Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.6out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 | 69 reviews
5 stars
57
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
Sort by: 
1-20 of 66 reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews
Did not like it.
10/13/2012
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I used this product everyday and I have biracial hair and this product dried my hair out and it did not detangle it at all. I wouldn't recommend this product to people who have curly hair the alcohol is not good for it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
works better
4/21/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
 Top 250 contributer
I've been using Aussie hair insurance for many years, but I find I like this leave in much better. First of all, after using Aussie for so long, I had gotten really tired of the coconut smell...especially during winter. This Dove product has a light, pleasant smell. Secondly, it simply does a better job at taming my wild, frizzy, wavy hair. And, unlike Aussie, I can use it several times between shampoos (sometimes as many as three times per day) without my hair looking oily and weighed down. Overall, it is simply a better product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for my hair
2/27/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I found this at my local Walgreen's, but now they don't carry it anymore. I had to order it through Wal*mart. I will continue to order it because it's great for my hair.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
i. love. it.
4/16/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this a few days ago and i absolutely loved it! I was looking for an oil/serum for my hair to control the frizziness of it and i stumbled upon this one. i have naturally straight hair so this might have been an advantage to me, but when I use it I'm so amazed. With serums or oils that you usually pour or pump out of a container, my hands usually feel greasy and oily but with this, its so convenient that its in a spray bottle. it detangles so well! although i've never tried this after days of unwashed hair, it detangles pretty well. My hair usually gets tangled pretty easily but surprisingly, this actually prevents tangles! The scent is okay, not very fond of it though. i do highly recommend this and this is very cheap at local targets, or walmarts. for best use i recommend using this after the shower (while your hair is damp, NOT SOAKING WET) and once or twice through out the day.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it!
1/15/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
My hairdresser gave me a sample when I complained my hair looked and felt awfully dry. I was afraid it would be greasy but was pleasantly surprised. And the best part is it's under $4.00! What a win-win situation.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great product
8/16/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Love this stuff!!! Works quickly and really good and it even smells good.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The most glorious hair product!
7/15/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have extremely long, thick, coarse, and curly hair. I am constantly trying new things that promise conditioning, detangling, and moisture. I am a huge fan of everything Dove, so was excited to see this product dedicated to tangle defense. The first time I tried it, I was in HEAVEN. I seriously do not have to use ANYTHING else if I don't want to, and have manageable hair. No frizz, no crispy gel look, and my scalp has embraced it. Anything else I've tried with an oily make up has made my scalp break out. I am half way through this bottle, and will use it as long as it's available (and cry if it's ever discontinued). I have recommended this to every single one of my girl friends, as well as a makeup/hair group I'm in on FB. I am still just in shock on how I don't have to load up with gel, mousse, etc. to have manageable hair. This stuff is hair ambrosia!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good result for good price
2/20/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bhought it as I saw something new on a shelf in my usual store. from experience I like all Dove hair products, cauz they make them soft and shiny. Although this product I use in the end, when my hair are already dry, after aplying normal conditioner. I have blonde, very curly hair which are usualy hard to get really soft and shiny, and this product is giving it to me. And it have fantastic smell. After using it my hair are getting soft, shiny and the smell amazing. The spray bottle is also good solution, cauz it lasts for a really long time. I am using it almost every day, even when I don't decide to wash my hair I spray it a bit for that nice smell & shine. Thank you Dove - another product that I will use for longer time. Also had decide for other options of the same product :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
conditions and dtangles
11/27/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have long hair and use it as a antifriz and detangler while it's still wet. Light weight, not greasy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Overly Scented
11/25/2012
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have very long, dry hair (almost to my hips) and I require many sprays of this in my hair. I thought that, because the product is labeled as "oil detangler," that it would smooth my hair while also providing moisture. I was skeptical when reading the ingredients because the first few included silicones, alcohol, perfumes, and salt while the only two oils were towards the end of the list. I tried it, and it left my hair very shiny, but not very smoothed or sleek (moisturizing hair products make my hair straighter and less frizzy). Additionally, the perfumes left my hair smelling nauseatingly scented. I would use this as a finishing spray over my other oil-containing product, but just for the shine.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Leaves hair looking healthy!!
10/23/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I started using this product after bleaching my hair to restore some moisture and it was amazing!! I constantly get compliments on how healthy looking my hair is. The only bad experience I had is buying a bottle that appeared to have no oil in it. I used the bottle for a week and had horrible results plus it smelled badly. I always buy multiple bottles at a time so I compared it to another bottle and it was obviously different! No oil/water separation, no cloudiness when shaken (to show blending of oil/water). I would definitely suggest looking for the oil/water separation to know you didn't get a defective unit, otherwise you might have bad results when really if mixed properly is wonderful!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not a detangler
11/13/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product does not detangle like it claims. I have long hair that reaches halfway down my back. I've used this product every day after showering, and after applying several spritzes, I still have to yank at my tangles. At best, this product should be called a finishing spray because that's exactly what it feels and smells like. After a little over a week, I've gone through one third of the bottle. Also, I'm disappointed that this product contains parabens, a sulfate, alcohol and sodium chloride. All of these ingredients are no-no's for color-treated hair, and have been proven to make hair more dry. The only upside to this product is that it does deliver some shine.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Morning argument saver!
7/25/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have an 8 1/2 year old daughter that has blond, very fine long hair. We argue every morning, afternoon and night about her hair. She refuses to brush it and screams when I try. I have bought so many products over the past year and i would have spent hundreds of dollars to save the arguements. I have thought about just cutting it all off, then I found this product the other day....she loves it! She said it was the best spray she has ever used! It actually works and it doesn't hurt to brush her hair. The cherry on the cake was she came out of her room this morning and her hair was already brushed!! Thank you Dove for a wonderful product!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect to protect against hot iron drying damage!!! And A+ detangler!
8/10/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Oh, my gosh! Please, never, EVER quit making this product! I LOVE IT! My hair's condition has improved 100% from using this product! Plus, it gives the added super bonus of being the best detangler I have ever used. When I spray some on the ends of my hair before using my hot iron curling iron, it completely protects it from drying out. EVERYBODY needs to know about this fantastic product--it is amazing! Please do not just promote this as a detangler (although it is the BEST ever), it is the best for protecting your hair from curling irons I have EVER used!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Detangles crazy curls without ANY greasy residue
9/17/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have two daughters that inherited their beautiful curly hair from their dad, and I have spent crazy amounts trying to find products that tame their hair. Many tears have been shed trying to untangle, brush or style hair. We tried this product on a whim, and I'm actually logging in to review it as GREAT because we're all afraid they'll stop making it. Tangles disappear, hair feels great and looks amazing. Curls still have shape but are moisturized without the grease of many shine enhancing oils. Try it if you can find it; we've stock piled it
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Amazing Product!!!!
6/4/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have very long hair (down to my hips) with super fine strands, and LOTS of them. My hair has always tangled super easily, and been very difficult to untangle. I was a little reluctant to try this at first because of oil and I already have oily hair, but if anything, its helped cut down on the natural oils produced. Maybe my hair isn't feeling so dry anymore? Anyways, works wonders, makes my hair super easy to detangle after showering and helps keep tangles out the rest of the day.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Saved My Hair
3/28/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
awesome product with surprisingly good results considering i have not had much success with their other products..i thought wow my hair is shiny and healthy looking and after two days..my hair what starting to feel less and dry and started to feel softer. This product helped me the most because my mom was starting to break like crazy and this spray gave my hair some strength back. I definitely love seeing way less hair in my brush. I hope that they never discontinue this product. :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It is a miracle worker!
8/5/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I swim almost every morning and my hair has suffered for it. I am mixed and I have very thick curly hair so the chlorine damage makes it doubly difficult to work with. I sprayed this product in my hair after my shower yesterday and my hair was instantly easier to comb through and it felt much healthier as well instead of having the dry brittle feeling that the chlorine would give it. I will definitely be stocking up on this product!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent, but hard to find!
1/3/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I fell in love with the spray from day one. I have straight, thin, easily tangled hair below my shoulders. After showering I spray and go. I can even run my fingers through my hair and skip the brush, and my hair is super soft and shining. My 8 year old daughter has thick, shoulder length hair that is always a battle to brush. I can spray her hair and avoid all the tears! My only complaint is that I can't find it in my area anymore.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Exactly what I needed!!!
4/26/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I typically buy "It's a 10" Leave-In Conditioner for my wavy hair and Suave Detangler for my toddler's crazy curly hair. I was looking for something cheaper than "It's a 10" that I could use on both of our hair. This stuff is awesome! I like that it is in a spray form that mists all over the hair so my hands do not get messy. Also my daughter doesn't run away from me when I spray her hair now. Added bonus---it smells amazing!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641738, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-