Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 40 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

40 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

40 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 stars
10
1-20 of 39 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews
brother or singer?
4/18/2016

Customer review by DecemberJoy122254

5.0 stars 4/18/2016 by DecemberJoy122254
by DecemberJoy122254

I started out wither that had nothing but trouble I took it to the autherized dealer who told me he wouldn't work on a machine bought at walmart I called brother who told me they were going to take his autherization away and to ship the machine back to them at my expence 3 months later COD. and the problem wasn,t fixed.I took it back to walmart they replaced it I had the same problem all over It turned out to be lint blocking a sensor. I gave the machine away and bought a singer that I loved we had a house fire my home burned to the ground witheverythig we owned my husband died and I have had to pinch pennies to be able to buy a new machine and it will be a singer

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DecemberJoy122254
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It has to get better from here...
7/13/2013

Customer review by ShiningStar87

2.0 stars 7/13/2013 by ShiningStar87
by ShiningStar87

For the first time using the machine it was quite difficult to get all of the software and drivers to work on my computer. I am using Windows XP on a desktop computer, but I'm going to try Windows 7 that is on my laptop, and I hope I don't have as many issues. I got this machine because it was a great price, and I found a love for sewing and embroidery. Besides the fact of having issues with the software and drivers not installing properly on the machine, I also ran into the problem of not being able to embroidery anything small. The hoop kept going to the large hoop and nothing I did could change it. I kept getting errors stating that the hoop was not big enough for the design, even though the design was quite small. I really hope that I have an easier time setting up this machine on my laptop than I did my desktop computer.

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShiningStar87
Marion, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Excellent machine for the money
1/11/2013

Customer review by KirbyDesignsCo

5.0 stars 1/11/2013 by KirbyDesignsCo
by KirbyDesignsCo

This machine is fabulous for both sewing and embroidery. The super simple threading, makes it great for those of us that have trouble seeing the small needle hole now. The automatic needle threading and simple top drop-in bobbin are great. The embroidery tool offers a nice large embroidery space, plus a multi-hooping feature that allows professional quality work on a home machine. Singe keeps the cost down by letting you use your own computer rather than having it built in, which makes them less expensive to service. I love the great customer service available through their toll-free number. I have had several Singer machines in the years I have been sewing, and this is my favorite!

Was this review helpful? (74) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KirbyDesignsCo
Potomac Falls
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Futura Embrodiery Machine
5/9/2016

Customer review by Tanner2

5.0 stars 5/9/2016 by Tanner2
by Tanner2

I have just bought this machine from Walmart and I'm very happy with it. Service, shipping and the complete experience was great. The machine is high quality and extremely user friendly. Would recommend to anyone interested.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tanner2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
High hopes were dashed! :(
9/6/2012

Customer review by zazu5112

2.0 stars 9/6/2012 by zazu5112
by zazu5112

When I first received this from Wal-Mart.com at my door, I was impressed with just the shear size of the box. My husband was impressed with how much it weighed, and had a huge foot print!. lol Well, I knew the machine would sew, but that's not my main reason for buying it. I bought it to embroider. So that's the first thing I checked to see how well it would work. Boy, was all my fears realized. I went through 10 (TEN) needles in just two days! And I didn't even get a whole project completed. Every time it was done with a color of thread, it would move back to the center position. When it did, the thread would not be given enough slack to do that. It's like it had the brakes on, and snap! would go another needle! As if that wasn't enough, it did not like going around a scalloped curved edge. The thread would break all through out that whole agonizing feat, and get nests under the the hoop! It was loud and clunky on the embroidery attachment. I was looking forward to making large designs, but instead I was on the phone with Singer for about two hours going through all the steps that led me to call them in the first place. And yes, I made sure that I had the right bobbins, stabilizer, needles and thread. But in the end... even Singer told me to take it back and exchange it. Well, I couldn't do that because I must have bought the last one Wal-Mart had in stock. So, I ended up with a refund and no machine. Do yourself a favor and buy a Brother! I have over a million stitches on my SE-400, and it's still going. I did end up ordering the Brother PE 770. It's an embroidery only machine, and only does up to 5x7 designs...but for the money, it's a better buy and less of a headache!

Was this review helpful? (158) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zazu5112
San Antonio, TX.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Eh...
3/18/2014

Customer review by OilfieldWifey

2.0 stars 3/18/2014 by OilfieldWifey
by OilfieldWifey
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you can not troubleshoot or do not have knowledge of how a sewing machine works, do not get this machine. I had nothing but problems with embroidery on this machine. There are numerous problems that cause nesting under the designs. Luckily, I was able to repair my machine through observation, troubleshooting, and some prior knowledge of the mechanics of a sewing machine. (also with the help of a friend) If you're up for a challenge of pinpointing problems on a BRAND NEW machine, then this is the product for you! (by the way, I only said brand new because I thought I was getting a new machine. It arrived with scratches and marks all over it.)

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OilfieldWifey
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
dont do it
3/5/2014

Customer review by bw36

2.0 stars 3/5/2014 by bw36
by bw36

I got this as a gift for Christmas and I had so many issues , needles braking, tread nesting up, then after my 5 or 6 use It started throwing a an era code PC well I uninstalled software re installed it, bout a new cord for it. Called singer just to get someone who cant speak English who told me to do all the things I already done. Nothing worked, so I had to return it yet even though I had the receipt they made me get a gift card because it was bought online and was such a large purchased. So now I am stuck with over $800 in a gift card. And I only have 2 choices and now I am stuck like chuck.

Was this review helpful? (34) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bw36
south Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Singer Futura XL-400 30
4/4/2013

Customer review by GGrandmaof1

5.0 stars 4/4/2013 by GGrandmaof1
by GGrandmaof1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love it since it sews almost by itself. I would recommend it to anyone that wants a great sewing machine, need to have knowledge about a sewing machine.

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GGrandmaof1
Spokane
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Garbage... I hate this machine
4/22/2014

Customer review by DHFGA

1.0 stars 4/22/2014 by DHFGA
by DHFGA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We own a Brother SE400 and even though it has days were I want to throw it out the window; nothing compares to the frustration this machine causes. We bought it for the hoop size (6x10) but we have destroyed more projects than we have completed. We ordered 1 machine and kept it 10 days before returning it, reordered another one hoping we just had a lemon but they are all lemons. Don't be fooled by the price... this machine is a nightmare. Loose threads, broken threads, warning of broken thread when the thread isn't broken, wrong hoop size warnings... etc. This machine is horrible.

Was this review helpful? (39) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DHFGA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Broke within 3 days
8/15/2014

Customer review by Withlovetiffany

1.0 stars 8/15/2014 by Withlovetiffany
by Withlovetiffany
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have had a brother embroidery machine for almost 6 months. I wanted to expand and this seemed perfect! Worked well for one design and then a spring broke that made the bobbin spin and caused nesting! I took it to get repaired and not even 24 hours later it had done it again and threw off the needle placement and went through the bobbin case! I took it back that day!!!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Withlovetiffany
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worst machine ever!!!
2/15/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 2/15/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Returned it after only having it for 3 days only got one thing done on it that it did not mess up thread always breaks, tangles, ruins etc doesn't mater if u change the tension thread speed nothing DO NOT BUY I thought when I read the reviews oh it can't be that bad oh it was that bad just stay away!

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Covington, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Futura xl400
2/18/2016

Customer review by Joyo

4.0 stars 2/18/2016 by Joyo
by Joyo

I love this machine! It sews like a dream! Wish it had a better book with instructions with it !!! Especially on the soft wear !!!!! That is the only down side to this machine !!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joyo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Do Not Buy!!!
4/4/2016

Customer review by Sancho

1.0 stars 4/4/2016 by Sancho
by Sancho

I bought the Singer XL-400 and picked it up in December. I embroidered 5 small 3 inch patches. The top tensioner stopped working after the first month so I took the machine to a certified Singer service center. The tensioner was covered under the warranty since the machine was only 1 month old. The service center has had the sewing machine for close to 3 months now. The service center claims that the factory is back logged on parts. So to recap: Had the sewing machine for 1 month before it broke. Service center has had the machine for repairs for close 3 months and counting.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sancho
Would recommend to a friend? No
Total Dud
3/26/2014

Customer review by AggieLady02

1.0 stars 3/26/2014 by AggieLady02
by AggieLady02

I read many 50/50 reviews on this machine, but tried it because I really liked the idea of using my large computer screen instead of a small internal screen within the machine. I am tech savvy, and very good at trouble shooting- even on friends' machines, so I figured I could adjust accordingly should any issues arise. My machine arrived yesterday and on the FIRST run, I encountered issue after issue! First, it is NOT user friendly. No diagrams or hints to wind/thread bobbin and top thread like my Bernina and Brother machines, so you have to carefully read the vague manual, which is not as helpful as I'd hoped. Although I was using high quality thread, it snapped less than halfway through the first letter. I adjusted several things including tension as I had read to do, but 3 seconds later it had stopped, saying it had broken the thread. The thread was fine so I restarted it, only to have it stop and send the same error message over and over, every three seconds throughout the duration of the letter. It did break the thread two more times (but the rest were just time-consuming false alarms). I eventually stopped the process as continued to have problems starting the second letter. The embroidery it did do was messy at best. When I removed the hoop, the back was a huge "bird's nest" of thread. I shut off the machine to try to restart the process but the machine won't even turn on now!! What a lemon! I plan to return this machine today and replace it with a well-reviewed Brother. I'm all about giving products a fair chance, but this one isn't even worth a try, I'm just glad I purchased it from WalMart so I can return it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AggieLady02
Mansfield, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Love it!
2/23/2014

Customer review by GiftsbyJenn

4.0 stars 2/23/2014 by GiftsbyJenn
by GiftsbyJenn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am very pleased with this machine. I have a brother se400 and was ready to expand in my business. This machine allows for a much larger hoop area so my etsy shop has grown. There is a bit of a learning curve and it took a little to figure out the futura program but all in all I am very happy with this and all the money I was able to save. Eventually I hope to get a multi needle The only draw back is a mid size hoop would be easy to work with but it only has small and large, 3 hoops would have been perfect!

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GiftsbyJenn
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
what I thought it would be
2/26/2013

Customer review by garva

5.0 stars 2/26/2013 by garva
by garva
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

have done several things with the embroidery part of the machine I'm not the least bit disappointed I can't ask it to do more thank you

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
garva
oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/29/2013

Customer review by cloudyme

5.0 stars 1/29/2013 by cloudyme
by cloudyme
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love the machine. It does beautiful work. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to upgrade. I had a Walmart Disney machine, which I still love, but the Singer embroideries large areas, which is the reason I upgraded. Great Machine. Very user friendly..and I can use any of my embroidery files, it uses all types which is really nice..

Was this review helpful? (36) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cloudyme
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great machine for the price
2/13/2013

Customer review by rony9229

5.0 stars 2/13/2013 by rony9229
by rony9229
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This sewing/embroidery machine is full of great features and is easy to use. I shopped around for a while and saw this was a great value for the features it has. It had all of its parts in the box and seems to be well-made. I trust the brand because my grandmother has had a Singer for several decades, and it still works. I'm a beginner sewer. I literally had never before used a sewing or embroidery machine, and I was able to set it up and get it running immediately just by reading the instruction manual. Would highly recommend this for any experience level of sewing or embroidery.

Was this review helpful? (38) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rony9229
AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
love it!
3/3/2014

Customer review by Peekame

5.0 stars 3/3/2014 by Peekame
by Peekame
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It lacks instruction, but it is really a nice machine.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Peekame
Stockton, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dont waste your time .
3/3/2015

Customer review by Missy

1.0 stars 3/3/2015 by Missy
by Missy

I sew and embroider on a daily basis. I have owned a Brother machine for over a year now and I love it! I wanted to upgrade to a machine with a larger hoop size and I was drawn to the Singer Futura xl 400. I read all the reviews, good and bad, and decided since I was experienced with embroidery machines, that I would be able to use it with no problems. Yeah well, I was wrong! It would not stitch out neatly. The thread was "loopy" in some areas. And the software it used was just junk! I worked with it for 2 weeks and decided to take it back! I don't have time to work on trying to learn this machine. I need something that I can go to work on asap! So with that being said, I a ordering another Brother with the 5x7 hoop tonight! At least I know I'll be able to start work with it immediately.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Missy
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews