Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.5out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 | 417 reviews
5 stars
314
4 stars
53
3 stars
20
2 stars
13
1 stars
17
Sort by: 
1-20 of 350 reviews
1-20 of 350 reviews
LeapPad2
10/31/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a very durable tablet and has been dropped countless times without damage. We have this one and the newer Platinum tablet. However, I would recommend spending that little bit extra for the more updated tablet. The stylus on the LeapPad2 has a hard tip that wreaks havoc on the screen if your child taps the screen too hard. The newer LeapPad Platinum has a soft tip stylus and I have never had screen issues with it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
12/30/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this gift for my daughter so she would stop playing with my cell phone and sneaking off with my mothers Kindle. Sadly she is still taking my phone and my mothers Kindle because the Leap Frog 2 keeps dying very quickly on her. I have had to change the batteries three times in one day for her. This is her 4th day and already I have spent over what I paid for the dang toy in buying batteries. I even bought rechargeable batteries and that doesn't work for long. They die out before the next set of rechargeable batteries is even ready. If I knew that it didn't come with its own charger I would have never bought it for her. I would have spent my money buying her a kindle and buying the educational games that way. It would have saved me the money I have put into this tablet. This was not worth the money I spent. If you decided to buy this for your loved one be prepared to spend double what you paid just buying batteries.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
LeapPad 2 - A tablet newbie's perspective
1/7/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Our purchase of this device for our three year old was our first foray into the world of tablets, period. Based on our experience with the whole process and observations/comments from friends and family over the holidays, we sure seem to have made the right decision. I can't yet vouch for its ability to "grow" as our son gets older but I have no reason to doubt the claim based on playing with the built-in features and a couple of cartridges, and working through the Beginner/Expert options. The device functions well and appears sturdy enough to survive a three year old's inconsistent care. We did, however, purchase the Gel Skin covering, just in case ... Battery life is typical but sure makes one wish for a built-in Lithium Ion pack and plug-in wall wart option. (The one downside aspect of the aforementioned Gel Skin is having to remove it regularly to replace the 4 - AA batteries--this is NOT a fun process). Our 'adoption' into the LeapPad family has been a positive experience and I have already recommended it to several friends in similar circumstances.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Educational & Learning Toy for Children!
1/9/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My daughter loves her new LP2 pink! She says it is her favorite Christmas gift! It was expensive but I feel it was worth the price. The games that are included are very fun and since we set it up early for Christmas we got an additional 2 games! My daughter loves the music player and it is great for children, nothing too advanced or complicated. We also purchased 3 additional games (Brave, Math School, and I SPY) and the Pink Accessory/ Travel Bundle. The games are very fun and educational and the accessories were a necessity to caring for the LP2! My daughter outgrew the Fisher Price iXL and I believe this was a great next step. It was a tough decision on whether to buy the LeapPad2 or InnoTab2, but I believe I made the right decision. The LeapPad 2 has many more game, movie, song, etc. choices than the InnoTab2 and can grow with your child, whereas the InnoTab2 games are pretty standard for all ages.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So disappointed
2/7/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
LeapPad2 was a Christmas gift for five year old boy who already has a LeapFrog. This product is recommended for ages three to nine. Within a week or so he managed to shatter the screen with the stylus. Fortunately, Leapfrog offered a replacement, with the admonishment that there would be ONLY one replacement. Again, before the month was out, the screen shattered with stylus use. I have purchased several apps, rechargeable batteries, car charger, ear phones, case - pretty much the whole shebang and now I'm left with not one, but two, worthless LeapPads. For a product that is supposed to be used by young children, it is incredibly flimsy, and such a shame because it has such huge educational value. The internet is replete with similar stories of people looking for a way to replace the shattered screens. It's only a matter of time before we see a class-action suit against this company.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
this is GREAT!
6/26/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am not one to have all the latest gadgets nor do I think kids need moving books or other features to learn to read. Bought this for my son for a 2 day car trip (each way) and the coloring apps mean less mess in the car (chasing crayons under seats). There are so many fun activities (some are not as good, or not worth buying). I even got hooked on Roly Poly Picnic (the original) and spent 3 hours getting through all the levels, grumbling at the annoying little cute guys! (but I couldn't put it down). Had to purchase 2nd game recently for my 2.5 year old daughter so she didn't steal her brothers' game. Now they both color the same thing or watch the same video. I LOVE that you can purchase a game and load it on BOTH systems! This is probably the BEST feature I just discovered. The limited ones loaded for her can be adjusted as she grows. Normal "paper" books are best, but this provides a fun activity to vary interest for an hour or so on those indoor rainy days. ONE THING I would CHANGE is that the initial "PLAYER" settings shoudl have a LOCK on them so the child (my 2 year old) CANNOT CHANGE SETTINGS.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love the LeapPad 2!
1/30/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My three boys have every electronic device from DS3, iPad, etc. I was tired of constantly looking over my boys shoulders making sure they didn't surf the net or open inappropriate Youtube videos. I purchased 2 LeapPad 2's for my twin 4yr old boys and they loved them! My older son(6yrs) was trying to play on the LeapPad 2 and the twins wouldn't give them up. He was bummed Santa didn't bring him one. I ended up buying one for my 6yr old and I am so glad I did! The best part of the LeapPad 2's is the boys are learning with every app or cartridge and I don't have to stress about what they are doing. Also, I monitor their learning progress on-line and find out which apps they use most. Perfect device for kids older than 3yrs. Items I would recommend with the LeapPad 2: Gel skin, rechargeable battery and the Messenger Bag. I am so happy with my purchase and so are my boys!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fun for various ages
4/23/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My five year old son and 3 year old granddaughter both received a LeapPad2 from Santa. Both are able to enjoy all the apps and share with each other. I like the variety of apps although they can be a little pricey. I also like that it can play music, videos, books, and games. I have not had any issues with memory and it is straightforward and easy to use with minimal guidance. I love that the stylus cannot be lost and that it can be modified for a child's level. I would change being able to add personal music to it as my son would like to use it as a music player and listening to Jake and the Neverland Pirates over and over again is getting a little old. I think it would also be good if it could connect to wifi and play online versions of the downloadable apps rather than having to use memory to download them. Overall I would recommend this product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Thought on LeapPad2
12/31/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this item for my grandaughter who is age 5 & already in Pre-School. She has enjoyed the fun part of the LeapPad2 more than anything else so far. We got this for her at Christmas. She is still learning how to work, but she does enjoy it. The only suggestion would be to purchase the LeapPad2 Recharger Pack if you plan to purchase a LeapPad2. The LeapPad2 requires #4 AA batteries in order to work. I made a mistake and did not purchase the Recharger Pack. My grandaughter was using up the juice of Duracel AA batteries with in 1-day! Yes, I said 1 day! I will now be purchasing a Rcharger Pack 4-Sure! The online App Center is easy to understand & easy to order off of. Great for keeping track of your child's progress and growth and learning. I think in the long run this LP2 will be a great learning tool for my grandaughter!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/6/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased the LeapPad2 for my son for Christmas last year. He's 3 and I had been told that he would get bored with it, and that it wasn't worth the money. And then one family get together he was able to play with one that his cousin had. He sat there and was totally engrossed in it! So I decided to give it a shot. I am so glad that I did!! He loves it! When I started out he just had the LeapPad2 and the Jake and the Neverland Pirates game. Since then we've purchased several more games and apps for it. It is by far his favorite toy. I never make long trips without it! I will say that it goes through regular AA batteries like crazy, so my advice would be to buy the rechargeable ones for it. I also purchased the car adapter. It's very hard to keep a busy preschooler entertained while in boring places like doctor's offices, official buildings and banks. And any mom knows that getting little ones to sit quietly and be still is a challenge! LeapPad2 has been quite a helpful tool with this! My son can sit quietly and play his game, learn something at the same time, and Mommy can now talk to grownups and take care of all of those boring errands in record time!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Educational gadget
11/17/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have Tap, leappad explorer and leappad1 and now I got lappad2 for both my children, and this is the by far the best gadget and most engaging gadget. I prefer this gadget for kids instead of any other (including ipad) as this is so enriched with educational experience for them with out any other distractions. This gadget is one of its kind and highly recommended for any pre-school to primary school going kids. I like all features, except, it's battery features. I personally think, it should come with built-in battery pack and the power adaptor instead of buying them as accessories. Also, if this can feature wireless, make this product much more user-friendly. Overall, it is a great product and nearly a must to have gadget for Pre-6 grade kids. Thanks to the team, who gave us such a fantastic product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best toy ever
9/3/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love the Leappad 2. I just upgraded to the Ultra but you really don't forget your first love. Oh... my daughter loves it too. For me, I like that a team of educators have already reviewed the content for educational play. I only need to occasionally supervise so I can write reviews (and know what games to play if she rests it down...shhhhh). It is very durable too. This Leappad quickly became her favorite toy - there are toys from Christmas 2012 that have not been touched since opening them. Leappad 2 keeps her entertained. She complained once of her thumb hurting and I suggested that she put it down for a bit too relax fingers from play. That was not an option for her...I think she is learning to use both hands. The apps and cartridges do add up in cost but they are weighed for educational value too. I think parents must know their child to know which games they would like and would keep them entertained. The Learning Part analysis is a great detailed bonus of the child's play time, noting strengths and weaknesses points, areas of improvement, relative level of playfour each game and learning outcome. Truly a remarkable product. Have never regretted this investment in my daughter.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Second Leap Pad
1/6/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased a second Leap Pad for my granddaughter for Christmas, the Leap Pad 2. I purchased it because my granddaughter loved the first one. The first Leap Pad I purchased was October 2011. I also purchased it because of the front-and-back cameras and video recorders, 4GB of memory. Here is my issue with the Leap Pad 2 it continues to freeze, I also purchased the battery charger for the Leap Pad 2, she is only able to use the Leap Pad 2 for less than 20 minutes at a time. I have to remove the recharged batteries wait a few minutes and then put them back in then 20 minutes later repeat the same steps. We also tried to use Duracell batteries and we are having the same issues as battery charger. Unfortunately, I'm at point of returning the Leap Pad.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Leap Pad 2 is engaging
1/3/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My 3-year-old daughter loves her Leap Pad 2. We gave it to her for Christmas. We have to limit her time using it because she would use it all the time. She is very active, but actually sits still when using her "computer" as she calls it. She has already expanded her knowledge of writing letters and numbers as well as simple math. She has easily mastered the navigation through the stories and games. Each day she is discovering something new that she can try. She loves the camera and video features. She loves Mr. Pencil/Doodleburg and the Dora game. She loves the Art activities where she can make her own pictures. The Pet Pal is another favorite. She also likes Kai-lan game, but gets a little frustrated with some aspects (e.g. making dumplings).
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for my 2 year old.
1/7/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I just got this for my 2 year old daughter for Christmas after her getting the Leap pad1 over the summer. I was constantly going through batteries sand half the time it would die while we was gone , so the first thing I got to go with the Leap pad 2 was thew charger. And it was soooo worth the money. She takes it every where. And we have downloaded a bunch of the videos and she will sit and watch movies in the buggy at the store. It is my new best friend when I need my 2 year old to be quiet. The games are a little pricey but the videos are reasonable. My 6 year old also loves the leap pad. Her and my niece love to make pretend music videos with the video recorder. It's hilarious. I think every parent needs to get their kid one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best purchase I've made in awhile
4/17/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My son had the Leapster Explorer and when he lost interest, I gave it to my 3 year old daughter. She took such an interest to it, I bought her a Leappad 2 for Christmas. She was so excited! In the 4 months she has had it, I have seen a huge difference in her vocabulary and she is starting to write her letters on paper. We both love the fact that we can buy apps and TV shows to put onto it. Her birthday is in a few weeks and we keeps asking for nothing but stuff for her Leappad 2! The only problem I had was she kept making extra profiles, which I figured out how to get the parental settings up (hold down the home button and the volume up button at the same time) Best purchase I've made since I bought the Leapster Explorer!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The Absolute Best Children s Electronic.... EVAR!!
12/22/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
There is no other electronic for kids on the market that even remotely compares. This is by FAAARRRR the best, coolest, and just plain fun piece of tech for kids. When we bought the two Leap Pads II my wife and I spent, oohhh..... About an hour or so playing with it. While wrapping them we seriously considered moving X-Mas up about a week just so that my son and daughter could get their respective (color appropriate) Leap Pad II right away. Its fun enough for adults to play on and more importantly educational enough that the kids can play without us worrying about what they're playing. Buy one now for every child you have. Now. So excited to see the look on their faces. Get one. Now. Seriously.Right now. Go.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Explorer for my 3 yr old granddaughter
12/27/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
She's loving it - and so are her parents! Daddy has already logged in, downloaded the free program, and she's on it - learning. All the pieces were there that I ordered (accessories and charger.) They were very appreciative of the charger, and I explained I decided to order that based on other reviews! All in all, she's loving it. I purchased because she loves to learn, be read to and is very creative. She's learning her numbers, letters, can spell her own name, and the Explorer will be used in the car and at home to further her knowledge while entertaining her. Very excited to see her using it when I return there in April - for the 2nd baby who, hopefully, will get the benefit of this gift also!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Leappad 2
1/16/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got this product for my daughter 2 years ago. It has been a great investment. She has had a lot of fun with it while learning and being able to play games using some of her favorite characters. We have the rechargeable battery pack with it and it has been a life saver. My only problem with this product has arrived after having it for 2 years. It doesn't stay on anymore, we're lucky if we can get it to stay on passed the start-up screen (this is with a full charge#. Hoping customer service can help me resolve this issue. Hope it's an issue with the battery pack and not the leappad 2. I will be disappointed if I can't get it resolved, as will my daughter :# She loves her Leappad!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
leapfrog leap-pad
7/5/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We absolutely love leapfrog. The leap-pad is the perfect introduction to technology. Simple, easy to learn, and fun with its rotational screen. The games vary in difficulty and in price. We love the=is system and hope to find more educational products to grow with our children beyond the early and into the middle childhood years. I love to use these products to teach my children about the sciences; my children love to learn. Leapfrog has helped me reinforce how fun and useful learning can be. But when my children are into there their pre-teens, I hope leapfrog will have produced products to keep them interested in math and science during these more difficult transitional years.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640652, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-10.1.1, SHA-cd91c60c037ec69024941e99664518ad4edafe94, CID-