Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 61 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

61 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

61 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
49
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 54 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews
Great little reader - love it!
8/30/2013

Customer review by Jeanious

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by Jeanious
by Jeanious
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love my Nook and the reading light is a welcome bonus. The battery life is rated at up to 2 months and so far its living up to it's promise. It's just the right size to hold, lightweight and with just a light touch of my finger, it turns the pages or takes me to the dictionary, notes and other options. I bought the original Nook several years ago and it was heavy and the silly screen at the bottom never worked. They've made the new Nook intuitive and so easy to use. I download epub books from my library for most of my reading. I considered the Kindle, but Amazon has it set up so the library has to send the book to them first then they send it to you. Absolute nonsense. It's just a gimmick to keep track of what you read. The epub format opens up the wide range of ebooks available for free or nominal charges on the internet. I highly recommend it. I bought mine first then purchased this for my husband. He loves it too.

Was this review helpful? (48) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jeanious
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic eReader!
8/18/2012

Customer review by ZIMMAN

5.0 stars 8/18/2012 by ZIMMAN
by ZIMMAN

The NOOK 6" Simple Touch eReader with GlowLight is great for reading. The glowlight alows me to read at any time of the day or night. Some books on nook are more expensive then on kindle, but not much difference overall. I love that the nook includes an sd slot for added storage. Great for traveling, built in wifi. Very easy to set up wifi function. The simple touch also has page turn buttons on both side as well as a menu button. You have a choice to touch screen or use page turn buttons to turn the pages. If you touch a word on screen and hold for 2 seconds a menu will pop up and you can look up the word, highlight and make notes. You can touch screen towards bottom of page for 2 seconds and glowlight will come on. The glow light has adjustable brightness also. Very easy to look up books with several categories to chose from. Overall a great Ereader if you enjoy a lot of reading.

Was this review helpful? (145) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ZIMMAN
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Unexpectedly Nice Reader
8/17/2013

Customer review by Trinzia

5.0 stars 8/17/2013 by Trinzia
by Trinzia

I like eReaders because, after a long day working on the computer, I don't want to read on a tablet that looks like one too. Compared to tablets, eReader pages turn faster, the screen doesn't have the shiny reflection, and generally the battery lasts much longer. Altogether more soothing. All of the e-Ink readers have the same greyish background, not true white. This Nook overcomes that with a 'glowlight' that turns the background to true white when turned about on to about 15%. It's really nice; the Glowlight doesn't make it feel like a computer. The default font is very nice and highly legible. With a screen only slightly larger than my Sony eReader, I can view about twice as many words at one time. This is because the difference between medium and large font on the Sony is too great #I need glasses, I'm sure#, so on the Sony reader I have to change pages about twice as often. The Sony has better battery life - I was amazed by how long a charge lasted. However, the Nook's battery lasted me about 20 hours, and it fits better in my hands, is extremely lightweight, and the reading area looks terrific. I also love the rubber grip around the outside - the Nook doesn't slide out of my hands like the tablets or the Sony do. I'm kind of glad now that my dog broke my Sony, so I got to try this! Liked my Sony, but this is neat.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Trinzia
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOVE my Nook!
12/20/2012

Customer review by tas522000

5.0 stars 12/20/2012 by tas522000
by tas522000
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

So easy to set up and use! Our power went out one night and I was able to keep reading the the GloLight! I went to o.co and got a nice (but inexpensive) cover so the front wouldn't get scratched (under $10) and found www.bookbub.com which sends out daily free/cheap books to get. I think I've got 50 books on already and spent a grand total of $12.00!! AND Consumer Reports recommends the Nook, too! Came fast and VERY well packed from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tas522000
Bay Area, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A great improvement over my old Nook!
7/19/2013

Customer review by momkmouse

5.0 stars 7/19/2013 by momkmouse
by momkmouse

I love this Nook, especially the GlowLight. At last I can read in bed without disturbing my husband. The battery seems to last a long time and I have no difficulty downloading books from the library. We are campers and it sure saves a lot of room not having to carry a box full of paperbacks for our summer trip.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momkmouse
Homosassa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My Wifes Favorite Gift
1/15/2016

Customer review by psabbie

5.0 stars 1/15/2016 by psabbie
by psabbie

She loves it, I can watch t,v, I the dark and she can she can still read her books!!! Brilliant They need to make a 8 or 10 in one she's getting up there and it would make it easier for her to see, but she does love it!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
psabbie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great purchase
10/25/2013

Customer review by FLChemProf

5.0 stars 10/25/2013 by FLChemProf
by FLChemProf
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this Nook! The price was excellent, and it is easy to use. I bought it primarily for reading at night, and the GlowLight works great for that, but it is also a good screen for day time reading. No complaints whatsoever! Highly recommend if you don't want to spend a fortune on an e-reader, particularly if you will be reading at night.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FLChemProf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great gift idea!!
11/23/2013

Customer review by Puggii

5.0 stars 11/23/2013 by Puggii
by Puggii
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am pleasantly surprised at how much I am reading again! I LOVE my Nook! It is so convenient for reading at night! I didn't think I would like it as much as I do! It is easy on the eyes. It makes a perfect gift for someone who "has everything" and you don't know what to get them! It is affordable and a gift that keeps on giving! How great is that...to give someone the gift of books!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Puggii
LaPlace, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/16/2013

Customer review by rockriverbum

5.0 stars 9/16/2013 by rockriverbum
by rockriverbum
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have been using the simple touch for about a year so when the time came to replace my wife's reader it was an easy chose. she reads a lot at night so went with the glowlight. she says it works well for reading in the dark

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rockriverbum
Moline,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Nook 6'' Simple Touch eReader with GlowLight
11/19/2012

Customer review by PrincessRunningDeer

5.0 stars 11/19/2012 by PrincessRunningDeer
by PrincessRunningDeer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased the eReader for my granddaughter and she is very pleased with her gift. The Nook 6'' Simple Touch eReader with GlowLight is exactly what she wanted and expected.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PrincessRunningDeer
Lithonia, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bought as a gift for college student
10/9/2012

Customer review by Shelly438

4.0 stars 10/9/2012 by Shelly438
by Shelly438

Bought as a gift for a college student, so far no complaints says it is wonderful

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shelly438
Mount Bethel, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
every thing from a
7/28/2013

Customer review by shoppersgal

5.0 stars 7/28/2013 by shoppersgal
by shoppersgal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

great products, all that I have bought from walmart is super good products.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shoppersgal
frederick,MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/21/2013

Customer review by Grandma1994

5.0 stars 9/21/2013 by Grandma1994
by Grandma1994
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this for my adult daughter for reading. She is able to read clearly on a sunny day outside or in bed at night. Wonderful item!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grandma1994
Granite City, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Reader
1/14/2014

Customer review by Camper00

5.0 stars 1/14/2014 by Camper00
by Camper00
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have had our 2 Nooks for about a month. I am very happy with the reader. It took a little time to figure out how to use it but not too frustrating. I am reasonably electronics literate but we are full time rvers so do not always have wifi available. We do use an aircard for internet access & once we figured out the process of downloading the books to the computer then transferring to the Nook we were all set. Went to the library & found out how to borrow their ebooks & we are having a ball. This reader is very basic but more than meets our needs to get books to read while we are on the road fulltime without the hassle of finding places to exchange books.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Camper00
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nook for my grandson's birthday
9/8/2013

Customer review by GordonCabin

5.0 stars 9/8/2013 by GordonCabin
by GordonCabin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a Nook myself and my grandson is an avid reader so thought he would enjoy one too. I got a good price at Walmart for the Nook and my grandson loves the Nook!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GordonCabin
Stillwater, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Battery doesnt hold a charge.
1/12/2013

Customer review by VEGASAJ

1.0 stars 1/12/2013 by VEGASAJ
by VEGASAJ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have had this for a couple of weeks. Hardly ever use the light and only do light reading...it constantly has a dead battery. Horrible...wish I never bought it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VEGASAJ
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Rediculous B&N legal and registering criteria
12/29/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/29/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

B&N wants a blank check for their product. Be prepared for credit card, social security number requirements even to get a free book. Must be in a Wifi area to use it, otherwise worthless. Took it back after wasting four days full of agravation.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
denver, pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little e-reader
1/9/2014

Customer review by Stephbunny

5.0 stars 1/9/2014 by Stephbunny
by Stephbunny
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you're like me and don't want to lug your laptop around everywhere, this little e-reader is for you. I like how small and light it is. I just wanted a simple reader to read books while riding the bus or waiting around. My new Nook is great for that. Buy a case to protect it in the event it gets dropped. (That's not an IF, it's a WHEN.) The Glowlight is great for reading in bed. The page turning buttons are pretty sensitive so be careful how you hold the Nook while reading, In two words: Love It!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stephbunny
Oroville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good inexpensive eReader
12/23/2013

Customer review by hermanm9

5.0 stars 12/23/2013 by hermanm9
by hermanm9
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I traded my iPad which was a great eReader for a Surface Tablet that is not a good eReader. I wanted something that didn't cost much and I would use for only reading book. I bought this Nook and I am very pleased with the product. It does a great job for what I wanted. If you just want to read books and don't want a tablet this id the way to go.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hermanm9
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it, but...
12/29/2013

Customer review by Dougncork

4.0 stars 12/29/2013 by Dougncork
by Dougncork

I've had my Nook for about 8 months and love it. The only problem is that recently the battery isn't holding a charge for more than about 2 hours. When I checked with B&N, they told me I had to take the Nook to a dealer to get the battery changed...and apparently no dealer in my county handles that.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dougncork
Anaheim Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews