Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 325 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

325 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

325 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
194
4 stars
68
3 stars
17
2 stars
20
1 stars
26
1-20 of 325 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 325 total reviews
1-20 of 325 reviews
Dry shampoo to the rescue
8/25/2016

Customer review by Lotusblossom69

5.0 stars 8/25/2016 by Lotusblossom69
by Lotusblossom69

Been hesitant on trying dry shampoos due to the chemicals and it doesn't substitute for actually washing with water. However, quite pleased with Dove Refresh and Care Volume and Fullness Dry Shampoo. The fragrance was pleasant and didn't need to use much to refresh my hair. Don't recommend using in very hot humid weather, nothing can replace an actual shower! I received this item free from Influenster and opinion is my own. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Lotusblossom69
New York, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Weekly
Gender:Female
Received free product:Yes
This stuff is awesome!
9/18/2016

Customer review by PshankOH

5.0 stars 9/18/2016 by PshankOH
by PshankOH

I received this product from Influenster to try for free, and I am happy to be introduced!!! It is a perfect dry shampoo that leaves your hair feeling and smelling fresh. The scents are great. The powdery residue disappears like I was hoping it would. Fantastic item!!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

PshankOH
Columbus, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Weekly
Gender:Female
Received free product:Yes
Works great and adds volume!
8/26/2016

Customer review by JayeToler

4.0 stars 8/26/2016 by JayeToler
by JayeToler

I received my free sample from Influenster. I love the quality of the product. It definitely soaks up any oil, and added a ton of volume to my hair. I would give it 5 stars if the scent was a little softer. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

JayeToler
Huntington, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Received free product:Yes
product worked well, but gave me slight headache
5/17/2017

Customer review by Iceicebaby

3.0 stars 5/17/2017 by Iceicebaby
by Iceicebaby

I tried this product once, and it definitely did remove grease! My hair didn't quite look like a "just washed this morning" wash, but it could definitely pass for a "I washed it last night" wash. It is a bit hard to remove ALL the oil since dry shampoo doesn't flow all over your hair like water does. This was my first time using dry shampoo, and I was pleasantly surprised that it was fairly effective, as I half expected it not to work. It also adds volume which would probably be nice for styling, too! The only problem is that it gave me a headache and my hair overall just feels kind of "icky" even if it doesn't look bad. The headache is the big dealbreaker for me. I think it is from all the hydrocarbon chemicals in it, like propane and butane. I am fairly sensitive to chemicals though (including hairspray), so maybe this would not be as bothersome to others. I'm giving it 3 stars because the product does work, but it just wasn't for me!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Iceicebaby
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I always come back to Dove dry shampoo.
11/25/2016

Customer review by Lacycadet78

5.0 stars 11/25/2016 by Lacycadet78
by Lacycadet78

I was a stylist for many years so I have tried so so many brands of dry shampoo and I always come back to Dove. I just like the scent and how it leaves my hair with tons of volume. I don't think I could live without it! I have really oily hair and this works perfectly for me. Doesn't leave my hair feeling gross or with a white cast. It's easy to use and I don't actually have to use too much to get my entire head feeling clean. This is great for even using to get extra volume as well. My trick is I use this right before I go to bed so it really has time to absorb oil and in the morning my hair looks great. I have also never had an issue with the sprayer so that is also a plus. LOVE.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lacycadet78
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My New Favorite
9/29/2012

Customer review by Edils

5.0 stars 9/29/2012 by Edils
by Edils

I had been using the brand "Psst" for years and I didn't think it could get much better than that dry shampoo. Then I happened to order this online because it was cheap and in general, I like Dove products. It's fantastic! I only wash my hair once a week, and this keeps my hair looking healthy and clean. It also gives me A TON of volume that lasts throughout the day (and I have looooong heavy hair). The smell is nice, like raspberries. Also, it won't turn my black hair white with powder. Great stuff, will use forever.

Was this review helpful? (50) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Edils
Pleasanton, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
use sparingly
10/6/2015

Customer review by BustyPlus

5.0 stars 10/6/2015 by BustyPlus
by BustyPlus

As a retired 32 yr. hairdresser, i must remind people: always wash TWICE....the first shampoo brings grease and dirt to the surface and cats your hair with the icky residue...It's the SECOND shampoo, that rids the scalp and strands of the clinging grease and dirt....you can dilute shampoo in a separate bottle which makes the liquid penetrate better especially if you have thick hair....so if you think you have OILY HAIR, and that's why it's greasy along the hairline and roots, it's most likely from a single application of shampoo! when using the DOVE dry shampoo, clip half of your hair aside, bend over, separate a small section then spray a "small amount" in the root area and QUICKLY USE YOUR FINGERS AND slide it through to the ends... you will eliminate the WHITE powdery residue, and make the can last twice as long. Buy several when they're on sale!

Was this review helpful? (30) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BustyPlus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Umm, NO.
3/31/2017

Customer review by Spitfire1038

2.0 stars 3/31/2017 by Spitfire1038
by Spitfire1038

CAUTION TO ALL WITH ASTHMA AND ALLERGIES... The smell is so perfumy strong I was only able to use twice. It literally took my breath away. The scent does dissipate after about 15 minutes, but choking on the scent that long is torture. Suggest you buy Baptiste in Original Scent.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spitfire1038
Would recommend to a friend? No
The BEST dry shampoo I've ever used!
10/22/2015

Customer review by becca311

5.0 stars 10/22/2015 by becca311
by becca311

Why in the world does this amazing product have so few stars & such bad reviews? I have tried at least 15 different dry shampoos of all price ranges & I can honestly say this one is the BEST. You only need a small amount applied to your roots & it absorbs any oil & provides a ton of volume. I have fine hair, so I even use this on my freshly washed hair to give it body. The smell is amazing & keeps your hair fresh ALL day. A lot of dry shampoos tend to "go away" throughout the day. The effects of this product last all day. A lot of dry shampoos don't really absorb into your hair & get residue all over your hands & clothes. This product doesn't do that. This is my holy grail dry shampoo. I buy 3 cans at a time!

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
becca311
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Smells Great
9/4/2016

Customer review by NDS5

4.0 stars 9/4/2016 by NDS5
by NDS5

I received a full bottle to try in exchange for my honest review, and at first I was really excited about trying this since I had seen really expensive versions of this at beauty stores. The first time I tried it was a little disappointing. I was expecting my hair to feel cleaner - it is called a dry "shampoo" after all. My hair felt a little slimy and I thought I hadn't used enough of it, so I went back and added more. It did work, but it never felt as clean as after a regular shampooing, but it did add a ton of volume that I was not expecting! I styled my hair as I normally do and my hair sit the way it normally did, and I ended up putting my hair in an updo instead. Overall, my hair smelled great and added a ton of volume, but it did not give me a clean enough feeling to put a curling wand or straightener to it with confidence that the look would last all day. I would use this product again, but probably at night for a volumed style after a regular morning-time wash to refresh the scent and revitalize my locks. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

NDS5
Old Bridge, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Weekly
Gender:Female
Received free product:Yes
Take Shine Out of Synthetic Wigs
4/8/2017

Customer review by ddunhill

5.0 stars 4/8/2017 by ddunhill
by ddunhill

I bought this on a tip that dry shampoo takes some of the shine out of synthetic wigs, giving them a more natural look. It works perfectly and smells great too!

ddunhill
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Weekly
Gender:Female
So much better than dry shampoos of the past
7/23/2012

Customer review by ak51

5.0 stars 7/23/2012 by ak51
by ak51

Great for an emergency with no time to shampoo. Actually lasted for 2 days

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ak51
LOL FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Lots of volume
10/22/2015

Customer review by Megan

5.0 stars 10/22/2015 by Megan
by Megan

Adds great volume and texture. I have fine blonde hair and this works great.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Megan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Leaves a White Cast
8/23/2016

Customer review by SYDDOVE

4.0 stars 8/23/2016 by SYDDOVE
by SYDDOVE

I received this product complimentary for testing purposes. Dry shampoo is basically an essential for me since I can go one day without washing my hair and it ends up a greasy mess. This product actually worked fairly well compared to other brands. It did give me volume as long as I rubbed it in, and it kept my hair refreshed for a long time before it got greasy again. That is often a problem I have with other dry shampoos not lasting long. The scent in my opinion is really nice. It's not too overpowering and smells nice throughout the day. The one thing I couldn't stand about this product is the white cast it leaves. A lot of dry shampoos do this, and this particular one happens to have a severe problem with it if you don't shake the can between each spray. As I said, this stuff lasts a long time, meaning the white powder lasts all day too. However, it is still decent for the price and one of the better ones. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

SYDDOVE
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Weekly
Gender:Female
Received free product:Yes
LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!
8/31/2014

Customer review by CMP1

5.0 stars 8/31/2014 by CMP1
by CMP1

I had been using Suave for years but wasn't really that happy with it. It left my hair oily and flat! I have fine hair which can get oily after 1 day. I thought it was time to try something else and when I pick hair products I go by smell first! I flat iron my hair a lot so the fresh smell always goes away right after. I smelled this in the store and absolutely loved the smell. I thought why not let's try it! I was so shocked by the results! I had the volume I had been looking for! I loved the way my hair looked, felt and smelled! I feel like I have fresh smelling hair all day but it's not too powerful! If you are looking for a new dry shampoo or you are a first timer I highly recommend this one! I read a lot of reviews that complained that the bottle was empty after 1 use so far I haven't had that problem and I've used it twice. Based on the dates it looks like most complaints on that were in 2012 so I am hoping Dove had fixed that issue!

CMP1
San Leandro,
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 week
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Good this produce
11/13/2016

Customer review by humdum

5.0 stars 11/13/2016 by humdum
by humdum
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good using and gives the flat hair a little lift.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
humdum
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My newest Must Have!
9/30/2016

Customer review by JessyM241

5.0 stars 9/30/2016 by JessyM241
by JessyM241

I have very curly and frizzy hair, so sometimes, it's easier for me to straighten it. I straighten it maybe 3 times a month, and I don't wash it for maybe 3 or 4 days. Before I tried the Dove Volume and Fullness Dry Shampoo, I was self concious about the way my hair smelled in between washes. I usually tried to mask any odor with hair spray or other products. Then, Influenster sent me a full bottle of Dove Dry Shampoo to try and review for free! I am so glad they did, because this stuf is awesome! It leaves me air feeling fresh, clean, and rejuvinated. It is the perfect product to use in between washes! No more worrying if my hair is stinky, or starting to have to much build up. No more trying to mask the smell! Thank you Dove, for making an amazing product, and thank you Influenster, for allowing me to try and review for free! This stuff is amazing and I would recommend it to anyone! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

JessyM241
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Weekly
Gender:Female
Received free product:Yes
It works great..but.....
10/24/2015

Customer review by MagenRaquel

3.0 stars 10/24/2015 by MagenRaquel
by MagenRaquel

I do find that after maybe too uses, it gets clogged and the product won't spray out anymore. I see alot of comments that the can was "empty" after one use but I think they really have the same issue that I have, which is the nozzle getting clogged. I have held it under hot water a few times and that usually helps clear it up. I had a can left from 2 years ago and I was trying that method, but it wasn't working (or I just grew Impatient) so I boiled some water and poured that on the nozzle.. I don't recommend doing that though because the can did a small crinkle movement in my hand and I dropped it in the sink (not sure if by doing that it could of made the can explode?) I waited a minute and tested it and it worked like a charm and I was able to use it again. But like I said don't use boiling water, just hold it under running hot water from the sink. Of course it would be nice it the nozzle didn't get clogged in the first place.

MagenRaquel
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Yearly
Gender:Female
Great Hair product
1/20/2016

Customer review by KHinch

5.0 stars 1/20/2016 by KHinch
by KHinch

I love this dry shampoo spray, doesn't make your hair white.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KHinch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Terrible
3/6/2017

Customer review by Meganj

1.0 stars 3/6/2017 by Meganj
by Meganj

Not a great product, I've used it a few times and every time it left my hair looking and feeling oily and unwashed.

Meganj
Boise I.D.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Weekly
Gender:Female
1-20 of 325 total reviews
1-20 of 325 reviews