Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 18 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

18 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

18 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-17 of 17 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Good solid basic machine
8/11/2012

Customer review by NannerJ111

5.0 stars 8/11/2012 by NannerJ111
by NannerJ111

I purchased this Kenmore because 1) I needed a lighter weight machine to take to quilt conferences, 2) I had a limited budget, and 3)I knew it was made by Janome. I have been sewing over 45 years and owned Janome's exclusively for the last 30 years. My everyday machine is a large/heavy computerized model that does all the fancy stuff. I've had it for over 12 yrs and expect it to go another 30. Janome gives you the most bang for your buck - builds very solid and reliable machines. Before I ordered this Kenmore, I tried a Brother because it seemed so feature-rich for the price. But I was greatly disappointed - it seemed cheap and flimsy, I couldn't get the tension right, it kept jamming in the feed dogs.... very frustrating. I had to return it. I know my way around a machine so I know it wasn't user error. THIS ONE worked wonderfully right out of the box! If you want a lightweight (11#) but solid machine with basic features you'll be delighted with this one!

Was this review helpful? (92) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NannerJ111
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
9/10/2012

Customer review by Crazyoldaunt1

5.0 stars 9/10/2012 by Crazyoldaunt1
by Crazyoldaunt1

I have been sewing for decades and I purchased this sewing machine as a backup machine when I am doing projects that need different threads. I was very surprised when this machine works as well as or even better than my way higher priced singer. Very very good machine I recommend it for a wide variety of sewers from beginners to professionals. I HIGHLY recommend this machine. Well done Kenmore.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Crazyoldaunt1
Rindge NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very dissapointed in the quality of this machine.
10/20/2012

Customer review by walmartshopper2755

2.0 stars 10/20/2012 by walmartshopper2755
by walmartshopper2755

Not worth the money paid. I can't believe Kenmore sells a machine this bad. Machine runs very slow and sluggish. Almost all the parts are made of cheap quality plastic. Can only sew thin material on this machine. Material with just a little thickness will get stuck. This machine may be good for a teenager or beginner. This is not a machine for someone who sews a lot or for an experience user. I am returning this machine.

Was this review helpful? (21) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walmartshopper2755
cherry hill, nj
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Beginner Sewer
4/6/2013

Customer review by MeowK

5.0 stars 4/6/2013 by MeowK
by MeowK

I'm a beginner and know nothing about sewing or the machines. The only reason the thread jammed on me is because I either didnt load the thread properly or I'm using rayon as opposed to cotton and havent figured out the tension, etc. The machine has held up despite my mistakes! Needle hasnt even broken yet. So far, so good!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MeowK
Lawrence, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for Beginner Like Me
5/26/2013

Customer review by Jese

5.0 stars 5/26/2013 by Jese
by Jese

At first I tried the little mini-machine of a different brand because the reviews said it was good to learn with. But NOOOOOO. It was terrible. It malfunctioned and I thought I was doing something wrong. But this machine worked like a charm from the start. It is reliable, so really it is teaching me. I love how easy it is to thread the needle and the thread through the machine. It's easy to follow either the written instructions or the arrows that are on the machine itself. The quality seems very solid. I absolutely LOVE this machine! My final decision in this purchase was because I saw many bad reviews regarding how cheap singer and the other brand were getting. I haven't regretted that decision....

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jese
MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
TOO SLOW!!!!!!!!!!!
9/12/2012

Customer review by codigirl

1.0 stars 9/12/2012 by codigirl
by codigirl

I just received the machine today. I plugged it in and started sewing. I didn't even finish a complete seam and I stopped sewing, and packaged the machine back up to return. It is way too slow!!!!!!!! I figured as Consumer Reports rated Kenmores as one of the best now (I agree with them that the new Singers do not perform to par) that I would have no problem. However, I need something that runs fast and efficiently. I guess this would be good for a beginner who sews slowly.

Was this review helpful? (14) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
codigirl
adirondacks, ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I tried it from the first day... and liked it...
1/25/2013

Customer review by Grandprice

5.0 stars 1/25/2013 by Grandprice
by Grandprice

It's light weight and easy to handle, and most of all it is best value for you dollars.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grandprice
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great sewing machine easy to use everyday!
6/20/2013

Customer review by pdpptttbmb

5.0 stars 6/20/2013 by pdpptttbmb
by pdpptttbmb

My elderly Mother has been sewing since she was a girl. She had 6 kids and made most of our clothes and then her grandchildren's, great grandchildren and now her greatgreat grandchild's. She also makes baby blankets for all the new babies in the family and our Church. She says the Kenmore is the easiest machine to work with for all these basic tasks. She gave her older one to one of her new granddaughter-in-laws because she also loves to sew, but couldn't afford to buy her own at the time. Mom then tried other brands, but she didn't like them as much as her original Kenmore. That is why she wanted another Kenmore.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pdpptttbmb
Shawnee, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/27/2013

Customer review by cranky3

5.0 stars 4/27/2013 by cranky3
by cranky3

best machine in the world for me - I'm a "beginner" all over again. perfect size, weight and sews very well. I couldn't be happier.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cranky3
San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great, basic sewing machine
9/26/2013

Customer review by healthymel

5.0 stars 9/26/2013 by healthymel
by healthymel

I love this machine! My mom bought a Kenmore sewing machine just like this one almost 40 years ago (her first ever big purchase). I remember her using it all the time as I was growing up. It was a workhorse and lasted for over 25 years. Last year I bought a Singer and had to return it because it took me over an hour to get the thing threaded, then when I tried to sew a basic stitch, the thread kept getting tangled. I tried following the manual, video, website, even YouTube and couldn't figure it out. So I returned it, hoping someday I could find a basic one (like my mom's) that I could use. This was it!! The machine is very easy to use and to thread. I'm a beginner's beginner and was able to sew a project for my kids the same day I brought it home. It worked beautifully. I love that I can control the speed and that it does go a little slower, since I'm not so far along on the learning curve. It is compact, lightweight, and did I mention it was easy to use? Would definitely recommend this for anyone looking for a reliable, simple sewing machine.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
healthymel
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great beginner sewing macjine
9/10/2013

Customer review by 808mom638

4.0 stars 9/10/2013 by 808mom638
by 808mom638

Easy to use. Durable. Light weight.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
808mom638
Honolulu, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beginner sewer
9/2/2013

Customer review by DMM2013

5.0 stars 9/2/2013 by DMM2013
by DMM2013

I bought this machine to help my Mom finish the edge of some blankets we tied. I am a beginner and really like the ease of this machine. It set up easy and worked well on the first try. I look forward to sewing more with it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DMM2013
Rochester, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So easy to operate
9/24/2013

Customer review by Cats987

5.0 stars 9/24/2013 by Cats987
by Cats987

I wanted a machine that was easy to operate and affordable. I was sewing in 30 minutes. Fantastic for beginners. Threads in just a few steps. Made patio chair cushions in one evening.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cats987
Chester, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beginner Sewing Machine
6/26/2013

Customer review by MickeyMouseMinnieMouse

4.0 stars 6/26/2013 by MickeyMouseMinnieMouse
by MickeyMouseMinnieMouse

I bought this for my granddaughter to learn to sew. I bought it on reviews and demo on YouTube. It is what I wanted, as far as, components. May deserve 5 stars, but hard to rate, since I have not used it yet.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MickeyMouseMinnieMouse
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/16/2013

Customer review by LIFEISLUV

5.0 stars 7/16/2013 by LIFEISLUV
by LIFEISLUV

Other than this machine, I have a higher priced singer and brother . This machine is by far the best machine. It sews extremely well and the motor is very smooth and quiet.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LIFEISLUV
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
nice
9/6/2013

Customer review by rcg29

5.0 stars 9/6/2013 by rcg29
by rcg29

I'm a beginner so this is great for me.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rcg29
erie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/30/2013

Customer review by HappyNewCustomer

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by HappyNewCustomer
by HappyNewCustomer

The sewing machine purchase met all my expectations. Walmart's delivery of this item was fast and the machine arrived without any damage. Wonderful Thanks Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyNewCustomer
Murrieta, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.