Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 86 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

86 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

86 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
36
4 stars
14
3 stars
8
2 stars
9
1 stars
19
1-20 of 66 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews
Awesome surround sound!
8/21/2012

Customer review by jdog138

5.0 stars 8/21/2012 by jdog138
by jdog138

I don't do a lot of reviews but read a bunch so I figured I would recommend something when I found acceptable....this is MUCH more! The sound is equivalent of a much higher end system. We have a very large room and while I am sure we could have spent $1000 for it to sound better, going from nothing to this was a HUGE improvement. The only drawback I would note is that there is a slight delay on the TV vs what is put out on the speakers if you are watching live TV. From what I read this is caused by the high end sound interpreters within our LCD HDTV. This is solved by simply muting the TV sound while only having the home theater sound on. Also, the wifi aspect is extremely nice so you can get to the internet on your TV and watch netflix/hulu, etc. Quality of blue ray is perfect

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jdog138
Phoenix
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Blu-ray home theater system at a good price
7/22/2012

Customer review by Drew89

4.0 stars 7/22/2012 by Drew89
by Drew89

Most blu-Ray players come seperately without speakers to link to the receiver and those tend to mess up your home theater systems you already have. This one however, comes with a total of 6 Speakers, including a subwoofer. It was hard to figure out how to use it when there wasn't a manual that came with it. I had to look it up online and now my whole room shakes and gets really loud. It actually is a lot better then my previous Home Theater System that I put together/mix and matching with speakers. This unit has color coated plug in's as well on the revicer to easily match up where they are suposed to be pluged in at as well as labeled. For a blu-ray system this is really neat. If you don't have one yet look into blu-ray home theater systems for your home. The speakers may be smaller then your already home theater system but I doubt the power you get from your already home theater system can match the power the blu-ray home theater system can do. I know my new one works a lot better then my old one, and now I don't need to buy a PS3 just to have blu-ray. I believe I saved up to about $200 on this purchase. The only problem I had was not having a manual for this unit, I was forced to look on the internet for the manual. If you buy any USED/REFURBISHED units and you don't get a manual, don't ship it back just type the whole name of your unit like Phillips HTS3106/F7 Blu-Ray home theater system or Phillips blu-Ray Home theater system and look up your manual, Save it to your computer hard drive or thumb drive. It will save you a massive headake. I know this because thats what I was going to do because I couldnt figure out how to use my unit to its fulliest and now I do. Well I hope this Review helps those that bought Refurbished units and that they maybe used but you got to think its a lot cheaper then buying it straight up brand new.

Was this review helpful? (61) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Drew89
Banning, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
10/19/2012

Customer review by THEGREENHOUSE

5.0 stars 10/19/2012 by THEGREENHOUSE
by THEGREENHOUSE

for 1000 watts (rms) true wattage i got this thurday it has wifi or direct connect to a eithernet wire you have to set up the net services on this unit then your netflix you have to get the code from the player after going into netflic if you are a subscribber theres a code that shows up leave it on the site and go to your computer or laptop or your internet wireless device then go to the vudu then it will say new customer and brouse push ok on the first one that comes on then it will ask you if you are a customer or a new customer click the customer then enter your email address then enter your password this system does have good sounds for a refurbished and i inspected it at walmart when it came in i did not see any damage to the unit or speakers it is a heavy made unit not like those cheaply made units like rca, coby i will recomend this to several mvtransit drivers that i know it has blu-ray today inm heading back in town to get a movie even though it can play standard dvd's to IMPORTANT UPGRADE IT THE SECOND YOU GET THE NET ACTIVE?

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
THEGREENHOUSE
barstow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
actually exceeded my expectations
11/22/2012

Customer review by ChrisJ

5.0 stars 11/22/2012 by ChrisJ
by ChrisJ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this on a budget, needing a system for my wife and I, as well as my kids. it was a refurbished system for $99. not bad. it played Blu-ray and is backwards compatible to play your DVD's of the past. i would reccomend once the system arrives, then start buying movies in blu-ray. This way, you get up with the times with blu-ray yet, you can get by with playing DVD's saving a ton of cash. the only downfall(Con) about this system is the internet system in this. For some reason, it didn't work for me too well, however I only messed with it for 10 minutes or less. you can update the firmware for this system through the internet, I highly suggest connecting it to a wired internet connection for this feature. You can play netflix on it but it kind of defeats the purpose since the system is meant to play movies UNLESS you love movies so much and don't have a large library of DVD's or bluray movies. Setup is a cinch as each speaker is color coded for it's channel and clearly marked on the back where you plug them in. I want to implore all who read this to make sure you connect and use ALL speakers involved. in order to hear the verbal aspect(actors lines) you MUST have the middle channel hooked up or you will NOT hear any movie speech. The surround channels have exceptionally long wires to stretch long distances to get a full fledged surround sound. my setup is in an apartment/condo and it was rather easy to set this up but if you own a large home, I'd suggest you procure some stands to utilize the surround speakers, my ceiling is very low as apartments go so distance isn't an issue. But if you're like me, on a budget, don't want to spend a truckload on a system, yet have an easy to setup and good sounding system, this theater system is for you. Yeah, I could have gone with an expensive bose system that is wireless but I just couldn't justify a bose system on a small limited budget. Also, as refurbished goes, some systems will be hit or miss depending on how the prior owner treated the system so that should also be a factor. I also bought the system protection through walmart so if something goes wrong, I can keep the system fixed and running within reason.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChrisJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Only ONE HDMI output
8/2/2012

Customer review by MiniMia939

1.0 stars 8/2/2012 by MiniMia939
by MiniMia939

Basically this is a glorified Blu Ray player with surround sound. This WILL NOT work as a regular receiver would, where you can hook up multiple devices. There is only ONE HMDI output, my television does not have an optical link so that is the only way to connect this. By doing that then the only device that will play through the speakers would be this Blu Ray player. This is ridiculously poor design on Phillips part, everything uses HDMI connectors so why in the world would you only put ONE. Also the speaker wires are super short, apparently people watch TV in closets with surround sound or something. Anyway if you were to lengthen them, which anyone would have to, you would have to chop off and splice the wires to lengthen, then also reconnect to their plastic connector for the back of the player.

Was this review helpful? (20) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MiniMia939
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
9/9/2012

Customer review by Dodgers2012

5.0 stars 9/9/2012 by Dodgers2012
by Dodgers2012

great sound, very easy to connect, never had an issue with the WiFi dropping out. Enough speakers to really make you feel like you are in the movie. Great investment.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dodgers2012
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
7/11/2012

Customer review by AnimalAL

5.0 stars 7/11/2012 by AnimalAL
by AnimalAL

Great Sound! Great Price ! just wish it had a better media Hub. Watch movis every night.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AnimalAL
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Excellent Quality Blue ray Player
11/4/2012

Customer review by Crowncaster

5.0 stars 11/4/2012 by Crowncaster
by Crowncaster
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was a refurbished unit and I was a little skeptical about buying it but the price was right. I have been using it for 2 weeks & so far it's performed magnificently.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Crowncaster
Mooresville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/24/2012

Customer review by eatonmanor

5.0 stars 7/24/2012 by eatonmanor
by eatonmanor

For some reason I have always enjoyed Philips products,they Last they are not junk .

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eatonmanor
wheatridge,colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome!
8/9/2012

Customer review by Finsaction

4.0 stars 8/9/2012 by Finsaction
by Finsaction

Just finished watching a Blu-Ray movie on this Home Theater System. I thought the plane crashed in my living room! I jumped two feet off the couch! Picture is awesome. What detail!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Finsaction
Sioux Falls, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
outstanding for $99
11/25/2012

Customer review by mgdog

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by mgdog
by mgdog

I buy Bang-for-my-buck. I made a huge mistake buying the RCA DVD home theater a few years ago for $99. What a horrible sounding, 'blippy' machine. I was worried about spending $99 on this system. Well, I was blown away by the sound and the overall setup. The flaws: no YouTube and the rest of the wifi stuff is limited (at least as far as I can tell) One or two songs I've listened two have some intense 'deep' drums that vibrate the subwoofer. However, it is barely noticeable and only on those songs. We just watched Brave and Battleship and it performed flawlessly. I am very impressed with this system for only $99. If you are not a 'sound snob' but you do appreciate quality at a good price, then this is the system for you! I also bought a system for my mom.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mgdog
North Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
piece of expencive junk
10/15/2012

Customer review by besen

1.0 stars 10/15/2012 by besen
by besen

I bought this thinking great blu ray with surround sound and wi fi to boot great deal the dvd player works great but when ever it starts a movie it makes a real loud squelching sound even if the volume is turned down . I have had the wi fi working for about 2 months now and suddenly it wont connect either wirelessly or hard wired it keeps saying network error I am no expert in this area but if it wont detect the network either way the machine is messed up and fantastic it waits till the limited warenty is up all I can say is DONT BUY THIS PRODUCT unless you have money to burn !!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
besen
elmore Mn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Exceptional
11/10/2012

Customer review by Engineeringchemicals

5.0 stars 11/10/2012 by Engineeringchemicals
by Engineeringchemicals

The sound that comes from the speakers is actually surprisingly good. I bought this system mainly for the surround sound so the bluray and wifi are a bonus and are neglected for this review. So far the system has had no problems and it plays just as well as the day I received it. My friend recently bought a 300W RCA surround system and there was a clear difference. My speakers could handle much louder sounds without cracking. I highly recommend, unless you plan to play quite music or movies, getting a system that runs at a minimum of 1000W. I have no regrets about buying this for the price of only $130, which was about the price when I bought it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Engineeringchemicals
Corvallis, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not what I expected
12/9/2012

Customer review by 1blackfridaylover

2.0 stars 12/9/2012 by 1blackfridaylover
by 1blackfridaylover
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought refurbished System, so I had bit less expectation from the product. But When I received the product, I found that atleast the manual was missing. I still tried to put pieces together and took me long time to make that work without manual. I found that if I play DVD, then all speakers would work (Rear speakers didn't work as they should be - They were giving very light background sound which was not clear enough). When I played any show on TV, only front two speakers would go off. Others wouldn't do anything. I returned product thinking it would be better to add some more money and get the better system.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1blackfridaylover
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product for being refurbished
11/19/2012

Customer review by NorthernMNgirl

5.0 stars 11/19/2012 by NorthernMNgirl
by NorthernMNgirl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

OMG!!!! I love this home system. We all felt like we were at the movies. The speakers are wonderful.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NorthernMNgirl
Virginia, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Nice and Easy to Set Up
11/29/2012

Customer review by HappyCamper100000

5.0 stars 11/29/2012 by HappyCamper100000
by HappyCamper100000
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This a good Home Theater System for those that can not aford the High End Brands, Great sound !

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyCamper100000
Aliso Viejo Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product for starter
11/26/2011

Customer review by MNRao

4.0 stars 11/26/2011 by MNRao
by MNRao

This unit packs with all the starter Blu-Ray Home Theater system. It is a 5.1 system with rich sound (not an Earth shattering sound). Built-in wireless connectivity (and wired), Vudu Apps, Netflix access, SD card, MP3 Line input and HDMI out are outstanding features of this unit. However, it only has one analog audio input and one digital audio input and no HDMI input or component input. If you are having multiple devices, you may need to tweak your connections to cope up with this. I connected all the devices to TV and driving this unit through TV's audio out. With TV setup to deliver audio through the audio out (instead of TV speakers), I could get the sound through this unit in digital.

MNRao
Mechanicsburg, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
great features if the core was better.
1/20/2012

Customer review by joesmoe

1.0 stars 1/20/2012 by joesmoe
by joesmoe

This product had the best feature list for the price range. It has an sd slot, web apps, netflix, is bluray and boast 1000W. That sounded great. Then I got it home. Easy to install; great. The sound wasn't superpowerful until I figrured out the eq. Then it sounded pretty good, but not 1000W good. The web apps were not great. No radio app. I thought it would have at least have all the VUDU apps but it doesn't. The SD slot plays mp3s but the interface is lacking. It has limited folder browsing and no shuffle/playlist options. Last is I have to turn it off and back on during the movies to fix audio lag. It is also awful during video games to have lag. Especially music game.

joesmoe
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
So far So Good
1/19/2012

Customer review by teawah

4.0 stars 1/19/2012 by teawah
by teawah

I purchased this unit at Walmart after trying three other brands, none of which worked, I got this one and so far it has worked. I was replacing a Philips so I was happy to get another one. The last one lasted 6 yrs so if this one lasts that long I will be happy. One thing I don't like is the fact that the speakers have the red/black wires and they are loud and bulky. Also, they are too short. You need to have a really small living room to make them work. I would suggest longer speaker wire and the old color that fades into the background. Other than the above, the Philips is definitely my choice of brands.

teawah
Payette, ID 83661, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
10/26/2012

Customer review by Reaper2

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Reaper2
by Reaper2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Well worth the money, and delivery only took a few days .

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Reaper2
Columbus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews