Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 402 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

402 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

402 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
309
4 stars
45
3 stars
19
2 stars
13
1 stars
16
1-20 of 335 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 335 total reviews
1-20 of 335 reviews
Great, Educational Kids' Tablet
8/8/2012

Customer review by CandaceApril

5.0 stars 8/8/2012 by CandaceApril
by CandaceApril

LeapFrog sent their new LeapFrog LeapPad2 Explorer for my family to review. We checked out some of the differences between this device and the original LeapPad and tested its functions and apps. If you are wondering whether to get a LeapPad2, just let your kids use your iPad, or skip tablets for kids altogether, here's our take: My educational philosophy is that outdoor activity and play is key for very young children. Despite being high-tech in my professional life, the early childhood teaching techniques I advocate are decidedly Pre-Industrial. Yet there are places where a thoughtful use of technology can enhance learning. Initial studies show that using a tablet can boost literacy scores in Kindergarteners and help children on the Autism spectrum improve their communication skills. The idea that tablets can help reluctant learners or provide a reliable and safe learning interaction for children makes a lot of sense. What doesn't make sense to a lot of families, however, is handing a $400 device over to a young child, even with a super-rugged cover. Also problematic is sharing a device the adults need for work and communication with a kid who is just beginning to grasp the concept of taking turns. Another concern is an Internet connection that lets your kids veg out on the entertainment equivalent of junkfood, see inappropriate content, or "accidentally" rack up bills buying game points or new apps. The LeapFrog LeapPad2 Explorer restores parental control to the equation. To download apps, the LeapPad must be connected to the computer. All the apps and games are created by LeapFrog, a company that is practically synonymous with educational tech toys. And the LeapPad 2 is even more durable than its predecessor so your three year old can hog it without you worrying about getting it back destroyed...or not at all. Here's what you get with the LeapPad 2. I've highlighted the main differences between the original LeapFrog LeapPad and the LeapPad 2: * LeapPad2 Explorer Learning Tablet (4GB Memory, double the original) * 2 Built-in Cameras & Video Recorders (the LeapPad 2 has a front and back camera; the original has only one camera in back) * Extended battery life (about 1 additional hour) * Faster processor (550 MHz, compared to 393 MHz on the original) * LeapFrog Learning Songs App (5 Songs Included) * Pet Pad Writing App * Cartoon Creativity App * Art Studio App * Free App Download * USB Cable There is also a recharger available separately for purchase, a welcome change to the original since these devices are total battery drainers. Just about the only drawback to the LeapPad 2 is the cost of cartridges and apps. To someone of my generation, this is not a deal-breaker. Younger parents, used to cheap and free apps on smart phones, might balk, however, at the recurring cost of purchasing additional games. Plus, the cartridges can be traded or resold. The games available on the LeapPad is what truly distinguishes it from the pack, however. Although there are definitely winners out there, a lot of free and cheap apps for smart phones and adult tablets are hastily thrown together and provide little educational value. With LeapFrog, parents know they are getting appropriate and pedagogically correct content for their kids. Plus, some of the games "auto-level", adjusting the difficulty to challenge each child. A few games even allow parents to customize the device with math sets and spelling lists from school. As with adult tablets, kids can play LeapPad games using the stylus, the touch screen, and the built-in motion sensor. Kids' interests are often character-driven and so my daughter's favorite is the LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra eBook Adventure Builder: Disney Fairies: Tink's Midnight Tea Party: in this game, she can read the story at three different levels, make choices that affect the story, and play games. There are different modes (read the book to me, read the page to me, and read it myself). You can also record yourself reading the book, a great option for parents and grandparents who live far away. The ever popular Pet Pad app comes with the LeapPad and allows kids to practice writing while playing with their virtual pet. My kids are also big fans of the Disney Pixar Brave Cartridge, a first-person adventure game in which the player moves Merida to solve science puzzles. The variety of different science activities (learning about life cycles, experimenting with physics) is very engaging. My personal favorite is the LeapPad Creativity App: Disney Animation Artist: Mickey and Friends. I really enjoy trying to draw Mickey and his buddies with the stylus and think this is a great game for future artists and Disney fans of all ages. The addition of Little Pim language videos is the start of a beautiful relationship and I am hoping the two companies will develop some interactive language learning content. The bottom line is that you will get an excellent learning tool with plenty of high quality content if you are willing to invest in apps and cartridges. As stated above, we received this tablet from LeapFrog for review. All opinions are my own.

Was this review helpful? (453) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CandaceApril
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Educational Device!
7/27/2012

Customer review by Kailani808

5.0 stars 7/27/2012 by Kailani808
by Kailani808

The LeapPad2 is geared towards kids ages 3-9 years old which is perfect for all my girls but especially for Kaila (2.5). She can be a little rough on her toys and I’m always afraid to let her use my iPad since I know it will go flying across the room eventually. We have found the LeapPad to be very durable and can definitely take a beating. It's also very user friendly and my kids were able to figure out how to use it with minimal help from me. Some of our favorite applications have been the Disney storybooks where you can choose among 3 options – have the entire book read to your child, have to book read page-by-page, have your child read the book. There are also games and activities to keep your child engaged. However, what my girls like the best is that you can record your own voice reading the story and play it back whenever you want. This is a great feature for our family since I travel a lot. My kids love the LeapPad2!

Was this review helpful? (82) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kailani808
Ewa Beach, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
8/29/2013

Customer review by jenny40299

5.0 stars 8/29/2013 by jenny40299
by jenny40299

We love it! It is by far the best learning tablet for kids! I love that it is so durable. My son is 2 1/2 and he still drops things easily. I also purchased the gel cover, much recommended if you have a child that drops and/or throws things. The screen is so colorful and also very responsive. We had to get him something touch screen and in color, since we were trying to keep him from playing with my smart phone. We love love love how many Apps and games you can download from leapfrog.com, they range from ages 3 - 9, I think. I love that it has a car charger as well as a recharging system you can get. My only complaints are that it eats batteries and the screen and black bezzle around the screen get scratched from the stylus. I would recommend buying a screen protector. But it eats batteries because it's so responsive and has such a high quality image. I would definitely recommend this product for learning, as well as the perfect device to occupy their short attention spans.

Was this review helpful? (56) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jenny40299
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Would be a 5 star product if it worked properly.
8/18/2012

Customer review by christina99

2.0 stars 8/18/2012 by christina99
by christina99

I set this up with with the free apps no problem and then I went on to purchase apps from the app store. I spent $60 on 4 apps and only 1 app(the $5 one of course) downloaded to my leappad2. Also the microphone didn't work for blow drying the monkey on pet pad. So I sent an email, got no response so called the 800 number where they told me they would email me. They had me hook it to my computer to do a repair on it. So then my art studio was gone and apparently they cant figure out a way to fix this. Haven't returned emails that I have sent to customer support. So then yesterday I hook it up to my computer to get the shampoos and treats needed for his pet and after an hour, I still couldn't even get into leappad connect and there is no option for a disconnect! I tried disconnecting it, turning it off and taking out the batteries and still nothing. Now I couldn't even get into anything, all I had was a screen saying to hook it to the computer. Turned it off for awhile and eventually decided to reconnect it to the computer. Left it hooked up for another hour and finally it redownloaded everything and all the videos and pics we took were gone once again. I would love this if it worked better! I have spent more time trying to make this work than my son has played with it. He does love the pet pad and he is only 2 1/2 and I was surprised at how good he does with it. He can even trace some of the letters so I believe he will learn from this if I can get it working properly.

Was this review helpful? (62) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
christina99
Wisconsin Rapids, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great upgrades from the original LeapPad
7/30/2012

Customer review by Nightowlmama

5.0 stars 7/30/2012 by Nightowlmama
by Nightowlmama

Containing all the things we loved about the original version the LeapPad 2 has some really fantastic upgrades. We love the addition of the 2nd camera. Kids love to look at themselves. They love to make faces and they love to make videos with them as the star. With the outside camera they can take video's of their subject with the inside camera they are the star. My boys are ages 4 and 6 and the LeapPad 2 offers over 325+ apps and games to download. They can be customized for their age level making the games challenging for their specific age group. I really love that. You'll find the processor is faster making the game play smoother and quick responding. We also love that Leapfrog made an improvement on the battery compartment making it easier to open with a simple push in and slide. Does take 4 double AA's but you can also get a recharger which is great. Most of all my kids love playing with the video and drawing features and along with watching videos and playing games with their favorite characters like Phineas and Ferb, Brave, Cars and so much more. They also love the music from Kids Bop app. My boys love singing and dancing and this is a fabulous addition!! Works with both the LeapFrog Explorer apps and games as well as with the original leapPad games and apps. disclosure: Product provided for review for the purpose of sharing my honest opinion.

Was this review helpful? (46) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nightowlmama
Chicago Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
extra costs
10/16/2013

Customer review by wood50

1.0 stars 10/16/2013 by wood50
by wood50

this leapfrrog is great for kids,but not for parents wallet. You have to purchase every apt.so they can use it. better off buying an ipad. after all apts to buy you can get pad with more and longer use

Was this review helpful? (42) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wood50
pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love the Leappad2!!
8/15/2012

Customer review by Cmaetaylor

5.0 stars 8/15/2012 by Cmaetaylor
by Cmaetaylor

We were so lucky to get the Leappad2 early! My six year old LOVED it! These are the reasons he told me he loves it: 1. The Camera is awesome, he takes pictures of everything! 2. The music that came preloaded on the Leappad. He listens to it all the time and I love that it is all kids music. 3. He enjoyed being able to make pictures with the animation. 4. The Pet Pad is one of his favorite features, you make a pet and then take care of it. Now why did I love the Leappad2: 1. It is educational! He is learning while he is playing and doesn't even realize it because he is having fun! 2. The Leappad2 is so easy to navigate, Mom didn't have to be there constantly helping them open games and features! They can do it alone! 3. I can track my kids progress online! How awesome! I can see where they are doing well and areas they need work! We love the Leappad2 and I would recommend it to anyone! If you are considering this purchase, you will not be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cmaetaylor
Delano, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My son just loves it!
9/21/2012

Customer review by Chiple4Ever

5.0 stars 9/21/2012 by Chiple4Ever
by Chiple4Ever

It only took him a day to learn how to navigate thru it. Very kid friendly and kid sturdy. Although its for 3 and up my 2 year old is able to play and understand it just fine. I actually believe it is helping him learn his numbers faster. I just love this product would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chiple4Ever
Houston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Super fun toy but mainly for ages 3+
8/10/2012

Customer review by hhferg

4.0 stars 8/10/2012 by hhferg
by hhferg

I really like this toy. The new Leappad has some cool new features too (although I don't have the old one so I can't really compare.) It has some great stuff that is included and I like that each child can have their own login with a picture assigned. The recommended age for this toy is 3-9 but let's face it, if you have younger kids at home, they will want to try playing with it. And it was a little too hard for my 2 year old, who is pretty smart. That being said, the games are great because they encourage practice! There is one writing game where the kids trace the letters with the stylus and it is VERY picky about preciseness. That is what frustrates my kids! But they now can actually write letters with a pen and paper. All of the Leapfrog stuff has been amazing for teaching my kids their letters, sounds, and numbers. I wish the Leappad came with a charger, like a phone does. Instead it just comes with standard AA batteries which die rather quickly. You can buy the additional charger pack which I would recommend or you can buy your own rechargeable batteries.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hhferg
Lehi, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
There are better options out there
3/9/2013

Customer review by ElleAvocado

2.0 stars 3/9/2013 by ElleAvocado
by ElleAvocado

PROS: Versatility in power options (AA standard or rechargeable batteries, LeapPad2 rechargeable battery pack, wall adapter); Large profile suitable for smaller hands; Most titles available in both cartridge and downloadable format; Included stylus is physically tethered to the device CONS: Cost of apps ($5-25) compared to Android and iOS market content equivalents (free, or $1-5 for ad-free/full versions); Apps offer no potential for updating/evolving content after purchase like Android/iOS counterparts; $5 for a poorly executed mp3-playing app; Batteries/charger not included for cost; OS interface is very primitive; Syncing takes forever; Cost of accessories often just as bloated as the cost of apps Honestly, if my mother-in-law hadn't surprised everyone with a LeapPad2 for my 5-year-old son at Christmas, we probably would have chosen a kid-friendly Android-based tablet for the overall cost and software versatility/compatibility with other devices we already own as a family.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElleAvocado
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Toy
9/19/2012

Customer review by MommyBaby20

4.0 stars 9/19/2012 by MommyBaby20
by MommyBaby20

I bought this for my 2 year old and every day he picks up on something new. It was a little expensive and i would recommend buying the $20 app card instead of a game cartridge (you will have more options.) But my son loves it so i would def reccomend it. Technology is teachign kids so much and you will be surprised how quickly they catch on to these type of things. The only - is that the touch screen stoped working so I called CS and they have me reset something. Its a little ridiculouse to have to do this with a 100$$ toy, so hopefuly it doesnt continue to do that.

Was this review helpful? (25) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MommyBaby20
Cleveland, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exceeded Expectations for Educational Value
7/31/2012

Customer review by WritRams

5.0 stars 7/31/2012 by WritRams
by WritRams

I had no idea that I would be able to see and track my four year old's learning online with the new LeapPad2! I love that she's learning while being entertained and I can see where she needs help! Really cool feature. Plus, SUPER durable.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WritRams
Indianapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Grows With Your Child
8/10/2012

Customer review by NotQuiteSusieHomemaker

5.0 stars 8/10/2012 by NotQuiteSusieHomemaker
by NotQuiteSusieHomemaker

If your child is always begging to use your phone or tablet but you're worried about them breaking it or accessing things they shouldn't, you NEED the LeapPad2. The design is kid-friendly and has been put to the test by my three year old who has dropped it twice from our high bed onto our wood floor & it suffered NO damage. {Plus, even if it DID break- you're out $100, not $700.} My son didn't have the original LeapPad so I can't compare it to the previous version, but I do know that this has some new features the other one didn't, like the camera on the front {which my son loves because he is a total ham & loves taking pictures of himself} and the memory size which is TWICE as big at 4GB. It can also be used with a recharger {sold separately} which we're looking to invest in because while the batteries haven't gone out yet on ours, my son uses it quite frequently and we know we'll be buying lots of batteries if we don't get it. I love that there are SO many games, books, and apps available for the LeapPad2- you can use any digital app or game cartridge from the entire LeapPad & LeapFrog Explorer selection. By the end of this year, that will be over 325 options- my kid will definitely never get bored! Playing games or reading books on the LeapPad is easy & fun. The games don't lag, the graphics are phenomenal for a kid's product {even better than many iPhone apps we have!} and of course feature characters that my son loves. Since the LeapPad is for ages 3-9, the selection includes simpler options for the three year olds like my son & more complicated games for older kids. The games even automatically adjust themselves to accommodate your child's current level. I love that this product will grow with my son & that he could very well use it for the next 6 years and still learn from it the entire time. Whether you're looking for the perfect gift, a toy, or an educational tool, you'll find it in the LeapPad2! Please Note: I received the LeapPad2 from LeapFrog in order to share my thoughts on the product. All opinions are 100% authentic & not swayed by receiving the product.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NotQuiteSusieHomemaker
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My daughter loves her LeapPad2
9/2/2012

Customer review by 777Armadillo

5.0 stars 9/2/2012 by 777Armadillo
by 777Armadillo

It is durable. Do not try to put a screen protector on....does not work. We also purchased the headphones and AC adapter. The camera is a great feature. This was money well spent. I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
777Armadillo
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Three Year Old & I Love LeapPad2
8/11/2012

Customer review by BalancingHome

5.0 stars 8/11/2012 by BalancingHome
by BalancingHome

Aside from being a cool mom (or dad, or grandma or grandpa, or aunt, or uncle), what else do you have to look forward to? Well, a lot! This is one sweet “toy”. Lets face it, we call it a toy, but it is jam packed full of puzzles, logic, books, letters, and learning activities. - Mommy and daddy’s phones get a break. Finally. - I don’t have to worry about him calling someone, downloading something or seeing something he isn’t suppose to. I know everything is safe and meant for him. Relief. - He can do it all by himself. And when he gets stuck, there is this awesome little voice that says things like, “Drag the crown to Queen Eleanor Bear”. And the voice doesn’t even know to get frustrated or annoyed so everyone wins. - Quinn was excited about letters! Like stoked. Anything that makes a kid excited about letters is good in my book. - He is quiet and still. Lets face it, everyone needs quiet and still sometimes. - He feels proud and successful when he completes new or challenging tasks. - There is a huge age range on this bad boy. There are things he isn’t ready to use yet, but will be perfect for him when he gets older. Perfect for growing with kids or if you have multiple children at different ages. - You can hook it up to the computer and download apps and check out what the kiddos have been up to. - If you already own one and you want to upgrade, no worries. The LeapPad2 is compatible with older games. Whew! - Some cool upgrades for the LeapPad2 include a front and back camera and a charging pack. No more wasted batteries. - It is pretty tough. Quinn has dropped it a few times and we are still going strong. - We had one little snafu. Turns out the screen just needed to be recalibrated. As simple as hitting home and the volume up button when you are at the log in screen. This brings you to all the parental settings. A little “good to know” tip.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BalancingHome
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent for my child
9/24/2012

Customer review by gena1970

5.0 stars 9/24/2012 by gena1970
by gena1970

My son is two and is able to work this and loves it. Watches videos and plays on it forever.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gena1970
lees summit mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Gift
10/30/2013

Customer review by Jpri

5.0 stars 10/30/2013 by Jpri
by Jpri

I brought it for my son and he loves it . The games are helpful and walks them step by step so they can complete it plus it has a built it camera and my son loves taking pictures with our phones so with this he can take his own pictures when we go to the aquarium or zoo and I can down load them to my computer to print them out for him this a great product for kids to learn and explore creativity as well bye .... Jprp

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jpri
Nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Loving the LeapPad2!
8/8/2012

Customer review by SerenityNowGirl

5.0 stars 8/8/2012 by SerenityNowGirl
by SerenityNowGirl

We limit the time our kiddos spend watching TV, and I've steered clear of computer games and gaming systems. Knowing that the LeapPad2 offers children the opportunity to learn through play made me feel comfortable enough to let the girls test it out. I love that the tablet isn't filled with mindless games. Sure, there are games for the kids, but they are learning games designed to help your little ones grow their skills in math, reading, science, social studies, logic, and more. And they are fun! You can track a child's progress online, to see where they excel and where they are being challenged. This is helpful in showing me what I can work on with them. My girls didn't mention it, but I was impressed with the quality of audio and animation with the games, eBooks, and videos. The sound is clear (and adjustable!), and the images are crisp. There are SO many different games, books, and activities to keep them busy. If I didn't limit their "electronics time" they'd want to play all day. ;) With their online library, LeapPad will have over 325 games, apps, music, videos, and more by the end of the year. I also like that you can purchase an AC adapter and car charger to save on batteries! Disclosure, we received the LeapPad2 to review, but all opinions are my own. I don't review products I don't like. LeapFrog more than exceeded my expectations...great product!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SerenityNowGirl
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Christmas Present - Years worth of fun!
8/16/2012

Customer review by stephiepete

5.0 stars 8/16/2012 by stephiepete
by stephiepete

LeapFrog has a knack for combining what I love about toys (developmentally appropriate, educational, fun) and what my son loves about toys (fun, interactive, has noise, has lights haha!). They sent me the new LeapPad2 to review, and we've been playing with it for about a week. Since I have a newborn who naps 4 times a day, Samuel gets "LeapPad" time when I'm putting her down for a nap. This is a win-win because he gets to play with his favorite toy, and I don't have a 2 year old running into the nursery saying, "Moooooooommmmyyyy!!!" at the top of his lungs. You can read the details below, but here's my review in a nutshell: This thing is so great, I want one for ME. Why I love the LeapPad2 #there's so much I could say here, these are the highlights#: - There is no Internet access. My son loves to play games on an old iPhone we have, or, of course, our own phones, but he knows exactly how to get to YouTube, and there's just too much Internet access for him to play on these phones independently. Some parents might think it's a pain to connect online to look for and download apps, but I see that as a plus. - Developmentally appropriate! My son is only 2 and a half years old, and the device is made for ages 3-9, but he still has no problem finding a ton of fun, and I can see how he will be able to use the LeadPad2 for years. Literally. Here's a really cool tidbit: The eBooks and games actually adapt to your child. As he answers more questions correctly, for example, he gets harder questions - I LOVE THIS FEATURE. I can say so much more about the kid-ness of the LeapPad2 - how it's perfect for their size, how friendly voices and images show them how to play each app so they're not lost - LeapFrog knows kids. That's all there is to it. - No boredom. Not only does the LeapPad2 arrive with great content, but there are over 300 apps available, plus any LeapFrog Explorer games can be used in the device. It's just not possible for this to get old. - Variety includes creative learning. Developing children's creativity is absolutely lacking for the current education regime. We are so focused on math, science, reading, and writing that we won't let our kids color an elephant purple. We've played with apps that help a child learn to draw #like really draw not just scribble or doodle or color# and create a film. I was quite impressed with the creative apps. - At a retail of $99, the value is really high for the price. I know people who have purchased iPads for their kids, which is totally their choice, but for a young child $99 is much easier to stomach for a super nice Christmas or birthday present. What could be improved: - My son is left-handed. I was a little disappointed when I saw the stylus on the right side of the device. Thankfully, the screen is responsive to fingers, so he doesn't need to use the stylus unless he's working on writing games. For example, the Pet Pad has a writing section where he can trace letters with the stylus. I was pleased to see that there is a left-handed mode for this that flips the screen around, but the child has to 1) know they're left-handed 2) see this small button and know what it's for 3) press it every time they enter this zone. The device could be more left-hand friendly by assigning the child's writing hand to their profile and using that setting in all writing activities. - The LeapPad2 runs on 4 AA batteries. You can use rechargeable AA batteries, and you can also buy a recharger kit for the device. And you will want to have a way to charge rather than buy batteries. I think we got maybe 7-10 hours of playtime on one set of batteries. It would be a huge parental-approval boost to have the recharger kit come with the LeapPad2, straight off the shelf. Disclosure: LeapFrog provided the LeapPad2 for this review, but all opinions are mine all mine!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stephiepete
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Awesome!!
8/31/2012

Customer review by Momof4onthego

5.0 stars 8/31/2012 by Momof4onthego
by Momof4onthego

Love this tablet...we upgraded from the 1st leap pad. I love that the cartridges are interchangeable between the leap pad and the leapster as we own both! I purchased the battery pack...highly recommend that...well worth the price :) My son plays constantly......we have 150+ dollars of apps downloaded...what we had on our first leap pad went right to the new one. I love that you can put the battery pack in...and no longer have to remove the batteries to charge it. Just plug it in and go!! We also purchased the car adapter...recommend this for road trips. Fabulous while shopping...and for the long car rides when the DVD player gets old! Fun and educational

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Momof4onthego
Pinconning, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 335 total reviews
1-20 of 335 reviews