Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

35 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

35 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
12
1-20 of 29 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
Keep a careful eye on terms of service
7/29/2014

Customer review by CDog3k

1.0 stars 7/29/2014 by CDog3k
by CDog3k

This is a classic "bait and switch" company. When I purchased the device and data (over $125), data use per session was rounded to the nearest 0.1 MB, so if you used 1.32mb, you were charged for 1.4mb. That's fine and is the norm. However, in December 2013 they changed the terms for "Internet-on-the-Go" so that any fraction of a MB was rounded to the nearest MB. If you have a weak signal or use this item on a train or in a moving vehicle, it will constantly be creating new "sessions" with cell towers. Many times you will use only a few KB in one 'session' and be charged for 1.0MB. This will chew up your data very fast since it's charging you for data you never even used. Also, if you fail to use your device for 90 days you will be charged 25% of the total balance of your data every month until it is gone. This is just a warning to keep on eye on terms of use - they are subject to change at any time and it is never for the better.

Was this review helpful? (40) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CDog3k
Would recommend to a friend? No
Limits on pay as you go..... poor customer service
1/29/2013

Customer review by deadmanscurve

1.0 stars 1/29/2013 by deadmanscurve
by deadmanscurve
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this pay as you go internet service to use with the companion device "internet on the go". Evidently I violated the terms of service as I used too much bandwidth in a short period of time. There was no warning.. my account was suspended for one week. I had prepaid another $45 before the suspension which was unused. I'd only had the device for about a week. The terms of service are not clearly defined. They sell an 8 GB card for 30 days use. I hadn't used half that amount. I called customer service and they said there was nothing they could do. I asked to speak with someone else. He offered me a fax number to send in a written inquiry if I wanted more answers. This seemed unreasonable to me. Walmart was very understanding and issued a prompt refund when I returned the device. Also my $45 of unused bandwidth was refunded by "internet on the go", so I can't complain there.

Was this review helpful? (79) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
deadmanscurve
Southern CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A good Internet on the Go starter/trial card, $10
9/28/2013

Customer review by Shepard11

5.0 stars 9/28/2013 by Shepard11
by Shepard11
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a refill card for "Internet On The Go" Mobile Hotspot (3G). I purchased this $10 card for my initial trial of the hotspot. The card provides 500 MB of data, which is $.02 per MB or $20 per GB. There is also a $25 and a $45 card. The $45 card is 3Gb ($0.015/MB). The link for the activation code was sent as an eGift card by email, and arrived within 25 minutes of placing the order on a Monday afternoon. I chose the "Internet On The Go" Mobile Hotspot because I occasionally need internet access while traveling with my laptop, iPhone, iPad, and other wireless internet devices. The "Internet On The Go" card does not have a time expiration (unless not used for a year). However, when used, the deduction is in 1MB increments. If the hotspot is momentarily turned on (i.e. to check the battery), at least 1MB is deducted for the day. Note that this wireless internet hotspot package only works with the Sprint 3G data system. If you are in an area where a Sprint cell phone does not get good service, don't expect this hotspot to be any better. This $10 card is not the best value - the $45 card is better, and is why I rated the Value as only 3 bars. When I add more GB, I will buy the $45 card.

Was this review helpful? (89) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shepard11
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ditched my smartphone . . . .
1/29/2013

Customer review by Nexus7dude

5.0 stars 1/29/2013 by Nexus7dude
by Nexus7dude

I am using this now for data for my Nexus 7. I have access to wifi at home, work and many places in town. I just needed to have data when in my truck or other places away from wifi. Just having it on while riding and a few web page visits to tide me over until I got to wifi has barely touched my data balance. I plan on using the 500 mb card and making it last at least two months. My Nexus is much better than a smartphone (and I have had some nice ones). Just using a dumb phone for calls. $5 or less per month versus $20 for my smartphone data plan that only gave me 300 mb? No contract? Rollover of unused mb's? This is a no brainer.

Was this review helpful? (85) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nexus7dude
Athens, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Internet On The Go $10 refill card
12/7/2015

Customer review by icecream4brkfst

1.0 stars 12/7/2015 by icecream4brkfst
by icecream4brkfst

I wish I would have known that the refill card cannot be used until your OnTheGo MB data balance is zero, guaranteeing an interruption in service. Customer service for OnTheGo is non-existent. It is clunky to go from CreditCard-to-RefillCard-to-MBdata, but OnTheGo's CreditCard-to-MBdata process doesn't work well and , as I said, if there is a problem their customer service is non-existent. I regret making the up front investment in the OnTheGo MiFi device. OnTheGo (Truconnect) significantly raised prices for data and added 60-day data expiration despite advertising it as 'forever' data. WalMart should seriously look at moving this service to another corporate business partner. As far as Walmart's email delivery of the $10 refill card, I have no complaints for that specific email delivery process.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
icecream4brkfst
Would recommend to a friend? No
Lost my 10 dollars,did not work,no refund
8/1/2016

Customer review by Joeg

1.0 stars 8/1/2016 by Joeg
by Joeg
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bad....even this review sucks to write

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joeg
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great for all around light internet access
4/11/2013

Customer review by takeahike66

5.0 stars 4/11/2013 by takeahike66
by takeahike66

For light data need such as email, quick searches, navigation' directions, reviews, pay as you go is great. Use this for my tablet when free Internet is not availsble. Or when I in the car and need access to the internet.

Was this review helpful? (33) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
takeahike66
sfo bay acres
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
ok
3/23/2016

Customer review by Gulsinki

3.0 stars 3/23/2016 by Gulsinki
by Gulsinki

I would recommend for web browsing only. However, disappointed that it was reduced from 500mb to 300mb.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gulsinki
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love the go big plan
10/30/2012

Customer review by onage

5.0 stars 10/30/2012 by onage
by onage
Top 500 contributor

No expiration as long as you use once every 12 months, love it!

Was this review helpful? (45) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
onage
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Easy to get and use.
12/25/2013

Customer review by redealfinder

4.0 stars 12/25/2013 by redealfinder
by redealfinder
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy online purchase and redemption.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
redealfinder
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Data Decline
5/26/2015

Customer review by Joel

1.0 stars 5/26/2015 by Joel
by Joel

IOTG pricing has changed. $45 now gets you only 2Gb of data. That is half of what they were offering when they started the company. I would not recommend this company at all. The first time they reduced from 4 Gb to 3 Gb they at least emailed me. They did not email me about this pricing change even though I use the auto refill option. SUPRISE! you now only get 2 Gb instead of 3 Gb. 33% is a huge reduction in data usage. So they have gone from 4 Gb to 3 Gb to 2 Gb in less than 3 years since their inception.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joel
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Hotspot
12/25/2013

Customer review by biggr

5.0 stars 12/25/2013 by biggr
by biggr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this product and love it. Megabytes never expire but, you do need to use the product only once a year. Many others charge much more for megabytes

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
biggr
Tucson, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/11/2013

Customer review by msmoko

5.0 stars 1/11/2013 by msmoko
by msmoko
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

excellent mifi quick delivery good coverage nice low data prices Best i've found thx

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
msmoko
pgh, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fast speed, easy to use, great deal for the $.
3/1/2013

Customer review by Rkfdgolfer

4.0 stars 3/1/2013 by Rkfdgolfer
by Rkfdgolfer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The internet speed is pretty fast. Solve my problem of accessing internet when I travel. The best value for occasional user.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rkfdgolfer
Rockford, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Price is Right
7/21/2014

Customer review by BiggRob

5.0 stars 7/21/2014 by BiggRob
by BiggRob
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I used this when I go on vacation to connect to the internet. You cannot beat the price. Easy to setup and add more GB if required.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BiggRob
Tucson, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
so very easy to use
10/18/2012

Customer review by pb246

5.0 stars 10/18/2012 by pb246
by pb246

what a great idea from Walmart, pay as you go, and now they have a 30 plan, I love my "Internet on the Go"

Was this review helpful? (20) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pb246
chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Very Good
11/10/2013

Customer review by chooseoneforme

5.0 stars 11/10/2013 by chooseoneforme
by chooseoneforme
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Meets expectation, I use it only when I am away from my wifi at home works perfectly, very convenient to have wifi were every you go. Ordered on line, by the time I registered my Internet On the Go mini router, I received activation card in about 10 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chooseoneforme
Greenbelt, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Would not take number
8/5/2015

Customer review by mothernana3

1.0 stars 8/5/2015 by mothernana3
by mothernana3

Tried to put card number on my account would not take kept saying invalid number. Called them they said nothing wrong with my account and i needed to talk to walmart. Walmart said it was internet on the gos problem. I hate this mess. All i wanted to do was refill my gb but instead i just wasted my money. Would have gave a zero if had one

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mothernana3
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very slow in central NJ
2/22/2013

Customer review by quantlife

3.0 stars 2/22/2013 by quantlife
by quantlife
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I live in central NJ and bought it for use on NJ transit. It's very slow in most location, and not usable. The hotspot gets really hot as well. It's OK for checking email and light browsing at some locations. I decided to keep it just as a backup because the go big plan doesn't expire as long as you use it at least once in a year.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
quantlife
Edison, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great
10/29/2015

Customer review by Voltron

5.0 stars 10/29/2015 by Voltron
by Voltron

I have internet in the go device, but for some reason, my account will not reload from internet on the go website, so I cant auto reload. .but it is ok since i dont use the device a lot. .i only use it about once a week where i dont have wifi access. But i have to get the card on walmart and enter the pin on internet on the go website. .which may be better than auto refill since i dont have leave any info on the site now.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Voltron
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews