Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 239 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

239 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

239 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
194
4 stars
34
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-20 of 224 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 224 total reviews
1-20 of 224 reviews
11/17/2012

Customer review by Rod402

5.0 stars 11/17/2012 by Rod402
by Rod402

I picked this up after my Casio point and shoot digital camera started having issues after 9 years of use. This is my first DSLR and I'm absolutely thrilled with this purchase. The pictures I've taken so far have been amazing. This camera takes excellent pictures in a variety of settings. The included kit lens has worked well for most of the pictures that I have taken so far. The guide has been quite helpful in helping set the camera up for different scenes and settings. This camera is definitely a bit bigger than a standard point and shoot camera but the image quality is worth it. Just be sure to pick up a camera bag as toting this thing around on the shoulder strap can be awkward. Plus you'll most likely get the itch before long to pick up some accessories for this camera. So far I've picked up the remote control (worth it for self portraits), several filters (good for protecting that delicate lens), and a small tripod. Next on the list is to grab a speed flash and a larger lens. Barring any mechanical failure I'm hoping to continue working with this camera for a long time.

Was this review helpful? (106) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rod402
Tokyo, JP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Excellent Camera at a Great Price!
1/31/2013

Customer review by New2Nikon

5.0 stars 1/31/2013 by New2Nikon
by New2Nikon

I have been a Canon camera user for years (30+) and decided that I needed a change. After a lot of research I came across the Nikon D3200. The reviews that I read stated that it is an excellent camera and will produce spectacular results. Well, the reviews are correct. The camera produces rich, vivid and highly detailed results. I can't believe the results. I a counting the days until we take our Route of the Maya trip this summer. I will make full use of the camera there. For now, I will have make due with the National Parks, wildlife and the other outside activities that Colorado has to offer. I will have to admit that I did not purchase the camera for the video capabilities but I was really impressed with the videos that I made. Sharp picture and great color. I will definitely be using the camera instead of purchasing a separate video camera. Bottom line: Truly a great camera at a great price. I highly recommend this camera. I doubt that I will ever miss my Canon as long as Nikon is in business.

New2Nikon
Colorado, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera!
8/7/2012

Customer review by sistermarie

5.0 stars 8/7/2012 by sistermarie
by sistermarie

The Nikon D3200 is my first DSLR camera, and I LOVE IT! It is very easy to use. The guide mode is really helpful especially if you're new to photography. I love all the different settings! The shutter-priority setting is really cool to use to take pictures of lights at night. I take it boating with me, and I can get some great action shots! The video quality of this camera is really good. The built-in microphone picks up sound really well. I love how you can switch between using the viewfinder and the screen to take pictures and video. The camera came with a Nikkor AF-S DX 18-55mm lens, and it works great! This lens is alright for close up pictures, but I will invest in a lens with a larger focal length in the future. Did I mention I love the color?! People have stopped me to talk about my camera because they love the color too! Overall I have nothing negative to say about this product!

sistermarie
Yakima, WA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Absolutely Awesome!
8/23/2012

Customer review by Nikon owner with 4 bodies & more than 13 lenses.

5.0 stars 8/23/2012 by Nikon owner with 4 bodies & more than 13 lenses.
by Nikon owner with 4 bodies & more than 13 lenses.

Own a 300s & before taking an extended 3+ week trip through France & Italy, found that pictures with it were not clear due to extensive use without cleaning. Within 3 days of leaving, I had to decide what camera to buy and take. Because of the Exceed3 processor in the D3200, I picked this camera. It was absolutely flawless and produced unbelievable pictures. It was relatively simple to learn "on the fly" and is a rather light camera on a long trip. There were no glitches in 2,000 pictures. The only anomaly was that with the small, great size for a long trip, SB-400 AF speedlight flash attached in low light situations, the camera also popped up it's own built-in flash. I'm sure that is probably a software issue that Nikon can fix so that when the camera identifies the SB-400 as attached, it locks down the D3200 internal flash. I'd recommend this camera to anyone for the extremely high quality, sharp images that the Exceed 3 sensor produces. And for most people it is rather easy to learn ..... pick it up and start shooting ... you won't be sorry! (The 1080p HD video is incredible too!).

Nikon owner with 4 bodies & more than 13 lenses.
East Coast USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera
11/21/2016

Customer review by Ridgewalker

5.0 stars 11/21/2016 by Ridgewalker
by Ridgewalker

I've been using Nikon SLR cameras since 1978 and added the D3200 2-1/2 years ago. It has great picture quality and easy to navigate settings. It has multiple focus settings that allow for nearly any situation. It can be used in fully automatic mode, manual mode and several modes that fall in between. It's ISO range is adequate for most any lighting. It is light and easy to handle. I often leave my larger Nikon cameras in the bag and carry this one because of its compact size and light weight. The DX format offers affordable, quality lens options for the amateur enthusiast. I added a D7200 a few months ago and interchange lenses back and forth. A nice thing when considering a camera that you may upgrade someday.

Ridgewalker
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great first time DLSR
12/19/2012

Customer review by Quohogeater

5.0 stars 12/19/2012 by Quohogeater
by Quohogeater

As a point and shoot veteran I often envied my DSLR brethren but I was not in the mood to take a community college course to learn how to use a complicated DLSR. Then along came this camera. The pictures are infinitly better than any point and shoot, indoors or out. Operation is incredibly simple. In fact, I was taking pictures at my son's hockey game the day I got it. The Guide mode on the function wheel quickly gets you to the settings you need for whatever situation your shooting. With 24 megapixals, pictures look great even zoomed in on your computer. I've yet to even scratch the surface of what this camera can do but I am so glad I got it. And it shoots HD video. Anybody want to but some used point and shoots?

Quohogeater
Dorchester, Boston, MA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent value and image quality
12/17/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/17/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Purchased this kit as a request for a small camera with interchangeable lenses. The other option was going mirrorless and buy a different brand. After discussing the true weight of both systems, this is the best startup kit for future upgrading. One of the criteria was the flash system and having 30+ years experience with Nikon cameras and flash (I'm a big flash person), you can't get the accuracy in quick situations with any other brand camera/flash system. We used my SB910 for the flash pictures and I recommended the SB500 as a starter flash. Remember this is a compact entry level camera and does not have some of the menu options or features of more expensive cameras.

An anonymous customer
Sharon, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
photography simplified
6/4/2012

Customer review by Lars67

5.0 stars 6/4/2012 by Lars67
by Lars67

This is my first DSLR and I am glad to have it. I have never even had a 35mm camera so this is a brand new experience for me. So far this camera has been a point-n-shoot. Of course that is the only way to figure out how it works. The built in guide in the camera is very helpful. The number of features such as night shot, vibration reduction, red eye removal, are just a few of the features I have used and love. The number of pixels (24) is also fabulous, the amount of detail you can get is just amazing. The 4fps (frames per second) is also a great feature, this way you can always get the shot you are looking for, and not just a second or two too fast or too slow.

Lars67
Fremont, Ohio 43420, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
NIKON IT'S THE BEST
6/20/2014

Customer review by GADZ

5.0 stars 6/20/2014 by GADZ
by GADZ

I bought it 4 months ago and change the small camera and my old film SLR... Now I have excellent pictures was taken with this camera, it's very easy to use and allows being creative. With a tripod, remote control and these basic lenses it's enough to start in this beautiful world of photography. But if you want to make more professional pictures in movement it's better to think to buy lenses with VR and now I bought a new lens with VR and the pictures in action are perfect. Good camera and good basic lenses by Nikkor. This is the cheapest bundle for to start with SLR cameras. Enjoy your pictures by NIKON.

GADZ
Durban, South Africa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
First DSLR
7/15/2016

Customer review by JRainFromAL

4.0 stars 7/15/2016 by JRainFromAL
by JRainFromAL

I picked up one secondhand, and I am really enjoying it.

JRainFromAL
Dothan, AL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great beginner lense
7/31/2015

Customer review by MadSti

5.0 stars 7/31/2015 by MadSti
by MadSti

I developed an interest in photography and received this camera and both lenses for my 15th birthday. It has fulfilled all of my expectations and does everything I need it to do. I mostly take outdoor shots -- flowers, trees, landscapes, etc. -- a lot of magnification, which it does wonders with. Images are sharp and clean and the color and background blur are phenomenal. It's easy to focus and achieve desired results.

MadSti
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great beginner camera
11/29/2012

Customer review by NewCamera

5.0 stars 11/29/2012 by NewCamera
by NewCamera

I have only used compact digital cameras so I decided to give this a try. Great for beginners. I will probably buy a new lens to upgrade, but the one that comes with it takes great pictures as well. Easy to use and takes nice videos as well. The pictures I have uploaded are ones I had taken within the first week or so of owning the camera, I used the lens that came with the camera. Minimal editing was done (Brightness/Contrast etc.)

NewCamera
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love!
1/31/2016

Customer review by Kimsch133

5.0 stars 1/31/2016 by Kimsch133
by Kimsch133

I'm so glad I got this camera, it has really helped expand my knowledge of photography!! It took a while playing around with different the iso, shutter speed and aperture settings, but once I got that down i was able to create beautiful pictures. It has really has made my love for photography a lot bigger!

Kimsch133
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Loving this camera
5/14/2014

Customer review by JIMK

5.0 stars 5/14/2014 by JIMK
by JIMK

I've only had the camera a week or so now, but it has allowed me to take pictures I never knew I could take. I haven't even scratched the surface of it's capabilities yet, but am learning quickly. I have the kit 18-55mm lens and also the f/1.8 35mm lens, which is phenomenal. A little reading, and a little experimenting, and I'm already taking pictures that I'm proud of.

JIMK
Northern, VA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera for a Novice Like Me!
6/21/2015

Customer review by Nikkonfan

5.0 stars 6/21/2015 by Nikkonfan
by Nikkonfan

I purchased this camera to step my game up. I own a Coolpix and like it but wanted more natural looking pictures. I must admit it is little more work but it pays off in the long run. The pics come out great and are more detailed. Makes for better prints. I am by no means a professional but this camera helps me along the way.

Nikkonfan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome entry-level DSLR!
5/29/2016

Customer review by SnapshotGuy

5.0 stars 5/29/2016 by SnapshotGuy
by SnapshotGuy

I received the D3200 18-55mm VR kit for my birthday last year, and this camera is perfect for those starting out in photography. The controls are very easy to use, the menu layout is very easy to navigate, it's compact and light enough to carry in a small shoulder bag with two lenses and a few accessories, and is very easy to set up and configure quickly for different photographic occasions. The only downside is that the D3200 can NOT autofocus with a standard AF Nikkor lens; it can autofocus ONLY with an AF-S Nikkor lens. It produces sharp, natural, vivid photographs every time I use it.

SnapshotGuy
Indiana, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Unbelievable clarity and sharpness in Nikon D3200 - Expeed 3 Processor unleashes its quality
9/6/2012

Customer review by GG

5.0 stars 9/6/2012 by GG
by GG

I was using my Nikon's various DSLRs... But Nikon D3200 produces unbelievable clarity, color richness and sharpness. Of course, with this camera also my aperture mode addiction continues... Unbelievable clarity and sharpness in Nikon D3200 - Expeed 3 Processor unleashes its quality...

GG
India
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Camera I've Own Yet.
3/28/2013

Customer review by MrDave0007

5.0 stars 3/28/2013 by MrDave0007
by MrDave0007

This is by far the greatest camera Nikon has ever created for Entry Level that does most of all I want. My Next Nikon will be the D800. Shoots Great Closeups & Landscape Photos as well. Very good Video at 1080 30fps. Just Awesome

MrDave0007
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to Use and Great Image Quality
9/26/2012

Customer review by plano105

5.0 stars 9/26/2012 by plano105
by plano105

The camera is handy to use, i like the small body and it is light. LCD screen show great quality. Picture quality is wonderful, battery life also great. So far, i am happy with this camera, really value for money, Noise reduction also work great!

plano105
Plano, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My second Nikon camera
1/6/2015

Customer review by safnurse

5.0 stars 1/6/2015 by safnurse
by safnurse

I bought the bundle with 2 lenses during Thanksgiving and love it. The pics speak for itself. I ended up only using the 18-55mm lens. My next purchase shall be 10mm wide angle lens and/or fish eye lens. (http://www.nikonusa.com/en/Nikon-Products/Camera-Lenses/Travel-and-Landscape/index.page).

safnurse
Arlington, VA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 224 total reviews
1-20 of 224 reviews