 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews
Great game!
12/30/2012

Customer review by leapinglearning

5.0 stars 12/30/2012 by leapinglearning
by leapinglearning

I love the diagrams and facts found throughout the game. Its easy for older children. A younger child would be better with a side by side help from an adult at first. It does require the child to listen carefully to directions and figure out what to do next. Not very hard once you guide your child through a couple of levels (granted my oldest is just 4 and hasn't realized the importance of listening and remembering in detail yet). The help button is great for repeating directions too. It reinforces concepts by being repetive like how to use gravity to help you with shooting arrows. This is great for younger children. Its the favorite game right now. I am not sure if it will be one of those games that are played again and again like Tangled which seems to advance vocabulary skills as you beat it again and again. I am not sure if this one advances or how it would advance in difficulty after being beaten. Maybe more detailed diagrams? Still a great game!

leapinglearning
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not worth it
2/3/2013

Customer review by mamagnometo2

2.0 stars 2/3/2013 by mamagnometo2
by mamagnometo2

I think the game itself is very hard- the part where Merida is walking through the castle looking for things.. My 6yo is pretty smart but was getting frustrated because she couldnt figure where she was missing one of the runes to pick up. I tried to help her but I couldnt. I actually had to take the game away from her and play it myself for a while to find the missing items. I found that the closet doors on the first level opening repeatedly frustrating myself-there is nothing there after the first 2 items but the cues (magic looking sparks kept leading one to try). On the second level Merida is walking around and the game keeps saying to find Elinor bear for help... but its hard to get back to her and this is frustrating to the kids. It also has items that Merida can not pick up when she finds them because she needs to do something else first. . The learning information (science) was to young for 6yo . My 4.5 yo wont play it at all because the info is stuff she already knows and the game is confusing. They both love Brave movie but this game is not for them.

mamagnometo2
Would recommend to a friend? No
BRAVE
1/18/2013

Customer review by izmmomma

4.0 stars 1/18/2013 by izmmomma
by izmmomma

We downloaded this game for my son who is almost 6, and he loves it! He loves how he can use the bow and arrow in some parts of the game. He also likes the bear. I have not seen all of the different things it does, but one piece that I am extremely impressed with is that my son has picked up many new vocabulary words from this game. And more importnatly, he is using them correctly, so that is fabulous! It is a little hard for my 3 year old daughter, but she still loves trying to play, just like her big brother! And she can do some things, just not the whole game. The best part was that I could download this from the website, and it is the exact same game that you get when you buy the cartridge, but I don't have to keep track of the cratridge. Those things are tiny and get lost so easily.

izmmomma
Greenwood, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Brave
1/18/2016

Customer review by Norman

3.0 stars 1/18/2016 by Norman
by Norman

Much fun... My daughters are 3 years old and follow the indications so easy.

Norman
Toronto
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Family Fun
12/26/2012

Customer review by EngleMommy4

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by EngleMommy4
by EngleMommy4

Bought this for my daughter to go with her new Leap Pad 2 this Christmas. She loved it so much that we finished the game in one day! She says she wants to play again tomorrow. Very educational. I also like the repetitive tasks that make the child learn process. It's also great that it takes the child out of the classroom mindset and puts them into an open minded learning. The only thing I would warn is do not play if you don't enjoy seeing your child learn and have fun at the same time!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EngleMommy4
Taylors
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Amazing Game! My kids LOVE it!
8/19/2012

Customer review by BriK

5.0 stars 8/19/2012 by BriK
by BriK

This game is amazing! I downloaded it just yesterday and my kids can't put it down! It says it's for older children so I was a bit worried, but even my daughter who just turned 3 loves it! She loves collecting things for her notebook! And the ? help to guide them, so it's not to difficult if younger ones get lost. I played it a bit to see what it was like, and it is quite fun and addicting, even for the older crowd! Now of course my older teens who have 3DS's want leappads because they want to play this game! Way to go LeapFrog! You got this one Right! A deffinate Must buy! But if you have more than 1 kid, I recommend buying the app. online so you can put it on ALL of your children's leappads! That way there is no fighting! Satisfied Mom!

