Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 676 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

676 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

5 stars
281
4 stars
261
3 stars
74
2 stars
27
1 stars
33
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 611 total reviews
MADE IN THE US OF A
1/28/2010

Customer review by youareinthetwilightzone

5.0 stars by youareinthetwilightzone

finally, i found a swing set made in AMERICA. it's a quality swing set, put it together by flashlight (we do what we can when we can), took 3 hours or so working by myself. very pleased with it. the only thing i will warn anybody who tries to put this thing together, the center pole set is a nightmare to try to get together. don't waste time trying to use their hardware, get two regular bolts and nuts, trust me you will thank me. other than that, great instructions on assembly, huge pictures. if you lay it all out before you start and get the two bolts i mentioned you should be able to get it together with no problem. and for those of you who want to know what is wrong with the economy, it's we don't manufacture much in the USA anymore, look for American made and buy it where you can.

Was this review helpful? (435) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
youareinthetwilightzone
north texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
I Love My Kids...
8/17/2009

Customer review by Hdsporty

4.0 stars by Hdsporty

"I love my kids" is what my husband and I kept saying over and over as we put the "A" frame of the swing set together. It was the only thing that kept us from chucking the poles across the yard or at each other. Before we submitted our order, we made sure to read each review posted. After reading them my husband and I were 50/50 in the idea of purchasing this set. The price and the size was what attracted the swing set to us. There were good and bad and good/bad reviews. So, in hopes that the others who had good and good/bad reviews were mechanically sound we decided to join in on the adventure, as we felt we were mechanically sound. We came to find out that they don't call this set the "Big Adventure" for nothing! Our "Big Adventure" goes like this... We had to take the "A" frame and or legs apart three different times. I am going to tell you about these times so that you hopefully don't make the same mistake! You need to know that I am a directions reader and my husband comes to the game just tackle! If you catch my drift. So, with that said we skipped some steps, which had to be retraced and then in turn pieces had to be taken apart and redone. Don't make this mistake. Direction readers take a stand! First time, we had the right side of the "A" frame legs backwards. The pole with three holes at the bottom we had in the front, which needed to be in the back because the see-saw had to be attached to it. Second time, we were having a hard time securing up the center legs. This is how we attached the center legs...sounds crazy, but it worked. We ended up flipping the set up side down and placing each end of the "A" frame on a lawn chair to hold it upwards while we then secured each center leg. It sounds funny, but you'll understand, maybe, when you come to this point. While it is upright it was very hard to see the holes to secure the legs, so we brought the main pole to our level! Third time, we were pretty much done with assembly, yea!...not really! Here's why, there are four black caps and four white caps. Well, we knew the four black caps went on the ends of the main pole at the top and on the see-saw ends of that pole to keep bees, hornets, wasps, and moisture, whatever out. So, we placed the black ones there. Then we had these four white caps left over, which I dubbed the "stupid little white caps"! I as the direction reader looked and looked all over at the directions. For the life of me I could not find anywhere where 4 extra caps were needed and then I found a separate little oh lets say a 5 X 7 size piece of paper with more directions on it! Well, this little piece of paper has the four places listed where these other four stupid little white caps were to be placed! My husband and I kept saying well oh forget about it. Then we said but, "We LOVE our kids, we don't want them to get stung"! So, for the third time... as good parents we made sure to do the right thing and put the stupid little white caps in their places! We had to take off the two front legs of each end of the "A" frame so we could place those stupid little white caps on the tops of the four end legs! Don't let that happen to you, or you may have to decide in the end bee stings or frustration! We did have an issue with the see-saw too. It wasn't level when we hooked it to the leg. So we jumped on the arm bar to bury it down into the ground. I am unsure if that was to be done or not, but it is level now. The downside is that it is pretty low to the ground and only our smaller kids can enjoy it. The older ones knees are in their chests! Oh well, we dubbed a rule that the see-saw was only for the little kids, it worked! The last thing is the chains for the swings and glider. They are not labeled, as with everything else. The trapeze chains are obvious. The swings all have the same length chains. The glider will have one set of chains with the hooks and there will be a set of chains with nothing on the ends, these two pieces are the other two chains that go with the glider. We found that out the hard way... My "tackle" was quick to attach two swings to the swing set and took one set of chains and just secured them to a swing while I took the other set and attached them to one end of the glider. Once we had them attached he hooked up the one swing to the set and realized it was considerably shorter than the other two swings, meanwhile I was figuring out that the two sets of chains I had were different lengths! So, he had to take the swing off the set and take the chains off it and I had to do the same to the glider. We swapped the chains and all was good! A needless step if things were labeled. As far as parts, we found the other reviews to be accurate. The parts are not labeled the same as what the written directions call for as compared to what the container label says on the container of parts. We definitely had to break out the tape measure and measure each bolt from the parts container to match it up to which bolt was needed in the written directions for each of the steps. That wasn't that big of a deal. We did end up having to go to the local hardware store to buy two extra bolts. We had to buy two 1/4" X 1 3/4" bolts that cost a total of .38 cents. These two bolts ended up attaching the chin bar on the center legs. When we got down to the nitty gritty, we found that we did not have enough bolts to attach the steps to the slide. It called for four 1/4" X 1 1/2" bolts. We decided to skip that step and to finish attaching the rest of the equipment. We did not want to run the hardware store right at that minute. We finished attaching all the pieces and had a lot of 1/4" X 2" bolts left over. So, we decided to use four of those to secure the slide steps in place. The extra lengths in the bolts are hidden from sight. No harm done there and no other trip was needed to the hardware store. All in all, it took about 5 to 5 1/2 hours for us to put together and a couple...few beers. Once the "A" frame was in place it didn't take too long to secure the rest of the play equipment in the correct places. My kids love it! The smiles on their faces were enough to erase the frustration it took while building the swing set. I have found out that as long as you can read a tape measure and you are mechanically inclined you too can probably put this up. We didn't have to drill any extra holes, just had to buy those two extra bolts. Had to use our thinking powers and figure out a few small things by our common sense. On an upward note, my husband is now a self proclaimed professional swing set assembler. I only hope with this long review I will have helped someone uncover some secrets in what will be their own "Big Adventure".

Was this review helpful? (215) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Hdsporty
Holt, MI.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great product for the price
12/30/2009

Customer review by whsteacher

5.0 stars by whsteacher

We bought this for our 4 year old grand-daughter for Christmas. She loved it!!! Some of the reviews I read before purchasing had implied that the assembly was too difficult. My husband and son put it together in about 3 hours. You may need a few tools, but it is well worth the money. It also has all the safety precautions like the covered chains, hooks and all.

Was this review helpful? (134) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
whsteacher
Booneville, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Perfect for the Price!
9/11/2010

Customer review by KChawks

5.0 stars by KChawks

We bought this for my 4yr old grandson and it is great. My daughter inlaw and I put it together in about 5 hours. We had a couple miss-steps but if you can read and follow directions, you won't have any problems. My grandson says he has his own park at home now. It is sturdy, my adult children and I all sat on it at the same time. You really need to tighten things after a week or so, and the tie downs really are a nessecary safety tool. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (65) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
KChawks
Seattle, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Headache!!!!
9/8/2009

Customer review by nickD76

4.0 stars by nickD76

I would say to possible customers, you need to be a ware that this product will give you one huge headache once you are done putting this thing together. The manufacturer did a very very poor job of packaging the parts, tools and ect. The parts and tools were unlabled so it takes you an hour to just figure out what is what. It took my husband and I 5 and 1/2 hours to put this thing together. The only that kept us from giving up was our two little girls who waited anxiously for us to put the swing together so that they could finally play on it. We almost wanted to just pack everything back up and take it back to the store, but we finally got it together at last. Now our girls are happy and they are on the swing every chance they get, so they are enjoying it. Overall the prouduct is great, but one heck of a job putting together.

Was this review helpful? (96) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
nickD76
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Great set for the price
3/23/2010

Customer review by 4my3

5.0 stars by 4my3

We considered going with a wooden set but decided we didn't want the upkeep of staining the wood and such. My 3 kids love the set and play on it everyday, rain, snow or sunshine!

Was this review helpful? (54) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
4my3
Billings, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Happy Little Boy
7/8/2009

Customer review by firechiefswife

4.0 stars by firechiefswife

Finally got my husband to come with me to buy my grandson a swing set, had been searching for weeks for the right one. Decided on the metal frame one from Wal Mart, as it was the best buy for the money, others were nice, but to pricey. Only problem we had was holes were not lined up as well as they should have been. The swing set was put together in couple of hours, decided not to put the see-saw up as grandson still to small for this. Please do not let negative reviews scare you away from this product. It comes with anchors so you can anchor it down, and plugs for the ends so wasp can't get in. For the money it was worth it and the look on his face was worth any headache. Looks good in my yard also. God Bless

Was this review helpful? (49) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
firechiefswife
Rosedale Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy To Assemble
12/29/2009

Customer review by Troublkd

5.0 stars by Troublkd

I had never assembled a swing set prior to this one and I have to say, I found it quite easy. I asssembled most of it in my garage by myself and had my wife help me with the larger pieces (legs). I would have only one complaint and that is, no where in the assembly instructions does it mention the leg the see-saw assembly bolts to has to be in the back right-hand side. Where this is obvious when you look at the picture, it wasn't until after I had nearly completely assembled the swing set that I noticed only one leg had the holes on the bottom to bolt on the see-saw. Of course, I had it on by the slide. So, I had to do some disassemble-reassemble work that is frustrating. The kids love it!

Was this review helpful? (43) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Troublkd
Magnolia, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Swingset & Happy Girls
3/20/2010

Customer review by Calico463

5.0 stars by Calico463

We bought this for a 5 & 6 year old girls. We read all the bad & good reviews on this swingset, and decided to go ahead and order one, knowing we might encounter problems. I saw it at a low price online and with tax it cost only $246.25 - good price for what we bought. We had it shipped to store and Wal Mart kept great communication on order updates. My husband spent maybe 3 1/2 hours assembling it, and had no problems. The only help he needed was a pole being held up in the air to put a bolt in and tte 6 year old did that, he also liked that the Rocket Rider hardware was sealed in a separate bag ~ Slide hardware in it's own bag etc..... All the hardware was there and he did not have to redrill any holes. We like the different play items: Wave slide, swings, glider swing, trapeze bar, see- saw, 2-person rocket rider alot better options than the other swingsets I have seen So since most of the reviews are from last year, I believe most of the negatives this item has recieved, have been resolved when item was manufactured. We plan on putting landscape timbers around it, then sand under the swingset. We love the endcap covers and covered chains, no pinching of fingers and no wasps can get inside. This is a great product

Was this review helpful? (32) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Calico463
Shiloh NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nightmare to assemble
4/26/2009

Customer review by Grampa59

3.0 stars by Grampa59

This product seems durable enough, but it has some serious shortcomings. The engineering, manufacturing, and assembly instructions were terrible. The machine, which made the holes in the tubular frame, left debris in the holes. We had to ream out every one to make the bolts fit onto the inserts (which coupled with the bolts INSIDE the tubular frame). The various sizes of nuts, bolts, washers, and small parts were difficult to find, due to the jumbled up arrangement in which they were packaged. The instructions were unclear in many instances. Instead of taking three hours for two people, as advertised, it took five hours for two people, plus two hours each for the two neighbors who stopped by to assist, when they heard all the swearing. We all have diverse mechanical backgrounds, including aircraft assembly line, agriculture, business machine repair, and communications technician. And, we didn't drink any beer until the project was completed. Here are some suggestions we think would make this a better product: Package each type of nut, bolt, washer, etc. in a separate package and CLEARLY label them as to size and designation letter that matches the instructions. Initiate quality control in the manufacturing process. Redo the instructions to make them easy to understand. Add a bolt on the front leg to attach to the slide to make it more stable (we did this, and it is a great improvement). Use locking cap nuts for assembly, instead of the inserts which the bolts thread into, inside the tubular frame. We were happy to see this product is made in the USA, but can't understand how the company has been in business for so long, considering the poor manufacturing, engineering, and assembly instructions for this particular product. The bright side is that my 2 year grandson is having a great time on the swing set, it seems durable and safe, and it matches the colors of their house perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Grampa59
North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Flexible Flyer Swing Set
5/20/2010

Customer review by SmartShopper23A

4.0 stars by SmartShopper23A

I purchased this swingset for my children (3&6) a few weeks ago. They love it, they play on it everyday and don't want to get off! Worth the money and I saved on shipping by having it sent to the store. If you have more than two kids on it at a time I would purchase extra anchors and anchor down the middle legs too or cement it into the ground if you can - put the cement in empty coffee cans so it can easily be moved or taken down. I had two guys put this swingset together and it took them about an hour and a half with NO issues.

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SmartShopper23A
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Great Bargain
2/13/2009

Customer review by All4mykids09

5.0 stars by All4mykids09

I am very pleased with my purchase! I was skeptical after reading some of the reviews but I am happy that I made the decision to purchase this particular set. I am a single mother and my neice and I were able to put this set together ourselves without any problems. My children love the set and I am pleased with thequality of the set. This can keep my children occupied all day with so many different things to play on. A+

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
All4mykids09
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome AFFORDABLE Swingset
4/10/2011

Customer review by StayHomeMamaOfTwo

5.0 stars by StayHomeMamaOfTwo

I got this swingset for my 4 yr old and 1 yr old. I had to buy a toddler swing seperate. This set was not bad to put together. Took almost 3 hours with 2-3 adults. (I helped a little). I love that it has different things to do on it. Not just a couple swings and a slide like the big OVERPRICED wooden sets. It fits in our yard perfectly, the anchors are awesome, and everything is very safe (coated in rubber). It will be very hard to get hurt on this one. My kids love this swingset, its got plenty to keep them busy for hours and compaired to the price of the wooden budget busters, this one wins for sure!!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
StayHomeMamaOfTwo
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth the money
5/17/2010

Customer review by SmkyMtnHny

5.0 stars by SmkyMtnHny

My son and I put this together this morning and grandkids were on it about 3 hours later. I read almost all of the reviews before purchasing, especially the tips and what to look out for. We must've been blessed because we had no missing bolts, nuts or washers! All holes were clear except for three or four and they were easily fixed with a screwdriver. The directions are acceptable and I really think I could've put it together by myself. My son laid out all of the hardware and matched each piece to the pictures (bolts, washers, barrel nuts, etc). Pictures are to scale so that was not a problem. Be aware that the bolts do not go completely through both holes. They stop short of the second hole and are secured by the barrel nuts. The only problem we had (and it was not noted in the instructions until almost the last step in connecting the swings, etc.) was with the top pole. The holes for the top of the pole are round and the holes on the bottom where the swings attach are elongated. We had to undo the legs to turn the pole over. We did attach the seesaw and at the moment it is a little lopsided. One review had stated that if you dig out a small hole (maybe 3" deep) for the seesaw post to rest in the seesaw would be straight. Also note that the leg for the seesaw will have three holes drilled in it but you will only use two of the holes. Not sure but I think if the holes were moved up a little higher on the leg there might not be an issue with the seesaw being lopsided. Anyway, we'll be digging a small hole tomorrow for the seesaw post. All in all, I'm totally happy! The grandkids are happy and that is what's important!

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SmkyMtnHny
Alcoa, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
3 years and 8 kids
6/27/2013

Customer review by Lizzypoo523

5.0 stars by Lizzypoo523

Bought this mothers day of 2010 and daily have minimum of 4 kids and maximum of 8 kids using this swingset and let me tell you, it has held up great. It was a nightmare to put together, BECAUSE my boyfriend DOES NOT READ DIRECTIONS...READ THE DIRECTIONS is what I can tell you, and lay everything out FIRST! The slide has cracked because of uncaring and rude teenagers jumping on it but I am going to order a replacement slide and just keep swinging. The only other thing I would recommend is to USE the anchors that are supplied and then to dig a little hole around each pole leg and pour a little QUICK CRETE in the hole, if your ground is soft which ours is, the anchors eventually come out of the ground and that makes for NO high swinging...a little quick crete and you are back in business!

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Lizzypoo523
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very happy with swing set!!!
7/12/2010

Customer review by LacerRacer

5.0 stars by LacerRacer

I am very happy with this swing set esp. for the money. I love all the extra plastic and rubber covers! My kids love it!!! They are out there playing on it everyday before breakfast and we have to drag them in every evening! I wanted a wood one but they are mush more costly and require more care. It was easy to put up and actually pretty sturdy. Very happy with it and would recommend it!!!! Oh and the box fit very easy into my mini van to bring home!!! Minus the kids) :)

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LacerRacer
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for the price
5/4/2011

Customer review by pineapplelover

5.0 stars by pineapplelover

The set is perfect for SMALL CHILDREN... it is not for adults or children that are 80 pounds and over... The only problem we encountered was the titter totter holes did not align so we had to drill new holes.... my two year old loves it!... this set will last her until shes at least 8...

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
pineapplelover
Horseshoe Bend, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great swing set, for toddlers
3/23/2010

Customer review by kentuckyweekendhandyman

4.0 stars by kentuckyweekendhandyman

I had to use a pickup truck, to haul swing set home From store. It took myself, three hours to install. With help, 2 -2 1/2 hours. Directions were good. Make sure to lay all pieces out, before you install. This will make process easier. Have on hand A ratchet and allen / hex sockets. All nuts this style. I would rate directions, on a 1-10 scale. " 7 ". If you are a pro, then go by standard bolts and nuts Before install. This would make install easy. My kids love it !!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kentuckyweekendhandyman
Pikeville, Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Extremely Pleased :D
5/8/2012

Customer review by KRBMR

5.0 stars by KRBMR

I purchsed this site to store for my 4 year old. Assembly wasnt too bad, only took an hour after the second guy got here lol. There were a couple of screws missing but we were able to find them in a friends garage. Three days later one of the swing chains came apart and one of the seats for the teeter-totter popped off. I e-mailed Fleixible Flyer on Saturday and had the replacement parts by Wednesday. Unfortunately the color of the replacement seats were a lime green, everything else is dark green. No matter, we replaced what needed it and the kids were back in business. My daughter has played on this everyday for hours at a time and comes in exhausted and ready for a bath and bed! It wasnt the one one I wanted but she is happy and that is all that matters!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
KRBMR
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great but a PAIN!!
6/15/2009

Customer review by southsideirish

4.0 stars by southsideirish

After MUCH shopping around and comparing reviews, we decided to get this for our daughter (3), son (1), and nephews (5). It's a great swing set, lots for all the kids to do so in that respect, well worth the price. HOWEVER, a couple of things to note about this: 1. It IS a pain to put together. We're talking 3 men for 3 hours and then 2 of us for another 2 hours the next morning. It took some manhandling to line things up properly and the instructions couldn't be much worse even if they were in another language. WARNING: We had read in some of the other reviews that people put things together and then had to later take stuff apart b/c the parts were put on upside down. It would have made a HUGE difference to know what part people were referring to, since we ended up doing the same thing and could have learned from others. BIG HELPFUL HINT: Before putting the top bars on, make sure these are on the right way - there IS a right and wrong way because when you finally get around to attaching the swings, the bolts only fit one way. This is the part that went on upside down and we had to try to undo and redo one bar without dismantaling the whole set (which is, by the way, possible). 2. There were no bolts, etc included to be able to attach the see-saw so we tried A LOT to call Flexible Flyer but ALWAYS got a busy signal. Nice. So we went on-line to their sight and emailed a request for parts but have yet to receive them. So we don't have that on yet. And also, the holes look way too low to attach it so we are anticipating having to drill ones a little higher on the leg. Overall, the set is really good for the price and the pros definitely outweigh the cons. Since it's been up, there aren't really any cons - it's just definitely the assembly, instructions and parts that are big cons. Once you get past that, it's all great!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
southsideirish
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 611 total reviews