Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 69 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

69 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

69 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
57
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
1-20 of 66 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews
Did not like it.
10/13/2012

Customer review by Urlilsecret713

2.0 stars 10/13/2012 by Urlilsecret713
by Urlilsecret713

I used this product everyday and I have biracial hair and this product dried my hair out and it did not detangle it at all. I wouldn't recommend this product to people who have curly hair the alcohol is not good for it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Urlilsecret713
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
works better
4/21/2013

Customer review by audchild

4.0 stars 4/21/2013 by audchild
by audchild
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 250 contributor

I've been using Aussie hair insurance for many years, but I find I like this leave in much better. First of all, after using Aussie for so long, I had gotten really tired of the coconut smell...especially during winter. This Dove product has a light, pleasant smell. Secondly, it simply does a better job at taming my wild, frizzy, wavy hair. And, unlike Aussie, I can use it several times between shampoos (sometimes as many as three times per day) without my hair looking oily and weighed down. Overall, it is simply a better product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
audchild
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 250 contributor
Great for my hair
2/27/2014

Customer review by Pizzamaker1000

5.0 stars 2/27/2014 by Pizzamaker1000
by Pizzamaker1000
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I found this at my local Walgreen's, but now they don't carry it anymore. I had to order it through Wal*mart. I will continue to order it because it's great for my hair.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pizzamaker1000
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
i. love. it.
4/16/2012

Customer review by Hailey

5.0 stars 4/16/2012 by Hailey
by Hailey

I bought this a few days ago and i absolutely loved it! I was looking for an oil/serum for my hair to control the frizziness of it and i stumbled upon this one. i have naturally straight hair so this might have been an advantage to me, but when I use it I'm so amazed. With serums or oils that you usually pour or pump out of a container, my hands usually feel greasy and oily but with this, its so convenient that its in a spray bottle. it detangles so well! although i've never tried this after days of unwashed hair, it detangles pretty well. My hair usually gets tangled pretty easily but surprisingly, this actually prevents tangles! The scent is okay, not very fond of it though. i do highly recommend this and this is very cheap at local targets, or walmarts. for best use i recommend using this after the shower (while your hair is damp, NOT SOAKING WET) and once or twice through out the day.

Hailey
Connecticut, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
Love it!
1/15/2014

Customer review by horsiegramma

5.0 stars 1/15/2014 by horsiegramma
by horsiegramma
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My hairdresser gave me a sample when I complained my hair looked and felt awfully dry. I was afraid it would be greasy but was pleasantly surprised. And the best part is it's under $4.00! What a win-win situation.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
horsiegramma
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great product
8/16/2014

Customer review by wheelin126

5.0 stars 8/16/2014 by wheelin126
by wheelin126
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love this stuff!!! Works quickly and really good and it even smells good.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wheelin126
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The most glorious hair product!
7/15/2013

Customer review by Astarael

5.0 stars 7/15/2013 by Astarael
by Astarael

I have extremely long, thick, coarse, and curly hair. I am constantly trying new things that promise conditioning, detangling, and moisture. I am a huge fan of everything Dove, so was excited to see this product dedicated to tangle defense. The first time I tried it, I was in HEAVEN. I seriously do not have to use ANYTHING else if I don't want to, and have manageable hair. No frizz, no crispy gel look, and my scalp has embraced it. Anything else I've tried with an oily make up has made my scalp break out. I am half way through this bottle, and will use it as long as it's available (and cry if it's ever discontinued). I have recommended this to every single one of my girl friends, as well as a makeup/hair group I'm in on FB. I am still just in shock on how I don't have to load up with gel, mousse, etc. to have manageable hair. This stuff is hair ambrosia!!!

Astarael
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 month
Gender:Female
good result for good price
2/20/2013

Customer review by aniamajlo

5.0 stars 2/20/2013 by aniamajlo
by aniamajlo

I bhought it as I saw something new on a shelf in my usual store. from experience I like all Dove hair products, cauz they make them soft and shiny. Although this product I use in the end, when my hair are already dry, after aplying normal conditioner. I have blonde, very curly hair which are usualy hard to get really soft and shiny, and this product is giving it to me. And it have fantastic smell. After using it my hair are getting soft, shiny and the smell amazing. The spray bottle is also good solution, cauz it lasts for a really long time. I am using it almost every day, even when I don't decide to wash my hair I spray it a bit for that nice smell & shine. Thank you Dove - another product that I will use for longer time. Also had decide for other options of the same product :)

aniamajlo
Naksos, Grecja
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:3 months
Gender:Female
conditions and dtangles
11/27/2014

Customer review by uncleherby

5.0 stars 11/27/2014 by uncleherby
by uncleherby

I have long hair and use it as a antifriz and detangler while it's still wet. Light weight, not greasy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
uncleherby
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Overly Scented
11/25/2012

Customer review by LongHair

2.0 stars 11/25/2012 by LongHair
by LongHair

I have very long, dry hair (almost to my hips) and I require many sprays of this in my hair. I thought that, because the product is labeled as "oil detangler," that it would smooth my hair while also providing moisture. I was skeptical when reading the ingredients because the first few included silicones, alcohol, perfumes, and salt while the only two oils were towards the end of the list. I tried it, and it left my hair very shiny, but not very smoothed or sleek (moisturizing hair products make my hair straighter and less frizzy). Additionally, the perfumes left my hair smelling nauseatingly scented. I would use this as a finishing spray over my other oil-containing product, but just for the shine.

LongHair
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
Leaves hair looking healthy!!
10/23/2013

Customer review by Bostonmom

5.0 stars 10/23/2013 by Bostonmom
by Bostonmom

I started using this product after bleaching my hair to restore some moisture and it was amazing!! I constantly get compliments on how healthy looking my hair is. The only bad experience I had is buying a bottle that appeared to have no oil in it. I used the bottle for a week and had horrible results plus it smelled badly. I always buy multiple bottles at a time so I compared it to another bottle and it was obviously different! No oil/water separation, no cloudiness when shaken (to show blending of oil/water). I would definitely suggest looking for the oil/water separation to know you didn't get a defective unit, otherwise you might have bad results when really if mixed properly is wonderful!

Bostonmom
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Gender:Female
Not a detangler
11/13/2012

Customer review by NotSure

1.0 stars 11/13/2012 by NotSure
by NotSure

This product does not detangle like it claims. I have long hair that reaches halfway down my back. I've used this product every day after showering, and after applying several spritzes, I still have to yank at my tangles. At best, this product should be called a finishing spray because that's exactly what it feels and smells like. After a little over a week, I've gone through one third of the bottle. Also, I'm disappointed that this product contains parabens, a sulfate, alcohol and sodium chloride. All of these ingredients are no-no's for color-treated hair, and have been proven to make hair more dry. The only upside to this product is that it does deliver some shine.

NotSure
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
Morning argument saver!
7/25/2012

Customer review by HappyMom

5.0 stars 7/25/2012 by HappyMom
by HappyMom

I have an 8 1/2 year old daughter that has blond, very fine long hair. We argue every morning, afternoon and night about her hair. She refuses to brush it and screams when I try. I have bought so many products over the past year and i would have spent hundreds of dollars to save the arguements. I have thought about just cutting it all off, then I found this product the other day....she loves it! She said it was the best spray she has ever used! It actually works and it doesn't hurt to brush her hair. The cherry on the cake was she came out of her room this morning and her hair was already brushed!! Thank you Dove for a wonderful product!

HappyMom
Littleton, MA, USA
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
Perfect to protect against hot iron drying damage!!! And A+ detangler!
8/10/2012

Customer review by Donna77642

5.0 stars 8/10/2012 by Donna77642
by Donna77642

Oh, my gosh! Please, never, EVER quit making this product! I LOVE IT! My hair's condition has improved 100% from using this product! Plus, it gives the added super bonus of being the best detangler I have ever used. When I spray some on the ends of my hair before using my hot iron curling iron, it completely protects it from drying out. EVERYBODY needs to know about this fantastic product--it is amazing! Please do not just promote this as a detangler (although it is the BEST ever), it is the best for protecting your hair from curling irons I have EVER used!

Donna77642
Texas, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 month
Gender:Female
Detangles crazy curls without ANY greasy residue
9/17/2012

Customer review by DramaMama

5.0 stars 9/17/2012 by DramaMama
by DramaMama

I have two daughters that inherited their beautiful curly hair from their dad, and I have spent crazy amounts trying to find products that tame their hair. Many tears have been shed trying to untangle, brush or style hair. We tried this product on a whim, and I'm actually logging in to review it as GREAT because we're all afraid they'll stop making it. Tangles disappear, hair feels great and looks amazing. Curls still have shape but are moisturized without the grease of many shine enhancing oils. Try it if you can find it; we've stock piled it

DramaMama
Clifton Park, NY 12065, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:3 months
Gender:Female
Saved My Hair
3/28/2013

Customer review by JMA6803

5.0 stars 3/28/2013 by JMA6803
by JMA6803

awesome product with surprisingly good results considering i have not had much success with their other products..i thought wow my hair is shiny and healthy looking and after two days..my hair what starting to feel less and dry and started to feel softer. This product helped me the most because my mom was starting to break like crazy and this spray gave my hair some strength back. I definitely love seeing way less hair in my brush. I hope that they never discontinue this product. :)

JMA6803
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 week
Amazing Product!!!!
6/4/2014

Customer review by lizb91

5.0 stars 6/4/2014 by lizb91
by lizb91

I have very long hair (down to my hips) with super fine strands, and LOTS of them. My hair has always tangled super easily, and been very difficult to untangle. I was a little reluctant to try this at first because of oil and I already have oily hair, but if anything, its helped cut down on the natural oils produced. Maybe my hair isn't feeling so dry anymore? Anyways, works wonders, makes my hair super easy to detangle after showering and helps keep tangles out the rest of the day.

lizb91
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:6 months
Gender:Female
Excellent, but hard to find!
1/3/2014

Customer review by ajn878

5.0 stars 1/3/2014 by ajn878
by ajn878

I fell in love with the spray from day one. I have straight, thin, easily tangled hair below my shoulders. After showering I spray and go. I can even run my fingers through my hair and skip the brush, and my hair is super soft and shining. My 8 year old daughter has thick, shoulder length hair that is always a battle to brush. I can spray her hair and avoid all the tears! My only complaint is that I can't find it in my area anymore.

ajn878
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:6 months
Gender:Female
The Best!
9/12/2015

Customer review by JessSC

5.0 stars 9/12/2015 by JessSC
by JessSC

Out of all products for detangling hair or giving shine or smoothness and stopping frizz, this is the mother of them all!!! Never have I been able to find something that not only did one thing like I wanted but it did them all. Doesn't leave it greasy and smells great! I also use it on both of my daughters everyday. Dove had me at argan oil.. Love it and I hope and pray they never stop making it!

JessSC
South Carolina, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
It is a miracle worker!
8/5/2014

Customer review by Kalab

5.0 stars 8/5/2014 by Kalab
by Kalab

I swim almost every morning and my hair has suffered for it. I am mixed and I have very thick curly hair so the chlorine damage makes it doubly difficult to work with. I sprayed this product in my hair after my shower yesterday and my hair was instantly easier to comb through and it felt much healthier as well instead of having the dry brittle feeling that the chlorine would give it. I will definitely be stocking up on this product!

Kalab
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews