Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.7out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 | 240 reviews
5 stars
194
4 stars
35
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
Sort by: 
1-20 of 225 reviews
1-20 of 225 reviews
11/17/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I picked this up after my Casio point and shoot digital camera started having issues after 9 years of use. This is my first DSLR and I'm absolutely thrilled with this purchase. The pictures I've taken so far have been amazing. This camera takes excellent pictures in a variety of settings. The included kit lens has worked well for most of the pictures that I have taken so far. The guide has been quite helpful in helping set the camera up for different scenes and settings. This camera is definitely a bit bigger than a standard point and shoot camera but the image quality is worth it. Just be sure to pick up a camera bag as toting this thing around on the shoulder strap can be awkward. Plus you'll most likely get the itch before long to pick up some accessories for this camera. So far I've picked up the remote control (worth it for self portraits), several filters (good for protecting that delicate lens), and a small tripod. Next on the list is to grab a speed flash and a larger lens. Barring any mechanical failure I'm hoping to continue working with this camera for a long time.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (106)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Camera at a Great Price!
1/31/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been a Canon camera user for years (30+) and decided that I needed a change. After a lot of research I came across the Nikon D3200. The reviews that I read stated that it is an excellent camera and will produce spectacular results. Well, the reviews are correct. The camera produces rich, vivid and highly detailed results. I can't believe the results. I a counting the days until we take our Route of the Maya trip this summer. I will make full use of the camera there. For now, I will have make due with the National Parks, wildlife and the other outside activities that Colorado has to offer. I will have to admit that I did not purchase the camera for the video capabilities but I was really impressed with the videos that I made. Sharp picture and great color. I will definitely be using the camera instead of purchasing a separate video camera. Bottom line: Truly a great camera at a great price. I highly recommend this camera. I doubt that I will ever miss my Canon as long as Nikon is in business.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Camera!
8/7/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The Nikon D3200 is my first DSLR camera, and I LOVE IT! It is very easy to use. The guide mode is really helpful especially if you're new to photography. I love all the different settings! The shutter-priority setting is really cool to use to take pictures of lights at night. I take it boating with me, and I can get some great action shots! The video quality of this camera is really good. The built-in microphone picks up sound really well. I love how you can switch between using the viewfinder and the screen to take pictures and video. The camera came with a Nikkor AF-S DX 18-55mm lens, and it works great! This lens is alright for close up pictures, but I will invest in a lens with a larger focal length in the future. Did I mention I love the color?! People have stopped me to talk about my camera because they love the color too! Overall I have nothing negative to say about this product!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Absolutely Awesome!
8/23/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Own a 300s & before taking an extended 3+ week trip through France & Italy, found that pictures with it were not clear due to extensive use without cleaning. Within 3 days of leaving, I had to decide what camera to buy and take. Because of the Exceed3 processor in the D3200, I picked this camera. It was absolutely flawless and produced unbelievable pictures. It was relatively simple to learn "on the fly" and is a rather light camera on a long trip. There were no glitches in 2,000 pictures. The only anomaly was that with the small, great size for a long trip, SB-400 AF speedlight flash attached in low light situations, the camera also popped up it's own built-in flash. I'm sure that is probably a software issue that Nikon can fix so that when the camera identifies the SB-400 as attached, it locks down the D3200 internal flash. I'd recommend this camera to anyone for the extremely high quality, sharp images that the Exceed 3 sensor produces. And for most people it is rather easy to learn ..... pick it up and start shooting ... you won't be sorry! (The 1080p HD video is incredible too!).
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great camera
11/21/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've been using Nikon SLR cameras since 1978 and added the D3200 2-1/2 years ago. It has great picture quality and easy to navigate settings. It has multiple focus settings that allow for nearly any situation. It can be used in fully automatic mode, manual mode and several modes that fall in between. It's ISO range is adequate for most any lighting. It is light and easy to handle. I often leave my larger Nikon cameras in the bag and carry this one because of its compact size and light weight. The DX format offers affordable, quality lens options for the amateur enthusiast. I added a D7200 a few months ago and interchange lenses back and forth. A nice thing when considering a camera that you may upgrade someday.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great first time DLSR
12/19/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
As a point and shoot veteran I often envied my DSLR brethren but I was not in the mood to take a community college course to learn how to use a complicated DLSR. Then along came this camera. The pictures are infinitly better than any point and shoot, indoors or out. Operation is incredibly simple. In fact, I was taking pictures at my son's hockey game the day I got it. The Guide mode on the function wheel quickly gets you to the settings you need for whatever situation your shooting. With 24 megapixals, pictures look great even zoomed in on your computer. I've yet to even scratch the surface of what this camera can do but I am so glad I got it. And it shoots HD video. Anybody want to but some used point and shoots?
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent value and image quality
12/17/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Purchased this kit as a request for a small camera with interchangeable lenses. The other option was going mirrorless and buy a different brand. After discussing the true weight of both systems, this is the best startup kit for future upgrading. One of the criteria was the flash system and having 30+ years experience with Nikon cameras and flash (I'm a big flash person), you can't get the accuracy in quick situations with any other brand camera/flash system. We used my SB910 for the flash pictures and I recommended the SB500 as a starter flash. Remember this is a compact entry level camera and does not have some of the menu options or features of more expensive cameras.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
photography simplified
6/4/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is my first DSLR and I am glad to have it. I have never even had a 35mm camera so this is a brand new experience for me. So far this camera has been a point-n-shoot. Of course that is the only way to figure out how it works. The built in guide in the camera is very helpful. The number of features such as night shot, vibration reduction, red eye removal, are just a few of the features I have used and love. The number of pixels (24) is also fabulous, the amount of detail you can get is just amazing. The 4fps (frames per second) is also a great feature, this way you can always get the shot you are looking for, and not just a second or two too fast or too slow.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome entry-level DSLR!
5/29/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I received the D3200 18-55mm VR kit for my birthday last year, and this camera is perfect for those starting out in photography. The controls are very easy to use, the menu layout is very easy to navigate, it's compact and light enough to carry in a small shoulder bag with two lenses and a few accessories, and is very easy to set up and configure quickly for different photographic occasions. The only downside is that the D3200 can NOT autofocus with a standard AF Nikkor lens; it can autofocus ONLY with an AF-S Nikkor lens. It produces sharp, natural, vivid photographs every time I use it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
NIKON IT'S THE BEST
6/20/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought it 4 months ago and change the small camera and my old film SLR... Now I have excellent pictures was taken with this camera, it's very easy to use and allows being creative. With a tripod, remote control and these basic lenses it's enough to start in this beautiful world of photography. But if you want to make more professional pictures in movement it's better to think to buy lenses with VR and now I bought a new lens with VR and the pictures in action are perfect. Good camera and good basic lenses by Nikkor. This is the cheapest bundle for to start with SLR cameras. Enjoy your pictures by NIKON.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great beginner camera
11/29/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have only used compact digital cameras so I decided to give this a try. Great for beginners. I will probably buy a new lens to upgrade, but the one that comes with it takes great pictures as well. Easy to use and takes nice videos as well. The pictures I have uploaded are ones I had taken within the first week or so of owning the camera, I used the lens that came with the camera. Minimal editing was done (Brightness/Contrast etc.)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great beginner lense
7/31/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I developed an interest in photography and received this camera and both lenses for my 15th birthday. It has fulfilled all of my expectations and does everything I need it to do. I mostly take outdoor shots -- flowers, trees, landscapes, etc. -- a lot of magnification, which it does wonders with. Images are sharp and clean and the color and background blur are phenomenal. It's easy to focus and achieve desired results.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A very good camera
3/27/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought it because I wanted to make a leap in digital cameras, pass my Nikon 1 J1 to the Nikon D3200 was a very good choice. A powerful camera to its range. Its dynamic range and color depth is optimal, together with its 24 megapixel camera has given me excellent results in my work as an advertising photographer.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Loving this camera
5/14/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've only had the camera a week or so now, but it has allowed me to take pictures I never knew I could take. I haven't even scratched the surface of it's capabilities yet, but am learning quickly. I have the kit 18-55mm lens and also the f/1.8 35mm lens, which is phenomenal. A little reading, and a little experimenting, and I'm already taking pictures that I'm proud of.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love!
1/31/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm so glad I got this camera, it has really helped expand my knowledge of photography!! It took a while playing around with different the iso, shutter speed and aperture settings, but once I got that down i was able to create beautiful pictures. It has really has made my love for photography a lot bigger!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
First DSLR
7/15/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I picked up one secondhand, and I am really enjoying it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Camera for a Novice Like Me!
6/21/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this camera to step my game up. I own a Coolpix and like it but wanted more natural looking pictures. I must admit it is little more work but it pays off in the long run. The pics come out great and are more detailed. Makes for better prints. I am by no means a professional but this camera helps me along the way.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My second Nikon camera
1/6/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought the bundle with 2 lenses during Thanksgiving and love it. The pics speak for itself. I ended up only using the 18-55mm lens. My next purchase shall be 10mm wide angle lens and/or fish eye lens. (http://www.nikonusa.com/en/Nikon-Products/Camera-Lenses/Travel-and-Landscape/index.page).
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Unbelievable clarity and sharpness in Nikon D3200 - Expeed 3 Processor unleashes its quality
9/6/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was using my Nikon's various DSLRs... But Nikon D3200 produces unbelievable clarity, color richness and sharpness. Of course, with this camera also my aperture mode addiction continues... Unbelievable clarity and sharpness in Nikon D3200 - Expeed 3 Processor unleashes its quality...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
AWESOME SLR CAMERA
6/7/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this camera yesterday and i have not found any problem with it. I LOVE this camera it has 24mp and a good video recording, i WOULD RECOMMEND this product better than T3i and other entry-level SLR's out there because this camera is easy to use.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642855, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-