Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 180 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

180 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

180 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
104
4 stars
37
3 stars
8
2 stars
13
1 stars
18
1-20 of 169 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 169 total reviews
1-20 of 169 reviews
7/5/2012

Customer review by thankGod4coffee

5.0 stars 7/5/2012 by thankGod4coffee
by thankGod4coffee

Purchaser: 4-cup a day coffee drinker (3 in morn, 1 in afternoon) adding lots of cream, spouse proclaimed "coffee snob", prefer light/medium roasts brewed robust/bold. I looked for 2 months and purchased/returned 3 other coffee pots. This Melitta was the ONLY one that did the following: made great tasting coffee (cone filter helped!), brewed hot, had a carafe that NEVER dribbled or spilled, had a thermal carafe, and was simple to fill/prepare. Cuisinart, bunn, mr. coffee were SADLY LACKING. The mr. coffee had such a strong plastic odor that it rolled your stomach to smell it. This MElitta did have a bit of that but it went completely away after running thru 5 pots of water (mr coffee was worse after 4). This Melitta has, hands down, the best carafe of all that i looked at. After over 30 pots of coffee, we have not had one single dribble of coffee! I do have to "pre-heat" carafe with hot water because i tend to drink my cups of coffee over a 2-hour period and the last cup will be "just warm" if i do not pre-heat. Oh, the "#of cup" display on side of machine only shows cups 6 on up. I just use a measuring cup anyway since i'm using 8 oz "cups" versus the coffee industry's 5-6 oz.

Was this review helpful? (130) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thankGod4coffee
indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice thermal coffee pot
8/18/2012

Customer review by BloodRN

4.0 stars 8/18/2012 by BloodRN
by BloodRN

I was looking for a coffee maker (again). All my coffe pots tend to only last a couple of years. Just had a Krupps, Bunn, and Cuisinart. I love a thermal pot and this one was stylish. My coffee pots are used heavily/daily. I have had this pot for about 2 months, really like it. Very easy to clean, easy to pour, no dripping after you stop pouring. The only thing that I dont care about is that the illumination on the front of the pot is very bright at night-almost like a night light. I have used the automatic feature and it works great. All in all, I would recomment this item.

Was this review helpful? (70) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BloodRN
Idaho Falls
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5 Star coffee maker!
6/26/2013

Customer review by ksmto2

5.0 stars 6/26/2013 by ksmto2
by ksmto2

I wanted to write a review to tell anyone that is curious about this coffee maker to buy it now before they stop making it! It is excellent. For years i had a krups coffee maker and thought it made good coffee but this Melitta just knocks it out of the park. I love my new coffee maker! It's so quiet, super easy to use, makes awesome, great tasting, hot coffee, and has a pour spout that doesn't dribble coffee all over the place. I also love that as soon as it's done brewing, the machine turns itself off automatically. One extra step i don't have to think about. Something that was new to me was the stainless steel carafe. I've never used one before and was nervous that i wouldn't like it. But i can tell you that i love it and can tell a huge difference from a typical glass carafe. This one is a special sealed thermal carafe that keeps the coffee hot from within. The machine brews the coffee and it goes inside the thermal. It seals it inside to keep it fresh and hot. No hot plate means you can come back for another cup of coffee later and not get that old burned coffee taste. This morning i made coffee at 8am, came back for another cup at almost 1 in the afternoon and was shocked to find steaming hot coffee waiting for me that tasted fresh like i just made it!! So cool. This company has just got themselves a new customer! Thanks for making a quality product that actually does what it's supposed to do.

Was this review helpful? (84) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ksmto2
Kansas city, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2/22/2013

Customer review by MACnCOOK

5.0 stars 2/22/2013 by MACnCOOK
by MACnCOOK

Had a Melitta for a lot of years. I looked at and read reviews on other coffee makers and did not like what I saw. I am sticking with Melitta. It is well made and you get a great cup of coffee.

Was this review helpful? (32) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MACnCOOK
The Villages
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointing
2/5/2014

Customer review by Mountainoady

1.0 stars 2/5/2014 by Mountainoady
by Mountainoady

This product was rated highly on nearly every website I checked. We've had problems with coffee makers and I decided to order this one online, something I rarely do. First of all, it makes good coffee. It was hot and tasted good. I was encouraged. Too bad it quit working after two weeks! One morning the buttons just simply stopped working. The clock lit up, but none of the buttons worked. Not one. I tried unplugging it and plugging it in again....no luck. Tried calling Melitta, but no luck there either. I would not recommend this product

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mountainoady
Barrington, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/30/2013

Customer review by KizBean

4.0 stars 8/30/2013 by KizBean
by KizBean

I bought this model because of the design and the reviews. As it turned out, I missed the glass carafe. I like seeing how much coffee is left in the pot. Also, it did not keep the coffee warm. I tried using hot water to "prime" the carafe first and then dumping out the water, which helped, but I do not want to do that every morning. The coffee tasted fine. I use de-caf Melitta. It was simple to program. I ended up returning it, thinking would get the same thing with the glass carafe. After reading the reviews about how fragile the glass is, I decided against getting it. Melitta customer service was wonderful. I spoke to someone about the glass problem. They were very helpful, but Melitta has no immediate plans to address the glass breakage problem. I ended up getting the Krups which replaces my last Krups. One reason is that it is solid black without all the bells and whistles showing. It is sleek and discreet. I prefer that in a design element.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KizBean
Phila. PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Except for that beacon of a light...
11/16/2012

Customer review by Coffeeman51

4.0 stars 11/16/2012 by Coffeeman51
by Coffeeman51

Our new Melitta thermal coffee maker was a good value and makes very good piping hot coffee! The only problem is that the clock light resembles a lighthouse beacon that really lights up the kitchen with an eerie glow. Even so I would reccomend it.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Coffeeman51
Fort Bragg Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Coffee Maker
12/13/2013

Customer review by MavLs

5.0 stars 12/13/2013 by MavLs
by MavLs

This coffee maker is exactly what I was looking for. Makes great coffee, and the metal carafe keeps the coffee hot long after the brew is finished. I like the fact that there is no warmer that cooks the coffee long after the coffee has been brewed. Love it.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MavLs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/
10/10/2013

Customer review by shatatl

4.0 stars 10/10/2013 by shatatl
by shatatl

It serves the purpose that I purchased it for. No glass decanter to break. The coffee maker is attractive and easy to use. The blue light on the time/control panel is BRIGHT. If you want to make a full pot and drink it for several hours, this maker is not for you. Coffee temp. is warm for 1.5 hours only. When you place the filter in the holder, push in on the sides to secure it. DO NOT push it down where the drip valve is. It will leak all over the counter. I'm not a coffee connoisseur but to me it makes delicious, flavorful coffee that is not burned or oily. You just have to drink it up quickly. Enjoy!!!!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shatatl
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No Way!
2/20/2014

Customer review by CeeJv

1.0 stars 2/20/2014 by CeeJv
by CeeJv

I bought this coffee maker because of the design. It made great coffee but the plate where the thermal pot rest began to peel after two weeks of using the machine. I called Melitta and was directed to Hamilton Beach the company who makes the coffer maker for Melitta. The service rep told me to ship the coffer maker to them the cost of shipping was $15.00 and they would send a new machine to me. I asked if I would be refunded shipping charges for a defective machine and was told no. Then she got very short with me and after talking to her manger told me they would a one time favor I had to cut the cord and send a picture and a new machine would be sent. I asked for these directions be sent to me in an email and I would do it. She said NO I already told you what to do. I returned the Melitta coffee maker back to a Walmart store.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CeeJv
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best coffee maker on the market
7/22/2014

Customer review by coffeelover14

5.0 stars 7/22/2014 by coffeelover14
by coffeelover14

We purchased this coffee maker about a month ago. We looked all over for a cone shaped filter maker, for some reason they are now harder to find. This machine makes the best cup of coffee you've ever had! The carafe keeps the coffee nice and hot, and will not burn the coffee. This is the best coffee maker we've ever bought. Walmart had the best price, and shipped it out right away.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coffeelover14
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very good product, cone filter
9/4/2014

Customer review by haystack68

4.0 stars 9/4/2014 by haystack68
by haystack68

You can get this model with a glass or stainless steel insulated carafe. I got the option of the stainless steel carafe. The design of the base unit actually differs depending on carafe type. The heating plate that belongs to the coffee maker that comes with the stainless carafe does not heat up, as the insulated carafe keeps the heat in. It does a good job at keeping the coffee hot. Not being able to see your coffee level and brew strength through the carafe takes a little getting used to , but I like the pros offered by this model. The carafe won't break, electronics are above the carafe so as to be undamaged by spills / overflow, it takes a cone filter, which I found surprisingly difficult to find once I actually set out looking for one. The It got very good reviews compared to the other models that matched my target criteria. Cost is reasonable for the quality you get at $65 or so bucks at Wal Mart.com. I would recommend it and would buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
haystack68
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Coffee maker
3/14/2013

Customer review by monarch33

5.0 stars 3/14/2013 by monarch33
by monarch33

Quiet operation. Nice carafe that's easy to pour and doesn't drip. Makes good tasting coffee and like that you can set the brew type. I like the blue light on the pot at night; it helps me see in the kitchen. Overall, happy with purchase so far.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
monarch33
Landrum, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great coffee maker, ..... don't hesitate, get it!
8/30/2013

Customer review by xtremblond

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by xtremblond
by xtremblond

Thermal is the way to go, if you love your coffee! This coffee maker is excellent! Keeps coffee hot for hours, I am a bit surprised. I was waiting for a "price cut", but I am glad I didn't wait any longer, it might have been discontinued. Coffee tastes awesome from this machine. The ONLY thing I don't like is the size, it's big and tall (and not the most attractive thing in your kitchen). Hope you have enough counter space and height, because this honker takes up some room! I feel like they could have made it smaller and more streamlined in size, but I'm just lovin' the coffee. Overall, I'm not complaining, it's a small price to pay for a delicious cup of Joe.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xtremblond
Sioux Falls, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Had to return
7/27/2012

Customer review by bossybossy

2.0 stars 7/27/2012 by bossybossy
by bossybossy

In my opinion, coffee should be about 195 degrees, not 165 degrees.

Was this review helpful? (16) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bossybossy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Fabulous!
6/14/2013

Customer review by SpendtotheEnd

5.0 stars 6/14/2013 by SpendtotheEnd
by SpendtotheEnd

This coffee maker FAR surpassed my expectations. First of all, it is built with high-quality materials and is very sturdy and substantial. In fact, it looks, and feels, like a professional-grade coffee maker. Before buying it, I had read reviews across the web complaining that the coffee wasn't hot enough, the carafe didn't retain the heat, or that the pot leaked, etc. I can attest that I have had NONE of those issues. The coffee brews VERY hot - so hot that you can burn yourself if you're not careful, and the thermal carafe retains the heat extraordinarily well. Before brewing, I pre-treat the carafe with boiling water and let it sit for at least 10 minutes. Then I decant the water, place it in the coffee maker, and brew. Please note that the hotplate DOES get hot....it is a real hotplate that turns on when the coffee maker is on. I don't know if the manufacturer added this feature on newer editions, as I recall some reviewers indicating that their hotplates did NOT turn on. So it's possible this is a newer feature...not certain. Either way, the coffee is smoking hot and the carafe #pre-treated with boiling water# keeps the coffee hot for several hours. I take the carafe off of the hotplate when the brewing cycle is done so that the coffee doesn't burn. There are also 3 brew strength settings for your coffee: regular, bold, and robust. The water brews at different rates to produce the different strengths. The "robust" setting makes a very strong and flavorful cup of coffee. I am also a fan of the "bold" setting. This coffee maker uses a cone filter #4. In the box, they give you a few Melitta filters to start you off. No, there is no permanent filter included; that you would have to purchase separately. Keep in mind that the thermal carafe has some heft to it...it is somewhat heavy to lift when it's full. So if you have wrist or hand problems, this is something you may want to consider. The unit is also very large and tall, so you need some vertical space on your counter. Bottom line, this is simply a great coffee maker. I'd buy it again at any price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SpendtotheEnd
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 50 contributor
Good coffee maker!
11/12/2013

Customer review by SoCalKathy

5.0 stars 11/12/2013 by SoCalKathy
by SoCalKathy

This coffee maker is really a good value. The coffee is tasty and stays warm a very long time in the thermal carafe. The options for a stronger brew are a real 'plus' and usually found only on much more expensive coffee makers. The cone-style filter, in my opinion, makes the best coffee (as opposed to the flat type); Mellitta has always led the way in cone filters. The thermal carafe is well designed and doesn't dribble when pouring like some do. The only negative on this model is the bright blue LCD display---the whole kitchen glows at night!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SoCalKathy
Torrance, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Highly recommended!
2/18/2013

Customer review by Late48

5.0 stars 2/18/2013 by Late48
by Late48

This coffee maker is a good buy. The caraff does not drip, the controls are easy to use, and the thermal pot keeps the coffee warm much, much longer than regular glass. The whole unit looks nice as well.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Late48
Fort Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great coffee maker
8/10/2014

Customer review by Flowerahead

5.0 stars 8/10/2014 by Flowerahead
by Flowerahead

Very pleased with the Melitta coffee maker and delicious morning coffee. Simple to use and clean.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Flowerahead
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not A Good Coffee Maker
1/27/2014

Customer review by CHMOM2014

1.0 stars 1/27/2014 by CHMOM2014
by CHMOM2014

The average consumer would expect that Melitta would make a good product - unfortunately, in this case, the product is NOT as expected. One of the features noted on the website (a keep warm feature) is NOT available on the stainless carafe - shouldn't even be listed. This coffee maker can make high-quality Starbucks or Peet's Coffee taste lousy. It is a mid-range priced model that makes cheap-range product type coffee. There is no tone to indicate brewing is done. The water indicator only starts at 6 cups so if you're a 1-4 cup brewer (as my hubby & I are) you're stuck trying to figure out how much water you'll need. One thing I'm grateful for is that WalMart will take this item back. We'll be returning it this week and looking for a good coffee maker elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? (8) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CHMOM2014
Citrus Heights, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 169 total reviews
1-20 of 169 reviews