Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 159 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

159 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

159 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
111
4 stars
37
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
5
1-20 of 138 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 138 total reviews
1-20 of 138 reviews
Same great features of the LeapPad for less!
8/4/2012

Customer review by LifeSongsOfABusyMom

5.0 stars 8/4/2012 by LifeSongsOfABusyMom
by LifeSongsOfABusyMom

My soon to be 5 year old daughter absolutely LOVES the new LeapsterGS. She also owns a LeapPad and the new LeapsterGS has a lot of the same great features of the LeapPad (Built in camera/video, motion-based play, touch screen, tons of great educational games and apps) for less money. If you're looking for a great, educational gaming system for a great price, I would definitely recommend the LeapsterGS. LeapFrog was gracious enough to send my daughter her LeapsterGS free of charge and my opinions above are honest and completely my own. If you own anything from LeapFrog, you'll probably agree that you love all of their great products!

Was this review helpful? (41) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LifeSongsOfABusyMom
Eastern Shore MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Might as well by a real tablet, not worth $50
7/20/2014

Customer review by Qweenie1770

1.0 stars 7/20/2014 by Qweenie1770
by Qweenie1770

I bought this yesterday for my 4 year old son and the screen is cracked already. That is not the part I am even upset about. I hate the fact that this device is $50 dollars and the 3 free apps aren't even enjoyable. Two of the apps are for editing pictures and one is a idiotic pet game that doesn't interest my 4 year old. So I went online to purchase and download him a few games and a lot of the bundles were $80! I may as well buy him a regular tablet for $100 and download FREE games in the Google play store!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Qweenie1770
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Love it!
12/10/2014

Customer review by Madismommy1

5.0 stars 12/10/2014 by Madismommy1
by Madismommy1

I purchased this for my just turned 5 year old daughter. She has an Ipad which she loves but I was looking for something that was educational and needed less assistance from adults. She just loves this thing and told me that she didn't want to play with her Ipad anymore. I understand that the Ipad has more capabilities but I would much rather her play on a device that is educational. I am constantly having to delete apps from her Ipad that are "free" but require additional in app purchases to even be able to use them. I did a lot of research before purchasing the leapster gs and noticed a lot of people complaining about the cost of apps. Do your research people, you can buy used cartridges from ebay and amazon that cost much less. I purchased the rechargeable battery packs from another retailer because the cost was half of what most places ask for. The setup was quick and easy. My only complaint was that the cd that came with the device for setup did not work on my macbook pro.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Madismommy1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Too many things go wrong; not made well
11/30/2013

Customer review by LC1978

2.0 stars 11/30/2013 by LC1978
by LC1978

I honestly do not know why this got so many good ratings. Every Leapster we have had has gone bad in no time, and it is not because our son wears it out because he doesn't play it that much. The first one I got was a Leapster Explorer and the A and B rubbed off on the buttons so I took it back to exchange it for another one. Then the touch screen quit working on the second one, so I took it back to exchange it and by then there was only the Leapster GS, so I went with it. Our son has had fun playing it, but now the speaker has gone out and the only way he can hear is to use headphones. I also do not like that they changed the Leapster GS so that you have to use regular batteries instead of being able to use a rechargeable base like the Explorer, so now the batteries run down in no time. I will never buy anything from Leap Frog again after 3 times of things going wrong. I have also talked to a few others who said the touch screen quit on theirs, too.

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LC1978
Amory, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
good learning toy
11/22/2013

Customer review by millash22

4.0 stars 11/22/2013 by millash22
by millash22
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I brought this for my two year old son and my 4 year old girl. They love it, but my only complaint is that you have to buy eveything. None if the apps are free. Overall, if you put enough games on it the kids will stay entertained.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
millash22
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great LeapFrog Product
1/4/2013

Customer review by dlgrowe

4.0 stars 1/4/2013 by dlgrowe
by dlgrowe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We are total LeapFrog junkies, but when this initially came out, I was adamantly opposed to getting one because it used different software that I'd have to purchase and was not compatible with the 30 cartridges we already had for our 3 Leapsters. But when WalMart put this on sale, I bought the bullet because it was similar to my older daughter's Nintendo DSi and the younger daughter's VTech MobiGo2 (another AWESOME buy)! It has been perfect! The battery compartments were beasts to get off at first. And after watching 1 Dora 30-min video on it, the batteries needed to be replaced. This isn't a problem for us because I implemented the rule that she cannot watch any videos unless the Explorer is plugged into the adapter that fits all the other LeapFrog products we own. I would definitely recommend this to others, but compare it to the MobiGo and its cheaper apps and cartridges. But the Explorer's apps we've purchased will be compatible with the LeapPad I think I may get her for her birthday this spring. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dlgrowe
Mansfield, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Vast improvement from the Leapster Explorer
7/30/2012

Customer review by MarinoBambinos

5.0 stars 7/30/2012 by MarinoBambinos
by MarinoBambinos

I'm a big LeapFrog fan because I have seen both of my children learn from their products. My 4.5 year old daughter has a Leapster Explorer that she received last Christmas and she really enjoys playing with it. As a blogger, I had the opportunity to test out the Leapster GS and I was highly impressed with its vast improvements from the Leapster Explorer. The built in camera, video recorder, and 2 GB of internal memory are what make the Leapster GS a stand-out product. My daughter feels like she now has her own camera and video recorder (just like mama!), and can easily take photos and video on her own. The Leapster GS comes with free game apps, including her favorite one called "Escape of the Sillies". My daughter loves this app because she is able to become a silly monster character, by adding her own picture and recording her voice in the "silly lab". The game cultivates math skills, while face-morphing technology entertains and captures her interest as she is literally the face (and voice) of all the characters. I like the fact that the device is compatible with the Leapster Explorer game cartridges, so she able to enjoy all of her previously owned games on her new device. I also like the size and sleek design of the device because it is so easy for her little hands to manipulate and small enough to tuck into my purse. LeapFrog produced another great product that strengthens math, science, reading and logic skills all while having fun. I highly recommend this product for the parent who wants screen time to be educational.

Was this review helpful? (78) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarinoBambinos
NYC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/10/2012

Customer review by ItsALongStory

5.0 stars 8/10/2012 by ItsALongStory
by ItsALongStory

We have always been big LeapFrog fans in my house, so when we got the chance to review a LeapsterGS I was thrilled! We got our LeapsterGS just before we left for a road trip, and it was a life saver. My daughter is 3, so she falls just below the recommended age range. However, LeapFrog has done a great job making sure that there are games that are appropriate for little ones. My daughter loves the Word World app, as well as the Sillies game. What I love is that she is being challenged. She is already starting to play games on her own that she needed help with before. I see many years of play ahead of us with the LeapsterGS!

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ItsALongStory
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Big improvement over Leapster Explorer
8/9/2012

Customer review by bonggamom1

4.0 stars 8/9/2012 by bonggamom1
by bonggamom1

With the introduction of the LeapPad in 2011, and now the LeapPad 2, the Leapster Explorer has been left in the dust -- in fact, my kids' Leapster Explorer has been gathering dust on our shelf. But with the introduction of the Leapster GS, parents will definitely be taking notice! This latest version of the Leapster had definitely "leapfrogged" its predecessor. Almost everything I didn't like about the Leapster has been resolved: * I found the Leapster too chunky; the Leapster GS is much sleeker and more streamlined. * The Leapster did not have a built-in camera (it was sold as a separate accessory, and it was pretty clunky and pixelated); the Leapster GS has a built-in camera and videocamera. * It was so difficult to change the Leapster's batteries (you needed to twist the locking mechanism with a quarter coin in order to open the battery cover); the Leapster GS battery cover simply slides open. What's more, the Leapster GS has a larger screen, faster processors (for faster response times), and more built-in memory (so it can hold more apps). It even has a built-in motion sensor so kids can play the motion-based games that they love on other videogaming platforms -- but of course, Leapfrog's games have an educational component so parents are much happier to let their kids play! Kids can use their old Leapster Explorer game cartridges in the new Leapster GS; in there are also new games available that utilize the new features of the GS (built-in camera so you can put your face on avatars, motion-based games, etc..). I'm glad to see that the Explorer GS still has the tethered stylus and the ability to create 3 separate accounts for 3 kids -- these are 2 features that I really loved in the old Leapster Explorer. However, I'm sad to see that the GS still does not use rechargeable batteries -- it requires uses 4 AA batteries, which, with constant game play, can go dead in about 1 week. * Disclosure: I received a Leapster GS and games to review, but the views and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bonggamom1
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent edutainment!
8/5/2012

Customer review by UnknownMami

5.0 stars 8/5/2012 by UnknownMami
by UnknownMami

I’m a big fan of LeapFrog products as they are a great way to provide edutainment to children. The LeapsterGS came into our home and my four year old daughter took to it instantly. The LeapsterGS comes with “The Escape of the Sillies” app (which actually had me laughing out loud when I added my daughter’s picture and voice to it), the Pet Pad writing app, and your choice of one of their popular apps. The device is built well and the perfect for little hands. It has a stylus that is attached securely and stores away conveniently. It seems to be able to withstand some drops and bumps, which are bound to happen. My youngest daughter “plays” with it too, but at a year and a half she is mostly just dropping it and poking at it with the stylus and the device seems no worse for wear. Great features on the device: • Built in camera, video recorder, and microphone. • It can be preset with up to 3 kids’ information and also has a guest option. • Adjusts to individual child’s skills. Progress is remembered to keep the interaction challenging. • Apps, ebooks, and cartridges are available for purchase to expand your content library. Areas that could be improved upon: • Battery life. It would be great if it came with a rechargeable battery pack included. It is my understanding that this will soon be available for purchase, but I’d love it if it was just standard. • The apps and game cartridges are a bit pricey in my opinion, would love to see those prices lowered. I would recommend (and have) this device to friends and family. It is a great educational and entertainment tool that can grow with your child(ren) for a few years. I received a sample of the LeapsterGS and two game cartridges to facilitate my review. All statements and opinions are mine and mine alone.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UnknownMami
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
wonderful learning tool, and fun for her.
11/22/2013

Customer review by tarensister

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by tarensister
by tarensister
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Met all of my expectations

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tarensister
Fulton, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A very fun learning toy for all ages!
8/2/2012

Customer review by dalettre

5.0 stars 8/2/2012 by dalettre
by dalettre

I received the LeapsterGS and 2 games free-for-review and I'm so glad that I did. Because my boys are already SO into their other handheld games, I'm not sure that we would've purchased it, which would be a huge mistake. The LeapsterGS is amazing...fun games, a built in camera, so much to learn, and all age-appropriate. In fact, I'm not sure who enjoys it more...my 4-year old, my 8-year old or me! We've played it for hours each day since it arrived. (Already replacing the batteries twice!) And, we've really only scratched the surface. I can't wait to see what other games are available...and we'll definitely pick up the ac adapter.

Was this review helpful? (16) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dalettre
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
LeapFrog does it again!
8/5/2012

Customer review by PermanentKisses

5.0 stars 8/5/2012 by PermanentKisses
by PermanentKisses

The LeapsterGS provides hours of entertainment to the children in this house. We tend to minimize 'plugged-in' hours in our home, but for the past day or so I wanted to see how well my kids were able to navigate the LeapsterGS. Prior to giving free reigns, I set the appropriate age/grade level for each child, and my 4, 6, 7, and 11 year olds also had no problem finding their way around the device. It likely helps that we have a Leapster Explorer with a very similar operating interface. The included game the 'Escape of the Sillies' is a great game that incorporates some math learning with all of the great features of this device: camera, video, motion sensor, and voice recording. These new features make the kids feel like their 'toy' is more like the adult electronic devices. I was amazed at the content in the Splurge! game; being a ChemEng grad, I appreciated the amount of information the 'game' was providing children regarding the transformation of water between the 3 states. It was enough to keep them interested, but not too much that it was overwhelming. I love how much kids can pick up and remember from this type of activity. My only complaint with this item is that battery life is drained so quickly; I had 2 kids that were unable to get in their full hour of playing time. It would be so nice if LeapFrog moved to rechargeable batteries or something similar that are included when you purchase the item. We will soon be investing in one of the AC adaptors or charging packs. That and perhaps an additional device as the timer has already been used to eliminate arguing! Overall, we love LeapFrog products in our house and look forward to using the GS on a regular basis for expanding learning throughout this house.

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PermanentKisses
Upper Peninsula, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Learning Toy!!
1/5/2013

Customer review by bargainshoppermom34

4.0 stars 1/5/2013 by bargainshoppermom34
by bargainshoppermom34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am very satisfied and pleased with Leapster Products. This is my second time purchasing the Leapster Systems. I first purchased the Leapster and Leapster Explorer for my then 2 and 4 year olds, and they have lasted since then to now! I have never had to use my warranties that I purchased on the systems and my boys are now 5 and 7. They have dropped them countless times on hard floors and concrete, and other than scratching them up that's the only damage they sustained. The only reason why I didn't give the new Leapster GS a five star rating is because they really use up battery power quite fast. I decided to purchase both the rechargable battery pacs and car chargers. I was a little disappointed in the price of the rechargable batteries, but it is a must if you want your children to be able to play wihout having to always play the systems plugged in. I would recommend buying the warranties because the new system seems to have a few glitches. I noticed that sometimes the game may freeze up and won't turn off outside of taking the batteries out. Thanks to Walmart.com I purchased these at the time for 39.98!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bargainshoppermom34
Hammond, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The LeapsterGS is a hit with my kids!
9/25/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/25/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My two children (ages 8 and 6) each have their own Leapster Explorers (first generation), but they were blown away by the LeapsterGS Explorer! They adore the camera and interactive photography and movie making made possible by the digital camera, video cam and mike. They also really like the larger screen, calling it "the kids' iPad". The motion sensor gives a Wii-like aspect to the new games, which is cool, but their old LeapsterExplorer cartridges work with it too (I love that!). The abundance of apps and games online for the LeapsterGS that can be downloaded to the device are also big pluses for my family. All in all, I don't believe it is totally necessary to purchase a LeapsterGS Explorer if your kids already have a standard Explorer, but if you are shopping for a new or additional one DEFINITELY go for the GS! Disclosure: My family was sent one LeapsterGS Explorer for review. All opinions are my own.

An anonymous customer
Silver Spring, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Upgrades to the Leapster Explorer
8/19/2012

Customer review by MomsFavoriteStuff

5.0 stars 8/19/2012 by MomsFavoriteStuff
by MomsFavoriteStuff

We've always loved Leapfrog toys. From the Leapfrog bouncy seat my kids had as infants through the LeapPad Explorer we received last year - these products have constantly exceeded our expectations. So, we were very excited to get the new Leapster GS Explorer for review a few weeks ago. The Leapster GS Explorer uses the same cartridges as the Leapster Explorer and the LeapPad Explorer. This is a big positive if you are upgrading from one of these previous systems. But, it also includes a camera, a video recorder, and a microphone. The design is definitely easier on little hands, and my kids, who love the apps, appreciate the larger memory (2 GB). There are a few negatives - The batteries run down quickly (although a rechargeable adapter will be available later) The downloaded apps are pricey The cartridges are also pricey But, overall, it's a great system that keeps my kids occupied and learning. It's especially great for vacations and is easy to pack. Please note that I received a game system and 2 games for my review, but all opinions are my own.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomsFavoriteStuff
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
super great, but one fail
12/31/2012

Customer review by mushka60

4.0 stars 12/31/2012 by mushka60
by mushka60
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My husband and I decided to get two of these for our 2 girls (5 and 2). They love them. One flaw that we found was that the battery covers were near to impossible to get off. My husband finally got them off, but ended up scratching up the back of one of the leapfrog explorers in doing so. Other than that, they have been great!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mushka60
Elizabethtown, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Great New Addition to the Leapster Family
8/11/2012

Customer review by QuirkyTech

4.0 stars 8/11/2012 by QuirkyTech
by QuirkyTech

We have previous Leapsters, so we were excited to try out the new GS, which we received for free to review. It's quite a bit smaller than previous devices, which is better for little hands. It's also better for on-the-go play. The Leapster GS Explorer has gorgeous graphics and a zippier speed. The kids don't notice things like that as much as I do, but I think it impacts their overall engagement. My kids are most excited about the camera addition. I'm not so thrilled about the new battery compartments, which are the hardest of all Leapsters to get off. They slide off, but are very difficult to remove. I ended up handing it over to my husband, who also battled to get the covers off. I actually miss the covers with the screws. As with all LeapFrog products, I highly recommend using rechargeable batteries. It will save you a ton of money and, of course, is better for the environment.

QuirkyTech
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Same great features of the LeapPad for less!
8/8/2012

Customer review by LifeSongsOfABusyMom

5.0 stars 8/8/2012 by LifeSongsOfABusyMom
by LifeSongsOfABusyMom

LeapFrog was gracious enough to send my soon to be 5 year old daughter the new LeapsterGS free of charge to review and boy was she excited! She also owns a LeapPad and the new LeapsterGS has a lot of the same great features of the LeapPad (Built in camera/video, motion-based play, touch screen, tons of great educational games and apps) for less money. The games and apps are great, the system is not too bulky and easy to hold in little hands. I guess my only complaint I would have is that you'll be replacing batteries a lot, however, LeapFrog has an AC adapter on the site, so that solves that problem. I love the new sleek design and the graphics are as good as any. This really is a great gaming system. If you're looking for a great, educational gaming system for a great price, I would definitely recommend the LeapsterGS. The opinions above are honest and completely my own.

LifeSongsOfABusyMom
Eastern Shore MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/3/2013

Customer review by mjoni

4.0 stars 1/3/2013 by mjoni
by mjoni
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great toy bad battery life

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mjoni
scottsdale
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 138 total reviews
1-20 of 138 reviews