Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 45 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

45 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

45 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
2
1-20 of 38 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
very fast
7/8/2012

Customer review by hauntedboo

5.0 stars 7/8/2012 by hauntedboo
by hauntedboo

this is my third laptop and it is by far the fastest one yet toshiba makes a great product,this is great for watching netflix home dvds and great for high end games battery life is good about 5 hr full power

Was this review helpful? (80) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hauntedboo
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WOULD BUY AGAIN
8/6/2012

Customer review by STKDTK

5.0 stars 8/6/2012 by STKDTK
by STKDTK

I owned an XPS1530 and paid 1500 plus warranty which totaled 2000.00 through Dell and this computer, especially for the price, is great. I am on computers everyday and most of the day. THis computer is very fast, has great memory, and does everything from doc.'s to games. And with Walmarts 18 months interest free it makes it very affordable. I will never buy a Dell again but would highly reccomend this computer to the professional and the student.

Was this review helpful? (38) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
STKDTK
Cape Coral, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Toshiba Satellite
8/13/2012

Customer review by pooknpen

5.0 stars 8/13/2012 by pooknpen
by pooknpen

For the $ this laptop is a very good value. Toshiba is a good product and is reliable. The processor speed is good and the battery life is fairly good. I would definitely recommend this for anyone that needs a good valued laptop and for a desktop replacement.

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pooknpen
rio grande, nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
WalMart rocks when it comes to cost!!!
7/14/2012

Customer review by Steamboatdog

5.0 stars 7/14/2012 by Steamboatdog
by Steamboatdog

I shopped many hours to come up with what I needed in a new laptop and WalMart beat the rest hands down. I'm quite satisfied with this Toshiba laptop (it's my second Toshiba). Good deal on good quality, so far it's what I wanted. I usually get more bang for my buck when I shop WalMart.

Was this review helpful? (38) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Steamboatdog
Erwin, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Okay
8/30/2012

Customer review by bhhrehgregre

3.0 stars 8/30/2012 by bhhrehgregre
by bhhrehgregre

I purchased this computer mainly for 2d drafting in AutoCAD, web surfing, and watching the occasional movie. I have been pleased with the performance, especially with CAD. It is definitly an improvement over my 6 year old Toshiba A200. However... I went to watch my first movie and was shocked... shocked! at the poor quality of the speakers. I would not hesitate to say that the sound quality I get out of my Iphone far surpasses that on this machine. Just imagine taking the earpiece out of an old landline phone and hooking it up to your stereo, this is pretty much what you can expect. I am not an audio snob, but there is no way that I can sit through a movie which sounds like it is being played through a tin can. My ancient A200 had a pair of Harmon Kardon speakers which I never really appreciated until now!

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bhhrehgregre
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Value in a Laptop
10/11/2012

Customer review by GATGA

4.0 stars 10/11/2012 by GATGA
by GATGA

This laptop was the best value for a computer which had the features I was interested in. The AMD QuadCore processor and the 6GB of memory make it quite a bit faster than my previous laptop, a Gateway NV53 series. Most laptops in this price range had Dual Core or Dual processors with 4 GB memory. I really like the keyboard, especially the arrangement of the numeric keypad, which has dedicated keys for "home" "end" "delete" etc. The card reader is very handy for someone like me who takes a lot of photos. There are some negatives: There is no HDD activity indicator light, the USB ports could be better positioned toward the back of the computer (rather than toward the front where they interfere with an attached mouse). Probably the most disappointing feature is the tinny, cheap sounding, speakers. That being said there are a couple of options to abate or eliminate this problem. The SRS Premium sound software, included, has quite a lot of options for modifying the sounds. This is accessed via the "sound" button in Control Panel. One can experiment with this software to obtain somewhat more pleasing sound, however the best option is to use a reasonably good set of headphones or ear buds to bypass the speakers altogether. Another option is to use the HDMI port to connect to other equipment which also bypasses the speakers. I have found that this laptop produces as nice a movie experience as my Blu Ray player (using the HDMI port) when attached to my 42" HD TV, and using DVD's of course. The USB 3 ports are a big improvement over USB 2, giving speedier transfer even when attaching USB 2 Hard Disk Drives. In addition this laptop came with the option of obtaining Windows 8 when available for a low price, which may also be rebated. Overall this computer has features which were only available on more expensive machines.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GATGA
Mtn Home AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AWESOME!
9/27/2012

Customer review by AMDUserTurboBoost

5.0 stars 9/27/2012 by AMDUserTurboBoost
by AMDUserTurboBoost

At first I was looking for an A10 but than I learned about AMD's Turbo Boost and how an 1.9GHz automatically boosts up to a 2.8GHz while playing games or when ever the processor feels the need to use more power do the program's needs. This laptop is amazing and yes you get a bang for your buck! I am very happy with this I am able to watch 1080p videos on Youtube with no lag and have other things open like games ext. This computer can run games like L4D on High settings and even games like Vindictus on High settings it also does not do a bad job on "Higher" settings. This laptop will last me a good 4 to 5 years before I will be upgrading again do to games and ext. Very nice buy! AMD and Toshiba also Walmart did an awesome job.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AMDUserTurboBoost
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/13/2012

Customer review by Polash

2.0 stars 9/13/2012 by Polash
by Polash

Walmart is my Favorite store make no mistake about that, but this laptop they sold me was a piece of junk. To begin with the sound system was horrible. My seven year old other Toshiba laptop sounds way better than that. Toshiba normally makes good laptops, but this one was way below par. The colors did not feel normal. You have to hold the screen on a certain angle to view it correctly. The computing was adequately fast though. I liked that. Let me stay it again, the sound was absolutely disgusting. Took the laptop back very next morning. Walmart took it back with a smile.

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Polash
Lawrenceville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/7/2012

Customer review by GENL

5.0 stars 10/7/2012 by GENL
by GENL

This is a very nice laptop and I'm very glad I chose this one.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GENL
Hanover, PA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome laptop for the price.
10/17/2012

Customer review by superkawaii

5.0 stars 10/17/2012 by superkawaii
by superkawaii

I've always been an HP computer person, so i was kind of nervous to buy a Toshiba. But a lot of my loved ones all have Toshiba and told me they were great so i knew i had to buy one. I saw this one online @ Wal-Mart for only $500! I did my research and i thought this would be a great buy. The laptop is thin and very light, and has a sleek design. It is also a great laptop for gaming!!!! :)

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
superkawaii
Waddell, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not as described
6/28/2012

Customer review by jermus

2.0 stars 6/28/2012 by jermus
by jermus

One problem wal-mart has always had is getting the right specs on most of their laptops. They actually have an Acer Aspire on here with pictures of an Asus, not even close to the same computer. That should tell you something. I bought this computer about a week before i got the Gateway (which i love) that i reviewed on here. Why? Mainly because this thing was nothing like what i expected. The body feels very hollow, the A8 is quick for gaming but stinks for regular multitasking and doing any kind of video conversion, or even DVD ripping. There is lag every time you bring up the smallest thing, even a web page. The main point i was talking about in "not as described" is that it states you get an AMD Radeon HD 7640 DUAL GRAPHICS. This is not true in the least. The AMD uses the popular APU, with the GPU and CPU combined. Giving you extra graphical power. I'm not sure if this was what they meant, but many people are buying this thinking it's a crossfire (2 gpus) in one computer. This needs to be changed. Don't get me wrong, you can game pretty decently on it for a 550$ computer, but having "very" misleading information under the description will make for a lot of angry customers. Mainly Gamers. Other than that it's an attractive computer, semi-well constructed, great looking screen, with an "ok" chicklet style keyboard. The track pad is lousy (as with most Toshibas) mouse keys are louder than the horrible speakers they put in this thing. What happen to the days of Harmon Kardon?? At any rate, read this, and be cautious of what you are purchasing. I saved over 200$ by getting the new Gateway they have at the store. Which to me, as a CITT (technician) is a much better deal for everyday computing needs. AMD has nothing on Intel, not even on the lower end Celeron Dual Cores. So if your not a gamer pass on this, which you may anyway once you figure out the card is very low end, and sup par for todays games. Also speaking of the Gateway, go into walmart, look at the build quality of it, and compare it to the Toshiba. The Gateway is much tighter, with a better screen, keys and speakers. So don't waste your money on this thing. It's NOT what it seems. I would recommend the Toshiba L755 with the Pentium B960 before this one. For only 350$. Have fun. :)

Was this review helpful? (31) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jermus
west virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
10/2/2012

Customer review by pwwalmart

1.0 stars 10/2/2012 by pwwalmart
by pwwalmart

I bought this laptop and it didn't work, then when I tried their tech support they want to charge me additional money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pwwalmart
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not really a good computer for internet ignorant
7/27/2012

Customer review by 56batman

4.0 stars 7/27/2012 by 56batman
by 56batman

Download of any kind of hazardous programs can be to readily available.

Was this review helpful? (0) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
56batman
Midwest City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I love my Laptop!
4/5/2013

Customer review by Edith

5.0 stars 4/5/2013 by Edith
by Edith

My husband got my new Toshiba for me and I love it. It's fast and efficient. I love the battery life. I can work on it for hours before I have to plug it back in. I will always buy Toshiba!

Edith
Delco, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE MY TOSHIBA
1/12/2013

Customer review by anlinash

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by anlinash
by anlinash

I replaced a Toshiba laptop that I purchased in 2007. The hard drive capacity in the old computer was small compared to this and the battery life was minimal. This one lasts 6 hours, awesome! Also great display and processor. Love everything about it!!

anlinash
DUBOIS, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Toshiba Satellite L855D
10/4/2012

Customer review by Girlie

5.0 stars 10/4/2012 by Girlie
by Girlie

this is an amazing laptop. best one i've ever had!

Girlie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
For features and performance, best bang for buck!
9/25/2012

Customer review by skyvernmoonsong

5.0 stars 9/25/2012 by skyvernmoonsong
by skyvernmoonsong

I don't have a bottomless wallet, so I have to be careful with what I buy. This is an excellent buy! It is extremely fast in internet and productivity applications, and the graphics are very fast and crisp. The screen is nice and vibrant. It's easy to travel with as well. I keep on hearing marks against the battery rating, and I disagree with that. The way they get that 6+ hour rating is by testing it in the MOST MINIMAL WAY POSSIBLE, with no programs running but a battery benchmark on all graphics settings set to minimum. That is not how any normal user would ever use it. Between 2 and 2 1/2 hours is what I expected, and that's exactly what I've got with this. As for some reviews speaking of the laptop getting hot? I've never had any heat issues and sometimes I wonder why it DOESN'T get hot with the games I play. It runs cool and quietly. 5 stars for every bit of this laptop.

skyvernmoonsong
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT LAPTOP FOR PRICE!
12/2/2012

Customer review by LEBO21

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by LEBO21
by LEBO21

ONLY issues are the battery life & the speakers...would buy another in a heartbeat!!!

LEBO21
SARATOGA SPRINGS NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
best laptop on planet
10/15/2012

Customer review by patrick

5.0 stars 10/15/2012 by patrick
by patrick

very fast, it works well, its easy for me to use..

patrick
san diego, ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it Toshiba
10/19/2012

Customer review by sitnquilt

5.0 stars 10/19/2012 by sitnquilt
by sitnquilt

This is my second Toshiba and hope to have a great laptop just like my other one was

sitnquilt
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews