Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 92 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

92 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

92 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
44
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
8
1 stars
23
1-20 of 85 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 85 total reviews
1-20 of 85 reviews
3 Gigs is now 2 Gigs
7/18/2015

Customer review by Fred

1.0 stars 7/18/2015 by Fred
by Fred

WalMart needs to change the ad. I have been using this service for almost 2 years now, purchased from the Dunnellon, Fl WalMart. The last time I renewed about a month ago my $45 only bought me 2 Gigs instead of 3 Gigs of data. To pour salt into the wound, they now say that I need to use at least 1MB of data every 60 days in order to not let my unused data expire, which is in direct opposition to the "never expires" section of their contract. It was bad enough that I could not use it for any type of video or serious browsing, but 2 Gigs is just not worth it. I am actively looking for another provider, but living out in the country I do not have many options. Also, recently my data usage went through the roof for no apparent reason - over 1 gig was used up in one day when I was not even using it. I have now resorted to using the laptop wi-fi radio switch on the side to turn the radio off whenever I leave the desk, and this has greatly reduced the unwanted usage.

Was this review helpful? (32) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fred
Would recommend to a friend? No
4G Internet on the Go Card
1/10/2013

Customer review by InlandNWGuy

5.0 stars 1/10/2013 by InlandNWGuy
by InlandNWGuy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Go Big option of allowing you to use the data over time until the data has been consumed is an excellent low cost option for occassional internet users. I opted to purchase a 3G card and recieved 1G of bonus data, for a total of 4G. I have an office PC for heavy internet usage. So I plan on using the On the Go card for situations where I'm not in the office but need to stay in touch with emails and perform light internet browsing. I don't plan on using it for Streaming Videos or music, if I need to perform this....I'll just find a free Hot Spot. The Internet on the Go really increases your low cost options of jumping on the internet. Its very, very cost effective. For a little over $100 for the hardware card and data card, its something you'll want to carry in your PC bag. With Internet on the Go you will have internet coverage everwhere you can find a Sprint cell phone coverage area. I only wish this was available with a Verision Cell Coverage Option, since Verision has greater cell phone coverage in the NW rural areas.

Was this review helpful? (49) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
InlandNWGuy
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is a great internet "system"!
1/5/2014

Customer review by Skeester

5.0 stars 1/5/2014 by Skeester
by Skeester
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Internet To Go is a great internet "system" using cards bought from Walmart online and have no expiration date!! I received this unit for my birthday for use at other locations. This works off of the Sprint network which is mainly in cities but I live in the country. Our internet provider here is great but I got the device for travel. I loaned it to my daughter who recently moved to a larger city where the Sprint coverage is great. She is using it for internet access in her apartment and it works great!! Connect speed is fantastic and it is 3G and not 4G. Many people are buying these and dropping their data plans. I can see why! The device is very small, light and effective. It can easily be carried to use with a smart phone. Up to five devices can connect at once. I would have given it the max on meets expectations if coverage was better in smaller towns. Even with that, I think that i will order another one!!

Was this review helpful? (27) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Skeester
Altoona, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Product Service
7/13/2016

Customer review by Fairwoman

1.0 stars 7/13/2016 by Fairwoman
by Fairwoman

Been using this product for years. Suddenly they changed the website format and I cannot even check my data usage.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fairwoman
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent resource for travelers
12/12/2013

Customer review by CdnRVer

5.0 stars 12/12/2013 by CdnRVer
by CdnRVer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We are from Canada but spend some time in the U.S. in our RV. This is an excellent product for us since we do not have or want a contract. The VERY BEST thing is that the GB's do not expire!!! Priceless!!! I purchased our Mi-Fi last March, used it for a week and then used it again in September and now using it in December; the same original 4 GB. We use it every day for simple e-mails, sending a few pictures and researching the web -- 4 Gbs is lots! Just be sure to check the coverage map for the area that you are going to be using it. ... if the map says no coverage, there is NO signal. The battery life on the gadget is very good, 2 - 3 hours. I had excellent customer service by phone when I had a technical issue last month. I am DISAPPOINTED however, in that the original purchase for $45.00 in March 2013 was for 4 GB and now, in December 2013 the $45. only bought 3 GB .... This little change is why this is 3 star for Value instead of 4 stars. Delivery by e-mail took at least 60 hours ... I suggest you plan ahead and place your order before you NEED it.

Was this review helpful? (64) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CdnRVer
Texas and Louisiana currently
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
HUGE CUT IN GIGS DELIVERED FOR THE PRICE
6/4/2013

Customer review by TerriGma

2.0 stars 6/4/2013 by TerriGma
by TerriGma

We were bundling with Verizon and using their card unit. However, it was expensive. So, we bought an IotG unit - big up front expense - because we could get EIGHT gigs for $45. Less than a month later, we were notified that IotG was decreasing Gigs delivered for each card. The three Gigs that used to cost $25 now cost $45. This puts IotG in line with Verizon pricing. And, since Verizon is more reliable, it creates a problem for us. We may have to switch back, but we've already invested in the unit. Check around before you buy a unit like this, because you don't want to have to keep buying the machines because you're switching. And, Internet on the Go, I want you to know that a 60% decrease in Gigs is NOT okay with me, and we will be switching soon.

Was this review helpful? (167) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TerriGma
Hartville, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Product is OK. Order filling was terrible!
2/1/2014

Customer review by bluetang

1.0 stars 2/1/2014 by bluetang
by bluetang
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My first order was cancelled without explanation. My second try was still not filled after 2 days, so I tried a third time with a different credit card. The next day (SUNDAY) I received a telephone voice mail asking to call back and verify the orders (the 3rd order was now also very late. I returned the telephone call to your voice mail and confirmed the orders, stating that one should be cancelled and the other accepted. (By then my internet bytes were used up and I had no internet, so I purchased a $45 card at a local Walmart store). Finally a few hours later I received one of the online orders; then the next day I received another. I have purchased hundreds of products online; this was by far the worst I have ever experienced. I recommend that users of the related internet service buy the refill at a store.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bluetang
Vero Beach
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Understand the tradeoffs
12/18/2013

Customer review by Holidec

4.0 stars 12/18/2013 by Holidec
by Holidec

3G is way slower than home or commercial wi fi, but email is just fine. Video and graphics a longer load, if you are patient. I use it for my 2nd home to beat the $50/mo cable internet. Just plug it in when I get there and leave it alone. A big money saver. I thought I'd use it around town, but most places now have wi-fi. Now the trade offs... The reason for a smartphone is everything is in one place. But, you pay dearly for the convenience. If you must have net access all the time, you have to carry a: (1# phone, and/ or a #2# tablet/ ipod, and the #3) hot spot #BTW, it does get hot). You'll get tired carrying all this around pretty quickly. However, most of us really do NOT need to be web connected ALL THE TIME. If that is you, then this is a real moneysaver. I bought 4Gigs and have not reloaded in 12 mos. It's a keeper

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Holidec
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great for those that don't use much data
1/20/2013

Customer review by Wifecrushane

5.0 stars 1/20/2013 by Wifecrushane
by Wifecrushane

I use this whenever I'm not at home. Especially while shopping or out and about somewhere. I don't want to pay the high prices of having a smartphone or a data plan. I have a Samsung Galaxy Media Player that has WiFi. It's like a smaller version of a tablet. I stick this Internet-2-go in my purse and if I need to use my device while shopping, like getting coupons from my apps, I can. Love it. My kids also use the data while on their WiFi devices while we are out in the car. I guess they like to play games and get on Facebook. I got it back in November and got the 4gb of data option that never expires. I still have 3.6gb left as of today, 01-20-13. All you have to do is use it at least once a year and it never expires. Wonderful.

Was this review helpful? (95) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wifecrushane
Roanoke, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Terms Constantly changing poor customer service
6/24/2016

Customer review by CaliforniaSunshine

1.0 stars 6/24/2016 by CaliforniaSunshine
by CaliforniaSunshine

I have been using this service since November 2013. Over the years the terms have changed, data that never "expired" now has minimum use-age requirements. As others have noted 3GB card is now 2GB card. Connectivity is hit and miss, some days it is good and other days it is not. Their web site is constantly having troubles so checking data use-age and account balance is not always possible. Customer service reps are rude and sarcastic until you request to talk to a supervisor. Just not a nice company to do with business, life is too short to put up with broken promises, contract changes, and poor service.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CaliforniaSunshine
Would recommend to a friend? No
$45 card now good for 2 gb
7/22/2015

Customer review by Jack

1.0 stars 7/22/2015 by Jack
by Jack

Bought this refill at a local store, where the display said it was good for 3 GB. I only got 2 GB credited to my account. I'll have to call and complain (boy, does that take a lot of time listening to bad music). A couple of things to know about this product. One, you now have to use 1 MB every 60 days or they'll zero out your account. I got this for our summer motor home trips, so for the rest of the year I'll have to try to remember to get out my laptop and fire it up and use the 1 MB every two months. I originally got the hotspot because it said the card never expired. Also, I had 660 MB when I started my trip, but updates to my Steam games, Mozilla Firefox and Windows 7 ate through that in three days. So, I don't let those systems do updates while I'm on the road. I'll do it when I get home. Finally, the speed is not that great, you can't load and watch any videos.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jack
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not 3GB but 2GB and an irritaing cap limit.
7/23/2015

Customer review by HaloCa

1.0 stars 7/23/2015 by HaloCa
by HaloCa

Forgot that the megabytes won't apply until you drop below 10MB. Will give you an error until that time, when applying the purchased code, giving the impression that the code is invalid (Can't buy product). This limit apparently also applies when you try to purchase directly on the Internet to Go web site. I tried and got the same error. Also another annoying factor for this product, is that Walmart really needs to update their description, as it only provides 2GB of data not the 3GB as advertised. Definitely no savings here through Walmart. Fred, Nick and DcGuy are on the money with their review as well and I echo their sentiments. I've been using this for 2+ yrs. and now experienced the same renewal frustrations. Unfortunately after reviewing other options, this is still currently the most viable for my use. If you are considering on purchasing this refill card, note that it is actually for 2GB not 3GB and you can't apply it until your megabyte limit drops below 10. And since it's electronic don't expect a refund. Overall the product has gone from great to so-so.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HaloCa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wonderful
3/9/2013

Customer review by suzy1940

5.0 stars 3/9/2013 by suzy1940
by suzy1940
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love Internet on the go. We travel six months out of the year and I had to find a hot spot to check my email. I highly recommend it. Its fast. I have friends who use it for their home Internet service. Now I can sit in my 5thwheel and get on line any time I need.

Was this review helpful? (76) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
suzy1940
Casa Grande, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Refill card does not immediately give you internet
12/26/2012

Customer review by Stanwood

2.0 stars 12/26/2012 by Stanwood
by Stanwood
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I used up all my data. I went and bought a refill card from Walmart. I apply the refill card. Guess what? No internet. I call Internet on the Go's customer service. What do they tell me? I have to wait 48 hours before I get internet. Seriously?! I just paid for this product/service, and I expect it to take effect, when I use it.

Was this review helpful? (172) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stanwood
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very poor online delivery system.
8/19/2013

Customer review by Andrew100005

1.0 stars 8/19/2013 by Andrew100005
by Andrew100005

I will never order this item again from the on-line store. It has taken more than 24 hours to delivery this electronically generated and emailed product. If you must use the product, only purchase this in a physical store.

Was this review helpful? (33) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Andrew100005
Newark, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/20/2013

Customer review by rosiegirl11

2.0 stars 5/20/2013 by rosiegirl11
by rosiegirl11

Bought this awile back, refilled the $45 card got 8gb before now only 4gb. Raelly disspointed that they would do that.

Was this review helpful? (50) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rosiegirl11
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
doesn't work all of the time
5/4/2014

Customer review by typicalwalmartproblems

1.0 stars 5/4/2014 by typicalwalmartproblems
by typicalwalmartproblems
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I set this up for auto refill and had problems at the other end with this. Every time I try to contact them at the 800 number when I can't connect, there is at least a 45 minute hold time, then they tell me there is an issue they are working on and that it should be good to use in a couple days. This is unacceptable. Not very reliable. Can't connect too often for various reasons. Frustrating to say the least.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
typicalwalmartproblems
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wish it let you front load the data
1/14/2015

Customer review by Lisa4r726

4.0 stars 1/14/2015 by Lisa4r726
by Lisa4r726

I really love the convenience of having my Straight Talk hotspot. I travel a few times a year to our vacation house which does not have internet (because we are rarely there.) Its also great to have in the car on the way down. No contracts and the data lasts for quite a while. My one major complaint is I purchased the $45 card but I couldn't just load it on. I had to wait until I was essentially completely out of data. When you finally run out of data it brings you to to the straight talk refill screen. Well at that point I did not have my refill card number/pin that I had purchased so I ended up not being able to use it. I had to refill directly on line. I wish I had not purchased the card. It is still sitting in my email. I have planned ahead for the next time I run out. I have written down the pin for the card so when I only have enough data to use the straight talk website for refilling I can use the card. I wish you could just load up the data at any time instead of waiting for it to run out.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lisa4r726
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bad delivery
8/22/2013

Customer review by Alex2400

2.0 stars 8/22/2013 by Alex2400
by Alex2400

It surprisingly took A WHOLE DAY to finish this EMAIL delivery!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alex2400
Would recommend to a friend? No
1/21/2013

Customer review by CJKY

5.0 stars 1/21/2013 by CJKY
by CJKY
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the best deal in getting Wifi on the go. Definitely better than using your cell phone tethering. The coverage is awesome!

Was this review helpful? (36) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CJKY
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 85 total reviews
1-20 of 85 reviews