Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 241 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

241 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

241 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
194
4 stars
34
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 226 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 226 total reviews
1-20 of 226 reviews
Best Camera at this Price level
4/18/2014

Customer review by CaptainKC

4.0 stars 4/18/2014 by CaptainKC
by CaptainKC

Compared to the Canon T3i, and the Sony and Fuji offerings, this camera is the winner. It's got the MP advantage, the clarity and focus are great. As an entry level offering, it does offer a lot of options. A flip out or touch screen would really have capped off this camera. Also Nikon needs to offer a Nikon brand vertical grip, I'm using another brand, but the only options are using a cord for the shutter release or not using the vertical release button. A small complaint - that and the flash system on the Canon does seem a bit better. However, the Nikon just has an advantage in clarity, and lack of any distortion even at full open-full zoom. I really like the weight with the added vertical grip and the metering is great even when bouncing a flash. Haven't had it long enough to test it, but the build feels good and solid and the RAW files have really allowed a lot of level of post manipulation on the computer. So far I'm pleased to very pleased. Especially at this price.

CaptainKC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Camera at a Great Price!
1/31/2013

Customer review by New2Nikon

5.0 stars 1/31/2013 by New2Nikon
by New2Nikon

I have been a Canon camera user for years (30+) and decided that I needed a change. After a lot of research I came across the Nikon D3200. The reviews that I read stated that it is an excellent camera and will produce spectacular results. Well, the reviews are correct. The camera produces rich, vivid and highly detailed results. I can't believe the results. I a counting the days until we take our Route of the Maya trip this summer. I will make full use of the camera there. For now, I will have make due with the National Parks, wildlife and the other outside activities that Colorado has to offer. I will have to admit that I did not purchase the camera for the video capabilities but I was really impressed with the videos that I made. Sharp picture and great color. I will definitely be using the camera instead of purchasing a separate video camera. Bottom line: Truly a great camera at a great price. I highly recommend this camera. I doubt that I will ever miss my Canon as long as Nikon is in business.

New2Nikon
Colorado, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very decent for price, overall good camera and kit
1/10/2017

Customer review by CharlesWB

4.0 stars 1/10/2017 by CharlesWB
by CharlesWB

The D3200 is a very decent camera for those who are just getting into the DSLRs. It has almost everything that is necessary to take good photos, and its image quality is more than ample for most amateurs and semi-pros. I personally have taken over 10,000 pictures with my D3200 and I have not had many issues, however I have had a very minor bug that is intermittent, but it has had minimal impact and I simply believe that it is present only in my individual camera (only reason this is not a 5 star). It does not have all of the accessories of the newer and more expensive models, like a swivel touch screen, but it performs incredibly well without them and does what a camera is meant to do, and it does it well. The live view mode auto-focus is a bit slow, but that is expected in most DSLRs without dedicated video focus sensors. The lenses themselves are adequate for the casual user, but would recommend upgrading to better quality lenses if you wish to go further into the hobby. The 18-55mm lens gives reasonably good images, with some noticeable distortion on the extremes of the lens. The 55-200mm lens seems to have issues with blur caused by camera shake at moderate shutter speeds (due to lack of VR), and would recommend a tripod for this particular lens. This lens also has some distortion on its extremes, but not extremely noticeable to casual users. Both lenses are a bit lacking on contrast and saturation, but can be corrected with post-processing, and is not extremely noticeable to casual users, especially with the processing done with the jpeg software inside the camera. The handbag is excellent, with several storage sections for accessories and the manual; would recommend getting a larger bag if you plan on purchasing larger accessories.

CharlesWB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
An excellent camera. Period.
4/9/2014

Customer review by Opsev

5.0 stars 4/9/2014 by Opsev
by Opsev

For an "entry-level" product the Nikon D3200 sure doesn't show it! Photo quality is unbelievable and the camera operates fast in almost any lighting condition. I got the kit which comes with an additional lens (55-200mm zoom lens) and I really like both it and the default 18-55mm lens. Switching between lenses is fast, easy and I'd say even fun. The bag the kit comes with is also very nice. Make sure you get a large-capacity class 10 sd card and you're good to go. Battery life isn't bad either when you're just using the viewfinder but you also have the option to use the camera like a point-and-shoot as well (live view mode.) I'd say this camera is great for anyone. Novice, intermediate and professional photographers alike, the D3200 is easy to operate but has enough features there to please anyone who wants to gain a higher understanding or make use of things like aperture, shutter speed, manual focusing image adjustment etc.. This digital wonder is affordable and worth every penny. I am so happy with it!

Opsev
Upstate New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera
11/21/2016

Customer review by Ridgewalker

5.0 stars 11/21/2016 by Ridgewalker
by Ridgewalker

I've been using Nikon SLR cameras since 1978 and added the D3200 2-1/2 years ago. It has great picture quality and easy to navigate settings. It has multiple focus settings that allow for nearly any situation. It can be used in fully automatic mode, manual mode and several modes that fall in between. It's ISO range is adequate for most any lighting. It is light and easy to handle. I often leave my larger Nikon cameras in the bag and carry this one because of its compact size and light weight. The DX format offers affordable, quality lens options for the amateur enthusiast. I added a D7200 a few months ago and interchange lenses back and forth. A nice thing when considering a camera that you may upgrade someday.

Ridgewalker
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great camera! easy to use
5/28/2014

Customer review by silverfox96

5.0 stars 5/28/2014 by silverfox96
by silverfox96

This was the first DSLR camera i bought and i must admit im glad i got it. plus i love the detail it gets, people say that megapixels dont matter but the more mega pixels, the more detail, plus if you need to crop the image, its not going to lose much if any quality/detail. the 1080p video is nice feature and it even has a really good built-in mic unlike most cameras, it was abe to catch voices from the other end of the room with no problem, and sounds great! it was at an anniversary where i was recording a video for a surprise guest, and it turned out great! not audio problems what-so-ever. now, the only down side is the focusing while recording, it doesn't really focus good, plus the sound of it focusing can be heard in the audio a bit. that could use some improvement. but overall this camera is wonderful, and easy to use, i would recommend getting it if your new to photography and a looking for a good, cheap, beginner/amateur starter DSLR camera, this one is for you. or maybe one of the newer D300s that are coming out.

silverfox96
Pennsylvania, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to use and understand. Great introduction to the world of Digital photography!!
11/12/2012

Customer review by Nam-vet 1968

5.0 stars 11/12/2012 by Nam-vet 1968
by Nam-vet 1968

I have been interested in photography since my first experience back in high school taking photos for our school's 1967 Year Book,that is right, I am old!! I dabbled with film photography for several years but hated the mess and expense of the "dark room" experience that was part and parcel of film photography. Years passed and I found my self using a small, low megapixal point and shoot camera purchased from a well known discount store. Then a few months ago I was introduced to the Nikon 3100 series DSLR by a friend and decided to take the plunge into the digital photography, and subsequently purchased a Nikon 3200 with 24+ MP with the 18-55mm zoom lens. For a so called "entry level "camera it has many features that help a new photogragher enjoy the whole learning experience. I would,without hesitation, reccomend this DSLR to a freind or family member. Looking forward to more enjoyment of my rediscovered passion for photography. Thanks to Nikon

Nam-vet 1968
Shawnee, OK, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera!
8/20/2012

Customer review by nikonEd

5.0 stars 8/20/2012 by nikonEd
by nikonEd

I have had a Pentax digital SLR for about 10 years now. I was very nervous about changing brands due to everything I had invested in the Pentax. I could have just upgraded the pentax and continued using the lenses and flash with the new one. I purchased the Nikon D3200 for someone at work. he allowed me to use it for a couple of days to see how it worked. It was great. I was taking a trip to Hawaii and wanted the best pictures I could get. i bought the D3200 along with extra battery and a 55-200mm zoom. It has been the best camera i have ever purchased. i took a little over 1000 pictures while in Hawaii and I had maybe 2 that turned out bad and those were operator issues not camera issues. I could not find asituation that this camera could not handle. i ended up purchasing the 55-300mm zoom while in hawaii so now i have a full setup. i still have to learn a litlle more on all the features that the camera offers but so far so good.

nikonEd
Brunswick, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera!
8/7/2012

Customer review by sistermarie

5.0 stars 8/7/2012 by sistermarie
by sistermarie

The Nikon D3200 is my first DSLR camera, and I LOVE IT! It is very easy to use. The guide mode is really helpful especially if you're new to photography. I love all the different settings! The shutter-priority setting is really cool to use to take pictures of lights at night. I take it boating with me, and I can get some great action shots! The video quality of this camera is really good. The built-in microphone picks up sound really well. I love how you can switch between using the viewfinder and the screen to take pictures and video. The camera came with a Nikkor AF-S DX 18-55mm lens, and it works great! This lens is alright for close up pictures, but I will invest in a lens with a larger focal length in the future. Did I mention I love the color?! People have stopped me to talk about my camera because they love the color too! Overall I have nothing negative to say about this product!

sistermarie
Yakima, WA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Absolutely Awesome!
8/23/2012

Customer review by Nikon owner with 4 bodies & more than 13 lenses.

5.0 stars 8/23/2012 by Nikon owner with 4 bodies & more than 13 lenses.
by Nikon owner with 4 bodies & more than 13 lenses.

Own a 300s & before taking an extended 3+ week trip through France & Italy, found that pictures with it were not clear due to extensive use without cleaning. Within 3 days of leaving, I had to decide what camera to buy and take. Because of the Exceed3 processor in the D3200, I picked this camera. It was absolutely flawless and produced unbelievable pictures. It was relatively simple to learn "on the fly" and is a rather light camera on a long trip. There were no glitches in 2,000 pictures. The only anomaly was that with the small, great size for a long trip, SB-400 AF speedlight flash attached in low light situations, the camera also popped up it's own built-in flash. I'm sure that is probably a software issue that Nikon can fix so that when the camera identifies the SB-400 as attached, it locks down the D3200 internal flash. I'd recommend this camera to anyone for the extremely high quality, sharp images that the Exceed 3 sensor produces. And for most people it is rather easy to learn ..... pick it up and start shooting ... you won't be sorry! (The 1080p HD video is incredible too!).

Nikon owner with 4 bodies & more than 13 lenses.
East Coast USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Big disappointment
6/4/2014

Customer review by Pressacco

1.0 stars 6/4/2014 by Pressacco
by Pressacco

With a new baby on the way, my wife and I sold our D40 and purchased a D3200 in February of 2014. Shortly after the unboxing we discovered that the D3200 is plagued {what appears to be input/output (I/O)} problems. On several occasions we have seen: - long boot/start times (for approximately 30+ seconds) - camera is non-responsive after taking picture (for approximately 30+ seconds) - camera fails to format the memory card (error: invalid memory card) - errors generated while recording video (recording subsequently stops) - Connected camera to PC, copied files to PC, deleted files off of camera = all but 8 files would delete. Every time I would try to delete one of the remaining files, Windows would display an error message: "The storage is write-protected". I have gone through the troubleshooting process with SanDisk, no luck. I am now attempting to return the D3200 to Nikon. CONTEXT - Nikon D3200 (purchased February 2014) - SanDisk Extreme 64GB SDXC UHS-1 (have tried using 4 different memory cards, all failed) @Nikon: I managed to capture the slow startup/boot time on video. If you wish, I can send you a copy of the video.

Pressacco
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very good Camera
5/24/2014

Customer review by Texan63

4.0 stars 5/24/2014 by Texan63
by Texan63

I have had this camera for approximately a month and have taken maybe 200 photos. I have been extremely pleased with the quality of the photo's. One concern is the Warranty Programs "Yellow" form that is included with the camera and lenses. It states on the Warranty that Registration within ten days of purchase required for ESC coverage. I disagree with Nikon's policy on this. I purchased a new TV, this camera, some Video Software and had two reunions to attend and put together a photo program for these two reunions. Nikon needs to realize this 10 day window is unreasonable. Another complaint is Nikon's "Update of Software" page. It is very confusing and I am unsure what needs to Updated if anything. Surely Nikon can develop an "Update Software" page that will "only lists" software and information that my camera needs.

Texan63
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing Camera for any Photo enthusiast
6/18/2012

Customer review by Now a Nikon Fan

5.0 stars 6/18/2012 by Now a Nikon Fan
by Now a Nikon Fan

I bought this camera a month ago as a birthday present (to myself). Immediately i started taking photos of almost anything just to get the feel. In Auto mode, it is more reliable than any sony, canon, or even compact nikon's that i have used. Breaking my leg two weeks ago in a sailing accident, i have been playing around with the manual features and have started to take better and better photos in numerous environments. With the help of the "guide" feature, i am able to choose what type of photo i am trying to take and learn the settings that the camera automatically adapts to. I highly recommend this camera if you are either first trying out a DSLR, want to learn more about photography, or even have tried other cameras and just want something that works in any environment and takes a photo with a truly clear photo.

Now a Nikon Fan
Boston, MA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic Value - Great Shots
7/29/2012

Customer review by Mark-the-Photographer

5.0 stars 7/29/2012 by Mark-the-Photographer
by Mark-the-Photographer

While I have been a photography enthusiast since the late 1980s (fully manual Minolta SLR with manual focus, manual aperture, manual shutter speed, even manual film advance LOL), and have used a wide number of point-and-shoot 35mm film cameras and digital cameras since then, the Nikon D3200 is my first DSLR. I love it for five primary reasons. 1) It can be set to full auto, making it into a beefed up point-and-shoot, which is handy since it has been over two decades since I've used an SLR. 2) As you become more advanced, you can manually control various settings to shoot more creative photos. 3) The full 1080 video at 24 or 30 fps is phenomenal. 4) Having been designed as a person's first digital SLR, it is extremely easy to use. 5) Quite simply, at 24 megapixels and VR, this camera shoots gorgeous pictures!!

Mark-the-Photographer
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera for a beginner!
11/7/2013

Customer review by BMUS

5.0 stars 11/7/2013 by BMUS
by BMUS

For years I've used a digital camera (non-SLR) and was satisfied with the quality of the pictures. Well, one afternoon with my new Nikon D3200 Digital SLR has changed that, I'll NEVER go back! It was easy to use right out of the box, set it on "Auto" and you are taking amazing pictures immediately. Spend a little time playing with the "manual" capabilities/settings and you will be amazed at what you can do with it. It has been a long time since I've used a "real" camera and couldn't be happier with the D3200. Now I'm addicted to buying lenses, attachments and any other toy that I can get for my new camera....and love the fact that it comes with the two lenses and the red color makes everyone take notice! Tip: if you want to get the max. # of "continuous" shots, make sure you set the camera "off" of "autofocus" and try to do the focusing manually. Otherwise, there is a lag after each shot as the camera tries to check the focus and you will only get one picture every 2-3 seconds. It takes a little practice to get used to manually focusing, but the fact that you really can take 3-4 shots per second makes up for the slight blur you might get on some high speed action shots....

BMUS
Chicagoland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Awesome entry-level DSLR!
5/29/2016

Customer review by SnapshotGuy

5.0 stars 5/29/2016 by SnapshotGuy
by SnapshotGuy

I received the D3200 18-55mm VR kit for my birthday last year, and this camera is perfect for those starting out in photography. The controls are very easy to use, the menu layout is very easy to navigate, it's compact and light enough to carry in a small shoulder bag with two lenses and a few accessories, and is very easy to set up and configure quickly for different photographic occasions. The only downside is that the D3200 can NOT autofocus with a standard AF Nikkor lens; it can autofocus ONLY with an AF-S Nikkor lens. It produces sharp, natural, vivid photographs every time I use it.

SnapshotGuy
Indiana, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Problems after usig only 2 times
10/28/2013

Customer review by Pinheiro

1.0 stars 10/28/2013 by Pinheiro
by Pinheiro

Disappointed… I bought the camera on August 6, 2013. I used this camera for few days during two different trips. I loved these new experiences. One and a half month later, when I was about to use it on my 95 grandmothers birthday, the camera stop working. The battery indicator keeps flashing. The manual states, "The battery cannot be used. Choose battery designated for use in this camera". The battery is the original that came with the camera and it was fully charged. A friend has a D3100, I tried my battery on his camera and worked, but his battery in my camera gives the same error. I bought it during a trip to US (I’m from Brazil) and even though the Best Buy seller and also the Online Self Service Product Repair (from nikon webpage that states: “THIS IS YOUR NIKON INC. ONE YEAR LIMITED WARRANTY (VALID IN THE CONTINENTAL UNITED STATES, ALASKA, HAWAII, CENTRAL AND SOUTH AMERICA, AND THE CARIBBEAN). YOU MUST PRESENT THIS FORM TOGETHER WITH PROOF OF PURCHASE AND PROOF OF PURCHASE DATE (BILL OF SALE) TO OBTAIN WARRANTY SERVICE.) says that the warranty covers Brazil, I was informed by the Brazilian customer service that I do not have the right to it. Now I have a camera that does not work with no support from Nikon.

Pinheiro
Brazil
Would recommend to a friend? No
We are truly spoiled
5/6/2013

Customer review by Sensh

5.0 stars 5/6/2013 by Sensh
by Sensh

Who would have thought this much capability would be available as an entry level model? There is likely no better example of the pace of DSLR development than the D3200. The images you can produce with this camera are amazing, even in low light and at higher ISO. I bought the kit with the two lenses, kept the 55-200mm zoom but sold the 18mm-55mm zoom, and replaced it with a 50mm f/1.4. Then later I bought the Voigtlander 40mm f/2.0 macro and for less than the cost of a D600 body I have a complete camera rig that can produce professional results virtually anywhere. Occasionally, there are some features I miss. I wish it could control Nikon speedlights as a commander. I'd like to be able to produce in-camera HDR (not the cheesy "old car in a field" HDR, but the very subtle, almost imperceptible HDR that allows you to capture certain images in difficult circumstances.) There are times when I wish it could shoot longer exposures. But this is an entry-level camera, and there are always other ways to do those things. Bottom line? If you're taking bad pictures with a D3200, it's because you're not a very good photographer. And at the price this camera is available, you free up a ton of money to buy what REALLY matters - some nice glass.

Sensh
Middleburg, VA 20117, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to use DSLR
6/4/2012

Customer review by madmaxloubet14

5.0 stars 6/4/2012 by madmaxloubet14
by madmaxloubet14

As a camera fanatic, I could not wait to get my hands on the D3200. When I first picked it up, it was very lightweight. The improved grip (from the D3100) made it a lot easier to pick up, even though the grip was just a little small, but that's ok. Taking photos with this camera is a simple as one, two, three. The video quality is outstanding, the best I have ever seen. The camera is now fully manually functional in video, so you can adjust your ISO, aperture, etc. while shooting video. Overall, for the price, this is one of the best DSLR's out there, and I highly recommend it to first users of DSLR's, who aren't quite ready to take on the challenge of a way more high-end and a more professional Nikon camera, such as the D4 or the D3x.

madmaxloubet14
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!
10/26/2012

Customer review by tamfluech

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by tamfluech
by tamfluech

This is a great little camera! I used to be a photographer now turned graphic designer and although I initially wanted to purchase a much more expensive camera I had to be realistic with myself and my budget. WOW! Am I impressed, this camera rocks! Not only is the quality there but it is so easy to use. It's lightweight and easier for smaller hands to hold. I can easily take it with me to take shots of the kids for fun or to shoot small product shots for a client. I realize by no means does this replace a professional camera but it's a great little buy for me and my needs. If you are wondering, yes, I bought the red and I know people are talking about it not being professional but don't let that little change in body color fool you!

tamfluech
Fort Myers, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 226 total reviews
1-20 of 226 reviews