BriK
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/15/2012

Customer review by Mitsuko

5.0 stars 8/15/2012 by Mitsuko
by Mitsuko

Since we just saw the movie, my daughter likes playing this, she's 4 and it best if I play with her. There's a lot to remember. You need to find a key. You find the key but can't get it until you get the bow and arrow. After you find the bow, you need to remember where the key is. Go back get the key and then remember where you need to use the key. Along the way this game is packed full of educational stuff. One of the questions she's asked is, if a bucket of water is left out, later will it have the same amount of water, more or less? So I got a glass, filled it with water, market it with a marker and checked the water mark the next day. Expanding the game into real life. This game is a great tool.

Mitsuko
Olympia, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worth the money
9/23/2015

Customer review by martjdav

5.0 stars 9/23/2015 by martjdav
by martjdav

My 7 yo daughter has played this game, to the exclusion of all other games, for the last two months. She loves science, and this really feeds her interest and increases her general knowledge of natural world and processes. I thought it was a bit pricey, but since she loves it and plays it for all it's worth, it was a good buy for us.

martjdav
St Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Help!
8/14/2012

Customer review by Lisalisa

3.0 stars 8/14/2012 by Lisalisa
by Lisalisa

I wish I could review this game but I can't seem to get past the first screen in the adventure where Merida is in the room with the bear. Everyone in our family has clicked on and moved Merida through this scene and can't get anywhere! I just keeps saying "Look around to see where we need to go". There are sparkling blue spots but when I touch those I get the same messages. We are obviously missing something but if anyone can give me a little more info on how to navigate this game that would be great. The instructions that came with it don't say anything about the mechanics of the game just how to put it in the system. So frustrated!

Lisalisa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Full of science facts and concepts!
9/11/2013

Customer review by etheltheaardvark

5.0 stars 9/11/2013 by etheltheaardvark
by etheltheaardvark

I am very impressed with this game, it has more of a story and flow than most and a great deal of content. The game plays like an old type of adventure game, you explore areas to collect items that you use to progress throughout the game. There are five levels and you guide Merida through each one figuring out what to do next. Science concepts are sprinkled throughout. You have to melt something frozen... so kids have to figure out to take that somewhere warm and so on. There are lots of plant and animal growth cycle, animal part identification, water cycle, nature facts, and more in each level. Sometimes this game is not the most intuitive but you can always press the hint button if you are stuck. There are many things to find in each level to complete Merida's journal which can be viewed at anytime. The archery game is also a bit more difficult than normal but doable with practice. There is also another mini-game where you have to use appropriately shaped boards to build a path through a room. This game is better for the slightly older end of the LeapFrog age range and it's good to see a game more suited to that. Some parts can get a bit dull as you have to track back and forth across a number of screens multiple times to collect all the items and unlock everything. Also Merida and other character do have thick Scottish accents so directions might be difficult to follow in a couple of spots unless you listen carefully.

etheltheaardvark
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very good app
8/28/2015

Customer review by rozabelle

5.0 stars 8/28/2015 by rozabelle
by rozabelle

Fantastic game very educational. Encourages kids to listen. And learn about the world around them as well. Highly recommend not just for 5yrs + my 4yr old loves it.

rozabelle
w.a
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not what I had expected but still fun!
8/4/2013

Customer review by DisneyMom

3.0 stars 8/4/2013 by DisneyMom
by DisneyMom

As much as my child loved the movie I was surprised that when given for a gift that she rarely played it. When she did pick it up she would play for quite awhile. My child says it is fun but think that she finds some parts too challenging. She plays some Wii games and working her way up to feeling more comfortable with technology. So as she gets more comfortable with technology she might pick this game up more. Not sure if she just likes other games better or just forgets sometimes that she has it when she sees another game she enjoys.

DisneyMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lots of education, not much fun
1/31/2014

Customer review by Mama4girls

3.0 stars 1/31/2014 by Mama4girls
by Mama4girls

My daughter loves Brave & we thought this was going to be a fun educational game. The game is VERY educational, but there is no "training" for the questions. It is very frustrating for a 6 year old to be asked questions on parts of a plant when she hasn't had a chance to learn the parts of the plant. Perhaps if the game had a video or even a teaching session at the beginning of the game before it started asking her to identify parts of the plant such as "Filament" , "Anther, "Steple". Overall, very educational but not very much fun.

Mama4girls
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Fun Game
1/18/2013

Customer review by MKRU

5.0 stars 1/18/2013 by MKRU
by MKRU

Overall a fun game that my 6 year old enjoyed. She became quite obsessed with it and finished it in basically 2 days. So it did not last very long. There are lots of good Life Science facts throughout the game, but they are not really necessary to the actual storyline just thrown in along the way. Merida does shoot arrows but only at archery targets and floating charms. There is a scary bear that jumps out of a cave at one point that really scared my daughter, but not enough to stop playing the game.

MKRU
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
An Adventure Game for kids
1/28/2013

Customer review by GeekDad

4.0 stars 1/28/2013 by GeekDad
by GeekDad

When Gamers talk about "adventure games", they're generally referring to a specific model: the point-and-click style of game pioneered by LucasArts in the eighties. Brave is that kind of adventure game. The "educational" component comes when you click on a plant or animal and get informational text. All I know is that my five year old couldn't put this game down for three days, and she never got stuck on a puzzle. She was very sad when the game ended. That, for me, makes this a game to recommend.

GeekDad
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fun and Informative
6/25/2013

Customer review by MistyBlue

5.0 stars 6/25/2013 by MistyBlue
by MistyBlue

My child is six years old and she is just learning to play video games. She really enjoyed this game and she also had a lot of fun with the mini-games that asked her to label things. She definitely learned about animal and bug body parts. I did, too! She is also learning to read so having those parts of the game where she had to label things was helpful for her having to sound more complicated words out. She was very excited when she finished the game and immediately started playing it again.

MistyBlue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great App!
8/7/2013

Customer review by Nikkietta

4.0 stars 8/7/2013 by Nikkietta
by Nikkietta

My then six year old at first found this game to be way above her head. After she realised that in order to move through the levels she had to do exploring it became exciting for her. After she turned seven it was a blast for her and she was able to complete it and learn many new things about animals and plants, etc. Problem Solving aspect was excellent. She learned order; sometimes somethings have to be done before we came move to something else. It also challenged her memory. I love it.

Nikkietta
Barbados
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Engaging and Lenghty Quest Game
2/9/2013

Customer review by ColoMomOf2

5.0 stars 2/9/2013 by ColoMomOf2
by ColoMomOf2

This game presents many quests over several level areas that follow the movie quite well! My 4-year old can't get enough of this game and played it daily and exclusively for more than a week. Some of the challenges were a bit tough even for me to finish (yes, I played it through to the end too and loved it!). It's a bit over the head of my 3-year old, but it's sparked a keen interest in the movie for her. The game may be over her head, but she still likes the micromods.

ColoMomOf2
Arvada, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Game
5/31/2012

Customer review by lillypad

5.0 stars 5/31/2012 by lillypad
by lillypad

Glad I bought this one! Thought this one would be fun to get before the movie comes out next month, and daughter has been enjoying it. You do have to pay attention to the scenery to help navigate through the game, as you have several quests in an area and have to go back through to find certain objects. I think that is why this one had a little higher age range than Tangled, buy my almost 5 year old has not been having too much difficulty playing it.

lillypad
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointing
9/3/2013

Customer review by TwinMom18

2.0 stars 9/3/2013 by TwinMom18
by TwinMom18

My daughters loved the Dora game so I thought this would be a fun addition, however the game is too frustrating. It took me awhile to figure out what Merida was supposed to do in the different scenarios and I'm not a 5-year-old. Then "walking" Merida around the castle was very awkward. It took my help and a few tries to get her where she was supposed to be going. This game needs to be improved substantially.

TwinMom18
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews