Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 271 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

271 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

271 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

59%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
128
4 stars
31
3 stars
9
2 stars
12
1 stars
91
1-20 of 271 total reviews
59%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 271 total reviews
1-20 of 271 reviews
Does what I need not what I want
9/16/2014

Customer review by AggieNuke

3.0 stars 9/16/2014 by AggieNuke
by AggieNuke

I've been using the product for awhile now. I have almost always been a natrual girl. I have type 2b hair that ranges for bad days that look like 2a and great days that look like 2c. I have a long commute and have to be at work very early. This product does what I need it to do without me feeling like I am a rag-a-muffin. I get a little volume and a small increase in definition to my big loose wavy-curls. But I really want more out of this product. It took me awhile to find the right amount of product. It doesn't take much. I have paired this with some of my other products. I haven't found the perfect products to pair this one with, but it is a great hop out of the shower and put something in and go product. I've had trouble getting extra definition when I have used it with a diffuser so I do not recommend this product for that, but air drying it does the trick. I am still on my quest for the perfect shampoo/co-wash/deep conditioner/products for my hair. It has been a long journey.

AggieNuke
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Gender:Female
Poor packaging
1/20/2016

Customer review by Jhendy

1.0 stars 1/20/2016 by Jhendy
by Jhendy

I was very disappointed with this product. I used it maybe 3 times. My hair was stiff and seemed very weighted down. After the 3rd time I was unable to get any more product from the can. When shaken, the can is full but nothing will come out. Very bad experience and wasted money I can not afford.

Jhendy
New Alex, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
LOVED OLD FORMULA. The new formula is terrible
1/7/2016

Customer review by cinn

1.0 stars 1/7/2016 by cinn
by cinn

LOVED OLD FORMULA. New formula terrible. Gummy sticks my hair together making it look greasy and dirty and this happens after one use. Returning product today. Make me leery about purchasing your products. You had a terrific moose and you change the formula to this sticky gummy mess!!!!WHY?

cinn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Weekly
Gender:Female
Love it!
12/28/2015

Customer review by Julie88

5.0 stars 12/28/2015 by Julie88
by Julie88

I have tried many other products for my naturally curly hair and this is the best by far. It goes on creamy and holds my curls without becoming crunchy. It leaves my curls soft to the touch while eliminating the frizz.

Julie88
Iowa, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Dove whipped cream mousse
12/26/2012

Customer review by Thanina

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by Thanina
by Thanina

I tried this product today for the first time and after reading all the reviews I took the advice from people that said to use very little and rub it in hands before applying it on wet hair and I love it after my hair dried it had soft shiny curls the mousse left my hair so light and not greasy my hair is in between curly and straight and up to my shoulders in length and I used about a quarter size of the mousse ...

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thanina
Lancaster CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Soft Hold
12/8/2015

Customer review by OliveJuice

5.0 stars 12/8/2015 by OliveJuice
by OliveJuice
Spark Reviewer - received free product

LoveLoveLove this stuff. just distribute through my hair throw it in a top not. take it down at the end pf the day when im ready for my hair to be down. and my hair is perfection.

OliveJuice
Corpus Christi, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Weekly
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Gives me soft and bouncy curls :)
8/18/2012

Customer review by Sarita

5.0 stars 8/18/2012 by Sarita
by Sarita

I have thin, very curly hair that frizzes up pretty easily. What I do is I wash my hair in the evening and let it air dry with the mousse already in my hair (I put a lot of mousse so at first it feels crunchy). Then I sleep with my hair out and I wake up with really crazy looking volume but the curls look nice! I just arrange my hair and put on some spray gel and flexible hair spray all over. I just have to make sure I dn't touch my hair during the day and I look great. :) The only this is that this mousse HAS to be applied onto WET OR DAMP hair, otherwise ur hair with dry with white stuff on it. So on the 2nd morning, i have to put in some kind of gel with water to rebuild my style. Overall, I like this mousse because u need less product than u would if u used another mousse. Also, it's very creamy and when put the mousse in yours hands and rub them together, it doesn't feel light and watery like my other mousses do. I'll keep repurchasing :]

Sarita
Bayonne, NJ, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Gender:Female
whipped cream curl mousse
11/3/2015

Customer review by curlytop

5.0 stars 11/3/2015 by curlytop
by curlytop

I have never used the old mousse people are raving about, but I LOVE the new version of the whipped cream mousse. I have just gone natural with my curly hair after fighting for 40 years and countless $$ in products that promised beautiful straight hair. NOTHING worked for me. I tried this mousse and it keeps my curls in place, not greasy or heavy. Only frizzing issues are windy days that tear my curls apart. PLEASE KEEP THIS FORMULA!!!!! I also Love the Dove curl Quench line!

curlytop
Illinois, United States
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Nosel stops working after a couple of uses
11/14/2015

Customer review by Isabelp

1.0 stars 11/14/2015 by Isabelp
by Isabelp

I had to purchase 2 bottles before I realized it wasn't me, the Nozel on the bottles stopped working after a couple of uses, bottles were still full and I had to throw them in the trash couldn't use them, waist of my money

Isabelp
Bakersfield, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Weekly
Gender:Female
Awesome!
11/9/2015

Customer review by Stormie

5.0 stars 11/9/2015 by Stormie
by Stormie

I've been using this for years now. Nothing else gives me a natural feeling hold without drying my hair out. I use it after washing my hair while my hair is damp and then let it air dry.

Stormie
Tecumseh, ON, Canada
Usage frequency:Weekly
Gender:Female
LOVE it.
5/20/2015

Customer review by Kayla

5.0 stars 5/20/2015 by Kayla
by Kayla

This is the only mousse I will use now. It is the best for my naturally curly hair. Works best if blow dried rather than air drying.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kayla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent !
10/20/2015

Customer review by LotusBeautyX

4.0 stars 10/20/2015 by LotusBeautyX
by LotusBeautyX

The first time I tried this product, it made my curls well defined and soft. I will never use another mousse again

LotusBeautyX
Franklin Township, NJ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Weekly
Gender:Female
I NEED A LIFETIME CASE
8/29/2015

Customer review by Unpodiamore

5.0 stars 8/29/2015 by Unpodiamore
by Unpodiamore

I'm seeing quite a few negative reviews of this product. I, however, am absolutely in LOVE with how soft and bouncy it leaves my natural curls. 'Ive used it daily for about a year and only go to another product when I can't do d this stocked at any of the 5/6 stores I used to find it at!!! I've received more compliments on my natural curl with this product than any other high end product. I love it! Can you tell? It's lifhy, fluffy, like a whipped mousse dessert; contrary to reviews, it doesn't feel sticky or greasy to me. WHERE CAN I FIND IT?!!! I just left a store disappointed again!!!

Unpodiamore
Dallas, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
My go-to mousse
9/8/2015

Customer review by Rederoche

5.0 stars 9/8/2015 by Rederoche
by Rederoche

This has been my go-to product for a while now. The texture is thick and creamy but does not weigh my hair down. I have fine curly hair. I use a style extender/primer and then I put this on all over. Takes more than you'd think to get a good hold even though the product is very thick and distributes well. No crunch for the most part which I love. I hate crunchy curls! If you're looking for a good no expensive curl styler this is really good! And I've been through a lot of products.

Rederoche
Austin, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Soft curls and no crunch!
9/22/2015

Customer review by Ryan614

5.0 stars 9/22/2015 by Ryan614
by Ryan614

This is the best product I've ever used on my naturally curly hair. That includes salon brands. It's got a wonderful creamy texture. My only complaint is that not all stores that carry Dove products carry this. Whenever I see it I grab at least two!

Ryan614
Marana, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
My Natural Hair Loves This!
4/14/2014

Customer review by MelodyBlu

4.0 stars 4/14/2014 by MelodyBlu
by MelodyBlu

I recently started using Dove shampoo and conditioner (Restore & Intensive Repair) about 1 1/2 months ago. I came across this about a month ago and decided to give it a try. I noticed how creamy and smooth it was when I applied it to my hair. I used it with my Oyin Handmade Leave In and everything seemed to be ok. I got nervous when I realized my hair that I had in twists felt a little crunchy during the drying process. But once they dried completely, my curls and waves were soft and beautiful! My hair gets put into a high ponytail at night and I go to bed. I wake up, take it down, fluffy, and leave. My hair always gets compliments. It works well on my kids hair. I am a fan. Please don't stop making this product! I plan on doing a review of my Dove product exoerience for my YT channel soon. I am 100% natural and do not relax my hair and it does wonders for my hair!

MelodyBlu
Tempe, AZ, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Weekly
Length of ownership:1 month
Gender:Female
Works wonders for my natural short Afro
9/25/2015

Customer review by Gemini43

4.0 stars 9/25/2015 by Gemini43
by Gemini43

After I went completely natural, I purchased many products but none made my TWA more gorgeously curling like dove mousse for curls. Don't get rid of the product. It really helped me maintain my TWA.

Gemini43
St Louis, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Weekly
Gender:Female
Disappointing compared to the Curl & Sculpt mousse
4/20/2012

Customer review by Curlygirly

1.0 stars 4/20/2012 by Curlygirly
by Curlygirly

I tried this when I couldn't find the Curl & Sculpt mousse. Now I see that it has been discontinued and I'm really bummed about that! I have very thick, very curly hair. The Curl & Sculpt was so light and easy to apply, and gave me awesome volume at the roots and big, beautiful curls. I have a busy schedule and I was able to apply it right out of the shower and let my hair air dry. I've used this mousse for a couple of weeks now... The new whipped mousse is so sticky and tacky (it reminds me of the texture of taffy while it's cooking# that it's hard to work in without disrupting the curl. So, I either get these small curls with flat roots or, if I don't work it in so much, I get blah, weighed-down curls. Neither style was very flattering! Dove has other great products #I love their weightless conditioner), but this product just doesn't work for me.

Curlygirly
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
love the new whipped mousse
4/17/2012

Customer review by cebbitt

5.0 stars 4/17/2012 by cebbitt
by cebbitt

I just switched back to dove hair products because what I was using was not working well at all. to much frizz was driving me crazy. when I used the new whipped mousse for the 1st time, I thought this is not going to work well because it was so light in my hand and almost started to dissapear, I thought. but then as I was running it through my hair it felt like silk. it was great and when my was dry it was perfect and it held the soft curls for a couple of days so I dont have to wash so often and get dry hair. I was impressed with the hair spray it was not tooo sticky of crunchy. I have very very thick tight natural curls and my hair is very long to the bottom of my back so maybe this works so well in controlling my hair since it is so long and very curly. Either way I was pleasantly suprised at the new product and will continue to use it!!!

cebbitt
Broken Arrow, OK, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Weekly
Length of ownership:1 month
Gender:Female
You will be noticing a great deal of dropping in sales for this whipped cream mousse
7/3/2012

Customer review by lavitaebella

1.0 stars 7/3/2012 by lavitaebella
by lavitaebella

This new mousse is the absolutely the worst ever!!! Makes my hair sticky, tangly, and greasy. Please bring back Dove curl & sculpt defining mousse. I've been a loyal consumer of Dove for 10+ years, especially the hair styling products, however recently I've noticed that Dove curl & sculpt defining mousse as well as other mousse line has been discontinued and has been replaced by this whipped cream mousse. I had to try to have my two cents in, and the result was a great disappointment. I searched all of the grocery chains and drug stores all over Calgary, AB, for Dove curl & sculpt defining mousse but was unsuccessful. Now I had to switched to another brand to replace my Dove curl & sculpt defining mousse. If Dove/Unilever cared at all about your loyalest consumers think, you would bring back Dove curl & sculpt defining mousse.

lavitaebella
Calgary, AB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 month
Gender:Female
1-20 of 271 total reviews
1-20 of 271 reviews