Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 28 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

28 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

28 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 24 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews
Lucky Tent
6/12/2012

Customer review by bin0o0ptic

5.0 stars 6/12/2012 by bin0o0ptic
by bin0o0ptic

Read my mind... I was casually searching WM's tent selection late one evening & looking for a Low cost 1-2 man tent...for later use this season. After browsing thru all tents currently offered here, left site favoring a couple but undecided. Very next day...this brand New hiker tent appeared & my top pick ! Price + Style = IDEAL <> Compliments & Thanks...Ozark Trail + W-Mart * Have not used tent as of yet, so forgive lack of detailed info regarding such...I usually pile it on otherwise. * {Includes good quality zippered carry bag...burnt yellow. "Wenzel" == company contact regarding tent...problems / accs., etc.}

Was this review helpful? (61) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bin0o0ptic
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Perfect, just what I was looking for!
7/17/2012

Customer review by aznmlfan

5.0 stars 7/17/2012 by aznmlfan
by aznmlfan

I've been looking and researching for months for a small and affordable tent. One day not long before my trip, this suddenly appears on walmart.com. What a great find! I ordered it right away and it made it just in time. It is the perfect size for 1-2, meaning 1 comfortably and 2 if you want to get cozy ;) The top is mostly mesh so it's really nice without the rain fly for ventilation and stargazing. We also got a tarp for a couple dollars from the hardware store to use as a footprint. It rolls up and fits snugly inside the bag with the tent. The tent is freestanding, it can be set up by 1 person, and the stakes aren't absolutely necessary (recommended though).

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aznmlfan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
does not pack small
7/13/2012

Customer review by NeverBorn

3.0 stars 7/13/2012 by NeverBorn
by NeverBorn

Bought this to use as a two man backpacking tent for my wife and I. It's a good thing we don't mind snuggling because this tent is a tight fit for two. if your a solo hiker it is very roomy (I'm 6'2" and weigh 220lbs and have plenty of room for me plus gear). Weighs around four pounds so its a good choice for a light weight tent. There are some lighter models from other retailers but don't expect to pay $30. My eureka spitfire weighs around 3lbs but cost over $100. My biggest complaint is this tent does NOT pack small. The fiberglass poles only collapse down to about 20-24 inches. I have to strap them to the outside of my pack.

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NeverBorn
sw virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great value for a budget tent
7/4/2012

Customer review by thisismichaelh

4.0 stars 7/4/2012 by thisismichaelh
by thisismichaelh

I purchased this tent for bicycle touring and backpacking, and it has proven to be a good value. It's light, and is suitable for two . It folds to a width of 20", but if refolded, packs small enough to fit in a 40liter back pack (I put the poles in with my sleeping pad). It did the job just right. My girlfriend and I took this on a recent backpacking overnight, and we enjoyed the full moon through the mesh. I wouldn't of course choose this tent for an extended bike trip or backpacking adventure, but for weekend trips up the mountain, or for a weekend bike trip, it is a stellar value at 28.00 or so.

Was this review helpful? (20) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thisismichaelh
Altadena, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great little tent for one person
7/26/2012

Customer review by Mimitheminer

5.0 stars 7/26/2012 by Mimitheminer
by Mimitheminer

Got this for camping trips on my motorcycle. Rolls up small, Easy to set up & take down, even for one person. The stakes that come with it are thin & weak, had to buy some better tent stakes, and I treated it with seam sealer and waterproofing spray. Rained every night of my last camping trip, and I never got wet at all inside. Would be nice if it had some windows other than the door panel, you can take the rainfly off and the tent is all mesh on top, but would not want to do that in case of rain. All in all, it is pretty close to perfect for my needs, and not a bad price.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mimitheminer
North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Light, easy to assemble.
7/5/2012

Customer review by SSCamaro454

4.0 stars 7/5/2012 by SSCamaro454
by SSCamaro454

comfortable for 1 adult person. 2 on the other hand would be a squeeze. Otherwise nothing to complain about

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SSCamaro454
Newport Beach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
good tent for the money.
11/30/2012

Customer review by james111

4.0 stars 11/30/2012 by james111
by james111

I have used this tent. It was adequate. I am 6'3, 260 lbs. Some other tents I have bought did not measure up to the advertised dimensions. I can stretch out in this one. Excellent tent for a backpacker who is not rich.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
james111
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great tent for an older Boy Scout, easy to setup.
7/20/2012

Customer review by jmjwi

5.0 stars 7/20/2012 by jmjwi
by jmjwi

Great tent for an older Boy Scout, easy to setup.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jmjwi
New RIchmond, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great Backpacker Tent
12/24/2012

Customer review by 1812usmc1812

5.0 stars 12/24/2012 by 1812usmc1812
by 1812usmc1812

Although the other reviews may say this tent is a tight squeeze for two people, you also have to remember it is a tent that is ment to be light weight. I was able to fit two people with enough room if you put one person's head next to anothers feet. That being said, the tent is very light, and is very water proof (frost proof also). I would recommend spraying the tent with seal to be on safe side but is still an unbeatable purchase for only $30 .

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1812usmc1812
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great one person tent for the money.
7/17/2012

Customer review by ochc2009

4.0 stars 7/17/2012 by ochc2009
by ochc2009

Got this tent to go camping. This tent was pretty small for two average sized adults. It really is a hiker tent and folds up really small into a handy zip pouch. I felt very confined with two adults in the tent, but my husband seemed to thinking it wasn't bad- I'm not a fan to confined spaces. The tent is not very tall, and I don't think it really measures out to be 5 feet wide. It is however long enough, I am 5'8 and I fit fine in the tent, with a bit of room to spare. Great price, but the quality is you get what you pay for. It is weather sealed at the bottom, so I am assuming it is weather protected.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ochc2009
Downey, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
great tent for backpacking
7/5/2012

Customer review by sevora

4.0 stars 7/5/2012 by sevora
by sevora

But do not recomend for two people. My bf is 6'3" and I am 5'3". We fit but no room to move and you can't fit your gear in tent with you, so if your backpacking you need to find something else to put your stuff in. But all in all gtreat for the money;)

Was this review helpful? (6) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sevora
anaheim,ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Small and compact.
1/2/2013

Customer review by Sally2323

4.0 stars 1/2/2013 by Sally2323
by Sally2323

I purchased this tent to use myself, only one person. I doubt it would be roomy enough for two adults... maybe two children. It was easy to put up, after reading the directions several times.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sally2323
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very nice ONE man tent
3/9/2013

Customer review by FreighttrainontheAT

5.0 stars 3/9/2013 by FreighttrainontheAT
by FreighttrainontheAT

Easy set-up. Light. Packs up small. Dont use the case it comes in. Just stuff it in your pack. Stakes are no good for sand but fine for anything else. It rained my first night out and the tent stayed dry. I do recomened a ground pad. 2nd night it got down to 32. Tent stayed dry inside. Sleeps one big guy easy. If there's two of you make sure # 2 is someone you want to get very close to.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FreighttrainontheAT
Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Great for budget backpacking.
12/25/2012

Customer review by Acidrayn

4.0 stars 12/25/2012 by Acidrayn
by Acidrayn

I was searching for a smaller and lighter tent for quite some time... For under 30 bucks, this tent is a great deal. It is not the smallest tent, don't get me wrong. If folded correctly, it can be pretty small.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Acidrayn
la
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
broke when setting it up
7/3/2012

Customer review by berryman24

2.0 stars 7/3/2012 by berryman24
by berryman24

when I put together my new tent for the first time the one of the poles snapped down the side.

Was this review helpful? (4) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
berryman24
Whitewater, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Not a backpacking tent
6/29/2012

Customer review by McGruber

3.0 stars 6/29/2012 by McGruber
by McGruber

I originally purchased this backpacking but it turns out that it's too large to fit in my backpack. I was going to return it but the price persuaded me otherwise. I lost very little on this purchase and will use it for regular camping. I did think it a little odd (almost false advertising) that they would call it a hiker tent when the only people who hike in to a campsite are backpackers, yet it's too large. I disappointment Walmart *shakes head*. There are worse things that could happen. It seems that it's a decent tent for the money though.

Was this review helpful? (7) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
McGruber
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
2/21/2013

Customer review by BSAMomOfManhattanCouncil

1.0 stars 2/21/2013 by BSAMomOfManhattanCouncil
by BSAMomOfManhattanCouncil

I didn't even open up this tent. My Boy Scout son needed a hiking tent for ONE scout to take with him on a backpacking hike. I saw this one and it was the right price. When I got it, it was long and skinny, not something that could be carried in a backpack easily. My 3-4 man hiking tent was smaller than this one and would have fit in his backpack. I love this brand of tents, BUT I needed one that would fit into a 60L backpack.

Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BSAMomOfManhattanCouncil
New York City, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
too large i need to return this item
2/26/2013

Customer review by k062255

3.0 stars 2/26/2013 by k062255
by k062255

how do i return this item

Was this review helpful? (0) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
k062255
eupora, ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bad design
7/8/2012

Customer review by RickieE

1.0 stars 7/8/2012 by RickieE
by RickieE

Tent is small, smells weird and has a seam running directly through the rain fly where it dips like a saddle at the top center of the tent. If it doesn't leak new, it will over time. Very small inside and it is not a free-standing tent - it must be strung out and anchored at the sides or it sags into itself. Even at the low low price, it fails to meet basic expectations for usability. Do a lot of hiking and wanted the small, light tent to fit the pack and myself in. Still looking...

Was this review helpful? (8) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RickieE
Summerville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
12/21/2012

Customer review by SquatchMan

5.0 stars 12/21/2012 by SquatchMan
by SquatchMan

Great for Backpacking

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SquatchMan
Gainesville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews